Yak Reviews & Service Offerings

Yak
Maple Leaf Company Info
Yak
Yak

Yak

Website: www.yak.ca
Devices: Android, iPhone & SIP Client
Availability: AB, BC, MB, NB, NFLD, NS, NU, SK, YU, ON & QC
Monthly Price: $16 CAD

1-855-462-5349

Visit Site


179 3 reviewCount Get Free Quotes

Home Phone

Home Internet

Business Phone

Business Internet

 

Reviews Stats

When reviewing Yak Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !
Rating
32
Rating
12
Rating
10
Rating
6
Rating
28

All Reviews

June 22, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Angelito Montalbo (Mississauga , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Bad Company

Yak is still billing my account after i switched my phone to other provider two months ago. This is unacceptable, you dont know how to take care of your customers. Stop billing me hidden charges because all my monthly bills were paid. SO BAD...
May 22, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Lana (Edmonton , AL)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Unacceptable installation process

I normally don't complain, in fact this is my first complaint ever! Called to request internet installation more than a week ago, it was scheduled for yesterday. Had a modem shipped to me with no cable last week and $ charged the day I called. Was told by customer service that they will call on the day of installation to confirm the time when technician is coming. Called yesterday in am to confirm with them that I don't have to be at home waiting for the call and that I will have time to get home from work when they'd call. No one called or showed up. Called them again to verify that I haven't miss the call to heat that I can install it by myself and to start with I did not have technician scheduled at all! Was transferred from technical support to customer service many times ... every time wait time was more than 20 min. Called again this morning to find out that they are going to put a request with Shaw provider and within 48 hrs they will hear back from Shaw and will contact me. They do not know when the actual installation will happen.
At this point I am ready to watch a utube video and install it by myself! Thanks a lot!
April 19, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Karen McDermott (Edmonton , AL)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

What a joke

Have not dealt with yak for over a year and a half. Then out of the blue they send me a bill for a penny and say they are going to charge my credit card for the penny. When we cancelled the service they took a final payment of $3.86. Since this was preauthorized and charged monthly to my credit card it was up to them to get their accounting correct and charge the corrected amount. I advised them via email they are not to charge my card for the penny. The invoice was not worth sending for a penny since it cost more than that to generate and create the invoice.
September 25, 2018
Review Helpful? 19 Yes No 0
Submitted by: David Gray (Surrey , BR)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Deliberate thief and damaging my ata box.

Called Sept. 7th, 2018 to cancel my service with Yak and they locked my ATA box so I couldn't use it with another company. The ata box is mine and FULLY paid for by ME! They had NO right locking my ata box. I phoned them several times to get my ata box unlocked and they kept saying "we don't lock ata boxes". Call back a few days later and the tech told me my ata box was locked and I would need a special form to be filled out to unlock the ata...they would send me this form or unlock my ata. Even after calling yak to make sure my account owed nothing...they take more funds from my account and they claimed TWICE" they didn't take funds out. My bank statement and my bank verify that yes, yak took out funds illegally. My bank informed me I could escalate this matter with the RCMP and have them charged with theft. Phoned yak back and made them aware they could be charged by the RCMP and suddenly they were willing to refund the funds they stolen from my account. Sept. 25th I phoned yak back for about the 5th time since sept.7th to get reimbursed for the NEW ATA I had to buy because they locked mine. The guy I talked to in Billing who was the same guy who closed my account and locked my ata box (Ramy) is his name...told me Neither he or management will pay for the ata box they
(He Ramy) deliberately locked. At the end of the call, Ramy tells me to google "how to unlock" the ata box...so I did google it. It turns out that Yak "Ramy " changed the "user name and password" for the hardware so that it can not be used by any other provider. I'm giving yak ONE week to return the funds they say they are going to return to me. After a week, I'll let the RCMP take over from there. As for the ATA box, I was pointed in the direction of the CRTC to log a complaint and have them look into it. With the help of the CRTC I will win this case and start a class-action law suite against yak and invite "EVERYONE" who yak has done this to and put them out of business.

Reply from: ray
December 17, 2018
Did you ever get the yak password to unlock the device? Mine is locked also.
April 28, 2018
Review Helpful? 10 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Dan (West Kelowna , BR)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Worked great for 3 years - Not anymore and bad tech support

No complaints for 3 years and suddenly my SIP device will no longer register. I suspected they changed some settings as they were recently acquired by Distributel but after talking to 2 technical support agents they both indicated that they don't know how to troubleshoot a SIP phone and told me to google for help. I guess you get what you pay for but I will be changing providers.
April 7, 2018
Review Helpful? 11 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Rupert Wrangham (Kamloops , BR)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

AVOID - unethical

I used Yak for more than 2 years with few issues, but when I moved they would not give me a new local number. Instead they said I would have to switch to Distributel, buy a new ATA box and pay more per month.If they really cared about their customers they would simply have given me the number available through Distributel, who now owns Yak, and want to eliminate the excellent deals Yak had. I will not do business with either.

Reply from: Distributel Customer Experience Team
April 9, 2018
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and our sorry to hear that you didn't have a good experience.

