Popular
Popular

Yak Reviews & Service Offerings

Yak
Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 179

Rating  67%     Rating  33%    

Yak
Yak

Yak

Website:
Devices:
Availability:
www.yak.ca
Android, iPhone & SIP Client
AB, BC, MB, NB, NFLD, NS, NU, SK, YU, ON & QC
1-866-748-1076

Get a Quote Visit Site

Monthly Fee Setup Fee Other Fees Long Distance Rates
$5 FREE
Bring your own Device Optional

Canada: FREE
USA: FREE
Intl. Minutes: DTP

Rather than locking customers into multi-year contracts, Yak offers the best telephone solutions at the lowest prices to win the business of its customers on a daily basis. Founded in 1998 under that very premise, Yak has provided high-quality, contract-free telecommunications services to over 1 million Canadians. 

In 2009, Yak proudly created 120 new jobs in Canada by opening a Customer Support Center in Windsor, Ontario. Its support staff are committed to offering bilingual support wherever you are, whenever you need it.

About Yak Home Phone Service: Free local calling and ALL 12 features Canadians know and love are available for $9.50 per month (the first two months are $4.75, and there’s no contract)! Plus, customers can keep their current number! Yak recognizes the telephone market has a negative reputation, so they offer the first month free or first two months at half-price, allowing you to experience how great their service really is without any strings attached and no contract – ever.

Yak has worked hard to earn the trust of their customers; another way Yak is different is its ATA rental fee. The rental is rent-to-own; so after 12-months the ATA is yours to keep and the fee goes away. You can also choose to buy the ATA outright for $49.95. For a small fee, you can purchase toll-free numbers or virtual numbers (extra numbers in other area codes)

Maple Leaf Features

Call Blocking Checkmark
Conference Calling Checkmark
BYOD: Checkmark
Smartphone App: Checkmark
Call Forwarding Checkmark
Call Hold Checkmark
Caller ID Name: Checkmark
Enhanced VoiceMail: Checkmark
 

Reviews Stats

Rating
36
Rating
13
Rating
13
Rating
6
Rating
22
When reviewing Yak Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry!

Top Positive


42 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: January 9, 2016
Submitted by: Leah Small(Burlington, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

BEST Home Phone we've ever had

I live with my husband and we've been Home Phone free for almost a decade.Two months ago we heard about Yak Home Phone from a friend and decided that for less than $10 a month, it could be a smart addition to our home - something for the kids to use, a way to save on long distance (1.9 cents a minute to our family in Florida) and a back-up in case of emergency.

This is by far the best Home Phone we've ever had. The quality of our calls are better than any traditional Home Phone service we had with Bell and Rogers. The price is insanely low. All of the features and long distance minutes we need are already included.

I don't usually write reviews, but wanted to say the people at yak have made me a believer in telecom again. Nice people, great products, great pricing. Thank you yak!

Reply from: The Yak Team On: January 11, 2016
Hi Leah,

We're excited to have a place in your home! If there's anything else we can do to make your experience even better, feel free to contact us at marketing@yak.ca!

Sincerely,
The Yak Team


Do you find this review useful?

42 Yes No 2 Report abuse


Top Critical


39 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: January 15, 2016
Submitted by: Lucien J Bourque (Gatineau, QU)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Unable to get Yak to close account

I had the intention of going to the Yak home phone service in early October of 2015. Somewhere along the line, a problem arose with Bell Canada as we were switching at about the same time to Bell for TV and internet service. My phone service with Yak was cancelled as we got connected with Bell for phone service as well as TV and internet. Meantime, unable to get Yak to discontinue service, let alone, stop charging me the monthly phone rate. This has been going on since October 2015 and my messages aren't being answered. How would you feel?

Reply from: The Yak Team On: January 15, 2016
Hi Lucien,

Thanks for the note. Canadian law requires account verification and verbal authorization to alter the status of an account (so we know you're you). The Support Team has been unsuccessful reaching you, and hasn't heard from you since providing this request via voicemail and e-mail in October.

We will reach out to you again by phone today :)

Sincerely,
The Yak Team


Do you find this review useful?

39 Yes No 7 Report abuse


All Reviews

July 29, 2017
Submitted by: Ray (Duncan, BR)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Absolutely awful

We subscribed to yak and were made promises of how easy it was to activate once we received the ata box. The box arrived from distributel, we hooked it up as described and waited. Six phone calls and numerous excuses from distributel later we returned their equipment.

