XPlorNet Reviews and Plans

XPlorNet
Provider Summary Information
XPlorNet
XPlorNet

XPlorNet

Website: www.xplornet.com
Services: Wireless
Coverage: AB, BC, MB, NB, NL, NS, ON, PEI, QC, SK, NT, NU, YK
Monthly : $59.99 CAD

Visit Site


173 2.5 reviewCount Request Quotes

Home Phone

Home Internet

Business Phone

Business Internet

 
FACT: When reviewing XPlorNet visitors in most cases feel Feeling angry angry!!
Rating
6
Rating
0
Rating
6
Rating
3
Rating
143

All Reviews

July 3, 2021
Review Helpful? 2 Yes No 2
Submitted by: Jacklyn Sader (Oakville , ON)
Feeling disappointed Disappointed Rating 👎

XPLORNET IS THE WORST POSSIBLE COMPANY OUT HERE

THE WORST POSSIBLE COMPANY I EVER HAD TO TALK TO BY FAR!!!!!! NO CUSTOMER SERVICE. Waiting for the installer to get here for a second time. First time they did not know how to install it properly so had to rebook an appointment and now waiting around for them to come again, he's running 5 hours late and not willing to work with me. I called the company to see what's taking so long and they made me call the installer myself to deal with it when it is THEIR JOB TO CALL THE INSTALLER AND DEAL WITH IT. I had to get the number of the installer through the company why wouldn't they just call the installer. WORST POSSIBLE SERVICE I HAVE EVER HAD TO DEAL WITH. THIS COMPANY SHOULD NOT BE RUNNING AT ALL!!!
June 2, 2021
Review Helpful? 3 Yes No 6
Submitted by: Kepler (Amherst , NO)
Feeling happy Happy Rating 👍

Xplornet is amazing

I have no clue why there is just so many negative reviews. I just upgraded from seaside and its night and day. Xplornet is by far the best internet I have used. Before on seaside I'd get lucky to get more than 8Mb/s. On Xplornet I get anywhere from 30-70Mbs. Their service is great so far and the installer was quick, informative, and nice. It is a little more pricey but it 100% worth it.

Reply from: TomD
August 5, 2021
Consider yourself lucky... very lucky. On my 10/1 package, I seldom get over 7 MBPS download or 0.7 MBPS upload which is useless for video conferencing like Zoom etc. I've had four (4) tech visits, all of them very friendly, but completely non-productive. I've now upgraded to the 50/10 package, but three days after the physical install, they haven't activated it. That's after a three week wait for the install.
Cheers
January 26, 2021
Review Helpful? 4 Yes No 4
Submitted by: Judy Oldham (Whitby , ON)
Feeling disappointed Disappointed Rating 👎

Transparency

Very disappointed after asking ...is the seasonal suspension fee a one time charge?? I was told yes. Obviously the sales rep doesn't understand english. The suspension fee is charged once monthly for the 6 months you would suspend due to being at your trailer or cottage for only 6 months of the year. All i ask for is honesty when i enter a contract with a company. This was a deliberate evasive answer and as soon as I can without losing any more money i will cancel this service. Shame on sales rep...how desperate are you!!

Reply from: Paul Allen
June 17, 2021
I spoke with xplornet today to get quotes (06/17/2021). They offer seasonal at $30/month. Not a one-time charge. I find this excessive. Eastlink is $15/month!!

Reply from: Brenda Mclaughlin
March 15, 2021
what is the seasonal charge?? I was told they did not have a seasonal discontinuation available! even if you don't use it at the cottage you have to pay 12 months of the year??
Load More Reviews
Promo Plan Speeds

Download: 5 MBPS

Upload: 1 MBPS

Xplornet Communications is a telecommunications provider founded in 2004. The company has headquarters in Woodstock, New Brunswick.

Xplornet states in their mission that they “aim to bridge urban/rural broadband digital divide ensuring that every Canadian, regardless of where they live, has access to broadband, thereby enabling them to compete effectively in the global economy and gain access to essential government and educational services.”

