Acanac Reviews & Service Offerings

Acanac
Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 17

Rating  6%     Rating  94%    

Add a Review     Ask a Question

Acanac
Acanac

Acanac

Website: www.acanac.ca
Services: DSL, Cable & Wi-FI
Availability: ON & QC
Monthly Price: $29.95 CAD

Visit Site


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion (2): Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(17 ) Reviews + (0) Replies: 17

Rating  6%     Rating  94%

Add a Review

Ask a Question


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 17

Rating  6%     Rating  94%    

  Add a Review     Ask a Question

 

Reviews Stats

Rating
1
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
1
Rating
15
When reviewing Acanac Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !

Top Positive


4 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: December 21, 2017
Submitted by: john garlow (the hammer , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

jack-rabbit fast

skeno (greetings) been using acanac for a while now and at first had a bit of a err in service but was resolved to and treated them like people and i been treated like a person i reconmend their service to people whom like multi choice for service plans an do not want to over pay for fast internet ...jack rabbit fast enit!!! lol


Do you find this review useful?

4 Yes No 0 Report abuse


Top Critical


10 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: May 12, 2017
Submitted by: Victor (Milton , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Warning! Stay away from them

The worst experience signing up with these idiots. They are quick to call you back if you hang up and when the day comes to transfer the whole thing falls apart. Tansfer was to happen on a thursday and now friday night. I have no phone and internet for for 2 days and possibly longer. Avoid like the plague.!!!!!


Do you find this review useful?

10 Yes No 1 Report abuse


All Reviews

2 persons found the following review useful
January 30, 2019
Submitted by: Basim Nabiollahi (North York , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Horrifying experience

Customer service experience is one of the worst in my entire life.
Impossible to cancel the account or get refunds. You will be placed on hold for hours.
Customer service simply let you go on hold for hours.Do not use their services.
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
January 28, 2019
Submitted by: Sam (Montreal , QU)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Just the Worst

Just dont bother, disgusting customer care.
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
4 persons found the following review useful
January 2, 2019
Submitted by: dion (stouffville , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Don't be fooled

This is the biggest waste of money, I had been a customer for over 2 years with nothing but hassle. Their customer service is absolutely useless, if there is a problem that costs you money to fix don't bother because they will take your $ and not deliver what they promise. They blame the customer for any issues that they cause, they flat out refuse to do anything to rectify the issue. They could not care less about their customers. Pay the extra money for a service you can count on, this company is a bunch of useless scam artists.
Do you find this review useful? 4 Yes No 0 Report abuse
5 persons found the following review useful
November 27, 2018
Submitted by: Wang Peng (Toronto , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Very very Angry about acanac

Use acanac since 2014,
Last week I called to cancel the internet service and the date I requested is December 10.
Today is November 26, I lost my internet and called them they said they don't know I asked for December 10....!! Very very angry.
WILL NEVER RECOMMEND AND USE THEM AGAIN
Do you find this review useful? 5 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
November 24, 2018
Submitted by: Bill (Brampton , ON)
Feeling: Feeling disappointed Disappointed
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Poor Service and Support

I signed up with Acanac earlier this year (6 months ago) after growing frustrated with Rogers/Bell overall.
Sign up team very friendly. Support later very poor.
You are told FREE installation. To Acanac that means they activate the line, you do the install. Idiotic and very deceptive practice. Even Bell and Rogers don't do this. I waited all morning for the person to come and do the "free installation". I called and they said "you got burned". You do the install.
Tech support after the fact is useless. They don't care. You need to be technically proficient with routers, etc. to go with a company like Acanac as their support really does suck (as others mentioned).
I was told by Acanac that I would be amazed by the speed. I am not. It's slower and much less stable that Rogers/Bell (I hate even saying that).
My Nest thermostat had an issue with the battery/WIFI and we traced it to poor Internet service!
I am not recommending Bell/Rogers, but I would definitely avoid Acanac. Just writing this is an issue. It resembles dial up some days.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
November 23, 2018
Submitted by: Sha (Toronto , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Fraud company

Fraud company!!!

Don't deal with them!!!
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
October 20, 2018
Submitted by: G (Laval, , QU)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

"USELESS" Customer Service!!!

If you decided to sign up with Acanac and end up getting incredibly frustrated, you have no one but yourself to blame for not heeding all the dire warnings. Trying to sort out a problem with Accounting / Bill is absolutely the worst. Call Teksavvy instead. The service and support is night and day from what you get from the tragedy known as Acanac. It should be renamed to "Crap-anac"
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 0 Report abuse
5 persons found the following review useful
October 4, 2018
Submitted by: Deep (Brapmton , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Worst company full of idiots.

