Distributel Reviews & Service Offerings

Distributel
Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 18

Rating  27%     Rating  73%    

Distributel
Distributel

Distributel

Website:
Services:
Availability:
www.distributel.ca
DSL, Cable, and FTTN
AB, BC, ON & QC
1-855-215-6310

Buy Now Get a Quote Visit Site

Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$35 Shipping: $ Other: $10 No

Download: 10Mbps

Upload: 7Mbps

Cap:

Overage:

Distributel has been providing telecommunication services for close to three decades! Since it was founded in 1988, Distributel has become one of the most prominent Internet service providers in Canada.

In the 1990s, Distributel faced Bell Canada in court, under the premise that what they were doing wasn't legal. Fortunately the Canadian Radio Television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) ruled in favour of Distributel - a decision which opened the door for competition in the Canadian Long Distance market.

With offices in 8 cities across Canada, Distributel has made a promise to stick around long term. They are deeply commited to ensuring everyone has excellent options, no matter where they are and what they need.

Innovative, reliable and customer-focused, Distributel is unlike any telecom company you've experienced. Whether you're looking for Internet (Cable, DSL or FTTN), Home Phone, LD or TV, they understand which products and plans are perfect for your needs AND your particular address.

Looking for great Internet service? Distributel offers the best variety of High Speed Internet plans? Surf, share, download and binge however you like. You can also choose to go UNLIMITED and never worry about overage fees again. Get what's right for you.

How about unbeatable Home Phone service? Distributel acquired Yak Communications and its fantastic technology in 2016. Every Yak Digital Home Phone plan from Distributel includes 12 great features, unlimited local calling, crystal-clear voice quality and a price that will keep your wallet full and happy. Enjoy ultra-low International calling rates, and opt to keep your current number or request a new one.

Shopping for a better price for TV service? Distributel has what's right for you. Customize your television service however you like, from basic channels all the way up to the theme and specialty channels your household adores.

If you're searching for a great Bundle provider, Distributel also has you covered. Get 3 months of free Yak Home Phone service by Distributel when you Bundle Internet and Home Phone, plus a friendly monthly discount once your first 3 months are up. With a range of services and value, they have what's right for you.

If you're looking for more, check out their website (distributel.ca) and see what they have for you. You may even find a special promotion featured. Their team is available to answer any questions you have (8am to 9pm EST Monday - Friday, and 9am-5pm on weekends).

Sign up today and discover how Distributel is making communications better. Find the plan for you, at value that can't be beat.

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark
 

Reviews Stats

Rating
3
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
9
When reviewing Distributel Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry!

Top Positive


3 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: March 22, 2017
Submitted by: fareha(nepean, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

thank you

to day I called to customer service about
a problem which I had with my phone .
distributel was vary nice and fix my phone.


Thank you

Reply from: The Distributel Team On: April 25, 2017
Hi Fareha,

Thanks for the call. If there's anything else we can do to make your service even better, please let us know.

Sincerely,
The Distributel Team


Do you find this review useful?

3 Yes No 3 Report abuse


Top Critical


27 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: June 30, 2015
Submitted by: David Rafler (burlington, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Worse Company Ever

They will ... p the price up after 3 months, when you already bought the modem and paid for shipping.
Same thing Rogers/Bell did to me to rip me off.
looking to get rid of Them.


Do you find this review useful?

27 Yes No 4 Report abuse


All Reviews

November 27, 2017
Submitted by: Stephen Prince (Toronto, ON)
Feeling: Feeling disappointed Disappointed
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Please Avoid signing up with Distributel!

Distributel might offer you the world and offer a cheaper price than Rogets or Bell but please be warned that "cheap" price is due to their completely useless hardware and terrible customer service! I got their "unlimited internet" but it was more like unlimited headaches! Consistently dropped WiFi and useless modems!
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
November 10, 2017
Submitted by: Sandy Robertson (Edmonton, AL)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Customer service is a foreign concept

I ordered and confirmed a new installation from Distributel. They sent the hardware in advance and the day before my installation (that I waited ten days for), they sent me an email asking for me to return the hardware - without any indication of why. When I called to say - no I'm not returning the hardware. It's being installed tomorrow, they said, oh - we can't install for you, please return the hardware. So about 8 phone calls later, $20 dollars more in Canada Post charges to return the modem, they still haven't credited my account for the return and plan to charge me rental fees for it! I am outraged at their complete failure at customer service and at having to pay over and over again for their mistakes.
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
October 31, 2017
Submitted by: Devon (Orillia, ON)
Feeling: Feeling unpleasantly_surprised Unpleasantly Surprised
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Joke Show!