Reply from: The Yak Team
July 31, 2017
Hi Ray,

Other technology in your home can play a role, and did in this case. If you change your mind, we would love to help you find a solution.

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
May 6, 2017
Submitted by: Julie (Montreal, QU)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Bad breakup

I had few problems with Yak until I tried to move and keep their service. They told me there would be no problem, and gave me a tentative date for my new installation. I called the day before they were supposed to come and they informed me they had pushed the installation date back FIVE BUSINESS DAYS. Then, on the day they were supposed to install it, I gave them my unit number and they informed me that since the address on the ticket had "changed" it needed to be reissued. Annoying but fine. THEN, i called two days later to find out my new ticket, and they told me that my area was unserviceable and I couldn't keep their service. Now they say it will be 3 business days before they free up my modem and my new ISP can issue a work order. Terrible customer service, they have lost me nearly a month of internet and I am so disappointed with this process- if they had told me three weeks ago that my area was unserviceable, I would have new internet by now. I do not recommend this service unless you own a home and will be staying in the same location.

Reply from: The Yak Team
May 8, 2017
Hi Julie,

We're sorry to hear about your experience. We'd like to look into what happened and remedy any process which didn't meet the high standard we set for ourselves. Can you contact our team at 1-877-925-4925 and share your account number and the course of events you experienced with a supervisor? We will ensure a better experience for all follows.

Thank you,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 1 Report abuse
28 persons found the following review useful
January 14, 2017
Submitted by: Joe (Kleinburg, ON)
Feeling: Feeling disappointed Disappointed
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Unstable

The price is right, the features are great and when it works it sounds great no problem. However, you better have a rock solid internet connection that never disconnects because when it disconnects (even momentarily) or if you need to reset your modem for whatever reason, your phone stops working until you call YAK so that they can set up a different profile for you. For example, if my internet disconnects for a few minutes every now and then (like all modems do) all my Wi-Fi enabled products will lose signal but eventually they connect again on their own once the Wi-Fi is back up...not my YAK home phone! I have to call them to do something on their end to get a dial tone again. I have spoken at length with the yak customer service team trying to understand why this is the case and the answer is that's just the way it is. This is not practical or sensible because if I'm at work and my phone goes down at home how do I know that it's down? In the meantime I am missing important calls all day. What if I am away on vacation for a week....am I expected to miss a weeks worth of calls until I return and call YAK to update the profile? I left Rogers after many years because I wanted a more sensibly priced home phone, and I took the leap and went with yak. However, I've made more service calls to yak in 2 months then I did with Rogers in 6 years. This is very discouraging because it reinforces that we really do have a duopoly here with Rogers and Bell.
Do you find this review useful? 28 Yes No 0 Report abuse
9 persons found the following review useful
January 6, 2017
Submitted by: Jennifer Bailey (Toronto, ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Terrible Customer Service

Signed up back in September, they sent me the modem in December but couldn't port the number. They charged for every month for a service that did not exist. There was no number and the modem was never connected. They refused to cancel my service and the customer service was very rude and was laughing at me, eventually asking me to hangup. I contacted my credit card company to get my money back and have now requested in writing to cancel my service. I will be signing up with Fido home phone service.

Reply from: The Yak Team
January 9, 2017
Hi Jennifer,

Can you provide your account number to us (by e-mailing marketing@yak.ca)? We'll look into this and see what can be done to resolve.

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 9 Yes No 0 Report abuse
6 persons found the following review useful
December 3, 2016
Submitted by: Nathanael (Kitchener, ON)
Feeling: Feeling disappointed Disappointed
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Good phone service – features recently removed

After a couple of weeks of research into various VoIP providers, I settled on Yak as the most suitable solution for me. While there are lower cost solutions, for me it struck the balance between cost/features/support. The sign-up process went smoothly enough including having my existing phone number ported from Bell. So far the phone service has been good and the support has been mostly helpful.

Here's where my disappointment and frustration come in. When I was doing my research earlier in November 2016 I was comparing cost/features/reviews of various providers. After I had finally signed up for Yak, the criteria that I thought I based my decision on had significantly changed!

The first change I realized after I had signed up was that there were no longer 200 LD minutes included with the basic plan (as was stated earlier in the month while researching – view a Google cached version of this page: https://www.yak.ca/digital-home-phone). That turned out to not be a deal breaker, because I don't do much long distance and will just have to pay Yak's standard rates.