Can you please email us at feedback@distributel.ca and include the phone number associated to your account? We'd like to review what happened and see what we could of done differently.
January 10, 2018
Review Helpful? 6 Yes No 1
Submitted by: martin (bancroft , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Poor quality

I worked with Yak for 6 months to get a decent quality of phone service. There were echos all the time like on 2 way radios. Also, the service dropped continually, like sometimes 4 per DAY..meaning no phone at all. I worked hours with their techs - could not fix. Changed to Comwave and problems solved immediately. Had hard time to quit Yak...sending old invoices, etc and charged for old broken equipment that they sent replacements for. Don't go Yak!
July 29, 2017
Review Helpful? 11 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Ray (Duncan , BR)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Absolutely awful

We subscribed to yak and were made promises of how easy it was to activate once we received the ata box. The box arrived from distributel, we hooked it up as described and waited. Six phone calls and numerous excuses from distributel later we returned their equipment.

Reply from: The Yak Team
July 31, 2017
Hi Ray,

Other technology in your home can play a role, and did in this case. If you change your mind, we would love to help you find a solution.

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
May 6, 2017
Review Helpful? 8 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Julie (Montreal , QU)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Bad breakup

I had few problems with Yak until I tried to move and keep their service. They told me there would be no problem, and gave me a tentative date for my new installation. I called the day before they were supposed to come and they informed me they had pushed the installation date back FIVE BUSINESS DAYS. Then, on the day they were supposed to install it, I gave them my unit number and they informed me that since the address on the ticket had "changed" it needed to be reissued. Annoying but fine. THEN, i called two days later to find out my new ticket, and they told me that my area was unserviceable and I couldn't keep their service. Now they say it will be 3 business days before they free up my modem and my new ISP can issue a work order. Terrible customer service, they have lost me nearly a month of internet and I am so disappointed with this process- if they had told me three weeks ago that my area was unserviceable, I would have new internet by now. I do not recommend this service unless you own a home and will be staying in the same location.

Reply from: The Yak Team
May 8, 2017
Hi Julie,

We're sorry to hear about your experience. We'd like to look into what happened and remedy any process which didn't meet the high standard we set for ourselves. Can you contact our team at 1-877-925-4925 and share your account number and the course of events you experienced with a supervisor? We will ensure a better experience for all follows.

Thank you,
The Yak Team
January 14, 2017
Review Helpful? 42 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Joe (Kleinburg , ON)
Feeling disappointed Disappointed Rating 👎

Unstable

The price is right, the features are great and when it works it sounds great no problem. However, you better have a rock solid internet connection that never disconnects because when it disconnects (even momentarily) or if you need to reset your modem for whatever reason, your phone stops working until you call YAK so that they can set up a different profile for you. For example, if my internet disconnects for a few minutes every now and then (like all modems do) all my Wi-Fi enabled products will lose signal but eventually they connect again on their own once the Wi-Fi is back up...not my YAK home phone! I have to call them to do something on their end to get a dial tone again. I have spoken at length with the yak customer service team trying to understand why this is the case and the answer is that's just the way it is. This is not practical or sensible because if I'm at work and my phone goes down at home how do I know that it's down? In the meantime I am missing important calls all day. What if I am away on vacation for a week....am I expected to miss a weeks worth of calls until I return and call YAK to update the profile? I left Rogers after many years because I wanted a more sensibly priced home phone, and I took the leap and went with yak. However, I've made more service calls to yak in 2 months then I did with Rogers in 6 years. This is very discouraging because it reinforces that we really do have a duopoly here with Rogers and Bell.
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Other Fees Long Distance Rates
$16 FREE
Bring your own Device Optional

Canada: FREE
USA: FREE
Intl. Minutes: DTP

Yak Home Phone is the remanent of the former discount telecom carrier Yak Communications. In 2006 Yak was purchased by Globalive and over the next ten years grown Yak Digital Home Phone and Long Distance services. That was until 2016 when Globalive sold Yak to Distributel Group, who owns other brands such as Acanac, ThinkTel, and Distributel.

About Yak Home Phone Service: Free local calling and ALL 12 features Canadians know and love are available starting at $12 per month. Distributel offers three variants of Yak Home Phone.

  • Yak Basic Digital Home Phone: Local Unlimited Calling at $12 per month
  • Yak Premium Digital Home Phone: All of Basic + 500 Long Distance minutes for calls to the USA and Canada at $16 per month
  • Yak Deluxe Digital Home Phone: All of Basic + 1500 Long Distance minutes for calls to the USA and Canada at $22 per month

Plus, customers can keep their current number! The ATA rental is $5 extra per month. You can also choose to buy the ATA outright for $60. For another fee, you can purchase toll-free numbers or virtual numbers (extra numbers in other area codes)

GoneVoIP has seen Yak Home Phone take a sharp negative reputation turn ever since Distributel's take over. Sometimes this is to be expected immediately after a takeover; generally during the first year. Though considering this has happened well over a couple of years at this stage is puzzling it continues to be so. Remains to be seen what, if anything, Distributel is going to do to rescue Yak's Home Phone situation. 

