Worst of Year
Worst of Year

Comwave Reviews & Service Offerings

Comwave
Maple Leaf Company Info
Comwave
Comwave

Comwave

Website: www.comwave.net
Devices:
Availability: AB, BC, MB,NB,NF,NS,ON, PEI, QC & SK
Monthly Price: $19.95 CAD

1-855-462-5349

Visit Site


546 0.5 reviewCount Get Free Quotes

Home Phone

Home Internet

Business Phone

Business Internet

 

Reviews Stats

When reviewing Comwave Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !
Rating
131
Rating
44
Rating
15
Rating
12
Rating
295

All Reviews

June 15, 2019
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Linda Fiung (Toronto , ON)
Feeling unpleasantly_surprised Unpleasantly Surprised Rating 👎

HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE

I became a member and had issues getting my phonline to work. It was a Cisco's tech that help me. A rep never got in touch with me even after numerous e-mail, calls and chats. Beware!!
June 4, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: John Piper (Ottawa , ON)
Feeling disappointed Disappointed Rating 👎

Unresolved service issue

On an almost daily basis the comwave phone goes dead - no dial tone - until I unplug the ATA adapter and reboot. Incoming calls are routed directly to voice mail. This is a real problem! I have reported the problem to Technical Support and they have not provided a solution. I am not the only person experiencing this problem... It must be systemic. I would like to know the source of the disconnect problem and how to resolve it. Otherwise, when the phone service works, it is okay.
June 3, 2019
Review Helpful? 2 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Terry Ladd (Beaconsfield , QU)
Feeling unpleasantly_surprised Unpleasantly Surprised Rating 👎

Still waiting for service

I signed up with Comwave over 2 weeks ago. After signing up I received the adaptor by mail. I set everything up as described but only got a busy signal every time I tried to call someone.

I reached out by phone to Comwave and submitted reports to their website,. Unfortunately, each time I received the same message saying that next day all services will be operational, Odd.. since they were happy to take my money.

Still waiting for service and wondering if there is a way out of this company. Not happy.
May 21, 2019
Review Helpful? 4 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Bill Roberts (Upper Tantallon , NO)
Feeling unpleasantly_surprised Unpleasantly Surprised Rating 👎

Spotty and Restricted Service

Frequent occurrences of no dial tone with incoming calls going directly to voice mail.
Service does not complete calls to 311 (City Services), 511 (Highway conditions), 811 (Medical Information), 310-3776 (My furnace provider). No solution or fix offered.
May 20, 2019
Review Helpful? 7 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Danny A (Cote-St-Luc , QU)
Feeling disappointed Disappointed Rating 👎

Service is mostly reliable, but support and accounting departments are INCOMPETENT!

I have been with Comwave since June 2016. Their voice quality is good and down times are minimal. However, their accounting department is horrible and constantly makes mistakes or omissions.

After about 5 calls, and three MONTHS, I finally made a manual payment by credit card, because I kept getting message that I had a late payment. Customer support had initially told me that it was a system problem which cause the missed payment, on their end. Then, the automated emails that I had a missed payment kept on coming every month!!! I just called them last week and they fixed the problem. But now, this month's payment, which is again under their control (auto debit) has not gone through yet!

I will be switching companies to a different VoIP provider.
March 12, 2019
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 2
Submitted by: cara (Ottawa , ON)
Feeling satisfied Satisfied Rating 👍

My Experience

I have been a comwave customer for over 4 years. For the first 1 year the service was ... ! Pure ... ! I must have had at least 12 techs come to my house because the service kept going out. I was contacting the company at least once every two weeks.
I was so fed up with them I was ready break my contact no matter what the fees. They asked for one last chance to solve the problem, grudgingly I agreed.
The situation did finally get resolved and after the service was fine, not one problem.
They got off to a rocky, very rocky start but they have come a long way. The agents are extremely pleasant. They will bend over backwards to help you.
Over the years there have been some tough times in the house where the internet bill was the last thing on the list to pay and comwave has always gone above and beyond to help in keep the service active.
December 18, 2018
Review Helpful? 5 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Peter Cantelon (Ottawa , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Worst ... I have ever purchased

