Year Worst
Year Worst

Comwave Reviews & Service Offerings

Comwave
Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 523

Rating  35%     Rating  65%    

Comwave
Comwave

Comwave

Website:
Devices:
Availability:
www.comwave.net

AB, BC, MB,NB,NF,NS,ON, PEI, QC & SK

Visit Site

Monthly Fee Setup Fee Other Fees Long Distance Rates
$19.95 Shipping $18 $1.95 - 911 Fee

Canada: From $0.01
USA: From $0.01
Intl. Minutes: From $0.01

Comwave calls himself to be Canada’s largest independent communications company, serving over 1100 cities in Canada and over 1,600 in the United States. Comwave's suite of services are segmented into Consumer, Business Enterprise and Wholesale, and to support customers operates a network through three geographically diverse data centers.

When Gonevoip meet with Comwave earlier in the Summer of 2016, Comwave claimed that the majority of the VoIP (Voice Over IP) traffic in Canada was going over their network. We asked for hard evidence to sustain such a bold claim; we are still waiting to hear back. Comwave does keep their own Data Centers and operates a propteiary VoIP network solution. In part that is how Comwave justifies being one of the most expensive Digital Home Phone in the market.

As noted the monthly costs for Comwave's Home Phone is on the expensive side when compared to other similar Digital Home Phone providers. Read Now! the comparison we did side to side of Comwave and Phone Power as an example. One key point here is that Comwave ties offers to 3-year contracts, which not even the wireless carriers are using thesedays.The promotional offer of 6-months of free service, means you have to comitt to 3 years of paid service. You heard right, that is paying for 36-months for Comwave's Phone service. In Comwave's terms shows though the total 3 and 1/2 years if you add the paid service PLUS the free-months. Also consider that porting in your number is done for free by Comwave but porting out to another provider there is a fee (at this moment that fee is $50). 

>> Read Now: Canada's Home Phone 2016 Price Comparison <<

If you want to cancel Comwave at any time Comwave claims you can, but you have to pay ETF; (or Early Termination Fee) which usually is composed by; some $120 (equivalent of 6-months of free service) PLUS $50 (if you port your number out to another provider) PLUS ~$15 (estimated if you have to mail-in Comwave's Adapter) PLUS any outstanding amounts owing in the account. 

Please do Continue to read through the hundreds of Comwave home phone customers reviews in the Reviews Tab at the top of the page.

>>Compare Comwave Home Phone Vs. other Today. Call 1-855-462-5349<<

Comwave Phone Service

Shall be noted the CRTC has fined Comwave for breaking telemarketing rules; the fine was for calling people that were in the do-not call list. While Comwave is not accreditated by the Better Business Bureau (BBB) it is listed and is possible to view the number of customer complaints in the BBB site. Furthermore customers of Comwave Home Phone reviews; as those shown below, do indicate hidden cancellation penalties in the $100s, porting number out fees and long processes to complete a claim.

Comwave's Home Phone Service from a Technology aspect, the offering is not half bad. Though the pricing and the fact the supposedly better pricing. Though at $19.95 a month is only $5 less than Comwave's Month-to-Month plan which is $24.95 and is not tied to a contract. It almost looks as if Comwave is attracting people with their 6-months free offer to 3-years contracts and profits based on cancellations!

When we say Comwave is among the most expensive let's look at this hard facts; Comwave contractless plan is $24.95 and Comparable Yak Plan is $9.50 (that's with Yak but the same can be said for VoIP Much or 1-VoIP and many others). If you compare just pricing Comwave is about 163% more expensive than others!!  

We do recognize Comwave is getting the message Gonevoip gave them about putting things at plain sight and in plain english. Proof of that is how Comwave shows the 6-Months Free Offer, today is easier to see in readable fonts the offer applies to 3-years contracts. Also Comwave does have a 30-days money back guarantee; in which you can get your money back if for whatever reason you don't like the service during the first 30-days.

It is disappointing though to have seen in our updated Comwave Review a change in the Terms of service with regards to Home Phone usage. While Comwave's marketing would like you think is "Unlimited" calling means you can talk all that you want... Comwave's Technical team will want you not to abuse and Comwave's Legal Team changed the "Terms" In the past Comwave Terms granted 3,000 minutes of talking - max call duration of 4-hours. Now the terms don't say what is the limit only that Comwave's monitors usage and that they may chose to change plans or to suspend the account if they see the activity is over Fair Usage Policy. Would be great to see the Fair Usage Rules for Home Phone use in the amount of minutes and calls in the terms of Service. We consider this unfair to customers as this could mean potential hidden tactic to move subscribers to higher/more expensive plans at discretion based on usage policy only known to Comwave and not to their customers. 

