Popular
Popular

Yak Reviews & Service Offerings

Yak
Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 187

Rating  62%     Rating  38%    

Add a Review     Ask a Question

Yak
Yak

Yak

Website: www.yak.ca
Devices: Android, iPhone & SIP Client
Availability: AB, BC, MB, NB, NFLD, NS, NU, SK, YU, ON & QC
Monthly Price: $5 CAD

1-866-748-1076

Buy Now Get a Quote Visit Site


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion (4.5): Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(97 ) Reviews + (90) Replies: 187

Rating  62%     Rating  38%

Add a Review

Ask a Question


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 187

Rating  62%     Rating  38%    

  Add a Review     Ask a Question

 

Reviews Stats

Rating
36
Rating
13
Rating
13
Rating
7
Rating
28
When reviewing Yak Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !

Top Positive


47 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: January 9, 2016
Submitted by: Leah Small (Burlington , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

BEST Home Phone we've ever had

I live with my husband and we've been Home Phone free for almost a decade.Two months ago we heard about Yak Home Phone from a friend and decided that for less than $10 a month, it could be a smart addition to our home - something for the kids to use, a way to save on long distance (1.9 cents a minute to our family in Florida) and a back-up in case of emergency.

This is by far the best Home Phone we've ever had. The quality of our calls are better than any traditional Home Phone service we had with Bell and Rogers. The price is insanely low. All of the features and long distance minutes we need are already included.

I don't usually write reviews, but wanted to say the people at yak have made me a believer in telecom again. Nice people, great products, great pricing. Thank you yak!

Reply from: The Yak Team On: January 11, 2016
Hi Leah,

We're excited to have a place in your home! If there's anything else we can do to make your experience even better, feel free to contact us at marketing@yak.ca!

Sincerely,
The Yak Team


Do you find this review useful?

47 Yes No 2 Report abuse


Top Critical


45 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: January 15, 2016
Submitted by: Lucien J Bourque (Gatineau , QU)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Unable to get Yak to close account

I had the intention of going to the Yak home phone service in early October of 2015. Somewhere along the line, a problem arose with Bell Canada as we were switching at about the same time to Bell for TV and internet service. My phone service with Yak was cancelled as we got connected with Bell for phone service as well as TV and internet. Meantime, unable to get Yak to discontinue service, let alone, stop charging me the monthly phone rate. This has been going on since October 2015 and my messages aren't being answered. How would you feel?

Reply from: The Yak Team On: January 15, 2016
Hi Lucien,

Thanks for the note. Canadian law requires account verification and verbal authorization to alter the status of an account (so we know you're you). The Support Team has been unsuccessful reaching you, and hasn't heard from you since providing this request via voicemail and e-mail in October.

We will reach out to you again by phone today :)

Sincerely,
The Yak Team


Do you find this review useful?

45 Yes No 8 Report abuse


All Reviews

2 persons found the following review useful
November 8, 2018
Submitted by: John A (Cote-St-Luc , QU)
Feeling: Feeling disappointed Disappointed
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Service is mostly reliable, but accounting department is INCOMPETENT!

I have been with Yak since June 2016. Their voice quality is very good and down times are minimal. However, their accounting department, ever since being taken over by Distributel early this year, is horrible and constantly makes mistakes or omissions.

The automatic debit which worked perfectly for 18 months prior to Distributel basically MISSED a payment for me, even though there was enough funds in my account. After about 5 calls, and three MONTHS, I finally made a manual payment by credit card, because I kept getting message that I had a late payment. Customer support had initially told me that it was a system problem which cause the missed payment, on their end. Then, the automated emails that I had a missed payment kept on coming every month!!! I just called them last week and they fixed the problem. But now, this month's payment, which is again under their control (auto debit) has not gone through yet. It was due around the 5th or 6th of the month and it is now the 8th of the month!

I will be most likely switching companies to a different VoIP provider.
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
10 persons found the following review useful
September 25, 2018
Submitted by: David Gray (Surrey , BR)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Deliberate thief and damaging my ata box.

