Worst of Year
Worst of Year

Comwave Reviews & Service Offerings

Comwave
Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 30

Rating  19%     Rating  81%    

Add a Review     Ask a Question

Comwave
Comwave

Comwave

Website: www.comwave.net
Services: Cable, DSL, Wi-Fi, Dry-Loop
Availability: AB, BC, ON, QC
Monthly Price: $49.95 CAD

Get a Quote Visit Site


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion (0.5): Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(26 ) Reviews + (4) Replies: 30

Rating  19%     Rating  81%

Add a Review

Ask a Question


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 30

Rating  19%     Rating  81%    

  Add a Review     Ask a Question

 

Reviews Stats

Rating
5
Rating
1
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
20
When reviewing Comwave Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !

Top Positive


23 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: December 28, 2018
Submitted by: Patrick Curtis (Edmonton , AL)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Contract lies

I was told I have 6 months free, 3 months at the start and my last 3 month's of my contract.33 days later I get a text saying if I don't pay my bill my service will be disconnected. Apparently I still have to pay for box rental fees, and any and all cable packages immediately. My service will shut off after 21 days . bull ... . The contract is full of lies and omissions to get a new customers charge more than Shaw or telus, and send u the boxes via mail( which I had to pay) and they won't send an installer unless you beg for it and even then they didn't show up. I could go on and on about the cable service, internet bs, but I will say DONT WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY ON THIS B RATED COMPANY.


Do you find this review useful?

23 Yes No 0 Report abuse


Top Critical


43 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: October 22, 2015
Submitted by: Susan (Oakville , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Comwave - Caveat Emptor

Yep! Worst tech mistake EVER! These people must be making their money by charging their exorbitant cancellation fees!

Reply from: Vladislao On: May 10, 2017
Agree 100% with you....worst company ever if you need to cancel their service for any reason. Never again..!!!


Do you find this review useful?

43 Yes No 0 Report abuse


All Reviews

23 persons found the following review useful
December 28, 2018
Submitted by: Patrick Curtis (Edmonton , AL)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Contract lies

I was told I have 6 months free, 3 months at the start and my last 3 month's of my contract.33 days later I get a text saying if I don't pay my bill my service will be disconnected. Apparently I still have to pay for box rental fees, and any and all cable packages immediately. My service will shut off after 21 days . bull ... . The contract is full of lies and omissions to get a new customers charge more than Shaw or telus, and send u the boxes via mail( which I had to pay) and they won't send an installer unless you beg for it and even then they didn't show up. I could go on and on about the cable service, internet bs, but I will say DONT WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY ON THIS B RATED COMPANY.
Do you find this review useful? 23 Yes No 0 Report abuse
31 persons found the following review useful
September 28, 2018
Submitted by: Claud Walker (Hamilton , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

They are thieves

I cancelled my service within the trial period and they still charge me early cancellation fee. It took two months to get my money back. Two months After returning all their equipments they add a $107 charge to my card ssying I still have a reciever for them. And they still have my money.
Do you find this review useful? 31 Yes No 2 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
September 10, 2018
Submitted by: Sheerzad (Toronto , ON)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Roxanne 4581

Roxanne was a great help at technical support.
I finally have my TV equipment running fine.
I was having problems since Sunday 9th 2018.
Thank you Roxanne
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 4 Report abuse
35 persons found the following review useful
June 20, 2018
Submitted by: Candy Ahmadyar (Edmonton , AL)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Most unprofesionl and dishonest company

This company has not honoured any agreements. From set up to rates. Waited almost 2months for a modem they lost my order. Finally they ups expressed modem in 7 days . Then I had to program my modem my self because they don't have service reps near Edmonton. Then the 60dollar a month plan was upped with no notice and bounced my banking . They took a online deposit 125 first 24 hours. My first bill was over $200 auto withdrawn for a $60 a month plan just saw they with drew another 200 early and bounced my accounts again so 240 a month so far no reimbur ... t and they were not to bill me for 3 plus months because of there last mix up. How do I terminate this agreement . What a nightmare company!
Do you find this review useful? 35 Yes No 0 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
June 12, 2018
Submitted by: Kimber (Milton , ON)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

David ext 4582

What a wonderful experience ...moved from London to Milton and the easier internet move I have experienced in years!! Called in with trouble to connect and within minutes David had me up and running on line! Great work
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 9 Report abuse
22 persons found the following review useful
April 29, 2018
Submitted by: Nilo Oblefias (scarborough , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Worst Internet speed and quality

