Best Price!
Best Price!

Altima Telecom Reviews & Service Offerings

Altima Telecom
Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 51

Rating  38%     Rating  63%    

Add a Review     Ask a Question

Altima Telecom
Altima Telecom

Altima Telecom

Website: www.altimatel.com
Services: Cable, Fiber & DSL
Availability: AB, BC, MB, ON & QC
Monthly Price: $29.95 CAD

+1-514-800-3560

Buy Now Get a Quote Visit Site


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion (4.5): Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(40 ) Reviews + (11) Replies: 51

Rating  38%     Rating  63%

Add a Review

Ask a Question


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 51

Rating  38%     Rating  63%    

  Add a Review     Ask a Question

 

Reviews Stats

Rating
8
Rating
3
Rating
2
Rating
3
Rating
24
When reviewing Altima Telecom Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !

Top Positive


23 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: October 29, 2015
Submitted by: Santi GURUNG (OTTAWA , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Good service and good price

I have been using Altima telecom service including home phone and internet for around one year. I have been enjoying the service with great appreciation since then. The thing that I must share being honest about Altima service is the monthly fee which is the cheapest, consistent, and affordable to all customers. That's why I encouraged some people and made them to be its customers already. If only the speed of Internet is as excellent as Bell service at this rate, it would empower all other companies without any doubt. Thanks Altima.


Do you find this review useful?

23 Yes No 12 Report abuse


Top Critical


36 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: July 23, 2015
Submitted by: apple (montreal , QU)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Terrible internet speed

We've just switched to Altima internet and we are very disappointed. AIt is unlimited, but with the internet speed it has I may use less data then on a limited plan. The internet works at full speed only within a few meters of the modem. As soon as I try to go a bit further, internet connection is unstable and I have to wait for an eternity before even opening Google. We complained to the customer service and all they try to do is to make you buy a WiFi extender, but the problem is obviously with their modem: I've used other modems before and they work fine even with two floors of distance. Do not buy!

Reply from: Alex On: March 30, 2018
I made an account just for this too. Go buy a wifi router from an electronics store and stop being cheap. Learn how the technology works before you review it. Jesus Christ.

Reply from: Chris On: April 22, 2017
I had to make account to this but ARE YOU MENTALLY RETARDED OR SOMETHING?
There is no possible way that it's the modem since it doesn't output wifi or Ethernet connection to pc.
The modem is only responsable for ISP services.

Reply from: i.t dept. On: April 21, 2017
Then go buy a proper wifi router and hook it up to the dsl cable ... ! If their line works fine but you are having issues with the wifi signal thanks to the router, then go get a better wifi router. FFS how hard is it for you entitled twits? They are a net service provider and are to be rated on as such, not as a reseller of stock standard modems.


Do you find this review useful?

36 Yes No 18 Report abuse


All Reviews

March 12, 2019
Submitted by: Syed Malik (Scarborough , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Poor customer service

The girl picked the phone. she sounds very disturbed to answer my question. poor service.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
March 11, 2019
Submitted by: Hugues (Montreal , QU)
Feeling: Feeling unpleasantly_surprised Unpleasantly Surprised
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Restricted router and limited customer service

Attention, the configuration of the router H268A is not completely accessible, you only have access to the restricted version of the configuration, so no DynDNS for example or impossible to have a DHCP server other than that of the router .

Moreover it seems that it is impossible to access your LAN from outside even by configuring a machine in the DMZ of the router ...

And after 3 attempts to contact by email or web forms ... No return for almost a week!
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
March 8, 2019
Submitted by: Patricia Smith (Petrolia , ON)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Great Provider

I am very happy with Altima. The customer service and tech support are excellent.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
January 28, 2019
Submitted by: Charlie Elliott (Mount Brydges , ON)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Altima Customer Service Review

Customer service was so easy to change my pre-authorized payment details. Melody the service rep was excellent!!
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
6 persons found the following review useful
January 25, 2019
Submitted by: Jordan (GTA , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Altima will post charges to your credit card without your authorization - Be aware!