Then I learned that the Yak account Web interface on Yak.ca is inaccessible to me as a new customer (‘old’ customers use 6 digit account #, new customers use 7). That means no access to features that I was counting on and that I based my decision on. For example, I was planning to receive email notifications for new voicemail messages - as a backup in case of an extended power outage or if I'm away. Also, I had planned on using my Yak VoiP account from a PC using X-Lite, as was highlighted on Yak's site.

So why couldn't I access these features and why had so many things changed within a week or two? I learned that because Distributel acquired Yak recently that new customers were essentially not getting the Yak features that were standard as recently as the beginning of November (while having to pay the same price still). Even if I had realized Yak had changed hands, I couldn't have predicted that multiple features would be stripped!

My disappointment and frustration come from the fact that I had expectations of what features the service included and the reality was something very different. I only wish that this had been communicated better by Distributel/Yak so that I could have made an informed decision. Instead I had to learn this from a series of calls to customer service and technical support - which of course were not really able to help me because they could no longer give me these features that I had thought I was getting. Again, I'm not displeased with the core service, but my decision would have been definitely influenced by this reality. I am feeling some buyer's remorse. At this point I am unsure whether I will keep the service long term.

Reply from: The Yak Team
December 8, 2016
Hi Nathanael,

We are happy to share new features as they become available.

Sincerely,
The Yak Team

Reply from: Nathanael
December 7, 2016
Hello Yak Team,

Thank you for taking the time to respond to my message.

I wouldn’t say that I’m enjoying Yak Home Phone overall, primarily because of the points I outlined above. I was just aiming to provide a balanced assessment of my experiences with Yak. I am genuinely interested in knowing what specific ways Yak is planning to increase the value of the Home Phone service to your customers? Are there any features that are planned to be added or cost savings in the near future? Knowing this could go a long way to reassuring customers like me to continue using Yak services despite the initial disappointment.

Thank you for any input you can give.

Reply from: The Yak Team
December 5, 2016
Hi Nathanael,

We are glad to hear you are enjoying Yak Home Phone overall. We have made some changes, and are working to make the product one that adds increasing value to your household.

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 6 Yes No 0 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
November 15, 2016
Submitted by: Michèle Garceau (Port Moody, BR)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Phone cuts.. Sometimes no phone at all!

My Home Phone keeps cutting. Every time I have a phone call for more than 5-10 minutes, I lose the phone service for 1-2 minutes. I opened a ticket... I was told that it was normal, that the provider is updating the line. Then they asked me to check the lights on the ATA which are invariably the same. Internet cuts too. Sometimes the phone does not ring at all when people call. The features on the web site do not all work correctly - I've had a problem with deactivating one (forward). When I called I was told it was fixed but it was not. I figured out how to fix it after trying many things on the features (if there is no number in the text field, you can't deactivate the feature, so you have to put in a number, deactivate, remove the number. if you do both at the same time, it saves no phone and the forward stays on so people call but the phone does not ring). The CSRs are very nice when I call (which earns them a 2) but the problems are never fixed. Last time I tried telling a tech that the service was the worst I have ever had (in a very calm voice, very polite), and he hung up on me. I would not recommend going to Yak to anybody (or Shaw). Only reason I'm still with them is I don't want to go to the only other option and having my bandwith cut at night when there are more users. I work from home and this is extremely frustrating and completely unacceptable. And it costs 95$ per month!! I might change anyway - less bandwith when more users might work better than no service at all!

Reply from: The Yak Team
November 16, 2016
Hi Michele,

Please send us your account number and the best way/time to contact you (via marketing@yak.ca) and we'll have a senior member of the team look into this issue with you.

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
5 persons found the following review useful
November 5, 2016
Submitted by: Dave (Toronto, ON)
Feeling: Feeling disappointed Disappointed
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

i call support more that i call my wife

On the + side Yak is $10. ( however they hit you with another $40 for a box.. so it isnt really $10).
Set up is mucky. YOu have to call and set it up and this will take you about 40-60 mins.

the system dies a lot. At least 1X a week. You cant reset it yourself. you have to call Yak.
NOTE TO ROGERS CUSTOMERS: According to YAK, rogers does some sort of 'update' that shuts off your Yak phone. Yes, you read that correct. So you have to call to reset your phone.

HOLD TIMES: Saturdays it is at least 20 minute hold time. Good luck.