Made a complaint since free trial period, given a promise that they will do something about it to improve their signal, our contract of 75 Mbps internet service was not met as of now internet speed test to our house measured 14 Mbps down load and 4.7 Mbps upload that's why their TV service is worst with repetitive audio and video intermittent signal, recall technician and he trying to improve their signal in the receiving end our house using our computer. I'm not computer wizard but trying to improve internet speed on receiving end is unbelievable.
Do you find this review useful? 22 Yes No 0 Report abuse
24 persons found the following review useful
March 28, 2018
Submitted by: RAJ (MISSISSAUGA , ON)
Feeling: Feeling disappointed Disappointed
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

# Say NO to Comwave

Hello, I read an adverti ... t of comwave in local news paper and became interested. I wanted to move my phone and interest connection to Comwave but was concerned with the bad online reviews. I reached out to social media of Comwave and received response from Mark Harfield, Director , Social Media , Comwave. He assured that “Comwave Network is safe to say that our network is reliable and works properly”. He termed the online posters as dishonest who do not want to pay dues to Comwave. He assured that in case of any tech issues I can reach out to him directly. Based on his false assurance I got internet and home phone connection.
The internet connection was promptly set up and I liked the way the connection and communication was done by COMWAVE. But the good things just ended there itself with the instillation of internet connection. Internet disconnects frequently ( 100’s of times in a day), or there is no internet available most of the time. Further when there was internet available the speed fluctuates between 6-10 mbps . On paper I have an internet connection with a download speed of 30 mbps. I have spent hours together calling COMWAVE. I was assured and reassured that it will work but I am very sad to tell you that “COMWAVE internet connection does not work” and the reviews of people where absolutely correct.
I called the so called director of Comwave and got no response. Voice messages and emails remained unanswered. It is now 7-8 months and still Comwave internet connection do not work. I spent hours and hours calling tech support.
Finally I gave a 30 days notice to Comwave to either fix the issue or take away the garbage cable box. Comwave still is playing tricks by saying that they have fixed the problem. I will teach Comwave a lesson and will go to court to terminate the 3 year contract. Comwave represents fraud, cheating, false representation and is a crooked company.
Learn from my mistake , # Say NO to Comwave

Reply from: Dana Garbutt
August 13, 2018
So far, the best deal on internet is Cannettel. The only issue is communication. All of their customer service and tech associates have strong asian accents, making it a bit difficult to understand. They are a good company and try to solve any issues fast. Check them out
Do you find this review useful? 24 Yes No 1 Report abuse
19 persons found the following review useful
February 1, 2018
Submitted by: Carle Churly (Peterborough , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Not installed

No TV equipment delivered on setup date
Do you find this review useful? 19 Yes No 2 Report abuse
21 persons found the following review useful
December 28, 2017
Submitted by: Robert Lyver (Brampton , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

WORST OF THE WORST!!

I am hoping someone will initate a "class action suit" against this horrible scam of a company!
Do you find this review useful? 21 Yes No 1 Report abuse
23 persons found the following review useful
December 13, 2017
Submitted by: David Fiander (Oakville , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Bad for business, Scammers. ty domi front man. Nice.

sales people from Comwave said that they could supply me with 60 mbps DSL modem in my area. L6L5G6 when they know that the bell line for my area code will not support 60 mbps.which i found out later when i called bell to investigate the matter. Do these sales people get paid more money by how many customers they get?
Why does Comwave Con people into believing that they can provide certain amounts of mbps to future customers in different areas that they know can not receive what they are offering. Why do Comwave sales keep stringing me along. telling me that they will phone me back in 24 to 48 hours and let me know when they have resolution for this problem. when i talked to a supervisor about all the misleading information that they gave me. she announced ha ha you are locked into a three year contract now. i said what do you mean, i said i am only trying your service for 30 days to see how it performs.but she insists that their is no way out. unless you pay your way out.sounds like fraud to me. i have wasted many precious hours trying to get this sorted out. but to no avail. this is no way to run a reputable business. I need resolution now! please. Thanks, Dave. a very unsatisfied Customer.
Do you find this review useful? 23 Yes No 0 Report abuse
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$49.95 Shipping: $$95 Other: $Dry Loop Fee $7.95 Yes

Download: 30 Mbps

Upload: 2 Mbps

Cap: Throttled

Overage: Throttled

Comwave is one of Canada’s largest independent communications company, serving over 1100 cities in Canada and over 1,600 in the United States. Comawave's suite of services is segmented into Consumer, Business Enterprise and Wholesale.

Comwave High-Speed Internet

Shall be noted that although Comwave markets the plans as unlimited there is "Fair Usage" policy, in where Comwave is monitoring constantly the subscriber's usage and based on triggers the company manages. Regrettably, there is no upfront disclosure of what those triggers are. Though based on those 'triggers' Comwave may elect to suspend, change plans or restrict the internet service.

