XPlorNet Reviews & Service Offerings

XPlorNet
Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 24

Rating  10%     Rating  90%    

Add a Review     Ask a Question

XPlorNet
XPlorNet

XPlorNet

Website: www.xplornet.com
Services: Wireless
Availability: AB, BC, MB, NB, NL, NS, ON, PEI, QC, SK, NT, NU, YK
Monthly Price: $59.99 CAD

Visit Site


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion (2.5): Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(21 ) Reviews + (3) Replies: 24

Rating  10%     Rating  90%

Add a Review

Ask a Question


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 24

Rating  10%     Rating  90%    

  Add a Review     Ask a Question

 

Reviews Stats

Rating
1
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
20
When reviewing XPlorNet Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !

Top Positive


12 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: September 10, 2018
Submitted by: Jane5 (Sudbury , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Pleased 2nd time around

I was an Xplorenet customer 2 years ago and was very disappointed having experienced the sluggish evening speeds others have described. Speeds so slow that videos would continuously buffer. I switched to Bell turbo hub as that was the only alternative. Speeds with the turbo hub were great, but the cost was unbelievable.
After almost a year of being over charged, I called Xplorenet again and learned that there was new technology and that the service was much better than what I experienced previously. I was hesitant but made the switch back and was greatly surprised. The connection is great and the only slow down I experience is when there are 3 more devices being used at once and even then, the speed is still good. I do rent their router which I believe makes a huge difference.
If this new technology is available in other areas, I would definitely recommend Xplorenet.

Reply from: Obe On: December 23, 2018
Please identify this 'new' technology. LTE requires towers that xPlornet is unwilling or unable to build, and satellite is and will always be weather specific, and suffer horrible ping rates. Please let everyone know what they provided for you, as most people are still being offered the same-ole same-ole.

Reply from: Danny Bartlett On: December 13, 2018
I am also a Bell hub user (cost is ridiculous). I thought about xplorenet but I can only get the satellite service. I have been told that the sat. service is terrible so guess I am stuck with Bell. Previously had Bell Aliant but .9 speed was terrible. Guess they don't care about rural folks.


Do you find this review useful?

12 Yes No 4 Report abuse


Top Critical


33 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: September 5, 2018
Submitted by: Pierre Seguin (St-Eugene , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

No consideration to their customers

Their internet is usage on the midnight shift and during the day until 4:00 pm where people start arriving home from school and workplace. After 4:oo pm the internet is frustratingly slow. Always the same with this company they offer services to twice the amount of customers they can actually deliver. You complain they take $10 or $20 off a month and tell you that an upgrade in their services will soon provide better speed. However soon after the upgrade which takes a long time to come, they oversell their product and again the internet slows down to a crawl and often to nothing at all. They obviously don't give a ... about their customers, it's all about their pockets. Most Sincerely Pierre Seguin

Reply from: Obe On: December 23, 2018
This company is in the revenue via subscription business, not the provision of internet (as implied by xPlornets adverti ... ts). Nobody enjoys 25 mB internet, receives prompt and efficient customer service, or escapes service type specific throttling (which may violate net neutrality). Two year contracts are mandated, and cancellation penalties are EPIC. Please, research as much as possible when considering xPlornet, because to enter into an agreement with this company, or it's independent service providers, is equivalent to self inflicted stress. Construct a list of questions to ask PRIOR to entering into an agreement (use customer reviews for guidance). Please be careful... xPlornet has a highly unsatisfactory percentage of unhappy users.


Do you find this review useful?

33 Yes No 0 Report abuse


All Reviews

10 persons found the following review useful
February 4, 2019
Submitted by: Nicole (Ivy , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Stressful, Slow and poor service

It has been a headache to deal with xplornet. We are currently on the 500gb per month plan for $110. We were told to upgrade because it would increase our internet speed so we did.

They claim up to 25mbps, however, from 6pm-midnight we are lucky to get 2.5mbps. Most nights we are at 500KB. That's pathetic speed to where we cannot watch a movie on Netflix or even surf the Internet. The only time we get a decent speed is at 4am.

They have come to check it out on a few occasions to check the speed of the tower and wall unit and say it's running great.

I honestly feel as if we are on dial-up speeds. In 2019 I feel that this should be a problem of the past. We have neighbours that can stream no problem which I find amusing as well.

