XPlorNet Reviews & Service Offerings

XPlorNet
Maple Leaf Company Info
XPlorNet
XPlorNet

XPlorNet

Website: www.xplornet.com
Services: Wireless
Availability: AB, BC, MB, NB, NL, NS, ON, PEI, QC, SK, NT, NU, YK
Monthly Price: $59.99 CAD

Visit Site


Get Free Quotes

Home Phone

Home Internet

Business Phone

Business Internet

 

Reviews Stats

When reviewing XPlorNet Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !
Rating
1
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
1
Rating
38

All Reviews

July 8, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: George (Mississauga , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Worst "Cottage Internet Provider"

Where to start ... 3 gigs cost $65.00 each gig over costs me $3.00 I thought I ordered Unlimited Pkg but it seems I am not in the right area ... no one told me. It buffers all the time. Try to get tech support ... never less than 90 minute wait on the phone. System down often ... Awful, awful, awful ... I am going to Rogers Rocket stick after only 3 months of use and hundreds of dollars in installation costs. STAY AWAY!!!!
July 5, 2019
Review Helpful? 4 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Chris (Millgrove waterdown , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Horrible service

My net here is literally down 85% of the time. They have no support unless 4hrs on hold is support? They blame me telling me my lte is out of the tower range as if im om my roof moving it. They cost me a tonne of time and inconvenience. $90 plus tax per month never offer a refund or anything. Changing companies asap
June 15, 2019
Review Helpful? 7 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Mathieu Hinse (Dunvegan , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Worst internet in Canada

We have the 25mb/s down unlimited package that comes to around 120$ a month and we never get that speed during the day time. If you want that speed you better like staying up between 1 and 6 in the morning. During the day and mostly during "peak" hours between 5 and 10 pm you'll be lucky if you can watch videos without buffering or play video games online. For this price it's a complete scam. Stay away from this company if you can!
June 12, 2019
Review Helpful? 9 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Stephanie Dumoulin (Okotoks , AL)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Worst service ever

Customer service is terrible. Getting a hold of someone is very hard. Wait time is always 20 minutes according to their message but the reality is that it is always way more than what they predict (2-3x more). The call back option is horrible too. If they call and you are unable to pickup, your request is closed and you need to restart the whole process to get assistance. The employees on the line are not listening to what you have to say. According to them, Problem is always the customer and never their service. Had to call because we had no internet, the lady kept saying service worked perfectly fine. Turns out there was water into the box they installed outside and it wasn't working at all and could even have been dangerous. When a technician comes for a visit, their vehicles isn't clearly identified as it is a subcontractor. Had few different people that came for the same problem (never properly fixed) and the next one is always blaming the previous one. Having the worst internet service ever, you need to deal with customers service and technical support a lot. It is crazy expensive for a service that crashes every 20-30min. My best advice is: STAY AWAY FROM XPLORNET!
June 11, 2019
Review Helpful? 5 Yes No 0
Submitted by: M L (georgetown , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Service isalmost non-functional

DO NOT USE XPLORENT!
You will regret it!!!!!

My bill with Xplornet is $120 a month. I pay for their top of the line service. Yet.....
Xplornet meteres all their connections so severely that I have to upload the same webpage repeatedly, at all times of day. They prevent me from using the 100 mb I pay for monthly, because despite being online for about 4 to 12 hours a day, I cannot use it by month end due to such slow download speeds.(I was specifically promised non-metered when I signed the contract)
NOT what I paid for.
I was promised Non-Metered network and 100mb of data monthly. I have a crippled metered network unable to load 50% of pages (error messages) and timing out on 50 to 75% of those that load.
There are constant DNS Issues rendering the internet inaccessible at least twice a day.
I am only able to uses about half of the data I pay for each month due to the severity of their metering practices and then they flat out LIE to you and pretend they aren't metering youir connection, but they are. (My computer detects that the Internet Provider has metered the network.)
So they will promise you, and charge you, for one product and service, and provide you with severely sub-standard service and product and lie to you when you address it with them.
Run! Do not use Xplornet unless you want to be robbed.
May 30, 2019
Review Helpful? 4 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Barry (Bowmanville , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Xplornet internet