Overall i had really hopes for Yak. but Im going to cancel and give up. May try Vonage for a year.

Reply from: The Yak Team
November 8, 2016
Hi Dave,

We're sorry to hear you've been having a tough go since joining Yak. Your case isn't the average case, and we'd like to continue resolving this issue for you.

Please e-mail marketing@yak.ca with your name and account number.

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 5 Yes No 0 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
October 29, 2016
Submitted by: Bill Roberts (Upper Tantallon, NO)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Spotty Restricted Service

Frequent occurrences of no dial tone with incoming calls going direct to voice mail.
Service does not complete calls to 311 (City Services), 511 (Highway conditions), 811 (Medical Information), 310-3776 (My furnace oil provider). No solution or fix offered.

Reply from: The Yak Team
October 31, 2016
Hi Bill,

Please e-mail us your account number (send to marketing@yak.ca). We'll ensure your issue is reviewed and a full update provided.

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 0 Report abuse
August 6, 2016
Submitted by: Lise Guilbault (Longueuil, QU)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Best land phone solution I've seen

solution with added service of drop-off message to email. Love it !

Reply from: The Yak Team
August 8, 2016
Hi Lise,

We're thrilled to hear you're enjoying Yak Home Phone. If there's anything we can do to make the service even better, please let us know by e-mail (marketing@yak.ca).

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
July 16, 2016
Submitted by: Bill Roberts (Upper Tantallon, NO)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Limited Access, Unreliable Service

My Halifax Yak phone is unable to access 311 (Halifax Regional Municipality) , 511 (Nova Scotia Highway Reports), 811 (Medical Help Line) and 310-3776 (Pioneer Fuels) all of which were accessible with my previous land line. For some reason Yak prepends a 1 in front of each of these codes. Several E mails, but no response from Yak. Would appreciate an explanation or better yet, a fix!
Occasionally incoming calls go direct to voice mail without ringing the phone and outgoing calls result in no ring no answer conditions.
Service is not up to land line criteria.

Reply from: dave
November 5, 2016
I have the same issue... and we are in Toronto.
You would think in a market of 2 million people they would put some more effort into solving these issues.
yak is barely worth $10 a month. But costs you time to fix.
Good luck

Reply from: The Yak Team
July 18, 2016
Hi Bill,

We should be able to resolve these items for you. Please give our team a call to troubleshoot at a time convenient for you - 1-877-925-4925.

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 1 Report abuse
Load More Reviews

Will my iPhone work with Yak using Xplornet satellite?


Hello Barb. Yak does not currently provide Mobile service. Sincerely, The Yak Team

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

On average, how many gigabits a month would VOIP use on a residential phone


Hello, On average, the typical Canadian family will talk 400 minutes per month (that is 3 1/2 hs). That consumes about 250 MB or 0.25 GB. It may be less based on the settings, but this is a general good rule of thumb assumption/guide. Hope it helps. The Gonevoip Team

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

I'm currently with another VOIP service provider and my phone adaptor is Grandstream HT812. If I were to switch to Yak, can I use it as my BYOD device? If yes, will you provide the configuration instructions? Thanks.

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

We have explorernet satellite internet - any issues using VOIP over this format?

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Can I buy Yak home phone if I have Bell Fibe internet and also I use the no 10-10-100 number for oversees call to the Netherlands..will yak bill me for those


Hi Corry, Yak Home Phone will work via Bell Fibe, but you won't be able to dial out with another 10-10 number on the service. Sincerely, The Yak Team

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(90) Reviews + (89) Replies: 179

Rating  67%     Rating  33%

Maple Leaf Top Residential VoIP

Yak
Visit Website
$5 / mo.
Read 173 Reviews
VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 54 Reviews
1-VOIP
Visit Website
$11.21 / mo.
Read 9 Reviews
VOIPO
Visit Website
$6.21 / mo.
Read 2 Reviews
CallCentric
Visit Website
$0.0198 pr min / mo.
Read 8 Reviews
Phone Power
Visit Website
USD$5.99 / mo.
Read 53 Reviews

Maple LeafTop Internet Providers

Distributel
Visit Website
$35 / mo.
Read 5 Reviews
HeroNet.ca
Visit Website
$38.88 / mo.
Read 4 Reviews
TekSavvy Solutions Inc.
Visit Website
$27.99 / mo.
Read 2 Reviews