Worst of 2017
Worst of 2017

Comwave Reviews & Service Offerings

Comwave
Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 537

Rating  35%     Rating  65%    

Add a Review     Ask a Question

Comwave
Comwave

Comwave

Website: www.comwave.net
Devices:
Availability: AB, BC, MB,NB,NF,NS,ON, PEI, QC & SK
Monthly Price: $19.95 CAD

Visit Site


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion (1): Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(489 ) Reviews + (48) Replies: 537

Rating  35%     Rating  65%

Add a Review

Ask a Question


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 537

Rating  35%     Rating  65%    

  Add a Review     Ask a Question

 

Reviews Stats

Rating
130
Rating
44
Rating
14
Rating
12
Rating
288
When reviewing Comwave Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !

Top Positive


28 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: October 20, 2015
Submitted by: Javier (Abbotsford , BR)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Technician 10

I have written a pretty damming review of Comwave's customer service and they deserve it.
However the technician who handled the job, Diego, was more than polite and patient during the fixing event and, eventually restoring the service. I don't know how much responsibility falls on the man for the failure to communicate with me for 16 days;I put it all on the company's service program.


Do you find this review useful?

28 Yes No 3 Report abuse


Top Critical


70 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: December 7, 2015
Submitted by: nicki (edmonton , AL)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

service sucks

don't use this company, they charged me $2.00 a month for their phone adapter, and returned to them after i cancelled their service and i found out they charge me $50.00 for transfering my service to vonage. they call it line tranfer when i won this number since 1989. select any company except or else you'll be sorry.

Reply from: Catherine DeGruchy On: January 31, 2016
Thanks for that info, you're probably saving me from making a big mistake. Can you please tell me if you know, which company is the best for telephone and internet service together or telephone, internet and satellite all in one or any other choices or suggestions you may have, I'd appreciate a reply asap....Thanks again

Mrs. Catherine D..


Do you find this review useful?

70 Yes No 4 Report abuse


All Reviews

2 persons found the following review useful
October 20, 2018
Submitted by: peter (Calgary , AL)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Comwave Phone Service?

These guys are absolutely the worst.
Long waits to answer phone calls and then nothing but 'passing the buck'.
I've been with these idiots since 2011 and they were unable to resolve a recent problem.
Their solution was to 'change my number' which, since I have a special number, was not an option.
I decided to cease dealing with Comwave and googled other VOIP providers in Canada.
Comwave was not even listed in Canada's 'Top 10 VOIP Providers' and it is obvious why!
On top of the list was Vonage Canada with a rating of 4.8.
Vonage answered their phones quickly and efficiently. It will cost me slightly more but it will be worth it to get rid of Comwave.
There are reputable VOIP providers available so do your homework.
There is no need to be continually frustrated dealing with Comwave!
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
12 persons found the following review useful
April 17, 2018
Submitted by: Walter Gore (St Catharines , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Lousy Service

Comwave stinks the service is lousy the phone barely works. They keep raising the price and the phone doesn't work half the time. Worst of all I recently switched to another company and the charged me 2 months for getting out and now I have to ship back their lousy equipment on my dime within 30 days or risk paying another $95. What a lousy company with no ethics. I would definitely tell people to not deal with these thieves.
Do you find this review useful? 12 Yes No 2 Report abuse
10 persons found the following review useful
February 7, 2018
Submitted by: Vivek Varma (Toronto , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Fine-print "fees" when cancelling

After being with them for over 4 years (after my 3+ years contract expired), I requested porting out my phone number from Comwave to another provider. Comwave insisted on charging me a fee of $56.50 to my credit card in order to allow me to port out my number. In my opinion, this "fee" from their fine print in their "Terms of Service" appears to be intended to penalise / discourage people moving away from Comwave. In hindsight, I would never deal with a company like this and will definitely not be recommending their services.
Do you find this review useful? 10 Yes No 0 Report abuse
14 persons found the following review useful
January 9, 2018
Submitted by: James/Harlie McDowell (Welland , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

unhappy with service!

