Best Price!
Best Price!

Altima Telecom Reviews & Service Offerings

Altima Telecom
Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 44

Rating  31%     Rating  69%    

Add a Review     Ask a Question

Altima Telecom
Altima Telecom

Altima Telecom

Website: www.altimatel.com
Services: DSL, Cable & FTTN
Availability: AB, MB, ON & QC
Monthly Price: $49.95 CAD

+1-514-800-3560

Buy Now Get a Quote Visit Site


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion (4.5): Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(34 ) Reviews + (10) Replies: 44

Rating  31%     Rating  69%

Add a Review

Ask a Question


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 44

Rating  31%     Rating  69%    

  Add a Review     Ask a Question

 

Reviews Stats

Rating
5
Rating
3
Rating
2
Rating
2
Rating
22
When reviewing Altima Telecom Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !

Top Positive


16 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: October 29, 2015
Submitted by: Santi GURUNG (OTTAWA , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Good service and good price

I have been using Altima telecom service including home phone and internet for around one year. I have been enjoying the service with great appreciation since then. The thing that I must share being honest about Altima service is the monthly fee which is the cheapest, consistent, and affordable to all customers. That's why I encouraged some people and made them to be its customers already. If only the speed of Internet is as excellent as Bell service at this rate, it would empower all other companies without any doubt. Thanks Altima.


Do you find this review useful?

16 Yes No 10 Report abuse


Top Critical


32 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: July 23, 2015
Submitted by: apple (montreal , QU)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Terrible internet speed

We've just switched to Altima internet and we are very disappointed. AIt is unlimited, but with the internet speed it has I may use less data then on a limited plan. The internet works at full speed only within a few meters of the modem. As soon as I try to go a bit further, internet connection is unstable and I have to wait for an eternity before even opening Google. We complained to the customer service and all they try to do is to make you buy a WiFi extender, but the problem is obviously with their modem: I've used other modems before and they work fine even with two floors of distance. Do not buy!

Reply from: Alex On: March 30, 2018
I made an account just for this too. Go buy a wifi router from an electronics store and stop being cheap. Learn how the technology works before you review it. Jesus Christ.

Reply from: Chris On: April 22, 2017
I had to make account to this but ARE YOU MENTALLY RETARDED OR SOMETHING?
There is no possible way that it's the modem since it doesn't output wifi or Ethernet connection to pc.
The modem is only responsable for ISP services.

Reply from: i.t dept. On: April 21, 2017
Then go buy a proper wifi router and hook it up to the dsl cable ... ! If their line works fine but you are having issues with the wifi signal thanks to the router, then go get a better wifi router. FFS how hard is it for you entitled twits? They are a net service provider and are to be rated on as such, not as a reseller of stock standard modems.


Do you find this review useful?

32 Yes No 16 Report abuse


All Reviews

1 person found the following review useful
January 5, 2019
Submitted by: shawn (london , ON)
Feeling: Feeling disappointed Disappointed
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

I Tried the service at 150 mbs for 60 per month.

So i have Rogers internet presently and decided to try altima because it was cheaper.
They offer the Hitron Modem CGN3
I find during the day it works well Netflix in the lower level , kids on x box Couple iphones going. No problems. Soon as evening arrives , Netflix is buffering, IPTV is pausing. Wifi Dropping etc. Hook Rogers Cisco 100 MBPS back up and service is better. Not sure exactly why but have tried different tweaks , still same . Conclusion is Altima is an inferior provider for my needs.
May work for some people, but your needs may be less
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
December 27, 2018
Submitted by: Gabriel (Winnipeg , MB)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

11 days without internet and landline so far

When I called the service center they said that they cannot send a tech and they will send a modem overnight. The modem took 8 days to arrive. It was a DOA (dead on arrival). Even after that they still did not send a tech. Now it has been 11 days with no land line nor internet. Their techs are rude. Their policies sucks. Their equipment is ... py, probably the cheapest on the market. I will probably cancel the subscription.
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 0 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
December 20, 2018
Submitted by: Ryan (Calgary , AL)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

What the f***

Slowest internet speed I have ever seen F*** you altima
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
8 persons found the following review useful
December 8, 2018
Submitted by: Lixia Gao (MIssissauga , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Do not buy! This is complete doodoo

