Worst of 2016
Worst of 2016

Comwave Reviews & Service Offerings

Comwave
Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 22

Rating  16%     Rating  84%    

Comwave
Comwave

Comwave

Website:
Services:
Availability:
www.comwave.net
Cable, DSL, Wi-Fi, Dry-Loop
AB, BC, ON, QC

Get a Quote Visit Site

Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$40 Shipping: $Shipping $18, Activation Fee $59.95 Other: $Dry Loop Fee $5.95 Yes

Download: 6Mbps

Upload: 800kbps

Cap:

Overage: Throttled

Comwave is one of Canada’s largest independent communications company, serving over 1100 cities in Canada and over 1,600 in the United States. Comawave's suite of services are segmented into Consumer, Business Enterprise and Wholesale.

Comwave High-Speed Internet

Shall be noted that although Comwave markets the plans as unlimited there is "Fair Usage" policy, in where Comwave is monitoring constantly the subscriber's usage and based on triggers the company manages. Regrettably there is no upfront disclosure of what those triggers are. Though based on those 'triggers' Comwave may elect to suspend, change plans or restrict the internet service.

In a recent meeting with Comwave representatives with Gonevoip Comwave admited their quality of service will be as good as Bell and/or Rogers networks are in your area. This is because Comwave effectively resells internet service from both. So if you are having a poor experience using Internet with Bell then chances are you'll experience similar or worse with Comwave. 

Supposedly with Comwave's High-Speed Internet plans you can browse the Internet all you like with Unlimited Data. Comwave offers a variety of Unlimited and Capped Data plans starting as low as $30 per month for 75GB. With plans including download speeds of up to 50Mbps, you can choose the speed that's right for you. Whether you are an average user checking emails and watching Netflix or have a household full of tech-savvy teenagers. 

You could bundle your Internet service with Comwave's Home Phone and elect to receive 6 Months FREE Home Phone Service when you sign up for a 3 year term. Though that is if you are ready to bundle and commit for 3 years.. The Home Phone pricing weather is monthly or in a contract is one of the most expensive in the Canadian market.  

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               

 

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark
 

Reviews Stats

Rating
2
Rating
1
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
16
When reviewing Comwave Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry!

Top Positive


Submitted on: February 1, 2018
Submitted by: Carle Churly(Peterborough, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Not installed

No TV equipment delivered on setup date


Do you find this review useful?

0 Yes No 0 Report abuse


Top Critical


29 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: October 22, 2015
Submitted by: Susan (Oakville, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Comwave - Caveat Emptor

Yep! Worst tech mistake EVER! These people must be making their money by charging their exorbitant cancellation fees!

Reply from: Vladislao On: May 10, 2017
Agree 100% with you....worst company ever if you need to cancel their service for any reason. Never again..!!!


Do you find this review useful?

29 Yes No 0 Report abuse


All Reviews

February 1, 2018
Submitted by: Carle Churly (Peterborough, ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Not installed

No TV equipment delivered on setup date
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
December 28, 2017
Submitted by: Robert Lyver (Brampton, ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

WORST OF THE WORST!!

I am hoping someone will initate a "class action suit" against this horrible scam of a company!
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
December 13, 2017
Submitted by: David Fiander (Oakville, ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Bad for business, Scammers. ty domi front man. Nice.

sales people from Comwave said that they could supply me with 60 mbps DSL modem in my area. L6L5G6 when they know that the bell line for my area code will not support 60 mbps.which i found out later when i called bell to investigate the matter. Do these sales people get paid more money by how many customers they get?
Why does Comwave Con people into believing that they can provide certain amounts of mbps to future customers in different areas that they know can not receive what they are offering. Why do Comwave sales keep stringing me along. telling me that they will phone me back in 24 to 48 hours and let me know when they have resolution for this problem. when i talked to a supervisor about all the misleading information that they gave me. she announced ha ha you are locked into a three year contract now. i said what do you mean, i said i am only trying your service for 30 days to see how it performs.but she insists that their is no way out. unless you pay your way out.sounds like fraud to me. i have wasted many precious hours trying to get this sorted out. but to no avail. this is no way to run a reputable business. I need resolution now! please. Thanks, Dave. a very unsatisfied Customer.
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
December 11, 2017
Submitted by: Igor Tobok (Thornhill, ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Worst Internet Provider