I have major issues with this service department. It started November 27/17. Internet is finally set up, but has issues. I got charged $117.39 & was told I would get this back. Every time I get to the point of resolving all my issues I get put on hold to speak to a supervisor. I always get higher than normal call volume & can't get through. I want to cancel my service , I have had enough. But I can't get THROUGH to a SUPERVISOR! THIS IS THE WORSE SERVICE DEPARTMENT I HAVE EVER EXPERIANCED!
Do you find this review useful? 14 Yes No 0 Report abuse
21 persons found the following review useful
December 5, 2017
Submitted by: Asad (Niagara , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

LOST Thousands of Dollars.

I had an account with the Comwave, after dealing with the liers at comwave I close my account. When I close my account Comwave ask me to pay them for few different fees, that comes to me as a surprise, I pay them all and return their equipment. Later I find that they put $236.81 in collection. I find out that was for the equipment that I already send them. That collection in my credit cost me thousand of dollars in high interest rate but I took the emotional decision not to pay them for the equipment that I already return, I was definitely black mail by Comwave. My account number was C226594.
Do you find this review useful? 21 Yes No 0 Report abuse
14 persons found the following review useful
November 24, 2017
Submitted by: Esmail Afshari (VANCOUVER , BR)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

There is NO Truth to what they claim

Never deal with this company, you will regret it big time,, I do not even know why the Canadian government is allowing them to operate here in Canada
Do you find this review useful? 14 Yes No 0 Report abuse
12 persons found the following review useful
November 22, 2017
Submitted by: Rae Ann Taylor (Niagara Falls , ON)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Extremely uphappy

Not at all happy with your services. They have never worked properly. I have called serveral times and have had to wait an hour or longer for someone to answer. Very upset
Do you find this review useful? 12 Yes No 0 Report abuse
7 persons found the following review useful
November 4, 2017
Submitted by: Doreen Johnson (Penticton , BR)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Adverti ... t

I have never been a fan of anyone pointing fingers Tie jabs fingers steady in your commercial which by the way is getting tiresome. It comes on far too many times. It must be time to get a new one.
Do you find this review useful? 7 Yes No 0 Report abuse
10 persons found the following review useful
November 3, 2017
Submitted by: Janice Wall (Toronto , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Deplorable Service thru Comwave

The VOip service from Comwave is deplorable, as is the response from Customer Service and Team Managers. My service is interrupted up two to three times per month. I can spend an hour+ with each of Customer Service and Tech Support. The latest call was close to 4 days ago and the Manager has not called me back. I had requested a copy of the voice recording, they claim to have, agreeing to a 4 year contract. They promise a 48 hour response time. Currently paying for a service that is not being provided. Disgusted beyond words. Considering legal counsel to end a contract I did not sign nor agree to. But they insist they will charge $200 to end said contract. Vile business.
Do you find this review useful? 10 Yes No 0 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
October 10, 2017
Submitted by: Shondell (Hamilton , ON)
Feeling: Feeling happy Happy
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Helpful technician

My internet was down for 12 hrs because no technician wasn't able to fix the problem on the phone. I was given a ticket number and told someone will contact me within 24 - 48 hrs once they studied the problem. Time was very critical for me I needed the Internet for work. After waiting around for 12hrs for a phone call, I decided to call comwave back. I waited for about 10 minutes and Herry 4632 answered my call. He was extremely patient, polite, and confident he can help solve my problem . He reasured me he will try his best. After hearing him saying those words i felt relaxed.
I would like to say a special thank you to Herry 4632 with his determination the problem was solved.
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 6 Report abuse
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Other Fees Long Distance Rates
$19.95 Shipping $18 $1.95 - 911 Fee

Canada: From $0.01
USA: From $0.01
Intl. Minutes: From $0.01

Comwave calls himself to be Canada’s largest independent communications company, serving over 1100 cities in Canada and over 1,600 in the United States. Comwave's suite of services are segmented into Consumer, Business Enterprise and Wholesale, and to support customers operates an own network through three geographically diverse data centers.