As an IT person with 15 years in the IT industry working for a school board, University, and Phone Company I can say I've seen it all. Distributel ha ... a home run with the bases loaded for poor service.

I've had nothing but unstable, latent internet, with poor specs. Calling them for support is hilariously unproductive as you get draaaged through a scripted conversation by a tech that sounds like they've been victimized.

I "Upgraded" my service to 15MB with a new DocSIS 3 Modem for $100 dollars at my expense with the hopes of having any semblance of improvement for my home business. NOPE. Its worse!!

I now do tech support contracts from home, my VoIP Phones have poor quality, remote support sessions fail, videos don't load...the list goes on. Do yourself a favour and pick another company that stands a fighting chance. Good Luck Distributel your service is currently a Joke!

Reply from: Distributel Team
November 3, 2017
Hi Devon,

We appreciate you reaching out and providing us with this feedback. It's certainly tough to hear about someone not having a good experience but we listen carefully and are always looking to improve.

What you're describing is certainly not a typical experience so we would definitely want to investigate what happened here more closely. We take providing quality service/customer service very seriously.

Can you please send an email to feedback@distributel.ca and include the phone number associated to your account along with the feedback?

We apologize and hope you'll give us the opportunity to investigate what happened and maybe even consider trying us again in the future.

Distributel Team
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
October 18, 2017
Submitted by: Lindsey (Windsor, ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Terrible Company

I have been with Distributel for 2 years. Every time there is an issue it is a horrible experience dealing with this company. that some times when the internet wasn't working(which was a lot) I would go without internet for days just so I could avoid calling this company. Most recently I have moved, I called on Oct. 2nd the earliest a tech could come out was on Oct.13. Every time a tech has come to my house in the past I've had no issue with a 5-9 time setting for them to come. I called the day before on Oct. 12 to confirm the appointment which of course they did not have 5-9 as the previous tech confirmed on Oct.3. On Oct 12, they said it was fixed and a tech would be at my house Oct. 13 between 5-9. Oct 13 waiting and waiting 8:30 comes so I call Distributel for them to tell me no one was coming and they have apparently been contacting me by calling and leaving voicemails which is a lie!!! Because I did not have one missed call or voicemail. So I wasted my night. They then said the next availability is Oct 17 between 5-9. I got a voicemail on Oct 16 stating that a Tech DID NOT need to come out to my house and therefore my services would be turned on between 12-5. I got home from work at 5 on Oct.17 to a notice on my door from Bell, "sorry we missed you". Now I'm livid! I called the company and no one could give me an answer as to why a voicemail was left stating it would be turned on and why my regular appointment time of 5-9 did not go through! Now they have sent my issue to a supervisor and someone would have to contact me back with a 5-9 NEW date. Well no one called till the afternoon the following day with an app for Oct. 20 for 12-5!!! What the ... is wrong with this company... now the next availability for 5-9 is now Oct.25th!!! and they will not waive my transfer/installation fee... F****cking horrible service all around! I am cancelling so done. Not to mention when I first got the internet they were not charging my credit card and were charging me NSF Fees! Mean while money is always on it because it's a Debit Visa and I went to my bank and asked them and they told me there had been no attempts for withdrawing from the company and if it were an NSF issue my bank would also have to charge me an NSF fee which they did not!!! When I asked the CSR for an address so I can go to Distributel to prove what my bank had advised I asked if there was one in Windsor he told me there was and gave me an address which was actually in Ottawa!! When I called back I just so happened to get the same CSR and he laughed at me! I've never encountered such terrible service from anyone!!!
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 0 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
October 2, 2017
Submitted by: Donna Mayne (Windsor, ON)
Feeling: Feeling unpleasantly_surprised Unpleasantly Surprised
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Left stranded

Waited all day at home, installer never showed up on date that was booked. A few days later I got internet service but no phone service. Wasted hours on hold and money on cellphone usage trying to resolve this issue. Still waiting to get my refund for the equipment I returned to them.
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
5 persons found the following review useful
September 7, 2017
Submitted by: Sharonee (Mississauga, ON)
Feeling: Feeling disappointed Disappointed
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Tech Support Non-Existent!