They state that their services are available Canada-wide, “including the hard to reach places.” Xplornet overcomes the normal geographical challenges of providing service to the second-largest country in the World – Canada – by having a vast hybrid network of fixed-wireless towers on the ground and next-generation satellites in space.

In our review, we will look at Xplornet’s Internet packages and services and see how they stack up against the competition.

  • Xplore 50/10 for $99.99 /month Unlimited data 50 Mbps Down, 10 Mbps Up
  • LTE 25 25 Mbps Download with Unlimited data for $59.99 /month
  • LTE 10 10 Mbps Download with Unlimited data for $39.99 /month

For all LTE packages, a $49 installation fee applies (2-year term required)

In our review of XplorNet, we are impressed with their efforts to extend broadband Internet coverage to the furthest reaches of Canada. Bearing that in mind, XplorNet is designed for areas where Internet connectivity is limited or there is little to no coverage. If you live in areas with multiple options, there are probably better and cheaper choices to consider such as GoneVoIP top Internet Service Providers.

Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark

Hey, I just logged a very bad review of Xplornet but realized that I reference GB when I actually meant MB. Big difference. Is there any way to correct this error?


Hello Steve, Please use the Reply/Update ... on to update the review with the correct statement. Sorry at this time individual reviews cannot yet be edited individually (but coming in the future) The GONEVOIP TEAM

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse

How much is your service

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

The 2020 Pulse of Residential Internet in Canada

The Gonevoip.ca site allows the request of telecom service quotations, particularly used for business and residential internet users. We have been providing this service, free of charge, for the past four (4) years. Thru the unprecedented and trying times of 2020, we have received more Residential quotation requests than ever before. This report narrows the focus to the residential internet service quotation requests. To find out more about what Canadians are looking for, such as the price point that triggers a
Continue Reading

Rating  7     Rating  1
Report abuse

How to file a complaint against a Provider

If you feel you have a valid complaint against your telecom provider, you are not alone. According to an article in the Financial Post complaint rates rose dramatically in 2017-2018 by a staggering 57%. In fact, the Commission for Complaints for Telecom-television Services (CCTS) reported even more startling numbers with a 75% increase in complaints between August 2017 and January 2018. Most issues revolve around non-disclosure and people finding that their contracts have been inaccurately outlined by provider representatives. GoneVoIP offers an
Continue Reading

Rating  9     Rating  1
Report abuse

The 25 Most Popular Providers of 2018

To check our most updated list of popular providers please follow this link. Annually the GoneVoIP platform receives about half a million visitors. In general, the visits tend to be spread over the more than 490 service providers found in the GoneVoIP platform, though there are trends and patterns GoneVoIP team of specialists observe. This year more than in any previous before, the top 5 most viewed pages of 2018 correspond to Internet Providers. The majority of searches are related to finding
Continue Reading

Rating  9     Rating  5
Report abuse

The Metamorphosis of Landlines

Canadians love to communicate. That is not a secret. Today the evolving and changing telecommunications landscape offers many different ways to communicate. Though it is unavoidable to look and examine in particular the traditional phone landlines; which no matter how you look at landlines extinction is a word that comes to mind. At least for a generation. According to the 2016 Communications Monitoring Report published by CRTC, the landline sector lost subscribers at a 4.3% rate in the five year period
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse

Best Rural Internet Canada

XPlorNet
Rating
$59.99 / mo.
173 Reviews

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Rating
CAD $9.45 / mo.
288 Reviews
netTALK CONNECT ezLINQ
Rating
$7 / mo.
23 Reviews
VoIPLy
Rating
$8.95 / mo.
5 Reviews
CallCentric
Rating
$0 / mo.
10 Reviews
1-VOIP
Rating
$11.21 / mo.
17 Reviews
Talkit
Rating
$4.99 / mo.
67 Reviews