Best Phone
Best Phone

1-VOIP Reviews & Service Offerings

1-VOIP
Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 9

Rating  100%     Rating  0%    

1-VOIP
1-VOIP

1-VOIP

Website:
Devices:
Availability:
www.1-voip.com
Android, iPhone & Windows PC/Phone
AB, BC, MB, NB, NF, NS, ON, PEI, QC & SK
1-855-256-3711

Get a Quote Visit Site

Monthly Fee Setup Fee Other Fees Long Distance Rates
$11.21
Bring your own Device Optional

Canada: FREE
USA: FREE
Intl. Minutes:

1-VoIP was founded back in 2005 and has a decade of experience in the telecommunications world. The proudest achievement of 1-VoiP is that they have been rated as the number 1 provider in America, as well as the most reviewed. The headquarters of 1-VoIP can be found at 120 North Robinson Avenue, suite 1600, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, 73101. The staff at 1-VoIP we interacted with were extremely knowledgeable and exhibited their willingness to cooperate. The backbone of any business is the people who run it, and 1-VoIP showed us that customer experience and satisfaction are their priorities.

1-VoIP has a variety of services and plans that it offers across the entirety of North America. Currently 1-VoIP is offering a promotional plan in tandem with gonevoip.ca. This promotional plan includes unlimited calling in Canada and the United States, and has a price tag of a paltry $9.87. In comparison to other VoIP service providers 1-VoIP is offering a highly competitive price. Comwave’s basic VoIP plan costs $14.95 per month, however it only has unlimited local calling. Furthermore, if a customer opts into a 3 year contract with Comwave the price drops to $9.95. Price baiting into long contracts is a marketing ploy to attract customers and hold them at gunpoint for as long as you want.

Another potential competitor to 1-VoIP would be Vonage, a prominent and well established VoIP provider in Canada. They are offering a basic VoIP plan for $9.95, but unlike Comwave, this plan is unlimited for the entirety of North America. However Vonage also requires you to sign up on a contractual basis to attain this price. Without a contractual term customers would be required to pay $25.99 per month for this basic plan! 1-VoIP offers its plan on a prepaid basis which results in a better deal for the customer who doesn’t have to feel bound or worried about termination charges. Oh and did we mention that 1-VoIP offers the lowest price out of all three! 

1-VoIP’s basic calling plan also allows customers to indulge in international calling, but do their rates match up to the VoIP giants across Canada? Calling to Pakistan using 1-VoIP services would cost a consumer 5 cents per minute. Using Comwave’s basic plan calling to Pakistan would cost 11.9 cents!

The substantial difference of almost 7 cents per minute puts 1-VoIP ahead by a fair margin. Vonage doesn’t fair as well against 1-VoIP either considering the rates for international calls to Pakistan would amount to 8 cents per minute! Another impressive aspect about 1-VoIP is that its services are acquirable across the majority of Canada, making it even easier for people who wish to save money by opting into an economically friendlier solution. 

A few distinct features that are also included are the email account and 2GBs of cloud storage; these are unique features considering we have not seen any other provider offer them, however we suspect and hope that it will become a lasting trend. How is that for voicemail storage eh? It also comes in handy for storage when using 1-VOIP's webfax feature.

The formula for a successful business in any industry is very simple; optimal pricing, quality service, and a customer care team who knows what they are talking about. 1-VoIP excels in each category. Their prices cannot be beaten, they have a decade of service which speaks for itself, and we experienced firsthand how well informed and humble the staff is. If you’re looking for a VoIP service that lets your wallet stay the way it is, look no further; 1-VoIP has your solution!

Maple Leaf Features

Call Blocking Checkmark
Conference Calling Checkmark
BYOD: Checkmark
Smartphone App: Checkmark
Call Forwarding Checkmark
Call Hold Checkmark
Caller ID Name: Checkmark
Enhanced VoiceMail: Checkmark
 

Reviews Stats

Rating
6
Rating
1
Rating
1
Rating
0
Rating
0

Top Positive


14 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: April 7, 2015
Submitted by: Marc Morisset(Ottawa, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Excellent VoIP Provider