When Gonevoip met with Comwave, Comwave claimed that the majority of the VoIP (Voice Over IP) traffic in Canada was going over their network. We asked for evidence to sustain such a bold claim; if that is true then why would they not advertise that?! We asked ourselves! Needless to say, we are still waiting to hear back for said evidence. Comwave does keep their own Data Centers and operates a proprietary VoIP network solution. In part that is how Comwave justifies being one of the most expensive Digital Home Phone in the market.

Throughout the years we have done various Comwave PHone reviews, however, and whenever is done we always note the same. The monthly cost for Comwave's Home Phone is consistent with some of the most expensive in Canada. More so if you factor multi-year contracts. We can attest that when compare reviews to other similar Digital Home Phone providers.

Must Read Now!! Side by side comparison Comwave vs Phone Power 2017 Revision. 

One key point here is that Comwave ties offer to 3-year contracts, which not even the wireless carriers are using these days.The promotional offer of 6-months of free service, means you have to commit to 3 years of paid service. You heard right, that is paying for 36-months for Comwave's Phone service. In Comwave's terms shows through the total 3 and 1/2 years if you add the paid service PLUS the free-months. Also, consider that porting in your number is done for free by Comwave but porting out to another provider there is a fee (at this moment that fee is $50). 

>> Read Now: Canada's Home Phone 2017 Price Comparison <<

If you want to cancel Comwave at any time Comwave claims you can, but you have to pay ETF; (or Early Termination Fee) which usually is composed by; some $120 (equivalent of 6-months of free service) PLUS $50 (if you port your number out to another provider) PLUS ~$15 (estimated if you have to mail-in Comwave's Adapter) PLUS any outstanding amounts owing in the account. 

Please do Continue to read through the hundreds of Comwave home phone customers reviews in the Reviews Tab at the top of the page.

>>Compare Comwave Home Phone Vs. other Today. Call 1-855-462-5349<<

Comwave Phone Service

Shall be noted the CRTC has fined Comwave for breaking telemarketing rules; the fine was for calling people that were on the do-not-call list. While Comwave is not accreditated by the Better Business Bureau (BBB) it is listed and is possible to view the number of customer complaints on the BBB site. Furthermore, customers of Comwave Home Phone reviews; as those shown below, do indicate hidden cancellation penalties in the $100s, porting the number of fees and long processes to complete a claim.

Comwave's Home Phone Service from a Technology aspect, the offering is not half bad. Though the pricing and the fact the supposedly better pricing. Though at $19.95 a month is only $5 less than Comwave's Month-to-Month plan which is $24.95 and is not tied to a contract. It almost looks as if Comwave is attracting people with their 6-months free offer to 3-years contracts and profits based on cancellations!

A while back we did a video to help focus on the small letters that could have you trapped into wordy contracts. Check the short youtube video out below.

When we say Comwave is among the most expensive let's look at the hard facts; Comwave contractless plan is $24.95 and Comparable Yak Plan is $9.50 (that's with Yak but the same can be said for VoIP Much or VOIPO and many others). If you compare just pricing Comwave is about 163% more expensive than other Home Phone Providers!!  

We do recognize Comwave is getting the message Gonevoip gave them about putting things at plain sight and in plain English. Proof of that is how Comwave shows the 6-Months Free Offer, today is easier to see in readable fonts the offer applies to 3-years contracts. Also, Comwave does have a 30-days money back guarantee; in which you may be able to get your money back if for whatever reason you don't like the service during the first 30-days.

It is disappointing though to have seen in our updated Comwave Review a change in the Terms of service with regards to Home Phone usage. While Comwave's marketing would like you to think is "Unlimited" calling means you can talk all that you want... Comwave's Technical team will want you not to abuse and Comwave's Legal Team changed the "Terms" In the past Comwave Terms granted 3,000 minutes of talking - max call duration of 4-hours. Now the terms don't say what is the limit only that Comwave's monitors' usage and that they may choose to change plans or to suspend the account if they see the activity is over Fair Usage Policy. Would be great to see the Fair Usage Rules for Home Phone use in the number of minutes and calls in the terms of Service. We consider this unfair to customers as this could mean potentially hidden tactic to move subscribers to higher/more expensive plans at discretion based on usage policy only known to Comwave and not to their customers. 