Called Sept. 7th, 2018 to cancel my service with Yak and they locked my ATA box so I couldn't use it with another company. The ata box is mine and FULLY paid for by ME! They had NO right locking my ata box. I phoned them several times to get my ata box unlocked and they kept saying "we don't lock ata boxes". Call back a few days later and the tech told me my ata box was locked and I would need a special form to be filled out to unlock the ata...they would send me this form or unlock my ata. Even after calling yak to make sure my account owed nothing...they take more funds from my account and they claimed TWICE" they didn't take funds out. My bank statement and my bank verify that yes, yak took out funds illegally. My bank informed me I could escalate this matter with the RCMP and have them charged with theft. Phoned yak back and made them aware they could be charged by the RCMP and suddenly they were willing to refund the funds they stolen from my account. Sept. 25th I phoned yak back for about the 5th time since sept.7th to get reimbursed for the NEW ATA I had to buy because they locked mine. The guy I talked to in Billing who was the same guy who closed my account and locked my ata box (Ramy) is his name...told me Neither he or management will pay for the ata box they
(He Ramy) deliberately locked. At the end of the call, Ramy tells me to google "how to unlock" the ata box...so I did google it. It turns out that Yak "Ramy " changed the "user name and password" for the hardware so that it can not be used by any other provider. I'm giving yak ONE week to return the funds they say they are going to return to me. After a week, I'll let the RCMP take over from there. As for the ATA box, I was pointed in the direction of the CRTC to log a complaint and have them look into it. With the help of the CRTC I will win this case and start a class-action law suite against yak and invite "EVERYONE" who yak has done this to and put them out of business.
Do you find this review useful? 10 Yes No 0 Report abuse
8 persons found the following review useful
April 28, 2018
Submitted by: Dan (West Kelowna , BR)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Worked great for 3 years - Not anymore and bad tech support

No complaints for 3 years and suddenly my SIP device will no longer register. I suspected they changed some settings as they were recently acquired by Distributel but after talking to 2 technical support agents they both indicated that they don't know how to troubleshoot a SIP phone and told me to google for help. I guess you get what you pay for but I will be changing providers.
Do you find this review useful? 8 Yes No 0 Report abuse
9 persons found the following review useful
April 7, 2018
Submitted by: Rupert Wrangham (Kamloops , BR)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

AVOID - unethical

I used Yak for more than 2 years with few issues, but when I moved they would not give me a new local number. Instead they said I would have to switch to Distributel, buy a new ATA box and pay more per month.If they really cared about their customers they would simply have given me the number available through Distributel, who now owns Yak, and want to eliminate the excellent deals Yak had. I will not do business with either.

Reply from: Distributel Customer Experience Team
April 9, 2018
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and our sorry to hear that you didn't have a good experience.

Can you please email us at feedback@distributel.ca and include the phone number associated to your account? We'd like to review what happened and see what we could of done differently.
Do you find this review useful? 9 Yes No 0 Report abuse
6 persons found the following review useful
January 10, 2018
Submitted by: martin (bancroft , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Poor quality

I worked with Yak for 6 months to get a decent quality of phone service. There were echos all the time like on 2 way radios. Also, the service dropped continually, like sometimes 4 per DAY..meaning no phone at all. I worked hours with their techs - could not fix. Changed to Comwave and problems solved immediately. Had hard time to quit Yak...sending old invoices, etc and charged for old broken equipment that they sent replacements for. Don't go Yak!
Do you find this review useful? 6 Yes No 1 Report abuse
9 persons found the following review useful
October 17, 2017
Submitted by: Henry Tse (Toronto , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

New Subscribers beware!

New Subscribers beware! Aug 10 - Oct 17, 2017 2-1/2 months since I made application for my home phone was released from Rogers and STILL NOT WORKING!!!. Consolation they agree not to charge me $10 after missing 2.5 month of home calls. They cannot even tell me the calls that I missed. UNBELIEVABLE. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED. IT IS NOT WORTH THE $10 SAVINGs.
Do you find this review useful? 9 Yes No 0 Report abuse
11 persons found the following review useful
October 3, 2017
Submitted by: Syl Carle (Georgetown , ON)
Feeling: Feeling disappointed Disappointed
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

No IP phone support

I've been with Yak for years, no complaints. I want to upgrade my phones to IP phones. 3 technical support employees told me they do not support them.

That's unbelievable. There's no difference between an IP phone and an ATA box other than the IP phone can do it all without the ATA box.