In all if considering Comwave, please do compare plan, pricing, ask questions around how to get out of the contract & read the reviews we have in here.

Maple Leaf Features

Call Blocking Checkmark
Conference Calling Checkmark
BYOD: Checkmark
Smartphone App: Checkmark
Call Forwarding Checkmark
Call Hold Checkmark
Caller ID Name: Checkmark
Enhanced VoiceMail: Checkmark
 

Reviews Stats

Rating
128
Rating
44
Rating
14
Rating
12
Rating
276
When reviewing Comwave Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry!

Top Positive


23 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: October 20, 2015
Submitted by: Javier(Abbotsford, BR)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Technician 10

I have written a pretty damming review of Comwave's customer service and they deserve it.
However the technician who handled the job, Diego, was more than polite and patient during the fixing event and, eventually restoring the service. I don't know how much responsibility falls on the man for the failure to communicate with me for 16 days;I put it all on the company's service program.


Do you find this review useful?

23 Yes No 3 Report abuse


Top Critical


65 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: December 7, 2015
Submitted by: nicki (edmonton, AL)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

service sucks

don't use this company, they charged me $2.00 a month for their phone adapter, and returned to them after i cancelled their service and i found out they charge me $50.00 for transfering my service to vonage. they call it line tranfer when i won this number since 1989. select any company except or else you'll be sorry.

Reply from: Catherine DeGruchy On: January 31, 2016
Thanks for that info, you're probably saving me from making a big mistake. Can you please tell me if you know, which company is the best for telephone and internet service together or telephone, internet and satellite all in one or any other choices or suggestions you may have, I'd appreciate a reply asap....Thanks again

Mrs. Catherine D..


Do you find this review useful?

65 Yes No 4 Report abuse


All Reviews

July 14, 2017
Submitted by: Bette (Barrie, ON)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Comwave home phone

I have never had a problem with my comwave home phone! I get all the extras for 1//3 the price of Bell, Rogers etc.
Their customer service is fantastic!!! Kind, calm, knowledgeable and easy to understand.
After 3 1/2 hours with BELL to day trying to set up my modem and then my phones would not work. I waited once again to speak to a Bell representative and they could not help me with that. All I wanted to know is if I had the cords (not for my phone) for the wifi in the correct places as the wifi kept going off.
After 3 1/2 hours they could not inform me where or why my wifi was going out.
I will be looking for another provider and it will not be Bell.
They ask 38.00 plus taxes for just the phone to ring and to call out. No extras i would have to pay 9.00 for each of those like call forwarding, call waiting, call display and the list goes on.
Comwave doesn't charge for any of those!!!!
HURRAY for comwave. I love them!!!
Try them out!
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
July 6, 2017
Submitted by: Tim (Surrey, BR)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Thieves

Comwave get a hold of my mother-in-law who is suffering with dementia. Not to mention she's 87 years of age. So they sign her up and charge her for months even tho she never hooked there equipment up. Now ever after my wife contacted them and explained the situation they continue to try and bill her. A month after my wife sent all of there equipment back. Making someone pay for something they never ever used I'd stealing.

Bottem line this company is not honest and target the elderly .... Thieves
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
July 2, 2017
Submitted by: Renato (LaSalle, ON)
Feeling: Feeling happy Happy
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

thank-you

#4578 Thank-you for your help and helping me with the spelling you are great Renato
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
May 25, 2017
Submitted by: Patricia Singh (Toronto, ON)
Feeling: Feeling happy Happy
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Charlie 4489

Patient and good help

Reply from: Comwave
May 26, 2017
Hi Patricia,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are happy to hear that Charlie was able to provide such great service. Have a wonderful day - The Comwave Team
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
May 23, 2017
Submitted by: Kareen Drysdale (Longueuil, QU)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Courtoisie et l`excellence

J ai reçu un service très courtois et dans ma langue lors du branchement ( Nestor 3494) le monsieur a fais en mesure que je sois satisfaite et bien servie il a répondu a toutes mes questions et même plus. Aujourd'hui j'ai du rappelé pour faire ajusté le débit ... malheureusement ils n ont pas trouvé personne pour communiqué en français mais avec mon peu d anglais le gentil monsieur a prix le temps avec moi et il a réglé mon problème dommage j ai son nom ou numéro d employé pour le remercier mais une chose est bien claire la qualité et le service obtenu chez Comwave est EXCELLENT.

