Distributel Reviews & Service Offerings

Distributel
Maple Leaf Company Info
Distributel
Distributel

Distributel

Website: www.distributel.ca
Services: DSL, Cable, and FTTN
Availability: AB, BC, ON & QC
Monthly Price: $65 CAD

1-855-462-5349

Visit Site


40 2.5 reviewCount Get Free Quotes

Home Phone

Home Internet

Business Phone

Business Internet

 

Reviews Stats

When reviewing Distributel Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !
Rating
4
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
24

All Reviews

August 19, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Maja Petrovic (Pickering , ON)
Feeling disappointed Disappointed Rating 👎

refusing to close account

They refused to cancel the account, Phone was ported already 2 weeks earlier, they kept charging . When I called them they were arguing that my phone is not ported, but I see my calls when I login in account of new phone provider! To talk to them I was waiting for 52 minutes, first call which they dropped. Second call and third still waiting already half hour...

Reply from: Maja Petrovic
August 19, 2019
They refused to cancel the account, Phone was ported already 2 weeks earlier, they kept charging . When I called them they were arguing that my phone is not ported, but I see my calls when I login in account of new phone provider! To talk to them I was waiting for 52 minutes, first call which they dropped. Second call and third still waiting already half hour...
July 12, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Melie Lauzon (Mont-Laurier , QC)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Technical problems and poor support

I had to cancel my phone service with Distributel because incoming calls from Videotron phone users did not work. Most of the people in my region are with Videotron.

I called technical support several times and they never fixed my problem. I spent many hours on the phone with them. Worst technical support I ever seen. 3 times they said they will call me back, but they never did. I had to call back myself and start the process all over again.

When I called customer service to cancel my account I had to fight to get a refund. I got a partial refund which is ridicoulus. I was just fed up to waste my time over the phone with them.
July 9, 2019
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Mehrad (Montreal , QU)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Awful surprise

I called Distributel on June 30th and spoke to an agent who gave me a deal and confirmed that the installation of the services will be on July 9th between 8-12pm

On July 9th I waited 3 hours and when I called they told me that the services that I bought AND paid are not offered in my area.
June 27, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Rod (toronto , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Crappy Service

they ripped off my gramma for 8 years. Not a single call yet Directly withdrew from account. BEAWARE! Was cancelled after first day.
June 11, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Rowan (Sudbury , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Absolutely terrible service.

Distributel was recommended to us as a cheap, reliable service that worked OK. Turns out, the only thing it was was "cheap". For $60 a month, we got .68mbps speed (paid for 5mbps) and unlimited downloads. We cancelled the service shortly after installing it, simply because it was horrible. we could not use the TV for netflix, and browse facebook at the same time. When we called for a reason as to why the internet was so slow, they came back to us saying it was our problem, and not theirs. No help was provided. We cancelled in October; then they reached into my account (visa debit account) in January of the new year stating that we owed them money. Even though we paid everything we owed. The staff was never helpful, difficult to understand and often impatient with us.
We would never recommend this service, to anyone.
June 9, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Earl Alton (St. Catharines , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

AVoid this Company at all Costs

Worst company ever ,, Thieves and Liars..
The Have STOLEN 266.00 from me..You need to have a new rating of less than 1 for this thieving, Lying,, Ignorant,, Incompetent
company..They need to be fined and SHUTDOWN..
June 9, 2019
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Earl Alton (St. Catharines , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Thieves and Liars

Worst customer service in History.. Ignorant,, rude,, Totally incompetent at everything except,, LYING and STEALING,, this scam band of thieves and liars should be shutdown.
And they should be publicly WHIPPED.They are true garbage,,if you lumped them all together they would have less redeeming social value than a 2 lb. bag of Monkey S..
May 17, 2019
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Jessica Assaraf (Montreal , QU)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Wrongful Collection agency forwarding

After canceling our service with Distributel they said they will send a box for us to put the Router in. We never got the box so we called. Again we were told that the will send a box. This scenario happened a few other times. We tries to call of many occasions but it takes at least 25-35 minutes to speak to a french agent since they say that if the account is in french only a french agent can talk to us... After many failed attempts to reach an agent we forgot about that. Back to the present i get a letter saying i have been put in collection for a Router that was not returned. We call and we are finally able to speak to someone who again promises to send a tag for the return. We got the tag today and called Distributel to make sure we were doing it right only to have agent say to us that unfortunately since it's been 1 Year we cannot send back the router. (This is after they send us the tag to ship back). We call back again to try to get to a supervisor and this time the agent tells us a whole different story. New Story: You had a contract to buy the router so the debt that you have is not because you didnt send it back but because you agreed to buy it!?!? We have been told so many things by so many agents and meanwhile our names are in Collection for 200$ that we do not owe. We even asked to listen to the call that took place when we canceled the service to prove that the agent said that we will not be charged anything and again impossible to listen to it.
May 16, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Irina Naftalis (Toronto , ON)
Feeling unpleasantly_surprised Unpleasantly Surprised Rating 👎

Can't get off their bad service

When I subscribed to their services, the page clearly stated that their services are being offered without a contract. Well, now that I am trying to move to another provider, there is all the discussion about a 1 year contract, which includes penalties if I get off early. The longer you keep services, the higher the penalty.