In a recent meeting with Comwave representatives with Gonevoip Comwave admitted their quality of service could be as good as Bell and/or Rogers networks are in your area. This is because Comwave effectively resells internet service from both. So if you are having a poor experience using the Internet with Bell then chances are you'll experience similar or worse with Comwave. Having said that, the caveat to consider is that Comwave actively monitors their own Internet traffic at all times. Comwave uses what is called Internet Traffic Management Policies (ITMP); what these do is to prioritize traffic based on a set number of rules. In short, when congestion is detected, Comwave's Internet Traffic Management assigns higher priority levels to premium traffic such as time-sensitive internet traffic like Comwave home and business lines, ComwaveTV,  to ensure that these are not affected by the traffic generated from resource-intensive applications like file downloads and/or peer to peer traffic. This may impact your overall experience, hence it could happen that you end up being worse than with Bell or Rogers - contrary to what Comwave's Sales team would like you to think.

With that said, Comwave offers a variety of Unlimited plans starting with the 30 Mbps Download and 2 Mbps upload for $49.95 per month in a 3-year contract. With plans including download speeds of up to 250 Mbps and 20 Mbps upload at $89.95 per month for the first year, thereafter is $115 per month. 

Whether you are an average user checking emails and watching Netflix or youtube or have a household full of tech-savvy teenagers. Sounds enticing right? Trouble begins when your Comwave internet connection begins acting up and service is degraded or overall below grade. Shall be noticed here at Gonevoip and throughout other sites, Consumer sentiment towards Comwave high-speed internet service is one of high frustration. Generally, consumers feel they are not getting their money worth.

You could bundle your Internet service with Comwave's Home Phone and elect to receive 6 Months FREE Home Phone Service when you sign up for a 3-year term. Though that is if you are ready to bundle and commit for 3 years. The Home Phone pricing weather is monthly or in a contract is one of the most expensive and most negatively reviewed in the Canadian market.                                                                                                                                 

 

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark

Do you have service in CB , Nova Scotia

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

How can i change my internet user name and password


Hello, This depends on what do you actually mean. If you are using a DSL internet connection, then you are likely using PPPoE which provides the authentication to in the modem to establish an internet connection. The users and authentication is handled by the provider, in this case, Comwave. If you mean changing the Wi-Fi please follow the instructions below: For DSL Open your browser and type the following IP Address in the Address Bar: 192.168.17.1 Enter the Modem Credentials we provided in your Welcome Letter Click on the Wireless tab In the SSID box you can change your Network Name and in the Key box you can change your Password Save your changes If you unable to change the Wireless Credentials for your device, please contact our Technical Support Team For Cable Open your browser and type the following IP Address in the Address Bar: 192.168.0.1 Enter the following credentials. Username: cusadmin Password: password Click on the Wireless tab Go to Basic Settings In the SSID box you can change your Network Name To change the Password, go to the WPS and Security tab and in the Pre-Shared Key box you can change your Password Save your changes If you unable to change the Wireless Credentials for your device, please contact Comwave Technical Support Team

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Are all of these service available in this postal code K7s3g7

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

With so many bad reviews why should I even consider signing up with Comwaive? I have never seen so many bad reviews.

Rating  2     Rating  0 Report abuse

Is comwave here in chapel Arm Newfoundland canada


Stay far away from them they are the worst provider in Canada for internet

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

The 25 Most Popular Providers of 2018

Annually the GoneVoIP platform receives about half a million visitors. In general, the visits tend to be spread over the more than 490 service providers found in the GoneVoIP platform, though there are trends and �
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  0
Report abuse

The Most Popular 150 Mbps Internet Plans in Ontario

Comparing five of the Best 150 Mbps Download and Unlimited Internet plans in Ontario. For this comparison, we chose to use Cable Internet. Note, all providers listed here are using Rogers Cable backbone network. What sets �
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  0
Report abuse

Canada’s Internet Speeds and Prices

Types of internet access providers This summer we set out to analyze the status of the home internet connections across the country. We picked fourteen representative major urban centers and analyzed factors such as maximum available �
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  0
Report abuse

2017 The Year in the Rear View Mirror

It is time to look back the year that it was. Certainly, 2017 offers unquestionably lessons to be learned. We saw the landline decline is a trend that is beyond the point of no return. For over 140 years �
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse

Best Home Internet Canada

Altima Telecom
Visit Website
$49.95 / mo.
Read 44 Reviews
Distributel
Visit Website
$40 / mo.
Read 29 Reviews
GemsTelecom
Visit Website
$29.99 / mo.
Read 12 Reviews

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 138 Reviews
Yak
Visit Website
$5 / mo.
Read 188 Reviews
netTALK CONNECT ezLINQ
Visit Website
$7 / mo.
Read 0 Reviews