I am pretty sure they don't know any better but I checked with VOIP MUCH and they say they do so I'll switch. Your loss Yak.
Do you find this review useful? 11 Yes No 0 Report abuse
10 persons found the following review useful
July 29, 2017
Submitted by: Ray (Duncan , BR)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Absolutely awful

We subscribed to yak and were made promises of how easy it was to activate once we received the ata box. The box arrived from distributel, we hooked it up as described and waited. Six phone calls and numerous excuses from distributel later we returned their equipment.

Reply from: The Yak Team
July 31, 2017
Hi Ray,

Other technology in your home can play a role, and did in this case. If you change your mind, we would love to help you find a solution.

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 10 Yes No 1 Report abuse
8 persons found the following review useful
May 6, 2017
Submitted by: Julie (Montreal , QU)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Bad breakup

I had few problems with Yak until I tried to move and keep their service. They told me there would be no problem, and gave me a tentative date for my new installation. I called the day before they were supposed to come and they informed me they had pushed the installation date back FIVE BUSINESS DAYS. Then, on the day they were supposed to install it, I gave them my unit number and they informed me that since the address on the ticket had "changed" it needed to be reissued. Annoying but fine. THEN, i called two days later to find out my new ticket, and they told me that my area was unserviceable and I couldn't keep their service. Now they say it will be 3 business days before they free up my modem and my new ISP can issue a work order. Terrible customer service, they have lost me nearly a month of internet and I am so disappointed with this process- if they had told me three weeks ago that my area was unserviceable, I would have new internet by now. I do not recommend this service unless you own a home and will be staying in the same location.

Reply from: The Yak Team
May 8, 2017
Hi Julie,

We're sorry to hear about your experience. We'd like to look into what happened and remedy any process which didn't meet the high standard we set for ourselves. Can you contact our team at 1-877-925-4925 and share your account number and the course of events you experienced with a supervisor? We will ensure a better experience for all follows.

Thank you,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 8 Yes No 1 Report abuse
42 persons found the following review useful
January 14, 2017
Submitted by: Joe (Kleinburg , ON)
Feeling: Feeling disappointed Disappointed
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Unstable

The price is right, the features are great and when it works it sounds great no problem. However, you better have a rock solid internet connection that never disconnects because when it disconnects (even momentarily) or if you need to reset your modem for whatever reason, your phone stops working until you call YAK so that they can set up a different profile for you. For example, if my internet disconnects for a few minutes every now and then (like all modems do) all my Wi-Fi enabled products will lose signal but eventually they connect again on their own once the Wi-Fi is back up...not my YAK home phone! I have to call them to do something on their end to get a dial tone again. I have spoken at length with the yak customer service team trying to understand why this is the case and the answer is that's just the way it is. This is not practical or sensible because if I'm at work and my phone goes down at home how do I know that it's down? In the meantime I am missing important calls all day. What if I am away on vacation for a week....am I expected to miss a weeks worth of calls until I return and call YAK to update the profile? I left Rogers after many years because I wanted a more sensibly priced home phone, and I took the leap and went with yak. However, I've made more service calls to yak in 2 months then I did with Rogers in 6 years. This is very discouraging because it reinforces that we really do have a duopoly here with Rogers and Bell.
Do you find this review useful? 42 Yes No 0 Report abuse
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Other Fees Long Distance Rates
$5 FREE
Bring your own Device Optional

Canada: FREE
USA: FREE
Intl. Minutes: DTP

Rather than locking customers into multi-year contracts, Yak offers the best telephone solutions at the lowest prices to win the business of its customers on a daily basis. Founded in 1998 under that very premise, Yak has provided high-quality, contract-free telecommunications services to over 1 million Canadians. 

In 2009, Yak proudly created 120 new jobs in Canada by opening a Customer Support Center in Windsor, Ontario. Its support staff are committed to offering bilingual support wherever you are, whenever you need it.

About Yak Home Phone Service: Free local calling and ALL 12 features Canadians know and love are available for $9.50 per month (the first two months are $4.75, and there’s no contract)! Plus, customers can keep their current number! Yak recognizes the telephone market has a negative reputation, so they offer the first month free or first two months at half-price, allowing you to experience how great their service really is without any strings attached and no contract – ever.

Yak has worked hard to earn the trust of their customers; another way Yak is different is its ATA rental fee. The rental is rent-to-own; so after 12-months the ATA is yours to keep and the fee goes away. You can also choose to buy the ATA outright for $49.95. For a small fee, you can purchase toll-free numbers or virtual numbers (extra numbers in other area codes)

Maple Leaf Features

Call Blocking Checkmark
Conference Calling Checkmark
BYOD: Checkmark
Smartphone App: Checkmark
Call Forwarding Checkmark
Call Hold Checkmark
Caller ID Name: Checkmark
Enhanced VoiceMail: Checkmark

We are moving to Gilford, Ontario and currently have a Bell home number. Do you service Gilford, Ontario and can we take our home number with us?