It takes almost 45 minutes to watch a 30 minute show. The transmission stops randomly every few minutes. The PVR lost over 100 recording's. The guide download takes several minutes. The tech support, when they are open are absolutely useless. They make billing errors in their favour that you can't correct because customer support is almost impossible to contact. They have s $600 disconnect fee. Imagine! I an surprised they have any customers left. I have switched to Bell and could not be happier.
December 18, 2018
Review Helpful? 4 Yes No 0
Submitted by: George Rad (Toronto , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Garbage company

I hope who ever reads runs fast and far from this ... company.
October 20, 2018
Review Helpful? 6 Yes No 0
Submitted by: peter (Calgary , AL)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Comwave Phone Service?

These guys are absolutely the worst.
Long waits to answer phone calls and then nothing but 'passing the buck'.
I've been with these idiots since 2011 and they were unable to resolve a recent problem.
Their solution was to 'change my number' which, since I have a special number, was not an option.
I decided to cease dealing with Comwave and googled other VOIP providers in Canada.
Comwave was not even listed in Canada's 'Top 10 VOIP Providers' and it is obvious why!
On top of the list was Vonage Canada with a rating of 4.8.
Vonage answered their phones quickly and efficiently. It will cost me slightly more but it will be worth it to get rid of Comwave.
There are reputable VOIP providers available so do your homework.
There is no need to be continually frustrated dealing with Comwave!
April 17, 2018
Review Helpful? 17 Yes No 2
Submitted by: Walter Gore (St Catharines , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Lousy Service

Comwave stinks the service is lousy the phone barely works. They keep raising the price and the phone doesn't work half the time. Worst of all I recently switched to another company and the charged me 2 months for getting out and now I have to ship back their lousy equipment on my dime within 30 days or risk paying another $95. What a lousy company with no ethics. I would definitely tell people to not deal with these thieves.
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Other Fees Long Distance Rates
$19.95 Shipping $18 $1.95 - 911 Fee

Canada: From $0.01
USA: From $0.01
Intl. Minutes: From $0.01

Comwave calls himself to be Canada’s largest independent communications company, serving over 1100 cities in Canada and over 1,600 in the United States. Comwave's suite of services are segmented into Consumer, Business Enterprise and Wholesale, and to support customers operates an own network through three geographically diverse data centers.

A couple of years ago GonevoIP met with the Comwave team. During that meeting, the Comwave representative claimed the majority of the VoIP (Voice Over IP) traffic in Canada goes over Comawave's own network. We asked for evidence to sustain such a bold claim; if that is true then why would this not be advertised?!? We asked, needless to say, we are still waiting to hear back for said evidence. To give fair feedback, Comwave does have its own Data Centers and operates a proprietary VoIP network solution. In part that is how Comwave justifies being one of the most expensive Digital Home Phone in the market.

Throughout the years we have done various Comwave PHone reviews, however, and whenever is done we always note the same. The monthly cost for Comwave's Home Phone is consistent with some of the most expensive in Canada. More so if you factor multi-year contracts. We can attest that when compare reviews to other similar Digital Home Phone providers.

Must Read Now: Side by side comparison Comwave vs Phone Power - Updated. 

One key point here is that Comwave ties offer to 3-year contracts, which not even the wireless carriers are using these days. The promotional offer of 6-months of free service, means you have to commit to 3 years of paid service. You heard right, that is paying for 36-months for Comwave's Phone service. Comwave's terms show through the total 3 and 1/2 years if you add the paid service PLUS the free-months. Also, consider that porting in your number is done for free by Comwave but porting out to another provider there is a fee (at this moment that fee is $50). 