Reply from: Comwave
May 26, 2017
Bonjour,

Merci d’avoir pris le temps de nous transmettre vos commentaires. Nous sommes heureux d’apprendre que Nestor fournit un excellent service à la clientèle. Si vous avez besoin d’assistance, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous.
Bonne journée! – L’équipe de Comwave
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 1 Report abuse
April 12, 2017
Submitted by: Mitra (Aurora, ON)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Technical support

He is very polite and knowledgeable
Thanks JERRY.

Reply from: Comwave
April 18, 2017
Hi Mitra.

Thank you for letting us know what a great job Jerry did. We will be sure to let him know! Have a great day – The Comwave Team
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 1 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
April 11, 2017
Submitted by: Mubashar Ahmed (Edmonton, AL)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Biggest Telecom Fraud

This company has been a fraud from day 1. Got their service since Pakistan was included in the free countries. Rules changed and it was taken away but we were not allowed to leave the contract. They kept charging for extra all along and kept threatening with calls, automated and manned. They advertise the rates with $ sign.. They provide service in Canada but charge in USD... Every time you call, you will hear a different story.. Never ever will I go back to this company... Now that I moved away to Primus, They again charged me $50 as porting fee whereas their agent had clearly told me that they only need 30 days notice...

Reply from: Comwave
April 18, 2017
Hi Mubashar,

We're sorry you experienced this issue and are frustrated with your service with us. If you could please send your customer ID and contact information to social@comwave.net we would be happy to help you out

- The Comwave Team
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
April 8, 2017
Submitted by: Daciel (Barrie, ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Pathetic

Stay away, the management staff as the combined iq of a stump,if im lucky 3 times a day for an hour each time i will be without wifi.

Reply from: Comwave
April 18, 2017
Hi Daciel,

We're sorry you experienced this issue and are frustrated with your service with us. If you could please send your customer ID and contact information to social@comwave.net we would be happy to help you out

- The Comwave Team
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
March 6, 2017
Submitted by: Marilyn Martin (Brighton, ON)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Fabiola 4384

This young lady served me well .she explained what I needed and gave me all the right numbers. I was very pleased with her

Reply from: Comwave
March 7, 2017
Hi Marilyn, Thanks for letting us know what a great job Fabiloa did! We'll be sure to let her know. - The Comwave Team
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
February 21, 2017
Submitted by: Kris (Georgetown, ON)
Feeling: Feeling disappointed Disappointed
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Cancelation of home phone

I tried to cancel the phone and was told cannot cancel until contract expire and now i called again and was told it was not cancelled because I was supposed to call at least 30 days but I called 8 months my advice do not use comwave they are not trust worthy

Reply from: Comwave
March 1, 2017
Hi,

We are sorry about this confusion and understand the frustration you are experiencing. If you could please send your customer ID and contact information to social@comwave.net we would be happy to help solve this problem. - The Comwave Team
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
Load More Reviews

horrible horrible service. they ask gor a 100 deposit. when I moved I asked yo suspend my service. they refused and continue d to take the full amount on my credit card. I cancelled the service. they continue to try to take money off my credit card. they said I need to pay the full balance and they will send me my 100 deposit later. they will not send me a final bill but want mu new credit card number. horrible horrible company

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Is this service all over Manitoba


I don't know, but are you sure you want to use these guys??

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse

how do i change my passcode for voice mail

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Service where in quebec


Hi Raymond, We would be happy to help. Please send your question to social@comwave.net and we can help figure out the best option for you. Thanks - The Comwave Team.

Rating  0     Rating  1 Report abuse

Is comwave available in rural Nova Scotia? My pc is b0j1t0

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(475) Reviews + (48) Replies: 523

Rating  35%     Rating  65%

Maple Leaf Top Residential VoIP

Yak
Visit Website
$5 / mo.
Read 173 Reviews
VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 54 Reviews
1-VOIP
Visit Website
$11.21 / mo.
Read 9 Reviews
VOIPO
Visit Website
$6.21 / mo.
Read 2 Reviews
CallCentric
Visit Website
$0.0198 pr min / mo.
Read 8 Reviews
Phone Power
Visit Website
USD$5.99 / mo.
Read 53 Reviews

Maple LeafTop Internet Providers

Distributel
Visit Website
$35 / mo.
Read 5 Reviews
HeroNet.ca
Visit Website
$38.88 / mo.
Read 4 Reviews
TekSavvy Solutions Inc.
Visit Website
$27.99 / mo.
Read 2 Reviews