Best Price!
Best Price!

Altima Telecom Reviews & Service Offerings

Altima Telecom
Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 37

Rating  35%     Rating  65%    

Add a Review     Ask a Question

Altima Telecom
Altima Telecom

Altima Telecom

Website: www.altimatel.com
Services: DSL, Cable & FTTN
Availability: AB, MB, ON & QC
Monthly Price: $49.95 CAD

+1-514-800-3560

Buy Now Get a Quote Visit Site


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion (4.5): Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(28 ) Reviews + (9) Replies: 37

Rating  35%     Rating  65%

Add a Review

Ask a Question


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 37

Rating  35%     Rating  65%    

  Add a Review     Ask a Question

 

Reviews Stats

Rating
5
Rating
3
Rating
1
Rating
2
Rating
17
When reviewing Altima Telecom Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !

Top Positive


14 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: October 29, 2015
Submitted by: Santi GURUNG (OTTAWA , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Good service and good price

I have been using Altima telecom service including home phone and internet for around one year. I have been enjoying the service with great appreciation since then. The thing that I must share being honest about Altima service is the monthly fee which is the cheapest, consistent, and affordable to all customers. That's why I encouraged some people and made them to be its customers already. If only the speed of Internet is as excellent as Bell service at this rate, it would empower all other companies without any doubt. Thanks Altima.


Do you find this review useful?

14 Yes No 9 Report abuse


Top Critical


29 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: July 23, 2015
Submitted by: apple (montreal , QU)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Terrible internet speed

We've just switched to Altima internet and we are very disappointed. AIt is unlimited, but with the internet speed it has I may use less data then on a limited plan. The internet works at full speed only within a few meters of the modem. As soon as I try to go a bit further, internet connection is unstable and I have to wait for an eternity before even opening Google. We complained to the customer service and all they try to do is to make you buy a WiFi extender, but the problem is obviously with their modem: I've used other modems before and they work fine even with two floors of distance. Do not buy!

Reply from: Alex On: March 30, 2018
I made an account just for this too. Go buy a wifi router from an electronics store and stop being cheap. Learn how the technology works before you review it. Jesus Christ.

Reply from: Chris On: April 22, 2017
I had to make account to this but ARE YOU MENTALLY RETARDED OR SOMETHING?
There is no possible way that it's the modem since it doesn't output wifi or Ethernet connection to pc.
The modem is only responsable for ISP services.

Reply from: i.t dept. On: April 21, 2017
Then go buy a proper wifi router and hook it up to the dsl cable ... ! If their line works fine but you are having issues with the wifi signal thanks to the router, then go get a better wifi router. FFS how hard is it for you entitled twits? They are a net service provider and are to be rated on as such, not as a reseller of stock standard modems.


Do you find this review useful?

29 Yes No 12 Report abuse


All Reviews

13 persons found the following review useful
September 10, 2018
Submitted by: Micheal (Mississauga , ON)
Feeling: Feeling unpleasantly_surprised Unpleasantly Surprised
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

THE WORST

Altima Telecom is a mother f***ing joke. The customer service people are beyond rude and not helpful what so ever. Do NOT go with Altima telecom
Do you find this review useful? 13 Yes No 2 Report abuse
5 persons found the following review useful
August 25, 2018
Submitted by: Brian (Montreal , QU)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Very pleased

We signed up for Altima 30 Mbps +VOIP phone about 6 months ago. I have measured the download speed several times and it is consistently 33Mbps (People who complain about poor Wi-Fi speeds need to upgrade their router, as this is not usually due to the cable modem. We bought a Google Mesh router at the same time and have excellent Wi-Fi. The phone service has been excellent. Better service and saving almost $50/month compared to Bell.
Do you find this review useful? 5 Yes No 3 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
July 3, 2018
Submitted by: Alphidias Desormeaux (Vancouver , BR)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Best Telecommunications Provider

All our telecommunications services are provided by Altima Telecom. We have 4 branches and we have been loyal customers for a long period. The reason as to why we remain loyal to this company is due to the quality service that we get. We will remain loyal customers, fantastic work.
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 4 Report abuse
5 persons found the following review useful
July 2, 2018
Submitted by: Peter Webart (Montreal , QU)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Best Montreal Internet Service Provider

