Distributel Reviews & Service Offerings

Distributel
Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 30

Rating  21%     Rating  79%    

Add a Review     Ask a Question

Distributel
Distributel

Distributel

Website: www.distributel.ca
Services: DSL, Cable, and FTTN
Availability: AB, BC, ON & QC
Monthly Price: $40 CAD

1-855-215-6310

Buy Now Get a Quote Visit Site


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion (5): Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(20 ) Reviews + (10) Replies: 30

Rating  21%     Rating  79%

Add a Review

Ask a Question


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 30

Rating  21%     Rating  79%    

  Add a Review     Ask a Question

 

Reviews Stats

Rating
5
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
15
When reviewing Distributel Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !

Top Positive


7 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: March 24, 2017
Submitted by: Muriel Allan (Richmond , QU)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Telephone assistance

I just had a great experience with Randy who helped me out with accessing my new email account and online profile with Distributel. Could not be more happy with his patience and courtesy!

Reply from: The Distributel Team On: April 25, 2017
Hi Muriel,

Thank you for the kind review. Serving you has been our pleasure.

Sincerely,
The Distributel Team


Do you find this review useful?

7 Yes No 6 Report abuse


Top Critical


47 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: June 30, 2015
Submitted by: David Rafler (burlington , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Worse Company Ever

They will ... p the price up after 3 months, when you already bought the modem and paid for shipping.
Same thing Rogers/Bell did to me to rip me off.
looking to get rid of Them.


Do you find this review useful?

47 Yes No 6 Report abuse


All Reviews

2 persons found the following review useful
January 22, 2019
Submitted by: Kay (Montreal , QU)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Worst ever

Impossible to talk with them. Shitty service, keeps disconnecting, even YouTube doesn't load. Ridiculously ... ty. Save your money, sanity and time, anything else is better.
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
December 5, 2018
Submitted by: veronica (mississauga , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Bunch of clowns in every department

Distributel transferred my ph number from my previous provider as I wanted to keep the same number. I was unaware that somebody else had my number until friends told me that they could't reach me at my home number. So I called my home number from my mobile and a person in Orilia answered saying that Distributel had set them up with my ph number a few days ago. Since then myself and the Orillia guy have been requesting Distributel to fix the problem numerous times, but their technicians proved to be inefficient to the point that I just decided to cancel the clowning around. Even cancelling was a joke.
Please Distributel, don't answer apologizing because what I am describing is a negative experience that is CERTAINLY typical of you. Your service is HORRENDOUS. Good riddance!
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
November 23, 2018
Submitted by: Mike (Montreal , QU)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Great company - great customer service

I have been with Distributel for over a year. I am very happy with the customer service. Internet is very affordable and reliable. I also enjoy their bundle services and recently added TV and Digital Home Phone to my bundle. Oh! and it is very affordable to call my family in Italy using Distributel Long Distance Calling Cards. - Great one stop shop for your home telecommunication needs.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
8 persons found the following review useful
September 18, 2018
Submitted by: Helen Agaybi (Montreal , QU)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

VERY BAD SERVICE

Very bad service. Avoid this company. They take the money and never complete the job and when you decide to cancel they want to charge you a penalty. A bunch of thieves.
Very bad customer service. Watch MARLYN, very rude, she hang up the phone when she talks to customers. I would never recommend.

Reply from: Distributel Care Team
September 24, 2018
Hello Helen,

This is not representative of the experience we'd like our customers to go through. We regret the inconvenience and are sad to see you cancel. Having said that we are always improving to meet and exceed expectations.

Should you want to give us another chance please don't hesitate to give us a call to 1-877-810-2877
Distributel Care Team
Do you find this review useful? 8 Yes No 0 Report abuse
5 persons found the following review useful
September 18, 2018
Submitted by: Helen Agaybi (Montreal , QU)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Very bad customer service

Very bad customer service. They take the money and never do the job. Avoid Marlyn, she should not answer customers at all. She hang up the phone on a customer. VERY VERY VERY BAD SERVICE.
Do you find this review useful? 5 Yes No 0 Report abuse
10 persons found the following review useful
September 12, 2018
Submitted by: Jean-Philippe Forcier (Montreal , QU)
Feeling: Feeling disappointed Disappointed
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