I've been with 1-VoIP for at least five years now and feel I have grown with them. Sure, there were technical issues at the beginning, but I've always felt that their technical support people were knowledgeable and caring, especially Allen, a rarity in this business.
In terms of features, 1-VoIP is the only provider to my knowledge that offers two free virtual numbers with all of their Premier plans, and to me that was the clincher. I'm spending a couple of months in Hawaii right now and was able to create a local (808), temporary Hawaii phone number during my stay here. I'm on their Premier Unlimited plan and I think the value is unbeatable and the reliability excellent (although not faultless). Furthermore, I live in Canada and needed a number in the 613 area code, which they cover along with a lot of other places like Quebec City, Montreal and Vancouver. Many US-based providers do not pay much attention to Canada, which is not the case with these guys, thankfully!
I was with Vonage before (although that was nearly 10 years ago) and am way happier with 1-VoIP. It's like dealing with a mom & pop operation: you get much more personalized service, and as I like to say over and over, their staff really cares. There is no issue I experienced with my phone line that we were not able to fix quickly together - they follow up on calls and emails and really work with you to solve any problem that arises.
I highly recommend 1-VoIP to you, as I've been recommending them to my family and friends, because they worked hard to earn my loyalty. And by the way, I'm often skeptical when reading overly positive reviews, as we all should be: but I'm a real long-term customer of 1-VoIP, my name is Marc, I do exist, I'm based in Ottawa, Canada, and regularly write hotel reviews on tripadvisor as I travel a lot (one of the reasons why I love using 1-VoIP as a telephone provider) - my username on TA is marxusboy, please do not hesitate to contact me there if you need extra pointers on 1-VoIP.


Do you find this review useful?

14 Yes No 0 Report abuse


Top Critical


8 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: April 7, 2015
Submitted by: 4 pillars (Mississauga, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

800 numbers

cannot make 800 numbers to canadian compamies

Reply from: Allen @ 1-VoIP On: April 8, 2015
Hello,

I'm sorry to hear you are still experiencing this problem with our service.

That has been a known issue in the past, but we do have a permanent resolution to this problem. I have already corrected your account so you won't face this problem in the future.

If you find this does resolve your issue, please reply with an update that it's resolved for you at your earliest convenience. Otherwise, don't hesitate to contact me if you're still experiencing any issues.

Thanks,

Allen
1-VoIP Support Manager


Do you find this review useful?

8 Yes No 0 Report abuse


All Reviews

7 persons found the following review useful
May 3, 2015
Submitted by: wesley brown (spruce grove, AL)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

1-voip

I have been using this service for close to a decade and have always been extremely happy with the quality and their service. If I've ever needed to talk to customer service its always been very quick to get someone and they've always been pleasant and helpful. would highly recommend them
Do you find this review useful? 7 Yes No 1 Report abuse
5 persons found the following review useful
April 14, 2015
Submitted by: Allen MacKinnon (Toronto, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Great VOIP Service

I've been a very satisfied 1-VoIP customer since 2007.

Always had great service from them and on the rare occasions I've needed technical support the technician were always prompt, courteous and respectful of my time.

I give 1-Voip 5 stars and would recommend them to anyone.
Do you find this review useful? 5 Yes No 0 Report abuse
4 persons found the following review useful
April 8, 2015
Submitted by: Kamran Fayyaz (WATERLOO, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Good Service

I am using this from last 8 years, its a good service
Do you find this review useful? 4 Yes No 0 Report abuse
8 persons found the following review useful
April 7, 2015
Submitted by: 4 pillars (Mississauga, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

800 numbers

cannot make 800 numbers to canadian compamies

Reply from: Allen @ 1-VoIP
April 8, 2015
Hello,

I'm sorry to hear you are still experiencing this problem with our service.

That has been a known issue in the past, but we do have a permanent resolution to this problem. I have already corrected your account so you won't face this problem in the future.

If you find this does resolve your issue, please reply with an update that it's resolved for you at your earliest convenience. Otherwise, don't hesitate to contact me if you're still experiencing any issues.

Thanks,

Allen
1-VoIP Support Manager
Do you find this review useful? 8 Yes No 0 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
April 7, 2015
Submitted by: Patrick Daley (Richmond, BR)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

1-Voip Review

Been a 1-Voip Customer for about 8 years.Had been a Vonage and Dolphintel, neither were able to provide the unlimited calling to over 30 countries at a low price.. The next best thing about 1-Voip is that a human answers the phone when I call them. Any problems I have had were fixed asap. I give 1-Voip 5 Stars.
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
14 persons found the following review useful
April 7, 2015
Submitted by: Marc Morisset (Ottawa, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Excellent VoIP Provider

