TekSavvy Solutions Inc. Reviews & Service Offerings

TekSavvy Solutions Inc.
Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 26

Rating  9%     Rating  91%    

Add a Review     Ask a Question

TekSavvy Solutions Inc.
TekSavvy Solutions Inc.

TekSavvy Solutions Inc.

Website: www.teksavvy.com
Services: Cable, DSL, Wi-Fi, & Wireless
Availability: AB, BC, MB, NB, NF,ON, PEI, QC & SK
Monthly Price: $52.95 CAD

Visit Site


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion (2): Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(24 ) Reviews + (2) Replies: 26

Rating  9%     Rating  91%

Add a Review

Ask a Question


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 26

Rating  9%     Rating  91%    

  Add a Review     Ask a Question

 

Reviews Stats

Rating
1
Rating
0
Rating
1
Rating
4
Rating
18
When reviewing TekSavvy Solutions Inc. Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !

Top Positive


1 person found the following review useful
Submitted on: December 3, 2018
Submitted by: Eyb Ygn (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Amazing customer service!

Hands down these folks have the best customer service. I just got off a call with a DSL technician who I was connected to via the helpline (her name was Nicole) and she immediately figured out what the issue was. Within 10 minutes or so, she solved the issue of me not being able to connect to certain websites (due to a multiple login attempt by my modem).

I even asked for a supervisor and expressed to him my gratitude. For the given price, you cannot find any better service. Hands down Teksavvy is amazing thanks to people like Nicole with whom I spoke with today!


Do you find this review useful?

1 Yes No 4 Report abuse


Top Critical


25 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: November 2, 2016
Submitted by: mark (ottawa , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

worst ever

I have a very low internet speed while I am paying for 7Mbps download.
I contacted them and they say that the infrastructure is for bell and they can ask bell to check their infrastructure.
However, if there is no problem in bell's infrastructure, I should pay the fee (around 80$).
They didn't even bother to send a technician into my apartment to check the issue.
I am really angry about their service and looking to switch to another provider to get a service faster than dial up.

Reply from: Jack On: January 28, 2017
Who are you with now and are you happy?


Do you find this review useful?

25 Yes No 3 Report abuse


All Reviews

1 person found the following review useful
April 22, 2019
Submitted by: Mike (Ridgetown , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Garbage

This is the second time in two months that tech savy has told us a date that they would be out to fix our Internet and the second time that they have switched the date without notifying us. When I speak to their garbage customer service all they do is say "nothing we can do about it." People take days off during the week to be home for this and it's unacceptable that this happens especially without notifying us and essentially making us hunt them down for answers. This company needs to be held accountable for their lack of customer service and lack of knowledge about how things even work in their company! Please I'm telling you stay away from tech savy! Might be cheap but you pay for it with your mental health!
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
March 26, 2019
Submitted by: Melissa (Edmonton , AL)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Garbage. A company run by kindergartners.

Cheap. Which is nice. However, when something goes wrong, like a downed line in your backyard, nothing gets resolved. Sitting it a puddle now for a week with no backyard access for my dog or kid. No notice when Shaw is supposed to come, and no follow-up, except when I pursued them.
"Oh," they say, "not done? Hm, it says here it was done."
"Uh, rest assured it was NOT done. The wire touching the ground in my backyard clearly shows it was not done."
"Well, the best I can do is put a rush on it."
"What does that mean?"
"Well, they'll make it a priority."
"How is a downed wire not a priority right off the hop?"
"..."
Seriously, $#!T service. Don't do it.

Reply from: TSI-John
March 29, 2019
Hello, I am aware of your experience and all that you went through to get the downed wire repaired. I am very sorry for the aggravation this has caused. We hate that this happened to you and your family.

I have passed this issue along to our regulatory team that will be working to get these types of issues resolved on a priority basis with the vendor going forward.

Please reach out to us if we can be of any assistance in the future.

If I can be of any assistance please email myexperience@teksavvy.com.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
6 persons found the following review useful
January 10, 2019
Submitted by: Roland Tobiasz (Burlington , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Honest review after one month.