If you want to cancel Comwave at any time, as Comwave claims anyone can, but what they don't advertise is that there's an ETF; (or Early Termination Fee) which usually is composed by; some $120 (equivalent of 6-months of free service) PLUS $50 (if you port your number out to another provider) PLUS ~$15 (estimated if you have to mail-in Comwave's Adapter) PLUS any outstanding amounts owing on the account. 

Please do Continue to read through the hundreds of Comwave home phone customers reviews in the Reviews Tab at the top of the page.

Comwave Phone Service

Shall be noted the CRTC fined Comwave for breaking telemarketing rules. Furthermore also an investigation from the Competition Bureau found that Comwave advertising and marketing misrepresented fees and limitations of the home phone and the internet services.

Comwave is not accreditated by the Better Business Bureau (BBB) though it is listed and is possible to view the number of customer complaints on the BBB site. Furthermore, customers of Comwave Home Phone reviews; as those shown below, do indicate hidden or poorly communicated cancellation penalties. In the order of the $100s, for example, a typical fee-trap: porting an existing telephone number into Comwave is free but porting it out of Comwave is subject to a fee.

Comwave's Home Phone Service from a Technology aspect is not half bad, GoneVoIP has seen much worse. Though the pricing is simply not good. At $19.95 a month is only $5 less than Comwave's Month-to-Month plan which is $24.95 and is not tied to a contract. It almost looks as if Comwave is attracting people with their 6-months free offer to 3-years contracts and profits based on cancellations!

When we say Comwave is among the most expensive let's look at the hard facts; Comwave contractless plan is $24.95 and Comparable Yak Plan is $9.50 (that's with Yak but the same can be said for VoIP Much or VOIPO and many others). If you compare just pricing Comwave is about 163% more expensive than other Home Phone Providers!!  

We do recognize Comwave is getting the message GoneVoIP, the CRTC and the Competition Bureau have given them about putting things at plain sight and in plain English. Proof of that is how Comwave shows the 6-Months Free Offer, today is easier to see in readable fonts the offer applies to 3-years contracts. Also, Comwave does have 30-days money back guarantee; in which you may be able to get your money back if for whatever reason you don't like the service during the first 30-days.

It is disappointing though to have seen in our updated Comwave Review a change in the Terms of service with regards to Home Phone usage. While Comwave's marketing would like you to think is "Unlimited" calling means you can talk all that you want... Comwave's Technical team will want you not to abuse and Comwave's Legal Team changed the "Terms" In the past Comwave Terms granted 3,000 minutes of talking - max call duration of 4-hours. Now the terms don't say what is the limit only that Comwave's monitors' usage and that they may choose to change plans or to suspend the account if they see the activity is over Fair Usage Policy. Would be great to see the Fair Usage Rules for Home Phone use in the number of minutes and calls in the terms of Service. We consider this unfair to customers as this could mean potentially hidden tactic to move subscribers to higher/more expensive plans at discretion based on usage policy only known to Comwave and not to their customers. 

In all, if considering a Comwave Home Phone, please do compare plan AND pricing with other providers. Be sure to ask Comwave upfront questions about:

  1. the contract term, 
  2. how to get out of the contract

Finally, learn by reading the almost 600 Comwave Home Phone reviews GoneVoIP has received over the years. About 65% of Comwave Home Phone reviews do not recommend and generally, visitors express anger towards Comwave.

Maple Leaf Features

Call Blocking Checkmark
Conference Calling Checkmark
BYOD: Checkmark
Smartphone App: Checkmark
Call Forwarding Checkmark
Call Hold Checkmark
Caller ID Name: Checkmark
Enhanced VoiceMail: Checkmark

Can I get same number I had with Bell Canada and disconnected about 3 wks back


Nope

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

I just cancelled my Bell Land Line, how soon I can get the same #


Hello, When you sign up with a new provider you can request to keep your existing number. That is called, or referred to, as Number Portability and is applicable to all phone numbers. Having said that, since this is a process managed within the Telephone providers the number you wish to transfer has to be "Active" meaning you cannot cancel the account ahead of the number being ported. Numbers that become available are released to a general availability pool; which most likely in your case will be kept within Bell's pool of available numbers. In your case may be better to get a new phone number. Sincerely, The GoneVoIP Team

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse

I live in Niagara Falls. Can I have adt security with comeave? What do I have to buy or pay to set up comwave? All services. Phone internet & tv? Can I get cnn and other channels that other cable companies have? How much does it cost for all 3 services monthly? Do I have to sign a contract and if so how long is the contact for? Will a technician install services? I know it’s a lot of questions but I hope you can and will reply back.