I received an payment notice from Altima saying they will be placing a preauthorized payment to my credit card since we are approaching our payment due date. However, I have never given them authorization to do so.

I called customer service to ask the reason for this. They tried to avoid this question by just saying they will remove the credit card information i have on file.

Apparently Altima will store your credit card information after you make a one time payment online and enroll you for automatic payment without your authorization.

Be aware and avoid them! I have canceled my service right away.

Reply from: Karine
January 28, 2019
No company can sign you up for pre-authorized payment. You actually did it yourself when you make the payment online. You have to uncheck the box for the set-up pre-authorized payment, if you don't that means you agree to have the auto-payment. Please be careful and read properly.
Do you find this review useful? 6 Yes No 3 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
January 24, 2019
Submitted by: Habtamu assefa (Calgary , AL)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Billing issue

Jan.24/2019 i was having issue with my billing and has been solved in proper and polite way with one of the representative called ARVIN thank you so much for your help.
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
9 persons found the following review useful
January 5, 2019
Submitted by: shawn (london , ON)
Feeling: Feeling disappointed Disappointed
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

I Tried the service at 150 mbs for 60 per month.

So i have Rogers internet presently and decided to try altima because it was cheaper.
They offer the Hitron Modem CGN3
I find during the day it works well Netflix in the lower level , kids on x box Couple iphones going. No problems. Soon as evening arrives , Netflix is buffering, IPTV is pausing. Wifi Dropping etc. Hook Rogers Cisco 100 MBPS back up and service is better. Not sure exactly why but have tried different tweaks , still same . Conclusion is Altima is an inferior provider for my needs.
May work for some people, but your needs may be less
Do you find this review useful? 9 Yes No 0 Report abuse
7 persons found the following review useful
December 27, 2018
Submitted by: Gabriel (Winnipeg , MB)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

11 days without internet and landline so far

When I called the service center they said that they cannot send a tech and they will send a modem overnight. The modem took 8 days to arrive. It was a DOA (dead on arrival). Even after that they still did not send a tech. Now it has been 11 days with no land line nor internet. Their techs are rude. Their policies sucks. Their equipment is ... py, probably the cheapest on the market. I will probably cancel the subscription.
Do you find this review useful? 7 Yes No 1 Report abuse
6 persons found the following review useful
December 20, 2018
Submitted by: Ryan (Calgary , AL)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

What the f***

Slowest internet speed I have ever seen F*** you altima
Do you find this review useful? 6 Yes No 0 Report abuse
11 persons found the following review useful
December 8, 2018
Submitted by: Lixia Gao (MIssissauga , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Do not buy! This is complete doodoo

Every few minutes I have to reconnect to the wifi because it slows down to the point where I cant even load google. The wifi speed is not even close to what it's supposed to be and cuts out often. As a gamer this ping is completely unacceptable and customer service is unhelpful. It has been a whole week and the internet provided is still barely usable. The product that is being sold is incompetent and even the low price is not worth a product that cannot function properly. DO NOT BUY!
Do you find this review useful? 11 Yes No 0 Report abuse
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$29.95 Shipping: $FREE Other: $ No

Download: 30Mbps

Upload: 10Mbps

Cap: None

Overage:

Altima Telecom is a telecommunications company that provides services to consumers and business customers across the country (Quebec, Ontario, Alberta, Manitoba and British Columbia). Altima offers residential telephone services, business communications tools such as high-speed internet and digital television.

Constantly innovating, Altima Telecom has also built its own fiber-optic network in downtown Montreal.

Altima provides affordable, reliable and innovative products to offer solutions to its customers' communications needs.

Some of the characteristics of Altima Telecom Internet are:

  • Unlimited Internet Usage 
  • High-quality viewing experience
  • Free Installation

Altima Telecom most economical Home Internet plan is the 6 Mbps DSL plan:

  • Monthly fee: starting at $29.95
  • Setup fee: shipping free, installation free, $60 deposit
  • Contract: 1-year engagement
  • Speed: 6Mpbs download and 1.5Mbps upload 
  • Monthly usage: Unlimited

Altima Telecom is proud to help connect thousands of Canadian businesses and households. It has been doing so for over 15 years with a singular goal; offer the best telecom choice at the best price.