I live in Burlington and I switched from Cogeco to Teksavvy mid December 2018. Teksavvy uses Cogeco infrastructure so the service should be the same, right? Wrong.

When I was switching, I asked specifically if they throttle and I was told...."NOOOO! Teksavvy does not throttle."

Well here's how my speed looks inreality after 1 month:

Night, morning - approx 40Mb/s, which is what I signed up for
Afternoon & evening - anywhere from 2Mb/6 - 15Mb/s.

I've tested it the past week and those are my numbers.

Now to be fair to Teksavvy, they have their throttling set up in such a way that video streaming is not that much affected but website download and data transfer is.

So, if you stream video (Netflix, etc) then you should be OK but if you play games, transfer data or even want a responsive website experience then stay away from them.
Do you find this review useful? 6 Yes No 1 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
December 26, 2018
Submitted by: Janice (Toronto , ON)
Feeling: Feeling disappointed Disappointed
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Dishonest CSR

I had a bad experience recently. I called CSR and guy with not canadian accent picked phone explained everything. Still wifi was not working. Internet was ok. He started telling my router is faulty. I began searching for another router. Fortunately my friend who is in IT came and checked and found user name and password has been changed without my knowledge. He was able to retrieve. Atleast they have to be honest to customers
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 1 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
December 16, 2018
Submitted by: othmane (montreal , QU)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

bad connection ,bad service

I pay for 25 MB ,the top that I can get is 7 MB , when I called they told me the problem is the modem so you can cancel if you are not satisfied , I was asking for any solution like change me the modem make some solution thecnic nooooway
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
December 3, 2018
Submitted by: Eyb Ygn (Toronto , ON)
Feeling: Feeling happy Happy
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Amazing customer service!

Hands down these folks have the best customer service. I just got off a call with a DSL technician who I was connected to via the helpline (her name was Nicole) and she immediately figured out what the issue was. Within 10 minutes or so, she solved the issue of me not being able to connect to certain websites (due to a multiple login attempt by my modem).

I even asked for a supervisor and expressed to him my gratitude. For the given price, you cannot find any better service. Hands down Teksavvy is amazing thanks to people like Nicole with whom I spoke with today!
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 4 Report abuse
7 persons found the following review useful
November 19, 2018
Submitted by: Cindy Tran (Mississauga , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Horrendous Customer Service

Tech Savvy passed us around like a hot potatoes from one customer rep to another. Nobody could figure out why our internet wasn't working. They would say they'll call us back the next day but NOBODY WOULD CALL US BACK. This happened several times where they said they will call us but ... ody did. It's like each customer rep doesn't know what he's doing so he gets out from this situation by telling telling you that he'll "call you back".

Avoid them at all cost!!! They are a money grabber now who doesn't give a ... about you!!
Do you find this review useful? 7 Yes No 0 Report abuse
10 persons found the following review useful
October 17, 2018
Submitted by: Jehanzeb (Whitby , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Worst ISP ever

I have been with Bell and Rogers for internet. Used to see many adds from TekSavvy so thought of going with them. However, it's a pathetic company. Regretting my decision and moving over to Rogers. Customer service is pathetic.

At the time of connection:
Teksavvy confirmed I can get a DSL connection. We paid for the service and waited for the guy to set up. When Bell guy came (the real provider is Bell - Teksavvy is like a sales agent), he told us that we can't get more than 5Mbps while Teksavvy had promised 30. We had to talk to Teksavvy and they said, the only other option they can give is to get cable (which is through Rogers). We had already waited for long for the DSL modem to be shipped. Now we had to wait for cable. Anyway, we went ahead. However, later we have found service to be pathetic.

Technical issues:
The company has many technical issues. Sometimes, you cannot reach them for hours or even days. If you have any issues you have to call technical support. If you are very lucky to connect, they cannot help you much other than walking you through normal trouble shooting. If it doesn't resolve the issue, they tell you that they have to pass on the info to the main provider (i.e. Rogers or Bell). If you ask about turn around time, they tell they cannot guarantee and that it could take up to 3 days. OMG. Can we survive without internet for that long? Not for social media purpose but actually to WORK!