Hello Benete, Generally, most phone numbers are able to port. You will have to check via Yak's website providing the full address. Now if you are moving from one area code to another you may want to consider getting a home phone with the local area code. Though if you already are in the 905 or 289 area code, the one used in Gilford Ontario - then it makes sense to keep the same. But say you were moving from Waterloo, a 519 area code then is best to switch for a local area code. Otherwise, all calls from and to your new home phone number could be considered long distance. Hope this helps. The GONEVOIP TEAM

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse

We are moving to Gilford, Ontario and currently have a Bell home number. Do you service Gilford, Ontario and can we take our home number with us?


Hello Benete, Generally, most phone numbers are able to port. You will have to check via Yak's website providing the full address. Now if you are moving from one area code to another you may want to consider getting a home phone with the local area code. Though if you already are in the 905 or 289 area code, the one used in Gilford Ontario - then it makes sense to keep the same. But say you were moving from Waterloo, a 519 area code then is best to switch for a local area code. Otherwise, all calls from and to your new home phone number could be considered long distance. Hope this helps. The GONEVOIP TEAM

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Total monthly cost for WI resident with taxes

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Why has Yak cut my long distance home phone plan? Your automated reply says my acct has not been paid! Yak has automatic Visa payments, therefore the bill is paid monthly.

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

why can't I fax out?

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

Finding Canada’s Best Internet Speeds

If you are like the rest of Canadians you probably have the same Internet connection for at least the past 2 years. But the demand on the internet connection in our daily lives and homes �
Continue Reading

Rating  5     Rating  0
Report abuse

Toronto Area Best Home Phone Service Deals

There are several advantages of having a VoIP home phone service. Thanks to Voice over IP, nowadays, telecommunication is easier and cheaper than ever before. It's not only easy to use, but also very economical �
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse

Is High Speed Internet a Human Right in Canada?

Can you imagine your day-to-day life without High-Speed Internet? In many respects, today’s technological advancements represent a digital and information revolution, impacting our civilization as profoundly as the industrial and agricultural revolutions did. Like these previous �
Continue Reading

Rating  0     Rating  0
Report abuse

Home Phone Comparison – Revised

Welcome to our 2017 edition of the home telephone service comparison between traditional landline and VoIP (Voice Over Internet Protocol) phone service providers. For those who are not familiar with VoIP phone service, in a nutshell, �
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  0
Report abuse

2016 The Year in Review

It is that magical time of the year when one can look back at the year from the rearview mirror. We started 2016 with netTALK & Iristel dispute that left thousands of Canadian customers stranded. �
Continue Reading

Rating  5     Rating  1
Report abuse

Grading Online Security: How Secure is Your Provider?

Performing tasks online saves us so much time that we often take this convenience for granted. For instance, instead of visiting a bank, we are paying bills and transferring funds using our mobile devices or �
Continue Reading

Rating  3     Rating  1
Report abuse

Call you, may be?

Is it possible for one person’s long-distance bill via home phone service to total more than $3,000 in a year? The answer is yes and this is based on a true story. In the early �
Continue Reading

Rating  0     Rating  0
Report abuse

3 Important Considerations when Selecting VoIP Service

Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) service has gained popularity in recent years and for good reason. The technology allows for the streamlining of communication avenues while saving businesses and residents money in utilities. If you are �
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  0
Report abuse

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 130 Reviews
Yak
Visit Website
$5 / mo.
Read 187 Reviews
Phone Power
Visit Website
$7.40 / mo.
Read 55 Reviews
VOIPO
Visit Website
$7.70 / mo.
Read 3 Reviews
CallCentric
Visit Website
FREE / mo.
Read 8 Reviews
1-VOIP
Visit Website
$11 / mo.
Read 15 Reviews

Best Internet Canada

Altima Telecom
Visit Website
$49.95 / mo.
Read 40 Reviews
Distributel
Visit Website
$35 / mo.
Read 29 Reviews
GemsTelecom
Visit Website
$29.99 / mo.
Read 12 Reviews