XPlorNet Reviews & Service Offerings

XPlorNet
Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 15

Rating  13%     Rating  87%    

Add a Review     Ask a Question

XPlorNet
XPlorNet

XPlorNet

Website: www.xplornet.com
Services: Wireless
Availability: AB, BC, MB, NB, NL, NS, ON, PEI, QC, SK, NT, NU, YK
Monthly Price: $59.99 CAD

Visit Site


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion (3): Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(15 ) Reviews + (0) Replies: 15

Rating  13%     Rating  87%

Add a Review

Ask a Question


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 15

Rating  13%     Rating  87%    

  Add a Review     Ask a Question

 

Reviews Stats

Rating
1
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
14
When reviewing XPlorNet Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !

Top Positive


4 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: September 10, 2018
Submitted by: Jane5 (Sudbury , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Pleased 2nd time around

I was an Xplorenet customer 2 years ago and was very disappointed having experienced the sluggish evening speeds others have described. Speeds so slow that videos would continuously buffer. I switched to Bell turbo hub as that was the only alternative. Speeds with the turbo hub were great, but the cost was unbelievable.
After almost a year of being over charged, I called Xplorenet again and learned that there was new technology and that the service was much better than what I experienced previously. I was hesitant but made the switch back and was greatly surprised. The connection is great and the only slow down I experience is when there are 3 more devices being used at once and even then, the speed is still good. I do rent their router which I believe makes a huge difference.
If this new technology is available in other areas, I would definitely recommend Xplorenet.


Do you find this review useful?

4 Yes No 3 Report abuse


Top Critical


13 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: July 5, 2017
Submitted by: Gary Richardson (Darwell , AB)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Terrible all-around

They took over for Terabyte in my area and the Internet goes out every single ... day for at least 6 hours and customer service is basically non existent. An absolute garbage ISP


Do you find this review useful?

13 Yes No 0 Report abuse


All Reviews

October 9, 2018
Submitted by: Koen verschingel (Puslinch , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Bad internet service and expensive

Moved into a house were previous owner recommended to stay with explornet as all the hardware was already installed for the LTE service. Called sales and explained there was LTE in the area and priced me on LTE and satelite service LTE same price but 200G download and 50 G download for satelite. When the day of the connection came the told,me there was a stop sell on the tower and I had to go with satelite.
It is a rip off and bad service for the money you pay the support does not give a damm about you. They force you to take the satelite service looking to find an alternative in the next to weeks please stay away from this company.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
October 7, 2018
Submitted by: Pamela (Scoudouc , NE)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

forced to upgrade

so I was forced to upgrade my service after 10 years they changed 1 cable and somehow now it will cost me 40$ more a month really disappointed would not recommend to anyone. As I have no other option where I am located I guess its better than a data plan on my phone but this is crazy.... one cable that was it
I wish I could just up my rate of pay because of one cable this suck

stuck in scoudouc
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
4 persons found the following review useful
October 3, 2018
Submitted by: Swifter1243 (rather not say , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Garbage Internet

We pay 90$ a month for 25 : 5 internet (25 download 5 upload) and I don't think it has ever surpassed 5 : 1. Customer support is horrible, they take like an hour and just want to sell you more stuff, they don't care about your problem at all. If you can find an alternative, I beg you to use that instead.
Do you find this review useful? 4 Yes No 0 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
October 2, 2018
Submitted by: Ken (Puslinch , ON)
Feeling: Feeling unpleasantly_surprised Unpleasantly Surprised
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Unreliable internet speeds

Waht Explornet provides and what the promise is complete different we had Tower LTE available in our area when the installer came he said there was a stop sell on the tower service. Now we pay the same money for 150G less data and unreliable speeds :
Ping time 865ms even e mail is a problem
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 0 Report abuse
4 persons found the following review useful
September 26, 2018
Submitted by: Deb (Zephyr , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Disappointed customer

Upgraded to a new $200 dish to provide a faster service resulting in a receiving a slower to non existent service - been calling Explornet for the past 10days daily with no results - no service no resolution equally a very disappointed customer - would definitely not recommend Explornet
Do you find this review useful? 4 Yes No 0 Report abuse
4 persons found the following review useful
September 10, 2018
Submitted by: Jane5 (Sudbury , ON)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Pleased 2nd time around

I was an Xplorenet customer 2 years ago and was very disappointed having experienced the sluggish evening speeds others have described. Speeds so slow that videos would continuously buffer. I switched to Bell turbo hub as that was the only alternative. Speeds with the turbo hub were great, but the cost was unbelievable.
After almost a year of being over charged, I called Xplorenet again and learned that there was new technology and that the service was much better than what I experienced previously. I was hesitant but made the switch back and was greatly surprised. The connection is great and the only slow down I experience is when there are 3 more devices being used at once and even then, the speed is still good. I do rent their router which I believe makes a huge difference.
If this new technology is available in other areas, I would definitely recommend Xplorenet.
Do you find this review useful? 4 Yes No 3 Report abuse
9 persons found the following review useful
September 5, 2018
Submitted by: Pierre Seguin (St-Eugene , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