I've been with 1-VoIP for at least five years now and feel I have grown with them. Sure, there were technical issues at the beginning, but I've always felt that their technical support people were knowledgeable and caring, especially Allen, a rarity in this business.
In terms of features, 1-VoIP is the only provider to my knowledge that offers two free virtual numbers with all of their Premier plans, and to me that was the clincher. I'm spending a couple of months in Hawaii right now and was able to create a local (808), temporary Hawaii phone number during my stay here. I'm on their Premier Unlimited plan and I think the value is unbeatable and the reliability excellent (although not faultless). Furthermore, I live in Canada and needed a number in the 613 area code, which they cover along with a lot of other places like Quebec City, Montreal and Vancouver. Many US-based providers do not pay much attention to Canada, which is not the case with these guys, thankfully!
I was with Vonage before (although that was nearly 10 years ago) and am way happier with 1-VoIP. It's like dealing with a mom & pop operation: you get much more personalized service, and as I like to say over and over, their staff really cares. There is no issue I experienced with my phone line that we were not able to fix quickly together - they follow up on calls and emails and really work with you to solve any problem that arises.
I highly recommend 1-VoIP to you, as I've been recommending them to my family and friends, because they worked hard to earn my loyalty. And by the way, I'm often skeptical when reading overly positive reviews, as we all should be: but I'm a real long-term customer of 1-VoIP, my name is Marc, I do exist, I'm based in Ottawa, Canada, and regularly write hotel reviews on tripadvisor as I travel a lot (one of the reasons why I love using 1-VoIP as a telephone provider) - my username on TA is marxusboy, please do not hesitate to contact me there if you need extra pointers on 1-VoIP.
Do you find this review useful? 14 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
April 7, 2015
Submitted by: ana (yellowknife, NO)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

great service and price

great service. very satisfied
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
April 7, 2015
Submitted by: Ronnie Kawazaki (Perth, QU)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Excellence of Voip Services

I have been using 1-Voip since 2004 in Montreal & in Perth, Western Australia

Great people, Very friendly customer service, Good & competitive prices with an extreme VOIP services been maintained since.

Will recommend their services to all !
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse

Can this service be stopped and started as I only need it for four months of the year?


Hi Erin, If you chose to pay monthly then there is no term commitment. Just call 1-VoIP to 1-888-369-8647 and they'll help you out. Regards, The Gonevoip Team

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Hi. I have few questions as to your service: 1) Have I unlimited Canada?US outgoing/incoming calls? 2)How I get adapter and how long? Can I connect morte then 2 phones(use a split line)? 4) Calculate my charge for Brampton houshold.


Hello Karl, Will try to help you as much as we can. #1) Is correct, it is an unlimited offer for Canada & US. #2) In the ordering process you'll get the confirmation the Adapter will be shipped to your address. Usually shipping takes around 3-5 days. #3) You can have a DECT 6.0 compatible phone with a group/set of many handsets, but the consideration is that is still one outgoing line/ number. #4) It is CAD$ 11.21 Monthly, when prepaid for the whole year; promo with Gonevoip site. Hope this helps. The Gonevoip Team

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

is your customer service facility in Canada


Hi William, The customer service for 1-VOIP is based in the US. The Gonevoip Team

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

are residential services available for the city of Laval,Quebec, Canada?


I think so. Here in the South Shore, Longueuil, works. Check if you can port your number, sometimes though the issue may be due to Bell (as my parents) could not get their old number ported because of old systems @ Bell.

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse

can I transfer an existing bell number, can I have two numbers?


Yep - I did the same thing. Switched from Bell, I'm in Toronto.

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse

My ethenet cable presently goes from my computer to my box for my Bell TV box, so how is your system work with your box???


I assume you do not have a router in-between? If your cable modem for internet doesn't have an additional ethernet port then you'll need to get one. In any event, ideally connect the VoIP ATA off the internet modem (if it has several ethernet ports) or attached to the router.
Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Will this service work with cellular internet?


What type of cellular internet are we talking about? For example, I use this company and they have a smartphone ap; which I have installed and works like a charm. I use my mobile phone on Wi-Fi or with whatever service Bell gives. On the other hand if your intent is to get this service because you are in a remote location and only get Wireless Internet in your property I think you need to check bandwidth; while voip in general consumes very little it can be impacted by latency. Here's something to help you with: https://www.gonevoip.ca/resources/voip-checklist/
Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(8) Reviews + (1) Replies: 9

Rating  100%     Rating  0%

Maple Leaf Top Residential VoIP

Yak
Visit Website
$5 / mo.
Read 173 Reviews
VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 54 Reviews
1-VOIP
Visit Website
$11.21 / mo.
Read 9 Reviews
VOIPO
Visit Website
$6.21 / mo.
Read 2 Reviews
CallCentric
Visit Website
$0.0198 pr min / mo.
Read 8 Reviews
Phone Power
Visit Website
USD$5.99 / mo.
Read 53 Reviews

Maple LeafTop Internet Providers

Distributel
Visit Website
$35 / mo.
Read 5 Reviews
HeroNet.ca
Visit Website
$38.88 / mo.
Read 4 Reviews
TekSavvy Solutions Inc.
Visit Website
$27.99 / mo.
Read 2 Reviews