Xplornet runs a shameful business we never have internet at least 80% of the time... I do not recommend anybody using this Xplornet service for internet
May 29, 2019
Review Helpful? 5 Yes No 0
Submitted by: chuck (davin , SA)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

continue to raise rates

poor customer service
unreasonable billing policy
continual rate increase
unreliable service signal
May 18, 2019
Review Helpful? 4 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Alex Kurteev (Calgary , AL)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

STAY AWAY

What a horrible service x plornet is not even trying to provide from the day one I was with them. I have used their service for over six months and every month is the same story ( I live 10 mints away from the city (Calgary) and 2 mints away from tower that I can literally see it. I utilized Telus for 5 years without any problems when I lived in YYC. Now, with X plornet I experience nothing but headache...
I pay premium ( most expensive package and alway running out of data- no options to purchase unlimited data. X plornet will simply shut off your internet when your data ends.
Costumer service is average, most of the times they are trying their best but the answer is the same that there is nothing they can do...
Many times they customer service is horrible, representative just will hang up on you.
I will definitely will look for alternative service and I would recommend to new costumer/clients to do your research properly and stay away from them. You can get locked in the contract and will suffer until contract is over .
May 16, 2019
Review Helpful? 3 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Charles (Leduc County , AL)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Xplornet= terrible rural internet option

Had 25mbps package. Live only 5km from town. Have never seen the internet speed anywhere near half of that. Seen it at 1 or 2 mbps. Paying for 25 but on average I would have to say it sits around 0.1mbps almost always. Do not recommend. Had people out to realign a few times. Works a little better but certainly not anywhere near where it should be for an hour or two, then back down to nothing almost. Called about the issue several times. Customer support is pleasant enough. Nothing negative to say about that. Unfortunately, that does not change the provable fact of paying for a service that is not being provided. It feels a bit embarrassing for us being unknowingly swindled into and stuck in a verbal two year contract. It is easier for older folks to misunderstand the information provided, and it seemed that this company was not very eager to elaborate on its workings, or idea of what service they are actually going to provide and what it was said to be( two very different things). It is criminal, in my opinion, to be dishonest and uninformative as xplornet has been with us. We were denied any physical evidence of the verbal contract. We were told that they record the calls and that they had the recording of us accepting the terms of the contract. We believe this to be false, though in some sly way, they may have manipulated the conversation enough to cause us to unknowingly accept terms we were not aware of. We believed we were on a one year contract. When we went to cancel as we thought the contract was up, we found out all of this other new information. Xplornet is a trickster company, that has no quarrels with taking your money, and trapping you so you have to pay what they say, for as long as they say(for a service that is far below sub-par), or you pay a penalty which could be more than what you would pay if you stuck it out for the rest of the contract.
If your only option is xplornet in a rural area, do not under any cir ... tances accept any contract or terms with them. Choose the cheapest and lowest mbps, speed, quality service they provide month to month, no contract, because i can almost guarantee you will never see it at its maximum speed. Why pay more for something you will never get?
I do not enjoy speaking negative about anyone personally, and I even feel terrible about speaking this way about a company, but it is better to warn someone before they fall into a pitfall. I truly hope this helps someone so that they do not get stuck as I have.
May 15, 2019
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Fraser Cochrane (Greenland , NO)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

They LIE

They said that after 100G that my internet would slow down. It is pretty much dead. It's so slow after 100G You can't even run a speed test on it.
They don't even give you the option to pay more for more data. Its CRAP. If you plan to do anything more then emails then DO NOT get it.
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$59.99 Shipping: $$99 Other: $ No

Download: 5 MBPS

Upload: 1 MBPS

Cap: 10 GB

Overage: $2 / GB

Xplornet Communications is a telecommunications provider founded in 2004. The company has headquarters in Woodstock, New Brunswick.