I got new modem to upgrade the internet speed, called Tech Support to activate on Friday Sept28th, 2018. Was told that it will be working in next 24-48 hours. Called on Sa ... ay to check the status and was told that Tech Support entered wrong MAC address and will correct and wait another 24-48 hours. No internet till Monday, called to find out that highly qualified tech support still has wrong MAC address and no correction was made, wait another 24-48 hours. Guess what, no internet till Wednesday, called to get a another surprise still wrong MAC address,highly qualified tech support shamelessly tells to wait another 24-48 hours! Wow what a great company of jokers and idiots. One week and still waiting for another surprise!! Worse than kindergarten kid, even a kid can enter right letters and numbers.
Do you find this review useful? 5 Yes No 0 Report abuse
5 persons found the following review useful
September 20, 2018
Submitted by: S Cesario (Vaughan , ON)
Feeling: Feeling unpleasantly_surprised Unpleasantly Surprised
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Non Existent Service

My internet went down on a Sa ... ay and I there was no technical service available until Monday. After doing so useless tests, they had to schedule a tech to come out for Wednesday. No one showed up. I called again on Wednesday then they said Friday was the earliest. A week without internet and horrible customet assistant, Needless to I will no longer be a customer of Acanac
Do you find this review useful? 5 Yes No 0 Report abuse
4 persons found the following review useful
August 31, 2018
Submitted by: Lindsay Cairns (Hamilton , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Waited 1 month for installation

I ordered internet 16 days before moving date. Installation was confirmed for the 20th of August. No one showed up. I contacted them and they told me No one could come out for another 12 days. Installation was to be tomorrow . Sept 1st... I called to make sure someone would be coming because again I was not given confirmation. Now I have to wait until the 2nd. I don't even have the service installed and already not a happy customer... I really hope there are no more issues after installation.
Do you find this review useful? 4 Yes No 0 Report abuse
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$29.95 Shipping: $ Other: $ Yes

Download: 15 Mbps

Upload: 1 Mbps

Cap:

Overage:

Acanac is one of the most popular  Internet Service Providers in the Provinces of Ontario and Quebec. Acanac is part of the Distributel Group with HQ in Ottawa, ON.

Acanac Internet service is available in Ontario and Quebec on DSL & Cable flavors. Operating on Rogers, Cogeco, EastLink, and Videotron Cable networks and on Bell for DSL services.

The entry plan for the cable option is 30 Mbps down and 5 Mbps up has a promotion in where the setup fee is waived, a value of $79.95. The monthly cost is $49, or $588 annual. If you think that is coming with unlimited usage, that is not a bad plan to have!

You can purchase a modem from Acanac directly for $99 or rent to own at $10 per month, for the first 12-months. The shipping of the modem is $10, oddly there is no pick-up option. You can also buy the WiFi router, at $119.

The entry plan for the DSL option is 15 Mbps down and 1 Mbps up. Similarly, as with the Cable offer, the setup fee of $79.95 is waived. The DSL monthly rate is $29 from month 1 to month 6 then it goes up to $39 per month. The plan comes with unlimited usage as well. The modem/router/WiFi has 4-ethernet ports so you can plug directly devices that run services requiring faster access, such as a smart TV running Netflix. The modem combo is $119. What is neat about getting this modem combo from Acanac is that it will self-configure, eliminating the need for installation and for the most part saving you time. You could opt to go the rent-to-own route, in where the modem combo is $10 per month for the first 12 months.

Acanac is a good choice capable to satisfy the majority of internet needs in households in Ontario and Quebec. The only regrets are the existence of an activation fee, the shipping can perhaps be lower and that the promotions are front-loaded, maybe having back the old offer of 3-months of low payments at the beginning of a 12-months agreement in addition to waiving the install fee. With that said, one thing worth mentioning is that if you paid the whole year up-front you get a free month of service.

Other than it offers the modern basics of internet services, with email accounts and a relatively active online support community partially makes it for the lack of online chat support. There is no additional protection, such as Antivirus & AntiMalware; so users will have to source their own.

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark

My internet is not working please contact me asap via phone thank you

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

i am your client and i did not ask you to continue the plan i tride to contact you by phon but ad usual was not possible to conect you so we changed our visa card number because i dont want to continue and extend the internet which we had with your company .also let you know that i dont work with my yahoo email .please either you contact my phone 6477650574 or disconnect the interne.t

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

my phone service doesnt work no dial tone could please chech this out thanks

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

How to file a complaint against a Provider

If you feel you have a valid complaint against your telecom provider, you are not alone. According to an article in the Financial Post complaint rates rose dramatically in 2017-2018 by a staggering 57%. In �
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse

The 25 Most Popular Providers of 2018

Annually the GoneVoIP platform receives about half a million visitors. In general, the visits tend to be spread over the more than 490 service providers found in the GoneVoIP platform, though there are trends and �
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  1
Report abuse

Best Home Internet Canada

Altima Telecom
Visit Website
$29.95 / mo.
Read 51 Reviews
CIK Telecom Inc
Visit Website
$24.99 / mo.
Read 6 Reviews
GemsTelecom
Visit Website
$29.99 / mo.
Read 12 Reviews
Transat Telecom
Visit Website
$39.95 / mo.
Read 0 Reviews
Distributel
Visit Website
$40 / mo.
Read 31 Reviews