This is an internet service without any issues. I signed up with Altima Telecom because of other positive reviews and up until now am still a happy customer. If you are considering Altima Telecom as a possible provider, I say go for it!
Do you find this review useful? 5 Yes No 3 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
June 27, 2018
Submitted by: Mac (Brampton , ON)
Feeling: Feeling disappointed Disappointed
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Requires therir Internet

You cannot get VOIP alone unless you use their Internet service. As reported in June-2018

Reply from: Altima telecom Online team
June 27, 2018
Hi

Yes, cause if you are using another Internet service provider, our IP phone system is not compatible well, so we strongly suggest our client use our network and IP phone at the same time
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 3 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
June 26, 2018
Submitted by: Gurmit (Surrey , BC)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

NJService very slow

I apply 12 June this company internet but today 26 June ... ody call me for switch on internet. I 5 time call service office they say me to wait.they already charge me on 12 June. They take too much time . please don't take this internet connection.

Reply from: Altima telecom Online team
June 27, 2018
Sorry for the long wait, could you please give us more details regarding about your account, we might help to send an escalation request in order to help you to have the soonest date.

Cause if now the request is still pending, and it is more than 10 days without any result, we could always escalate to a higher level

Best regards


Online team
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 1 Report abuse
6 persons found the following review useful
June 12, 2018
Submitted by: Kary (Toronto , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Worst internet ever

Goes down 24/7 in the middle of doing school projects.
Do you find this review useful? 6 Yes No 0 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
March 20, 2018
Submitted by: Steve (Sherbrooke , QU)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Membre depuis 1 mois

Je suis très satisfait de mon service. Aucune coupure de service. J'ai pris le 30 et j'ai la télévision IP avec un autre fournisseur et tout fonctionne bien. J'ai leur routeur à 3,99/mois.
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 2 Report abuse
9 persons found the following review useful
December 10, 2017
Submitted by: Armando herrera (Cambridge , ON)
Feeling: Feeling unpleasantly_surprised Unpleasantly Surprised
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Trouble w/Internet

Talk to the tec/support and ask to check Internet and said my problem is the router but is a new one but insisted an get a new one form Altima very disappointed
Do you find this review useful? 9 Yes No 3 Report abuse
22 persons found the following review useful
September 21, 2017
Submitted by: Sherica (Toronto , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Wish I could rate zero

Customer service/tech help are rude, condescending, disrespectful and lack basic customer service etiquette. They do not listen to understand and then reply, they speak over the customer and do so very rudely. Its absolutely appalling. I have never been with a company who cares less for the happiness of their customer than this company. The only reason I am not totally leaving this company is the cancellation fee which I do not need right now. As soon as my contract is up I will go back to my old company, I would rather pay a little more for better service and customer appreciation. The one thing some of these companies fail to realize is without loyal customers their business will fail. As a business owner myself I strive to ensure my customers are satisfied and I treat my loyal customers with the utmost respect. Altima telecom should train their employees to do the same, before they lose customers. I have already shared with my friends and family who joined this company because I encouraged them too, to leave and find a better company. As our contracts will soon be up, we all will be leaving.
Do you find this review useful? 22 Yes No 3 Report abuse
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$49.95 Shipping: $FREE Other: $ No

Download: 30Mbps

Upload: 10Mbps

Cap: None

Overage:

Altima Telecom was established as an ISP in Montreal back in 2004.
Altima offers Internet, Home Phone as well as Canadian IPTV across Canada with offices in Montreal Quebec, Markham in the Great Toronto Area, Winnipeg and Vancouver.
Altima is proud to offer residential and commercial services in English and French.

The Internet services work on DSL, Cable & FTTN over the major telecom providers across Canada; which means Bell's network for DSL or Rogers, Cogeco and/or Videotron for Cable services.

Now let us focus on the review of Residential Internet service, the presently offered through Altima's web portal page.