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Are there ANY positive reviews asbout Comwave?

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse

Do you have service to 18432 County Road 2 Cornwall Ontario

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

Canada VoIP Market Trends 2019-2024

The communications continue to evolve,  and as such so does the adoption of VoIP (Voice over IP). It is estimated the market will grow to dominate cloud communications, workforce mobility, and unified telecommunications. By 2025 �
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse

How to file a complaint against a Provider

If you feel you have a valid complaint against your telecom provider, you are not alone. According to an article in the Financial Post complaint rates rose dramatically in 2017-2018 by a staggering 57%. In �
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse

The 25 Most Popular Providers of 2018

Annually the GoneVoIP platform receives about half a million visitors. In general, the visits tend to be spread over the more than 490 service providers found in the GoneVoIP platform, though there are trends and �
Continue Reading

Rating  3     Rating  2
Report abuse

Are Home Phones Obsolete?

Do you still need a phone landline? It’s no secret that the traditional home phone is in decline. With Canadians increasingly opting for cell phone-only households, the prospect of using a landline telephone is looking more �
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  0
Report abuse

2017 The Year in the Rear View Mirror

It is time to look back the year that it was. Certainly, 2017 offers unquestionably lessons to be learned. We saw the landline decline is a trend that is beyond the point of no return. For over 140 years �
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse

The Metamorphosis of Landlines

Canadians love to communicate. That is not a secret. Today the evolving and changing telecommunications landscape offers many different ways to communicate. Though is unavoidable to look and examine in particular the traditional phone landlines; �
Continue Reading

Rating  0     Rating  0
Report abuse

Phone Power vs Comwave Phone Comparison – Revised

Comwave is one of the major VoIP providers in Canada, having first introduced telephony services to the Canadian public in 1999. But since then, many other VoIP providers have come along looking to overthrow the �
Continue Reading

Rating  0     Rating  0
Report abuse

Home Phone Comparison – Revised

Welcome to our 2017 edition of the home telephone service comparison between traditional landline and VoIP (Voice Over Internet Protocol) phone service providers. For those who are not familiar with VoIP phone service, in a nutshell, �
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  0
Report abuse

2016 The Year in Review

It is that magical time of the year when one can look back at the year from the rearview mirror. We started 2016 with netTALK & Iristel dispute that left thousands of Canadian customers stranded. �
Continue Reading

Rating  6     Rating  1
Report abuse

Grading Online Security: How Secure is Your Provider?

Performing tasks online saves us so much time that we often take this convenience for granted. For instance, instead of visiting a bank, we are paying bills and transferring funds using our mobile devices or �
Continue Reading

Rating  3     Rating  1
Report abuse

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Rating
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 167 Reviews
netTALK CONNECT ezLINQ
Rating
$7 / mo.
Read 10 Reviews
CallCentric
Rating
$0 / mo.
Read 8 Reviews
VOIPO
Rating
$7.70 / mo.
Read 4 Reviews
Nomado
Rating
$7 / mo.
Read 0 Reviews
Talkit
Rating
$6.67 / mo.
Read 57 Reviews

Best Internet Canada

Altima Telecom
Rating
$29.99 / mo.
Read 64 Reviews
CIK Telecom Inc
Rating
$44.99 / mo.
Read 23 Reviews
GemsTelecom
Rating
$24.99 / mo.
Read 22 Reviews