WORST Worst internet service provider. I have complained about my internet it is or almost dead or completely dead ! I pay for the fast internet - but receiving super slow ! Every time I call they put us on hold for few hours and then I have to contact tech support who don't do anything. After spending almost all day on support some technician fixes something... and internet coming alive for few days.... and after this start dying ! I can not believe that in Canada this cheating gang continue to rob Canadians after endless customers complains ! Where is our government ? Why they don't shut of this s ... operation ?
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
5 persons found the following review useful
September 27, 2017
Submitted by: chris herbert (brockville, ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

In my world criminally, ... service

After a month of a minimal to no service. People telling my mother they couldn't call her - she doesn't use a cell and relies on her home phone. She's 76 and see the need for a cell as she's done without it for this amount of time. She ordered comwave internet phone service, which never worked, she tried multiple times to get them to fix it - the telco standard is called 5 9's - 99.999 uptime; her uptime is < then 20%. They delete her security ports and port mapping to her internal router to try and their voip service work, which killed her internal security and she banks online. As a network engineer I understand the issues of remote tech support, but those actions seem to me criminal.
After of more than a month they could not improve the service she moved to another local, small voip provider, which has been completely solid.
She then was presented with an early completion of contract bill - what contract nothing signed ?, nor even informed - my mother is very informed person....
She a 76 yr old retiree, little to no service for over a month, delete all security from her router and want to get paid for it? BBB should do something, whatever just another lame label. They are criminals that have drawn up their paperwork with lawyers and could only get a hockey goon - Tie Domie for an advertising agent. Don't go there, they are criminal!!
Do you find this review useful? 5 Yes No 0 Report abuse
4 persons found the following review useful
September 4, 2017
Submitted by: Monica (Toronto, ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Worse mistake ever

Worse service i pay for at service i barely can use 3 months puntual payment and 3 month without internet they offer service that wont make happy the client i wont recommend to no one.
Do you find this review useful? 4 Yes No 0 Report abuse
5 persons found the following review useful
July 24, 2017
Submitted by: Eric (Newmarket, ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Comwave bad and unreliable

Comwave, whether it is through DSL or cable, is an unreliable ISP. Their technical support service is not open in the evening on weekends. Their staff lies, blaming Bell or Rogers, for their own incompetence. They have a $200 cancellation penalty per service for early end of contract. Stay away from Comwave.
Do you find this review useful? 5 Yes No 0 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
July 10, 2017
Submitted by: Sandra (Stoney Creek, ON)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Technical support

I called for technical support, they answered fast and the internet problem was well resolved. Thank you Moises.
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 3 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
June 26, 2017
Submitted by: Steve (Cambridge, ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Internet

This is the absolute worst internet ever ...just did a speed test and I have never seen anything so ... py in all my life....and for the past month once have I had a good result from a speed test....I'm cancelling and will never recommend to anyone...going with FIDO
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 0 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
April 28, 2017
Submitted by: Stephen (Toronto, ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Comwave VoIP Do Not Subscribe

Do not use their home VoIP solution. Totally unreliable. Have had many interactions with support over service outages. Got to the stage where I no longer call since takes 1 hour per call. No compensation offered. Moved service originally from Rogers bad move on my part. Also hidden call cost make service not as competitive has one would assume.
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 1 Report abuse
Load More Reviews

With so many bad reviews why should I even consider signing up with Comwaive? I have never seen so many bad reviews.

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Is comwave here in chapel Arm Newfoundland canada

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

why 2month later I still can\'t use my internet

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse

Do you have service in Manitoba?

Rating  1     Rating  1 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

2017 The Year in the Rear View Mirror

It is time to look back the year that it was. Certainly 2017 offers unquestionably lessons to be learnt. We saw the landline decline is a trend that is beyond the point of no return. For over 140 years …
Continue Reading

Rating  0     Rating  0
Report abuse


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(19) Reviews + (3) Replies: 22

Rating  16%     Rating  84%

Maple Leaf Top Internet Providers

Altima Telecom
Visit Website
$49.95 / mo.
Read 21 Reviews
Distributel
Visit Website
$35 / mo.
Read 5 Reviews
HeroNet.ca
Visit Website
$38.88 / mo.
Read 4 Reviews

Maple LeafTop Residential VoIP

VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 54 Reviews
Yak
Visit Website
$5 / mo.
Read 173 Reviews
1-VOIP
Visit Website
$11.21 / mo.
Read 9 Reviews