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark

Do you provide coverage to 746 river road. Akwesasne quebec H0M 1A1

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

I want this service is in Ottawa Ontario


Hello, The internet service is available in Ottawa. Though to know specifically the plans available for your area you'll need to check on Altima's site, click on "Visit Site", and enter your postal code. Hope this helps. The Gonevoip Team

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse

Why there’s no internet this two nights

Rating  0     Rating  1 Report abuse

Do you have service in Millet Ab area? (T0C 1Z0)?


In General Yes, but we would need your full address to provide you all the plans available in your area. For any further questions call us to 1-888-7411924 Thank you and looking forward to hear from you, Have a great day. Altima Online team


Hello, Yes, Altima has Cable Internet plans going from 5 Mbps up to 150 Mbps. Also, there is one FTTN plan of 25 Mbps. Just click Visit Site ... on, this will take you to Altima's website, click on Internet and enter your Zip Code when prompted. The Gonevoip Team

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse

I am already client; if I want to upgrade the speed more ,tell me my options please. Thank you


Thanks for the interest. Please give us your accountID so that we can check the upgrade availability and policies for you. You can email to ecare@altimatel.com or call us at 5148002266. Thanks again.

Rating  0     Rating  2 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

How to file a complaint against a Provider

If you feel you have a valid complaint against your telecom provider, you are not alone. According to an article in the Financial Post complaint rates rose dramatically in 2017-2018 by a staggering 57%. In �
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse

The 25 Most Popular Providers of 2018

Annually the GoneVoIP platform receives about half a million visitors. In general, the visits tend to be spread over the more than 490 service providers found in the GoneVoIP platform, though there are trends and �
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  1
Report abuse

The Most Popular 150 Mbps Internet Plans in Ontario

Comparing five of the Best 150 Mbps Download and Unlimited Internet plans in Ontario. For this comparison, we chose to use Cable Internet. Note, all providers listed here are using Rogers Cable backbone network. What sets �
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  1
Report abuse

Canada’s Internet Speeds and Prices

Types of internet access providers This summer we set out to analyze the status of the home internet connections across the country. We picked fourteen representative major urban centers and analyzed factors such as maximum available �
Continue Reading

Rating  3     Rating  1
Report abuse

Best Home Internet in Alberta

Alberta Internet Providers We did research for the Best Home Internet Plans in Alberta. We are comparing the traditional telecom giants we typically love to dis-love, with comparable plans from last mile providers.  We are not using any fancy or �
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  0
Report abuse

Finding Canada’s Best Internet Speeds

If you are like the rest of Canadians you probably have the same Internet connection for at least the past 2 years. But the demand on the internet connection in our daily lives and homes �
Continue Reading

Rating  5     Rating  0
Report abuse

Comparing Best Home Internet Plans in Ontario

After the Home Internet rates for some of the most popular plans in Ontario were set higher we set a mission. We had to do a research for the Best Home Internet Plans in Ontario. We are comparing the traditional �
Continue Reading

Rating  3     Rating  0
Report abuse

Home Internet Services with no price hike

Rogers and Bell are at it. Home Internet prices are set to increase, yes, again. According to sources at Rogers and Bell, the price increase is due to investments on their respective networks. Though possible �
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse

Best Home Internet Canada

Altima Telecom
Visit Website
$29.95 / mo.
Read 51 Reviews
CIK Telecom Inc
Visit Website
$24.99 / mo.
Read 6 Reviews
GemsTelecom
Visit Website
$29.99 / mo.
Read 12 Reviews
Transat Telecom
Visit Website
$39.95 / mo.
Read 0 Reviews
Distributel
Visit Website
$40 / mo.
Read 31 Reviews