The worst service I have ever received from any company. There was NO attempt to resolve my issue. Had the service for less than two weeks, was promised resolution within 24hrs and a call-back; no call. I called 48hrs after and they had the nerve to say I was still to be contacted at a later date - when I pointed out this was unacceptable, as this was a new business line, still no attempt to do anything for me. I have now gladly cancelled my service. I would NEVER RECOMMEND ANYONE to sign with this company, if you have a technical issue, you will be on your own!
Do you find this review useful? 5 Yes No 1 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
April 25, 2017
Submitted by: Ron McChesney (Windsor, ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

IP Phone

Decided to switch from Bell and over a month they could not get it to work. Had many discussions with them. Each time I got a different tech and had to do the same stuff over and over and over. I think I new more them after awhile. Always told someone would call back....oh always when I was at work!
Spent more trying to sort out...saided I needed a new modem ....but mot it, tied a different phone...no work.. as for my wireless router was even changed....just a real pain in the ass....
NO NOT USE

Reply from: The Distributel Team
April 25, 2017
Hi Ron,

If you're able to provide your issue and account number to onlinesignup@distributel.ca (or call us at 1-877-810-2877), we'd like to take another look into this for you. It appears there is an issue with the equipment you are using, and we have suggestions around which compatible equipment to use.

Sincerely,
The Distributel Team
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 1 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
March 24, 2017
Submitted by: Muriel Allan (Richmond, QU)
Feeling: Feeling thankful Thankful
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Telephone assistance

I just had a great experience with Randy who helped me out with accessing my new email account and online profile with Distributel. Could not be more happy with his patience and courtesy!

Reply from: The Distributel Team
April 25, 2017
Hi Muriel,

Thank you for the kind review. Serving you has been our pleasure.

Sincerely,
The Distributel Team
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 2 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
March 22, 2017
Submitted by: fareha (nepean, ON)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

thank you

to day I called to customer service about
a problem which I had with my phone .
distributel was vary nice and fix my phone.


Thank you

Reply from: The Distributel Team
April 25, 2017
Hi Fareha,

Thanks for the call. If there's anything else we can do to make your service even better, please let us know.

Sincerely,
The Distributel Team
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 3 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
January 19, 2017
Submitted by: David R Tanner (Ontario, ON)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

awesome

great to deal with if we have a problem or question we get immediate help from a live person who is very pleasant and courteous. Randy was the last guy we talked to and he fixed our problem immediately. Very very happy with the awesome customer assistance.

Reply from: The Distributel Team
January 19, 2017
Hi David,

We're happy to hear you are enjoying your experience.

Sincerely,
The Distributel Team
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 3 Report abuse
Load More Reviews

Confirm this can be installed at 22621 Jury Rd., RR#3 Komoka Ont N0L 1R0

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

The Internet of Things

The last decade has seen the Internet evolve in leaps and bounds – specifically in technologies pertaining to the cloud, big data and pay-for-play computing services. Amazon Web Services officially launched in 2006; prior to …
Continue Reading

Rating  0     Rating  0
Report abuse


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(12) Reviews + (6) Replies: 18

Rating  27%     Rating  73%

Maple Leaf Top Internet Providers

Distributel
Visit Website
$35 / mo.
Read 5 Reviews
HeroNet.ca
Visit Website
$38.88 / mo.
Read 4 Reviews
TekSavvy Solutions Inc.
Visit Website
$27.99 / mo.
Read 2 Reviews

Maple LeafTop Residential VoIP

Yak
Visit Website
$5 / mo.
Read 173 Reviews
VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 54 Reviews
1-VOIP
Visit Website
$11.21 / mo.
Read 9 Reviews