Most recent problem I had was sudden loss of internet. I did all the troubleshooting but nothing happened. I kept on calling Teksavvy but as usual could not connect on any of the phone numbers. Not only support line, even sales line wasn't dialable. I contacted Rogers but they would not serve me as: (1) I was Teksavvy's customer and (2) They can't access the modem as that's provided by Teksavvy. However, Rogers CSR was kind enough to confirm there was Roger's outage in the area.

After hours of trying to connect, I approached Teksavvy through social media, i.e. Twitter. Initially at @TekSavvyCSR and later at @TekSavvyBuzz and @TekSavvyNetwork. However, no one responded to me.

It's a nightmare to get Teksavvy. I recommend everyone to stay away!
Do you find this review useful? 10 Yes No 1 Report abuse
11 persons found the following review useful
September 13, 2018
Submitted by: Laura Hernandez (Vancouver , BR)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Worst Customer Service Ever!

This company is a joke! Seriously!!

We hired their services by mid August, and received a notification from their website that our appointment to have a tech at our place was confirmed for Friday, Aug. 31st. We had also paid a bill in ADVANCE, before receiving any services from these people. I had to ask for a no paid day off at my work just to wait for them. After waiting for a long time, I decided to call at 3:20pm to see what was going on, and to my surprise the Account Manager Edward told me that the appointment was actually booked for the next day (Sa ... ay). This was a total lie as we had a copy of the confirmation.... 1st lie!

As it was a ling weekend in BC, we had to cancel our plans and wait as idiots, just to realize that they really were not coming. At 4pm I called again and talked to a lady who told us that they had on their system that the technician was at our building and unit. ..... 2nd lie!!!!

After so much complaining and this person didn't even care, we decided to cancel everything with this company. After that, no one has called for a follow up...nothing! they just didn't even care!

We sent the router the same day after cancelling the services, I received a confirmation email from Canada post on Monday Sep. 10th and we were supposed to receive a refund.... 3 days has passed by and decided to call again today Sep. Thursday 13, and the operator just told me that they have on their system that they received the equipment on Tuesday Sep. 11th, which is not true, and that I am supposed to receive our deposit back by the end of next week, if not I should call again just to find our what happened..... Seriously???!!!!

I've been working on the hospitality/customer service industry for over 15 years and I have never seen such an incompetent service as this before.

I know that they won't care about this complaint at all, but just wanted to warn you guys!
Do you find this review useful? 11 Yes No 1 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
September 6, 2018
Submitted by: Maya (Ottawa , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Home line & internet connection

I'm very disappointed from teksavy internet. They're the worse. I'm not happy at all. Sometimes I have phone line & internet connection & sometimes nothing. I don't recommended teksavy service to anybody.
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 0 Report abuse
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$52.95 Shipping: $49.95 Other: $ No

Download: 30 Mbps

Upload: 5 Mbps

Cap:

Overage:

TekSavvy Solutions, Inc. believes in doing the right thing. For their customers. For their business. For their employees. They do this by treating people the way they would want to be treated. Fairly. Honestly. With respect and consideration.

From their phone offerings to their Internet services. They believe Canadians should enjoy great access, at a fair price. Without unfair restrictions and fees imposed by monopolies to benefit their bottom line. They believe that people are tired of the status quo where Internet access is controlled by a select few corporations. They believe that consumers shouldn’t have to feel that their only choice is the best of the worst. They believe that consumers want an alternative that advocates for their rights and earns their trust and their business. They are that alternative. 

Since their inception in 1998, they have been working hard to improve the industry. Their business practices are effective and transparent. They believe in candor. They believe in integrity. And, most of all, they believe Canadians deserve a better choice and a better deal. It seems they’re onto something. TekSavvy has been ranked as Canada’s #1 ISP on dslreports.com for years running. Profit 100 magazine has repeatedly named them as one of Canadians Fastest Growing Companies. And they believe that it will continue to grow exponentially. Because, in the end, doing what’s right is the best business strategy of all. 