In all if considering a Comwave Home Phone, please do compare plan, pricing, ask them questions about the contract term, how to get out of the contract & educate by reading the over 560 Comwave Home Phone reviews we have in here. To note 65% of the reviews we have on Comwave Phone do not recommend and generally, visitors who post a review are feeling angry towards Comwave.

Maple Leaf Features

Call Blocking Checkmark
Conference Calling Checkmark
BYOD: Checkmark
Smartphone App: Checkmark
Call Forwarding Checkmark
Call Hold Checkmark
Caller ID Name: Checkmark
Enhanced VoiceMail: Checkmark

When your sign up for Plan is there a contract involved if so how long is it.

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse

what, if any, services are available in Pembroke, ON ?


Check out VoIP Much, they provide porting and new numbers for Pembroke, ON https://www.gonevoip.ca/voip-much-phone-company-residential-review

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

I need to retrieve my pin cumber


Hi Jane, Please contact Comwave support line at 1-866-885-4022. Regards, The Gonevoip Team

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

I regret the day I made the decision to switch to this thieves, they promise heaven and give you ... when you decide to "abandon" them. I switch to another provided because they could not offer the internet speed I required, then they charged me with all possible fees they could. No telling you they charge me for the month I did not have service and $200 dollars per each service(internet and phone). They told me I was going to be charged that amount but they "forgot" to tell me that was for each service!!! They only go for your money, they don't care customers or service!! What a nightmare. If there were negative stars I would give them -10. It is a ... ty service.


Hello, Sorry to hear about your experience. Certainly sounds terrible! Also reminder to send reviews into the review tab, this tab is for Questions. Finally, based on your experience you may want to consider filing a complaint with the CCTS. The Gonevoip Team

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

horrible horrible service. they ask gor a 100 deposit. when I moved I asked yo suspend my service. they refused and continue d to take the full amount on my credit card. I cancelled the service. they continue to try to take money off my credit card. they said I need to pay the full balance and they will send me my 100 deposit later. they will not send me a final bill but want mu new credit card number. horrible horrible company

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

2017 The Year in the Rear View Mirror

It is time to look back the year that it was. Certainly 2017 offers unquestionably lessons to be learnt. We saw the landline decline is a trend that is beyond the point of no return. For over 140 years …
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse

The Metamorphosis of Landlines

Canadians love to communicate. That is not a secret. Today the evolving and changing telecommunications landscape offers many  different ways to communicate. Though is unavoidable to look and examine in particular the traditional phone landlines; …
Continue Reading

Rating  0     Rating  0
Report abuse

Phone Power vs Comwave Comparison – 2017 Revision

Comwave is one of the major VoIP providers in Canada, having first introduced telephony services to the Canadian public in 1999. But since then, many other VoIP providers have come along looking to overthrow the …
Continue Reading

Rating  0     Rating  0
Report abuse

Home Phone Comparison 2017 Edition

Welcome to our 2017 edition of the home telephone service comparison between traditional landline and VoIP (Voice Over Internet Protocol) phone service providers. For those who are not familiar with VoIP phone service, in a nutshell, …
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  0
Report abuse

2016 The Year in Review

It is that magical time of the year when one can look back at the year from the rearview mirror. We started 2016 with netTALK & Iristel dispute that left thousands of Canadian customers stranded. …
Continue Reading

Rating  5     Rating  1
Report abuse

Grading Online Security: How Secure is Your Provider?

Performing tasks online saves us so much time that we often take this convenience for granted. For instance, instead of visiting a bank, we are paying bills and transferring funds using our mobile devices or …
Continue Reading

Rating  3     Rating  1
Report abuse

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 128 Reviews
Yak
Visit Website
$5 / mo.
Read 187 Reviews
Phone Power
Visit Website
$7.40 / mo.
Read 55 Reviews
VOIPO
Visit Website
$7.70 / mo.
Read 3 Reviews
CallCentric
Visit Website
FREE / mo.
Read 8 Reviews
1-VOIP
Visit Website
$11.21 / mo.
Read 15 Reviews