No consideration to their customers

Their internet is usage on the midnight shift and during the day until 4:00 pm where people start arriving home from school and workplace. After 4:oo pm the internet is frustratingly slow. Always the same with this company they offer services to twice the amount of customers they can actually deliver. You complain they take $10 or $20 off a month and tell you that an upgrade in their services will soon provide better speed. However soon after the upgrade which takes a long time to come, they oversell their product and again the internet slows down to a crawl and often to nothing at all. They obviously don't give a ... about their customers, it's all about their pockets. Most Sincerely Pierre Seguin
Do you find this review useful? 9 Yes No 0 Report abuse
8 persons found the following review useful
September 1, 2018
Submitted by: Gavyn Young (Apsley , ON)
Feeling: Feeling disappointed Disappointed
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

NOT GAMING GRADE

Their Towers are always "congested", I'm lucky to even get 2 Mb/s and they're committing semi fraud by saying "Fast speeds to stream video and play games online": https://www.xplornet.com/about

DO NOT GET THEM UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES, I WOULD RATHER HAVE NO INTERNET THAN BE SUCKERED IN A 2 YEAR CONTRACT
Do you find this review useful? 8 Yes No 0 Report abuse
7 persons found the following review useful
August 30, 2018
Submitted by: David Kemp (Georgetown , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Super slow

Unfortunately Xplornet is our only option. Evening speed is slow or stop. Ping times frequently time out. Early morning is the only time we get close to the advertised speed. I get a constant $20/month rebate and a free month when I complain, but still no service!! If you have any other option then go for it.
Do you find this review useful? 7 Yes No 0 Report abuse
6 persons found the following review useful
August 26, 2018
Submitted by: sjorda (Campbellford,ONT , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Unreliable

We signed on to Xplornet two years ago (two-year contract) for satellite wireless and phone . Big mistake. We've had continual blackouts and connection speeds are so slooooow. Customer service is pretty hopeless - tech reps are ... y and unhelpful. And they charge premium ($100 per month) rates for this ... py sevice. Just learnt that Fed Gov will invest $100million in this service - unbelievable!
Do you find this review useful? 6 Yes No 0 Report abuse
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$59.99 Shipping: $$99 Other: $ No

Download: 5 MBPS

Upload: 1 MBPS

Cap: 10 GB

Overage: $2 / GB

Xplornet Communications is a telecommunications provider founded in 2004. The company has headquarters in Woodstock, New Brunswick.

Xplornet states in their mission that they “aim to bridge urban/rural broadband digital divide ensuring that every Canadian, regardless of where they live, has access to broadband, thereby enabling them to compete effectively in the global economy and gain access to essential government and educational services.”

They state that their services are available Canada-wide, “including the hard to reach places.” Xplornet overcomes the normal geographical challenges of providing service to the second largest country in the World – Canada – by having a vast hybrid network of fixed-wireless towers on the ground and next-generation satellites in space.

In our review, we will look at Xplornet’s Internet packages and services and see how they stack up against the competition.

XplorNet has three wireless residential plans: the Xplore5 10 GB, the Xplore5 25 GB, and the Xplore5 50 GB. The GB number in each plan name represents the amount of data each plan allows for. Beyond that everything else is identical except the price. The Xplore5 10 GB is $59.99. The Xplore5 25 GB is $79.99. The Xplore5 50 GB is $99.99. All three plans have download speeds of up to 5 MBPS and upload speeds of up to 1 MBPS.

All packages require an activation fee of $99 on two-year terms. Included in the price is the rental fee for all connected equipment. XplorNet does not sell the routers directly. Taxes are not included in these prices.

With such small data usage, it is worth noting that if you exceed your monthly usage allowance, your service could either go into a limited state of 150 KBPS or you will be billed $2 per additional GB of overage, depending on which package you select.

In our review of XplorNet, we are impressed with their efforts to extend broadband Internet coverage to the furthest reaches of Canada. Bearing that in mind, XplorNet is designed for areas where Internet connectivity is limited or there is little to no coverage. If you live in areas with multiple options, there are probably better choices to consider such as gonevoip’s top Internet Service Providers.

Due to XploreNet system and design, there is, unfortunately, limited data usage available in XPlorNet’s plans, with even their best option, the Xplore25 with a speed of 25 Mbps though only allowing for 150 GB of monthly usage, in this time even for our rural regions of the country seems little. 

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark
Load More Q&A

The Metamorphosis of Landlines

Canadians love to communicate. That is not a secret. Today the evolving and changing telecommunications landscape offers many  different ways to communicate. Though is unavoidable to look and examine in particular the traditional phone landlines; …
Continue Reading

Rating  0     Rating  0
Report abuse

Best Rural Internet Canada

XPlorNet
Visit Website
$59.99 / mo.
Read 15 Reviews