Xplornet states in their mission that they “aim to bridge urban/rural broadband digital divide ensuring that every Canadian, regardless of where they live, has access to broadband, thereby enabling them to compete effectively in the global economy and gain access to essential government and educational services.”

They state that their services are available Canada-wide, “including the hard to reach places.” Xplornet overcomes the normal geographical challenges of providing service to the second largest country in the World – Canada – by having a vast hybrid network of fixed-wireless towers on the ground and next-generation satellites in space.

In our review, we will look at Xplornet’s Internet packages and services and see how they stack up against the competition.

XplorNet has three wireless residential plans: the Xplore5 10 GB, the Xplore5 25 GB, and the Xplore5 50 GB. The GB number in each plan name represents the amount of data each plan allows for. Beyond that everything else is identical except the price. The Xplore5 10 GB is $59.99. The Xplore5 25 GB is $79.99. The Xplore5 50 GB is $99.99. All three plans have download speeds of up to 5 MBPS and upload speeds of up to 1 MBPS.

All packages require an activation fee of $99 on two-year terms. Included in the price is the rental fee for all connected equipment. XplorNet does not sell the routers directly. Taxes are not included in these prices.

With such small data usage, it is worth noting that if you exceed your monthly usage allowance, your service could either go into a limited state of 150 KBPS or you will be billed $2 per additional GB of overage, depending on which package you select.

In our review of XplorNet, we are impressed with their efforts to extend broadband Internet coverage to the furthest reaches of Canada. Bearing that in mind, XplorNet is designed for areas where Internet connectivity is limited or there is little to no coverage. If you live in areas with multiple options, there are probably better choices to consider such as gonevoip’s top Internet Service Providers.

Due to XploreNet system and design, there is, unfortunately, limited data usage available in XPlorNet’s plans, with even their best option, the Xplore25 with a speed of 25 Mbps though only allowing for 150 GB of monthly usage, in this time even for our rural regions of the country seems little. 

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark

Hey, I just logged a very bad review of Xplornet but realized that I reference GB when I actually meant MB. Big difference. Is there any way to correct this error?


Hello Steve, Please use the Reply/Update ... on to update the review with the correct statement. Sorry at this time individual reviews cannot yet be edited individually (but coming in the future) The GONEVOIP TEAM

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

How much is your service

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

How to file a complaint against a Provider

If you feel you have a valid complaint against your telecom provider, you are not alone. According to an article in the Financial Post complaint rates rose dramatically in 2017-2018 by a staggering 57%. In รƒฦ’ร‚ยฏรƒโ€šร‚ยฟรƒโ€šร‚ยฝ
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse

The 25 Most Popular Providers of 2018

Annually the GoneVoIP platform receives about half a million visitors. In general, the visits tend to be spread over the more than 490 service providers found in the GoneVoIP platform, though there are trends and รƒฦ’ร‚ยฏรƒโ€šร‚ยฟรƒโ€šร‚ยฝ
Continue Reading

Rating  3     Rating  2
Report abuse

The Metamorphosis of Landlines

Canadians love to communicate. That is not a secret. Today the evolving and changing telecommunications landscape offers many different ways to communicate. Though is unavoidable to look and examine in particular the traditional phone landlines; รƒฦ’ร‚ยฏรƒโ€šร‚ยฟรƒโ€šร‚ยฝ
Continue Reading

Rating  0     Rating  0
Report abuse

Best Rural Internet Canada

XPlorNet
Rating
$59.99 / mo.
Read 43 Reviews

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Rating
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 167 Reviews
netTALK CONNECT ezLINQ
Rating
$7 / mo.
Read 10 Reviews
CallCentric
Rating
FREE / mo.
Read 8 Reviews