If this doesn't get resolved shortly we will be cancelling indefinitely. I would not recommend xplornet to anyone.
Do you find this review useful? 10 Yes No 0 Report abuse
7 persons found the following review useful
January 31, 2019
Submitted by: Dave (Calgary , AL)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Horrible

I am forced to use xplornet because there is no other service in my area even though I live 2 km from Calgary city limits. I am to close to there tower to get high speed internet so they put me on there satilite at a higher price per month at 25 mbps. That is what I am paying for but I am receiving less then 1 mbps most of the time. We can't even use YouTube.
If you can possibly avoid using xplornet do so.
Do you find this review useful? 7 Yes No 0 Report abuse
6 persons found the following review useful
January 25, 2019
Submitted by: Dean (Millarville , MA)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Garbage Internet Service

Do not bother with XplorNet. They do not tell you the truth when it comes to the actual bandwidth you will get. My contract with them is up in 3 months and Telus internet is now available in my area. Goodbye Xplornet.
Do you find this review useful? 6 Yes No 0 Report abuse
5 persons found the following review useful
January 13, 2019
Submitted by: Brandon (Andrew , AL)
Feeling: Feeling unpleasantly_surprised Unpleasantly Surprised
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

No Gaming

Dont go with this ... company. Ping is 800+ if your a gamer this is the most ... y company out there. i can see the tower and its still ... . my buddy next door has MCSnet pointing at the same tower and he gets 60-80ping. great for gaming.
Do you find this review useful? 5 Yes No 0 Report abuse
18 persons found the following review useful
December 17, 2018
Submitted by: Emily Gust (Regina , SA)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

DO NOT EVEN TRY IT

By far the WORST internet service you can get. It's not even worth entertaining the thought of trying them. You'll have wasted your $90+/month for nothing.

After a couple of years of intermittent service, going weeks, YES WEEKS without any internet or at the very least enough internet to even load Google's home page, at least 3 service visits, 5 or 6 calls, and loads of frustration, we finally had enough.

On our last call the technician blamed the previous owner of the tower (YourLink) for our lack of internet (citing outdated equipment), which we laughed at considereing we had 11mb download spead no problem (our average was about 0.6mb with Xplornet). This was especially entertaining since Xplornet has owned the tower for years, and we've been told multiple times they were "upgrading" it.

Recently we were left with absolutely no internet, so we asked what's up and once again they cited equipment failure due to a power outage days prior. No curtousey of a phone call, email, nothing, to let us know we'd be without service. PLUS they had NO IDEA when it would be up again. Luckily we were able to get this month free, however with 3 people in the household that either work from home or run entire businesses from home, it's pretty freaking useless.

I take reviews very seriously, and it takes a lot to get 1 star or less from me, but this company is only here to steal your money.
Do you find this review useful? 18 Yes No 0 Report abuse
11 persons found the following review useful
November 28, 2018
Submitted by: JS (Winnipeg , MA)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Garbage Company Beware

As part of Bell taking over MTS in Manitoba 24,000 Bell customers were given to other companies. Took 4 days to set my account up and then did not work! The anger and circus show was on Day 2.. service not working and get 1st months Bill! Unreal but true. The store manager was not in that day but said they would credit 1st month invoice and have not done after 1 week. The staff are poorly trained and overwhelmed.
Do you find this review useful? 11 Yes No 0 Report abuse
14 persons found the following review useful
October 9, 2018
Submitted by: Koen verschingel (Puslinch , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Bad internet service and expensive

Moved into a house were previous owner recommended to stay with explornet as all the hardware was already installed for the LTE service. Called sales and explained there was LTE in the area and priced me on LTE and satelite service LTE same price but 200G download and 50 G download for satelite. When the day of the connection came the told,me there was a stop sell on the tower and I had to go with satelite.
It is a rip off and bad service for the money you pay the support does not give a damm about you. They force you to take the satelite service looking to find an alternative in the next to weeks please stay away from this company.
Do you find this review useful? 14 Yes No 0 Report abuse
6 persons found the following review useful
October 7, 2018
Submitted by: Pamela (Scoudouc , NE)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

forced to upgrade

so I was forced to upgrade my service after 10 years they changed 1 cable and somehow now it will cost me 40$ more a month really disappointed would not recommend to anyone. As I have no other option where I am located I guess its better than a data plan on my phone but this is crazy.... one cable that was it
I wish I could just up my rate of pay because of one cable this suck

stuck in scoudouc
Do you find this review useful? 6 Yes No 0 Report abuse
17 persons found the following review useful
October 3, 2018
Submitted by: Swifter1243 (rather not say , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Garbage Internet

