Worst of 2016
Worst of 2016

Comwave Reviews & Service Offerings

Comwave
Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 18

Rating  20%     Rating  80%    

Comwave
Comwave

Comwave

Website:
Services:
Availability:
www.comwave.net
Cable, DSL, Wi-Fi, Dry-Loop
AB, BC, ON, QC

Visit Site

Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$40 Shipping: $Shipping $18, Activation Fee $59.95 Other: $Dry Loop Fee $5.95 Yes

Download: 6Mbps

Upload: 800kbps

Cap:

Overage: Throttled

Comwave is one of Canada’s largest independent communications company, serving over 1100 cities in Canada and over 1,600 in the United States. Comawave's suite of services are segmented into Consumer, Business Enterprise and Wholesale.

Comwave High-Speed Internet

Shall be noted that although Comwave markets the plans as unlimited there is "Fair Usage" policy, in where Comwave is monitoring constantly the subscriber's usage and based on triggers the company manages. Regrettably there is no upfront disclosure of what those triggers are. Though based on those 'triggers' Comwave may elect to suspend, change plans or restrict the internet service.

In a recent meeting with Comwave representatives with Gonevoip Comwave admited their quality of service will be as good as Bell and/or Rogers networks are in your area. This is because Comwave effectively resells internet service from both. So if you are having a poor experience using Internet with Bell then chances are you'll experience similar or worse with Comwave. 

Supposedly with Comwave's High-Speed Internet plans you can browse the Internet all you like with Unlimited Data. Comwave offers a variety of Unlimited and Capped Data plans starting as low as $30 per month for 75GB. With plans including download speeds of up to 50Mbps, you can choose the speed that's right for you. Whether you are an average user checking emails and watching Netflix or have a household full of tech-savvy teenagers. 

You could bundle your Internet service with Comwave's Home Phone and elect to receive 6 Months FREE Home Phone Service when you sign up for a 3 year term. Though that is if you are ready to bundle and commit for 3 years.. The Home Phone pricing weather is monthly or in a contract is one of the most expensive in the Canadian market.  

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               

 

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark
 

Reviews Stats

Rating
1
Rating
1
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
13
When reviewing Comwave Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry!

Top Positive


1 person found the following review useful
Submitted on: July 10, 2017
Submitted by: Sandra(Stoney Creek, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Technical support

I called for technical support, they answered fast and the internet problem was well resolved. Thank you Moises.


Do you find this review useful?

1 Yes No 3 Report abuse


Top Critical


26 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: October 22, 2015
Submitted by: Susan (Oakville, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Comwave - Caveat Emptor

Yep! Worst tech mistake EVER! These people must be making their money by charging their exorbitant cancellation fees!

Reply from: Vladislao On: May 10, 2017
Agree 100% with you....worst company ever if you need to cancel their service for any reason. Never again..!!!


Do you find this review useful?

26 Yes No 0 Report abuse


All Reviews

2 persons found the following review useful
September 27, 2017
Submitted by: chris herbert (brockville, ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

In my world criminally, ... service

After a month of a minimal to no service. People telling my mother they couldn't call her - she doesn't use a cell and relies on her home phone. She's 76 and see the need for a cell as she's done without it for this amount of time. She ordered comwave internet phone service, which never worked, she tried multiple times to get them to fix it - the telco standard is called 5 9's - 99.999 uptime; her uptime is < then 20%. They delete her security ports and port mapping to her internal router to try and their voip service work, which killed her internal security and she banks online. As a network engineer I understand the issues of remote tech support, but those actions seem to me criminal.
After of more than a month they could not improve the service she moved to another local, small voip provider, which has been completely solid.
She then was presented with an early completion of contract bill - what contract nothing signed ?, nor even informed - my mother is very informed person....
She a 76 yr old retiree, little to no service for over a month, delete all security from her router and want to get paid for it? BBB should do something, whatever just another lame label. They are criminals that have drawn up their paperwork with lawyers and could only get a hockey goon - Tie Domie for an advertising agent. Don't go there, they are criminal!!
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
September 4, 2017
Submitted by: Monica (Toronto, ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Worse mistake ever