Altima, as many Canadians these days like does offer unlimited internet bandwidth and the option of a single payment; which means a lower monthly payment overall. They recently revamped the ordering processes, much better and streamlined. In the past the online ordering process was a throwback to the early 2000's web experience - the good news is that is as refined as any other. It does let you chose a couple of tentative dates for installation of the service. Always a convenience, rather than giving you an estimated date. In addition to Altima's credit, their support team does appear to be reachable via phone or web and email ticketing system.

You can buy the Internet modem directly from Altima, for $99 and also use your own router for $0, which is always a good choice if you know your stuff. Though when supplying your own keep in mind you are also on your own in terms of support. As an added option, you can also get a Free rent ($60 deposit) modem. To this, you can also add a WiFi router with options to rent, buy or use your own.

The good news is that Altima does offer free shipping for online orders - it is not a lot but that comes as savings of $9.95 nonetheless. If you rent the modem will cost you $3.95 a month, or $47.40 a year. So you really need to consider if you'll be better off with just buying the modem outright since after 16-months would be more advantageous to have your own modem.

In conclusion, Altima Telecom Internet service is a highly recommended option for those wanting to switch from the big telco companies.  Also since Altima is a reseller of the big telco in your area, their performance will be as good.

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark

Why there’s no internet this two nights

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Do you have service in Millet Ab area? (T0C 1Z0)?


In General Yes, but we would need your full address to provide you all the plans available in your area. For any further questions call us to 1-888-7411924 Thank you and looking forward to hear from you, Have a great day. Altima Online team


Hello, Yes, Altima has Cable Internet plans going from 5 Mbps up to 150 Mbps. Also, there is one FTTN plan of 25 Mbps. Just click Visit Site ... on, this will take you to Altima's website, click on Internet and enter your Zip Code when prompted. The Gonevoip Team

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse

I am already client; if I want to upgrade the speed more ,tell me my options please. Thank you


Thanks for the interest. Please give us your accountID so that we can check the upgrade availability and policies for you. You can email to ecare@altimatel.com or call us at 5148002266. Thanks again.

Rating  0     Rating  2 Report abuse

i would like to have high unlimited internet speed. i am with videotron your package is 39.95 is there any connection fee?

Rating  4     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

The Most Popular 150 Mbps Internet Plans in Ontario

We compare five of the most popular 150 Mbps download and Unlimited Internet plans in Ontario. For this comparison, we chose to use Cable Internet. Note, all providers listed here are using Rogers Cable backbone network. …
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse

Canada’s Internet Speeds and Prices

This summer we set out to analyze the status of the home internet connections across the country. We picked fourteen representative major urban centers and analyzed factors such as maximum available download speed, average speed, …
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  0
Report abuse

Best Home Internet in Alberta

We did a research for the Best Home Internet Plans in Alberta. We are comparing the traditional telecom giants we typically love to dis-love, with comparable plans from last mile providers.  We are not using any fancy ISP comparison tool. At …
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  0
Report abuse

A good Internet Speed

If you are like the rest of Canadians you probably have the same Internet connection for at least the past 2 years. But the demand on the internet connection in our daily lives and homes …
Continue Reading

Rating  5     Rating  0
Report abuse

Comparing Best Home Internet Plans in Ontario

After the Home Internet rates for some of the most popular plans in Ontario were set higher we set a mission. We had to do a research for the Best Home Internet Plans in Ontario. We are comparing the traditional …
Continue Reading

Rating  3     Rating  0
Report abuse

Home Internet Services with no price hike

Rogers and Bell are at it. Home Internet prices are set to increase, yes, again. According to sources at Rogers and Bell, the price increase is due to investments on their respective networks. Though possible …
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse

Best Home Internet Canada

Altima Telecom
Visit Website
$49.95 / mo.
Read 37 Reviews
Distributel
Visit Website
$35 / mo.
Read 27 Reviews
VMedia Inc
Visit Website
$19.95 / mo.
Read 1 Reviews
Velcom
Visit Website
$47.95 / mo.
Read 1 Reviews
GemsTelecom
Visit Website
$29.99 / mo.
Read 12 Reviews
HeroNet.ca
Visit Website
$38.88 / mo.
Read 19 Reviews