We pay 90$ a month for 25 : 5 internet (25 download 5 upload) and I don't think it has ever surpassed 5 : 1. Customer support is horrible, they take like an hour and just want to sell you more stuff, they don't care about your problem at all. If you can find an alternative, I beg you to use that instead.
Do you find this review useful? 17 Yes No 0 Report abuse
14 persons found the following review useful
October 2, 2018
Submitted by: Ken (Puslinch , ON)
Feeling: Feeling unpleasantly_surprised Unpleasantly Surprised
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Unreliable internet speeds

Waht Explornet provides and what the promise is complete different we had Tower LTE available in our area when the installer came he said there was a stop sell on the tower service. Now we pay the same money for 150G less data and unreliable speeds :
Ping time 865ms even e mail is a problem
Do you find this review useful? 14 Yes No 0 Report abuse
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$59.99 Shipping: $$99 Other: $ No

Download: 5 MBPS

Upload: 1 MBPS

Cap: 10 GB

Overage: $2 / GB

Xplornet Communications is a telecommunications provider founded in 2004. The company has headquarters in Woodstock, New Brunswick.

Xplornet states in their mission that they “aim to bridge urban/rural broadband digital divide ensuring that every Canadian, regardless of where they live, has access to broadband, thereby enabling them to compete effectively in the global economy and gain access to essential government and educational services.”

They state that their services are available Canada-wide, “including the hard to reach places.” Xplornet overcomes the normal geographical challenges of providing service to the second largest country in the World – Canada – by having a vast hybrid network of fixed-wireless towers on the ground and next-generation satellites in space.

In our review, we will look at Xplornet’s Internet packages and services and see how they stack up against the competition.

XplorNet has three wireless residential plans: the Xplore5 10 GB, the Xplore5 25 GB, and the Xplore5 50 GB. The GB number in each plan name represents the amount of data each plan allows for. Beyond that everything else is identical except the price. The Xplore5 10 GB is $59.99. The Xplore5 25 GB is $79.99. The Xplore5 50 GB is $99.99. All three plans have download speeds of up to 5 MBPS and upload speeds of up to 1 MBPS.

All packages require an activation fee of $99 on two-year terms. Included in the price is the rental fee for all connected equipment. XplorNet does not sell the routers directly. Taxes are not included in these prices.

With such small data usage, it is worth noting that if you exceed your monthly usage allowance, your service could either go into a limited state of 150 KBPS or you will be billed $2 per additional GB of overage, depending on which package you select.

In our review of XplorNet, we are impressed with their efforts to extend broadband Internet coverage to the furthest reaches of Canada. Bearing that in mind, XplorNet is designed for areas where Internet connectivity is limited or there is little to no coverage. If you live in areas with multiple options, there are probably better choices to consider such as gonevoip’s top Internet Service Providers.

Due to XploreNet system and design, there is, unfortunately, limited data usage available in XPlorNet’s plans, with even their best option, the Xplore25 with a speed of 25 Mbps though only allowing for 150 GB of monthly usage, in this time even for our rural regions of the country seems little. 

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark

Hey, I just logged a very bad review of Xplornet but realized that I reference GB when I actually meant MB. Big difference. Is there any way to correct this error?


Hello Steve, Please use the Reply/Update ... on to update the review with the correct statement. Sorry at this time individual reviews cannot yet be edited individually (but coming in the future) The GONEVOIP TEAM

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

How much is your service

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

How to file a complaint against a Provider

If you feel you have a valid complaint against your telecom provider, you are not alone. According to an article in the Financial Post complaint rates rose dramatically in 2017-2018 by a staggering 57%. In �
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse

The 25 Most Popular Providers of 2018

Annually the GoneVoIP platform receives about half a million visitors. In general, the visits tend to be spread over the more than 490 service providers found in the GoneVoIP platform, though there are trends and �
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  1
Report abuse

The Metamorphosis of Landlines

Canadians love to communicate. That is not a secret. Today the evolving and changing telecommunications landscape offers many different ways to communicate. Though is unavoidable to look and examine in particular the traditional phone landlines; �
Continue Reading

Rating  0     Rating  0
Report abuse

Best Rural Internet Canada

XPlorNet
Visit Website
$59.99 / mo.
Read 24 Reviews