Worse service i pay for at service i barely can use 3 months puntual payment and 3 month without internet they offer service that wont make happy the client i wont recommend to no one.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
July 24, 2017
Submitted by: Eric (Newmarket, ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Comwave bad and unreliable

Comwave, whether it is through DSL or cable, is an unreliable ISP. Their technical support service is not open in the evening on weekends. Their staff lies, blaming Bell or Rogers, for their own incompetence. They have a $200 cancellation penalty per service for early end of contract. Stay away from Comwave.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
July 10, 2017
Submitted by: Sandra (Stoney Creek, ON)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Technical support

I called for technical support, they answered fast and the internet problem was well resolved. Thank you Moises.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 3 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
June 26, 2017
Submitted by: Steve (Cambridge, ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Internet

This is the absolute worst internet ever ...just did a speed test and I have never seen anything so ... py in all my life....and for the past month once have I had a good result from a speed test....I'm cancelling and will never recommend to anyone...going with FIDO
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
April 28, 2017
Submitted by: Stephen (Toronto, ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Comwave VoIP Do Not Subscribe

Do not use their home VoIP solution. Totally unreliable. Have had many interactions with support over service outages. Got to the stage where I no longer call since takes 1 hour per call. No compensation offered. Moved service originally from Rogers bad move on my part. Also hidden call cost make service not as competitive has one would assume.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 1 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
April 4, 2017
Submitted by: Richard (Toronto, ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Worst internet service, hidden charges

cant begin to explain how displeased I am with these crooks. Unmentioned 3yr contract with $200 cancellation fee associated. Never got the service of 25mbps as promised it was much lower when tested. DO NOT USE COMWAVE for any services they are a bunch of crooks.
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
February 24, 2017
Submitted by: Indrasen (Mississaugua, ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Worst Customer service,Internet and phone Service Providers in entire world

Comwave is a kind of company if you want to screw you life then you should go with comwave Networks Inc.

They screw your life so royally and in professional way. i think you guys should get the patent for this.

For simple services like address change installing your internet and phone they require 2 weeks and every day you should talk to there customer care representatives for long hours.

Request to Customer care representatives managers to check TAT for each CSR they take for one call.
Never ever in your life one should opt for comwave Networks Inc. service.

Reply from: Comwave
March 1, 2017
Hi,

We are very sorry for the issues you have been experiencing with our services. Our customers are our number 1 priority and we would like nothing more than to help you resolve the problem. If you could please email your customer ID and contact information to social@comwave.net we will contact you. Thanks - The Comwave Team
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
10 persons found the following review useful
November 2, 2015
Submitted by: christine darke (elora, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

internet problems

Our internet kept shutting down, it happened 25-30 times the last two days. We contacted Comwave Support and spoke to a very knowledgable Moses x 4031. As we are seniors and have difficulty with understanding this technology, we were amazed at how well he walked us through the changes that needed to be made. Thank you Moses, We hope you get a pat on the back from Comwave
Do you find this review useful? 10 Yes No 1 Report abuse
26 persons found the following review useful
October 22, 2015
Submitted by: Susan (Oakville, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Comwave - Caveat Emptor

Yep! Worst tech mistake EVER! These people must be making their money by charging their exorbitant cancellation fees!

Reply from: Vladislao
May 10, 2017
Agree 100% with you....worst company ever if you need to cancel their service for any reason. Never again..!!!
Do you find this review useful? 26 Yes No 0 Report abuse
Load More Reviews

why 2month later I still can\'t use my internet

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Do you have service in Manitoba?

Rating  0     Rating  1 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(15) Reviews + (3) Replies: 18

Rating  20%     Rating  80%

Maple Leaf Top Internet Providers

Distributel
Visit Website
$35 / mo.
Read 5 Reviews
HeroNet.ca
Visit Website
$38.88 / mo.
Read 4 Reviews
TekSavvy Solutions Inc.
Visit Website
$27.99 / mo.
Read 2 Reviews

Maple LeafTop Residential VoIP

Yak
Visit Website
$5 / mo.
Read 173 Reviews
VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 54 Reviews
1-VOIP
Visit Website
$11.21 / mo.
Read 9 Reviews