The most painful experience is that so many of their staff lie, and tell me that the request to transfer my phone number was not made, while the other side have apparently made 5 requests.
April 22, 2019
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Clint (Pembroke , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Scam Artists

They took money out of my account before I was even off the phone to get service with them. Three weeks later and I still have no service and they refuse to refund my money.
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$65 Shipping: $FREE Other: $10 No

Download: 75 Mbps

Upload: 10 Mbps

Cap:

Overage:

Distributel has been providing telecommunication services for close to three decades! Since it was founded in 1988, Distributel has become one of the most prominent Internet service providers in Canada.

In the 1990s, Distributel faced Bell Canada in court, under the premise that what they were doing wasn't legal. Fortunately, the Canadian Radio-Television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) ruled in favor of Distributel - a decision which opened the door for competition in the Canadian Long Distance market.

Distributel has offices in 8 cities across Canada. Whether you're looking for Internet services (Cable, DSL or FTTN), Home Phone, LD or TV, Distributel will try to sell products and varied plans.

Distributel offers a variety of High-Speed Internet plans. Surf, share, download, and binge however you like. All plans are UNLIMITED and never worry about overage fees again. 

Below GoneVoIP reviews, all of Distributel Home Internet plans:

DSL

  • 15 Mbps Down, 10 Mbps Up at $55 a month. Promotional pricing of $22.95 with a 1-year contract
  • 25 Mbps Down, 10 Mbps Up at $57 a month. Promotional pricing of $24.95 with a 1-year contract
  • 50 Mbps Down, 10 Mbps Up at $60 a month. Promotional pricing of $29.95 with a 1-year contract

Cable

  • 75 Mbps Down, 10 Mbps Up at $65 a month. Promotional pricing of $50 with a 1-year contract
  • 150 Mbps Down, 15 Mbps Up at $75 a month. Promotional pricing of $65 with a 1-year contract
  • 250 Mbps Down, 20 Mbps Up at $95 a month. Promotional pricing of $85 with a 1-year contract  

Notes:
- Prices noted are Promotional. The rate applies for the first year on a 12 month term. In most cases, the prices without the promotion are $10 more expensive.
- The "promotion" includes Free: Installation, Activation, and Hardware

If you're looking for more information, then check GoneVoIP Reviews from Distributel users. Their website (distributel.ca) tends to be a little bit slow, oh the irony, so be patient while researching.  

The Distributel team is Canada based and available to answer questions from 8 am to 9 pm EST Monday - Friday, and 9am-5pm on weekends.

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark

Won't transfer to supervisor

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

I dont understand what internet rates mean.

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse

Confirm this can be installed at 22621 Jury Rd., RR#3 Komoka Ont N0L 1R0

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

Internet Cable Wars: Battleground Ontario

It has been brewing for a few months. Competition in the Cable Internet segment, especially on Rogers territory is fierce. This is mainly driven by, ironically Rogers itself by making available to smaller or independent �
Continue Reading

Rating  4     Rating  0
Report abuse

How to file a complaint against a Provider

If you feel you have a valid complaint against your telecom provider, you are not alone. According to an article in the Financial Post complaint rates rose dramatically in 2017-2018 by a staggering 57%. In �
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse

The 25 Most Popular Providers of 2018

Annually the GoneVoIP platform receives about half a million visitors. In general, the visits tend to be spread over the more than 490 service providers found in the GoneVoIP platform, though there are trends and �
Continue Reading

Rating  3     Rating  2
Report abuse

Canada’s Internet Speeds and Prices

Types of internet access providers This summer we set out to analyze the status of the home internet connections across the country. We picked fourteen representative major urban centers and analyzed factors such as maximum available �
Continue Reading

Rating  4     Rating  1
Report abuse

Finding Canada’s Best Internet Speeds

If you are like the rest of Canadians you probably have the same Internet connection for at least the past 2 years. But the demand on the internet connection in our daily lives and homes �
Continue Reading

Rating  6     Rating  0
Report abuse

Comparing Best Home Internet Plans in Ontario

After the Home Internet rates for some of the most popular plans in Ontario were set higher we set a mission. We had to do research for the Best Home Internet Plans in Ontario. We are comparing the traditional telecom �
Continue Reading

Rating  4     Rating  0
Report abuse

Home Internet Services with no price hike

Rogers and Bell are at it. Home Internet prices are set to increase, yes, again. According to sources at Rogers and Bell, the price increase is due to investments on their respective networks. Though possible �
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse

2017 The Year in the Rear View Mirror

It is time to look back the year that it was. Certainly, 2017 offers unquestionably lessons to be learned. We saw the landline decline is a trend that is beyond the point of no return. For over 140 years �
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse

The Internet of Things

The last decade has seen the Internet evolve in leaps and bounds – specifically in technologies pertaining to the cloud, big data and pay-for-play computing services. Amazon Web Services officially launched in 2006; prior to �
Continue Reading

Rating  0     Rating  0
Report abuse

Best Home Internet Canada

Altima Telecom
Rating
$29.99 / mo.
Read 64 Reviews
CIK Telecom Inc
Rating
$44.99 / mo.
Read 23 Reviews
GemsTelecom
Rating
$24.99 / mo.
Read 22 Reviews

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Rating
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 167 Reviews
netTALK CONNECT ezLINQ
Rating
$7 / mo.
Read 10 Reviews
CallCentric
Rating
$0 / mo.
Read 8 Reviews