 

Maple Leaf Features

Call Blocking Checkmark
Conference Calling Checkmark
BYOD: Checkmark
Smartphone App: Checkmark
Call Forwarding Checkmark
Call Hold Checkmark
Caller ID Name: Checkmark
Enhanced VoiceMail: Checkmark

How do I sey up a conference call for 3 parties using Yak?


Three-Way Calling allows you to connect a phone call with two different parties; allowing all parties to talk with each other. To make a Three-Way call: 1. Dial the first number 2. When connected, press your phone’s flash or hook ... on 3. Dial the second number 4. When connected, press your phone’s flash or hook ... on All parties will now be able to talk with each other. Hope this helps! The GoneVoIP Team

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

i just want a phone line, i already have internet

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

We are moving to Gilford, Ontario and currently have a Bell home number. Do you service Gilford, Ontario and can we take our home number with us?


Hello Benete, Generally, most phone numbers are able to port. You will have to check via Yak's website providing the full address. Now if you are moving from one area code to another you may want to consider getting a home phone with the local area code. Though if you already are in the 905 or 289 area code, the one used in Gilford Ontario - then it makes sense to keep the same. But say you were moving from Waterloo, a 519 area code then is best to switch for a local area code. Otherwise, all calls from and to your new home phone number could be considered long distance. Hope this helps. The GONEVOIP TEAM

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse

We are moving to Gilford, Ontario and currently have a Bell home number. Do you service Gilford, Ontario and can we take our home number with us?


Hello Benete, Generally, most phone numbers are able to port. You will have to check via Yak's website providing the full address. Now if you are moving from one area code to another you may want to consider getting a home phone with the local area code. Though if you already are in the 905 or 289 area code, the one used in Gilford Ontario - then it makes sense to keep the same. But say you were moving from Waterloo, a 519 area code then is best to switch for a local area code. Otherwise, all calls from and to your new home phone number could be considered long distance. Hope this helps. The GONEVOIP TEAM

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Total monthly cost for WI resident with taxes

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

The 25 Most Popular Providers of 2018

Annually the GoneVoIP platform receives about half a million visitors. In general, the visits tend to be spread over the more than 490 service providers found in the GoneVoIP platform, though there are trends and �
Continue Reading

Rating  3     Rating  2
Report abuse

Finding Canada’s Best Internet Speeds

If you are like the rest of Canadians you probably have the same Internet connection for at least the past 2 years. But the demand on the internet connection in our daily lives and homes �
Continue Reading

Rating  6     Rating  0
Report abuse

Toronto Area Best Home Phone Service Deals

There are several advantages of having a VoIP home phone or digital home phone service. Thanks to Voice over IP, nowadays, telecommunications are easier and cheaper than ever before. It's not only easy to use �
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  0
Report abuse

Is High Speed Internet a Human Right in Canada?

Can you imagine your day-to-day life without High-Speed Internet? In many respects, today’s technological advancements represent a digital and information revolution, impacting our civilization as profoundly as the industrial and agricultural revolutions did. Like these previous �
Continue Reading

Rating  0     Rating  0
Report abuse

Home Phone Comparison – Revised

Welcome to our 2017 edition of the home telephone service comparison between traditional landline and VoIP (Voice Over Internet Protocol) phone service providers. For those who are not familiar with VoIP phone service, in a nutshell, �
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  0
Report abuse

2016 The Year in Review

It is that magical time of the year when one can look back at the year from the rearview mirror. We started 2016 with netTALK & Iristel dispute that left thousands of Canadian customers stranded. �
Continue Reading

Rating  6     Rating  1
Report abuse

Grading Online Security: How Secure is Your Provider?

Performing tasks online saves us so much time that we often take this convenience for granted. For instance, instead of visiting a bank, we are paying bills and transferring funds using our mobile devices or �
Continue Reading

Rating  3     Rating  1
Report abuse

Call you, may be?

Is it possible for one person’s long-distance bill via home phone service to total more than $3,000 in a year? The answer is yes and this is based on a true story. In the early �
Continue Reading

Rating  0     Rating  0
Report abuse

3 Important Considerations when Selecting VoIP Service

Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) service has gained popularity in recent years and for good reason. The technology allows for the streamlining of communication avenues while saving businesses and residents money in utilities. If you are �
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  0
Report abuse

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Rating
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 167 Reviews
netTALK CONNECT ezLINQ
Rating
$7 / mo.
Read 10 Reviews
CallCentric
Rating
$0 / mo.
Read 8 Reviews
VOIPO
Rating
$7.70 / mo.
Read 4 Reviews
Nomado
Rating
$7 / mo.
Read 0 Reviews
Talkit
Rating
$6.67 / mo.
Read 57 Reviews

Best Internet Canada

Altima Telecom
Rating
$29.99 / mo.
Read 64 Reviews
CIK Telecom Inc
Rating
$44.99 / mo.
Read 23 Reviews
GemsTelecom
Rating
$24.99 / mo.
Read 22 Reviews