AVOID Distributel! Rated worst of all

Unfortunately as most Internet service users find out too often, Distributel seems to have one speed only, the SLOW speed. As for the phone line service, that rarely works at all. When you call customer service, you usually get long wait times as we are all accustomed with call centers. However, too often, some but not all technicians do not seem qualified to troubleshoot and at one point, want to get rid of you. Substandard overall
Do you find this review useful? 10 Yes No 0 Report abuse
9 persons found the following review useful
August 16, 2018
Submitted by: Dan (Ottawa , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Bunch of CRAP

for the last few years being with Distributel has been a headache. Internet would be good for a few months then SH!T hits the fan and internet either drops or constant boot and from no where MY DOWNLOAD HAS NOT BEEN WHAT I AM PAYING FOR. If this ... keeps happening, i'm a give Distributel a piece of my mind and a big F YOU and cancel because i am done with problems.
Do you find this review useful? 9 Yes No 0 Report abuse
9 persons found the following review useful
August 11, 2018
Submitted by: Manolo B. (Edmonton , AL)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

You dont get what they said youd get

I have been with distributel close to 1 year now and it was not a satisfactory experience. I paid 50+/mo for a 30mbps, that is the speed I am supposed to be geeting out from the plan but no. Everyday I only get between 1-5 mbps. I have proofs to show. My wife has been telling me to find something else but just didn't have the time to only now that I am seriously considering od switching to another service provider. Cheap doesn't always mean better choice. I difinitely would not recommend Distributel to anyone.
Do you find this review useful? 9 Yes No 0 Report abuse
12 persons found the following review useful
November 27, 2017
Submitted by: Stephen Prince (Toronto , ON)
Feeling: Feeling disappointed Disappointed
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Please Avoid signing up with Distributel!

Distributel might offer you the world and offer a cheaper price than Rogets or Bell but please be warned that "cheap" price is due to their completely useless hardware and terrible customer service! I got their "unlimited internet" but it was more like unlimited headaches! Consistently dropped WiFi and useless modems!

Reply from: Distributel Team
January 22, 2018
Hi. This is very difficult feedback to hear but we appreciate you reaching out to provide it.

Our modem lineup is very similar, if not identical to our competitors. We would very much appreciate if you could send us a quick email so we can investigate what happened in your case. You can contact us at here: https://www.distributel.ca/support/contact-us/

Or, you can email us at: feedback@distributel.ca

Reply from: Manndi
January 13, 2018
I completely agree with what you wrote here. It's thesame whole experience that I encountered. A lot of headaches. They just took my first payment and it's been almost a month now but it has not been installed yet.
Do you find this review useful? 12 Yes No 0 Report abuse
8 persons found the following review useful
November 10, 2017
Submitted by: Sandy Robertson (Edmonton , AL)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Customer service is a foreign concept

I ordered and confirmed a new installation from Distributel. They sent the hardware in advance and the day before my installation (that I waited ten days for), they sent me an email asking for me to return the hardware - without any indication of why. When I called to say - no I'm not returning the hardware. It's being installed tomorrow, they said, oh - we can't install for you, please return the hardware. So about 8 phone calls later, $20 dollars more in Canada Post charges to return the modem, they still haven't credited my account for the return and plan to charge me rental fees for it! I am outraged at their complete failure at customer service and at having to pay over and over again for their mistakes.

Reply from: Distributel Team
January 22, 2018
Hi Sandy. We feel terrible that you had such a difficult experience. We work very hard to ensure that availability is validated properly at the point of sale but it is unfortunately not a perfect system.

Our policy is refund 100% of the cost to customers in the rare cases that this happens. We are confident that if you have returned the hardware, you would have received a reimbursement by now but if there is any outstanding issues with your account, please contact us and we will work quickly to resolve all outstanding issues.

We'd also like to learn from what happened, please send us an email at feedback@distributel.ca along with your account information so we can investigate what happened.
Do you find this review useful? 8 Yes No 0 Report abuse
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$40 Shipping: $FREE Other: $10 No

Download: 25 Mbps

Upload: 10 Mbps

Cap:

Overage:

Distributel has been providing telecommunication services for close to three decades! Since it was founded in 1988, Distributel has become one of the most prominent Internet service providers in Canada.

In the 1990s, Distributel faced Bell Canada in court, under the premise that what they were doing wasn't legal. Fortunately, the Canadian Radio-Television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) ruled in favor of Distributel - a decision which opened the door for competition in the Canadian Long Distance market.