Every few minutes I have to reconnect to the wifi because it slows down to the point where I cant even load google. The wifi speed is not even close to what it's supposed to be and cuts out often. As a gamer this ping is completely unacceptable and customer service is unhelpful. It has been a whole week and the internet provided is still barely usable. The product that is being sold is incompetent and even the low price is not worth a product that cannot function properly. DO NOT BUY!
Do you find this review useful? 8 Yes No 0 Report abuse
6 persons found the following review useful
November 14, 2018
Submitted by: Daniel (Burlington , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

WORST INTERNET I HAVE USED

This Internet is pure trash, do not use it, it has terrible Internet and has issues for it occasionally, I average 100-300 ping in videogames when I'm playing with NA east players, and every week probably average 500 to even 1100 ping, and outside of videogames on my phone, takes a long time to load videos in youtube and has to load again occasionally, really bad Internet and I do not think you should use this bad Internet
Do you find this review useful? 6 Yes No 0 Report abuse
5 persons found the following review useful
November 9, 2018
Submitted by: Muhammad Nashir (Mississauga , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

The most non-friendly customer service

It is the worst possible internet provider in the city. The customer service is rude, non-responsive and offensive even. The quality of service is extremely poor and if there is a disruption, which is very common almost every month, there is no one to look after the customer. Two to three working days are lost in restoration of service after 100 plus calls. If one wants to create a headache, it is the service provider to contact.
Do you find this review useful? 5 Yes No 1 Report abuse
19 persons found the following review useful
September 10, 2018
Submitted by: Micheal (Mississauga , ON)
Feeling: Feeling unpleasantly_surprised Unpleasantly Surprised
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

THE WORST

Altima Telecom is a mother f***ing joke. The customer service people are beyond rude and not helpful what so ever. Do NOT go with Altima telecom
Do you find this review useful? 19 Yes No 2 Report abuse
10 persons found the following review useful
August 25, 2018
Submitted by: Brian (Montreal , QU)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Very pleased

We signed up for Altima 30 Mbps +VOIP phone about 6 months ago. I have measured the download speed several times and it is consistently 33Mbps (People who complain about poor Wi-Fi speeds need to upgrade their router, as this is not usually due to the cable modem. We bought a Google Mesh router at the same time and have excellent Wi-Fi. The phone service has been excellent. Better service and saving almost $50/month compared to Bell.

Reply from: Shawn
January 5, 2019
What are the demands on the internet service? You never stated what you do .. Streamimg ETC??
Do you find this review useful? 10 Yes No 3 Report abuse
5 persons found the following review useful
July 3, 2018
Submitted by: Alphidias Desormeaux (Vancouver , BR)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Best Telecommunications Provider

All our telecommunications services are provided by Altima Telecom. We have 4 branches and we have been loyal customers for a long period. The reason as to why we remain loyal to this company is due to the quality service that we get. We will remain loyal customers, fantastic work.
Do you find this review useful? 5 Yes No 5 Report abuse
9 persons found the following review useful
July 2, 2018
Submitted by: Peter Webart (Montreal , QU)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Best Montreal Internet Service Provider

This is an internet service without any issues. I signed up with Altima Telecom because of other positive reviews and up until now am still a happy customer. If you are considering Altima Telecom as a possible provider, I say go for it!
Do you find this review useful? 9 Yes No 3 Report abuse
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$49.95 Shipping: $FREE Other: $ No

Download: 30Mbps

Upload: 10Mbps

Cap: None

Overage:

Altima Telecom was established as an Internet Service Provider in Montreal, Quebec back in 2004. Altima Telecom offers a variety of Internet for the Home and Busines, Home Phone as well as Canadian IPTV across Canada with Headquarter office in Montreal Quebec, and satellite offices in Markham (Ontario), Winnipeg (Manitoba) and Vancouver (British Columbia).
Altima Telecom is proud to offer residential and commercial services in English and French.

The Internet services work on DSL, Cable & FTTN over the major telecom providers across Canada; which means Bell's network for DSL or Rogers, Cogeco and/or Videotron for Cable services.

Now let us focus on the review of Residential Internet service, the presently offered through Altima's web portal page.

Altima, as many Canadians these days like does offer unlimited internet bandwidth and the option of a single payment; which means a lower monthly payment overall. They recently revamped the ordering processes, much better and streamlined. In the past the online ordering process was a throwback to the early 2000's web experience - the good news is that is as refined as any other. It does let you chose a couple of tentative dates for installation of the service. Always a convenience, rather than giving you an estimated date. In addition to Altima's credit, their support team does appear to be reachable via phone or web and email ticketing system.