Teksavvy is cheaper not only in the one product tier that we have listed here but across the whole spectrum of choices you can have. There's DSL, there is Cable internet - you name it they have the works for it.

TekSavvy is entirely Canadian owned and operated, with its headquarters based in Chatham, Ontario and their sister office in Gatineau, Quebec. This allows for superb 24/7 bilingual customer support. TekSavvy operates using what is called "last mile" infrastructure from the big Canadian telco Bell, Rogers, Cogeco, Shaw, Telus, and Vidéotron. Though Teksavvy sets their own flavor with different price and set of features included.

TekSavvy's DSL 6 service is the entry point of Fiber To The Node (FTTN) DSL service for customers in both Ontario and Quebec. TekSavvy's DSL services, when coupled with their TekTalk Unlimited VoIP service, has the monthly recurring dry loop fee waived. 

TekSavvy Internet comes in 3 different types of access technology, for urban areas is DSL and Cable. For some rural areas in Southwestern Ontario, the TekSavvy has a product named SkyFI. Below we review the current pricing of all Teksavvy Internet packages;

DSL

  • High Speed DSL 6 @ $ 35/month (200GB)
  • High Speed DSL 15 @ $46/month (unlimited)
  • High Speed DSL 25 @ $50/month (unlimited)
  • High Speed DSL 50 @ $57/month (unlimited)

Cable

  • Cable 5 @ $24.95/month (200GB)
  • Cable 30 @ $52.95/month (unlimited)
  • Cable 75 @ $59.95/month (unlimited)
  • Cable 150 @ $68.95/month (unlimited)
  • Cable 250 @ $89.95/month (unlimited)

SkyFi (For Rural Ontario)

  • SKYFI Basic I Up To 1 Mbps Download @ $24.95/month (unlimited)
  • SKYFI PRO 3 Up To 3 Mbps Download @ $29.95/month (unlimited)
  • SKYFI MAX 6 Up to 6 Mbps Download @ $39.95/month (unlimited)
  • SKYFI TITANIUM 10 Up to 10 Mbps Download @ $54.95/month (unlimited)

See this handy video produced by Teksavvy on how to troubleshoot a slow internet connection with some really helpful tips!

You may want to read all the reviews before contacting TekSavvy to see what the experience is like, or continue exploring and compare to other providers!

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark

when will i get an answer . im on hold for a long time longer than you said

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse

Why does it say NO DATA on my tv screen when I have internet?

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Why are my shows saying NO DATA when I have internet?

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Do you provide services to woodbridge,on,and what is your best price l4l1n6

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Do you service 42 Leroy grant dr.

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

Internet Cable Wars: Battleground Ontario

It has been brewing for a few months. Competition in the Cable Internet segment, especially on Rogers territory is fierce. This is mainly driven by, ironically Rogers itself by making available to smaller or independent �
Continue Reading

Rating  3     Rating  0
Report abuse

Canada’s Internet Speeds and Prices

Types of internet access providers This summer we set out to analyze the status of the home internet connections across the country. We picked fourteen representative major urban centers and analyzed factors such as maximum available �
Continue Reading

Rating  3     Rating  1
Report abuse

Best Home Internet Canada

Altima Telecom
Visit Website
$29.95 / mo.
Read 51 Reviews
CIK Telecom Inc
Visit Website
$24.99 / mo.
Read 6 Reviews
GemsTelecom
Visit Website
$29.99 / mo.
Read 12 Reviews
Transat Telecom
Visit Website
$39.95 / mo.
Read 0 Reviews
HeroNet.ca
Visit Website
$44.88 / mo.
Read 19 Reviews

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 150 Reviews
netTALK CONNECT ezLINQ
Visit Website
$7 / mo.
Read 3 Reviews
VOIPO
Visit Website
$7.70 / mo.
Read 3 Reviews
CallCentric
Visit Website
FREE / mo.
Read 8 Reviews
1-VOIP
Visit Website
$11 / mo.
Read 15 Reviews