With offices in 8 cities across Canada, Distributel has made a promise to stick around long term. They are deeply committed to ensuring everyone has excellent options, no matter where they are and what they need.

Innovative, reliable and customer-focused, Distributel is unlike any telecom company you've experienced. Whether you're looking for Internet (Cable, DSL or FTTN), Home Phone, LD or TV, they understand which products and plans are perfect for your needs AND your particular address.

Looking for great Internet service? Distributel offers the best variety of High-Speed Internet plans? Surf, share, download, and binge however you like. You can also choose to go UNLIMITED and never worry about overage fees again. Get what's right for you.

How about unbeatable Home Phone service? Distributel acquired Yak Communications and its fantastic technology in 2016. Every Yak Digital Home Phone plan from Distributel includes 12 great features, unlimited local calling, crystal-clear voice quality and a price that will keep your wallet full and happy. Enjoy ultra-low International calling rates, and opt to keep your current number or request a new one.

Shopping for a better price for TV service? Distributel has what's right for you. Customize your television service however you like, from basic channels all the way up to the theme and specialty channels your household adores.

If you're searching for a great Bundle provider, Distributel also has you covered. Get 3 months of free Yak Home Phone service by Distributel when you Bundle Internet and Home Phone, plus a friendly monthly discount once your first 3 months are up. With a range of services and value, they have what's right for you.

If you're looking for more, check out their website (distributel.ca) and see what they have for you. You may even find a special promotion featured. Their team is available to answer any questions you have (8 am to 9 pm EST Monday - Friday, and 9am-5pm on weekends).

Sign up today and discover how Distributel is making communications better. Find the plan for you, a value that can't be beaten.

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark

Won't transfer to supervisor

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

I dont understand what internet rates mean.

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse

Confirm this can be installed at 22621 Jury Rd., RR#3 Komoka Ont N0L 1R0

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

How to file a complaint against a Provider

If you feel you have a valid complaint against your telecom provider, you are not alone. According to an article in the Financial Post complaint rates rose dramatically in 2017-2018 by a staggering 57%. In �
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse

The 25 Most Popular Providers of 2018

Annually the GoneVoIP platform receives about half a million visitors. In general, the visits tend to be spread over the more than 490 service providers found in the GoneVoIP platform, though there are trends and �
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  0
Report abuse

Canada’s Internet Speeds and Prices

Types of internet access providers This summer we set out to analyze the status of the home internet connections across the country. We picked fourteen representative major urban centers and analyzed factors such as maximum available �
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  0
Report abuse

Finding Canada’s Best Internet Speeds

If you are like the rest of Canadians you probably have the same Internet connection for at least the past 2 years. But the demand on the internet connection in our daily lives and homes �
Continue Reading

Rating  5     Rating  0
Report abuse

Comparing Best Home Internet Plans in Ontario

After the Home Internet rates for some of the most popular plans in Ontario were set higher we set a mission. We had to do a research for the Best Home Internet Plans in Ontario. We are comparing the traditional �
Continue Reading

Rating  3     Rating  0
Report abuse

Home Internet Services with no price hike

Rogers and Bell are at it. Home Internet prices are set to increase, yes, again. According to sources at Rogers and Bell, the price increase is due to investments on their respective networks. Though possible �
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse

2017 The Year in the Rear View Mirror

It is time to look back the year that it was. Certainly, 2017 offers unquestionably lessons to be learned. We saw the landline decline is a trend that is beyond the point of no return. For over 140 years �
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse

The Internet of Things

The last decade has seen the Internet evolve in leaps and bounds – specifically in technologies pertaining to the cloud, big data and pay-for-play computing services. Amazon Web Services officially launched in 2006; prior to �
Continue Reading

Rating  0     Rating  0
Report abuse

Best Home Internet Canada

Altima Telecom
Visit Website
$29.95 / mo.
Read 48 Reviews
Distributel
Visit Website
$40 / mo.
Read 30 Reviews
GemsTelecom
Visit Website
$29.99 / mo.
Read 12 Reviews

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 141 Reviews
Yak
Visit Website
$5 / mo.
Read 188 Reviews
netTALK CONNECT ezLINQ
Visit Website
$7 / mo.
Read 0 Reviews