You can buy the Internet modem directly from Altima, for $99 and also use your own router for $0, which is always a good choice if you know your stuff. Though when supplying your own keep in mind you are also on your own in terms of support. As an added option, you can also get a Free rent ($60 deposit) modem. To this, you can also add a WiFi router with options to rent, buy or use your own.

The good news is that Altima does offer free shipping for online orders - it is not a lot but that comes as savings of $9.95 nonetheless. If you rent the modem will cost you $3.95 a month, or $47.40 a year. So you really need to consider if you'll be better off with just buying the modem outright since after 16-months would be more advantageous to have your own modem.

In conclusion, Altima Telecom Internet service is a highly recommended option for those wanting to switch from the big telco companies.  Also since Altima is a reseller of the big telco in your area, their performance will be as good.

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark

Do you provide coverage to 746 river road. Akwesasne quebec H0M 1A1

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

I want this service is in Ottawa Ontario


Hello, The internet service is available in Ottawa. Though to know specifically the plans available for your area you'll need to check on Altima's site, click on "Visit Site", and enter your postal code. Hope this helps. The Gonevoip Team

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse

Why there’s no internet this two nights

Rating  0     Rating  1 Report abuse

Do you have service in Millet Ab area? (T0C 1Z0)?


In General Yes, but we would need your full address to provide you all the plans available in your area. For any further questions call us to 1-888-7411924 Thank you and looking forward to hear from you, Have a great day. Altima Online team


Hello, Yes, Altima has Cable Internet plans going from 5 Mbps up to 150 Mbps. Also, there is one FTTN plan of 25 Mbps. Just click Visit Site ... on, this will take you to Altima's website, click on Internet and enter your Zip Code when prompted. The Gonevoip Team

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse

I am already client; if I want to upgrade the speed more ,tell me my options please. Thank you


Thanks for the interest. Please give us your accountID so that we can check the upgrade availability and policies for you. You can email to ecare@altimatel.com or call us at 5148002266. Thanks again.

Rating  0     Rating  2 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

The 25 Most Popular Providers of 2018

Annually the GoneVoIP platform receives about half a million visitors. In general, the visits tend to be spread over the more than 490 service providers found in the GoneVoIP platform, though there are trends and �
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  0
Report abuse

The Most Popular 150 Mbps Internet Plans in Ontario

Comparing five of the Best 150 Mbps Download and Unlimited Internet plans in Ontario. For this comparison, we chose to use Cable Internet. Note, all providers listed here are using Rogers Cable backbone network. What sets �
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  0
Report abuse

Canada’s Internet Speeds and Prices

Types of internet access providers This summer we set out to analyze the status of the home internet connections across the country. We picked fourteen representative major urban centers and analyzed factors such as maximum available �
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  0
Report abuse

Best Home Internet in Alberta

Alberta Internet Providers We did research for the Best Home Internet Plans in Alberta. We are comparing the traditional telecom giants we typically love to dis-love, with comparable plans from last mile providers.  We are not using any fancy or �
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  0
Report abuse

Finding Canada’s Best Internet Speeds

If you are like the rest of Canadians you probably have the same Internet connection for at least the past 2 years. But the demand on the internet connection in our daily lives and homes �
Continue Reading

Rating  5     Rating  0
Report abuse

Comparing Best Home Internet Plans in Ontario

After the Home Internet rates for some of the most popular plans in Ontario were set higher we set a mission. We had to do a research for the Best Home Internet Plans in Ontario. We are comparing the traditional �
Continue Reading

Rating  3     Rating  0
Report abuse

Home Internet Services with no price hike

Rogers and Bell are at it. Home Internet prices are set to increase, yes, again. According to sources at Rogers and Bell, the price increase is due to investments on their respective networks. Though possible �
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse

Best Home Internet Canada

Altima Telecom
Visit Website
$49.95 / mo.
Read 44 Reviews
Distributel
Visit Website
$40 / mo.
Read 29 Reviews
GemsTelecom
Visit Website
$29.99 / mo.
Read 12 Reviews

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 138 Reviews
Yak
Visit Website
$5 / mo.
Read 188 Reviews
netTALK CONNECT ezLINQ
Visit Website
$7 / mo.
Read 0 Reviews