XPlorNet Reviews & Service Offerings

XPlorNet
Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 36

Rating  6%     Rating  94%    

Add a Review     Ask a Question

XPlorNet
XPlorNet

XPlorNet

Website: www.xplornet.com
Services: Wireless
Availability: AB, BC, MB, NB, NL, NS, ON, PEI, QC, SK, NT, NU, YK
Monthly Price: $59.99 CAD

Visit Site


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion (2.5): Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(33 ) Reviews + (3) Replies: 36

Rating  6%     Rating  94%

Add a Review

Ask a Question


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 36

Rating  6%     Rating  94%    

  Add a Review     Ask a Question

 

Reviews Stats

When reviewing XPlorNet Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !
Rating
1
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
1
Rating
31

All Reviews

May 18, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Alex Kurteev (Calgary , AL)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

STAY AWAY

What a horrible service x plornet is not even trying to provide from the day one I was with them. I have used their service for over six months and every month is the same story ( I live 10 mints away from the city (Calgary) and 2 mints away from tower that I can literally see it. I utilized Telus for 5 years without any problems when I lived in YYC. Now, with X plornet I experience nothing but headache...
I pay premium ( most expensive package and alway running out of data- no options to purchase unlimited data. X plornet will simply shut off your internet when your data ends.
Costumer service is average, most of the times they are trying their best but the answer is the same that there is nothing they can do...
Many times they customer service is horrible, representative just will hang up on you.
I will definitely will look for alternative service and I would recommend to new costumer/clients to do your research properly and stay away from them. You can get locked in the contract and will suffer until contract is over .
May 16, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Charles (Leduc County , AL)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Xplornet= terrible rural internet option

Had 25mbps package. Live only 5km from town. Have never seen the internet speed anywhere near half of that. Seen it at 1 or 2 mbps. Paying for 25 but on average I would have to say it sits around 0.1mbps almost always. Do not recommend. Had people out to realign a few times. Works a little better but certainly not anywhere near where it should be for an hour or two, then back down to nothing almost. Called about the issue several times. Customer support is pleasant enough. Nothing negative to say about that. Unfortunately, that does not change the provable fact of paying for a service that is not being provided. It feels a bit embarrassing for us being unknowingly swindled into and stuck in a verbal two year contract. It is easier for older folks to misunderstand the information provided, and it seemed that this company was not very eager to elaborate on its workings, or idea of what service they are actually going to provide and what it was said to be( two very different things). It is criminal, in my opinion, to be dishonest and uninformative as xplornet has been with us. We were denied any physical evidence of the verbal contract. We were told that they record the calls and that they had the recording of us accepting the terms of the contract. We believe this to be false, though in some sly way, they may have manipulated the conversation enough to cause us to unknowingly accept terms we were not aware of. We believed we were on a one year contract. When we went to cancel as we thought the contract was up, we found out all of this other new information. Xplornet is a trickster company, that has no quarrels with taking your money, and trapping you so you have to pay what they say, for as long as they say(for a service that is far below sub-par), or you pay a penalty which could be more than what you would pay if you stuck it out for the rest of the contract.
If your only option is xplornet in a rural area, do not under any cir ... tances accept any contract or terms with them. Choose the cheapest and lowest mbps, speed, quality service they provide month to month, no contract, because i can almost guarantee you will never see it at its maximum speed. Why pay more for something you will never get?
I do not enjoy speaking negative about anyone personally, and I even feel terrible about speaking this way about a company, but it is better to warn someone before they fall into a pitfall. I truly hope this helps someone so that they do not get stuck as I have.
May 15, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Fraser Cochrane (Greenland , NO)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

They LIE

They said that after 100G that my internet would slow down. It is pretty much dead. It's so slow after 100G You can't even run a speed test on it.
They don't even give you the option to pay more for more data. Its CRAP. If you plan to do anything more then emails then DO NOT get it.
May 13, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Joe (Jibop , AL)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Horrible service

Online gaming impossible. Random periods of no internet.
May 8, 2019
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Stephen Marklew (Bradford , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Unreliable service

I can only report complete dissatisfaction with this high priced $200/mth satellite service for internet. It is very very slow and is down far too often. Xplornet only cares enough to say they are sorry, and not actually fox or deliver a product that answers to their advertising. Stay away from this company if at all possible.
May 8, 2019
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Bumble (Foothills , AL)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Pitiful

Ever since they bought Platinum, it has never become what was promised, reception bad and intermittent, so so slow. Just waiting for a good provider to show up out here in the boonies.
They were supposed to have satelites to stop bad coverage, and promised immediate speed changes.
Now, a very rude experience with their staff this past week.
Adios.... ... o Telus.
April 27, 2019
Review Helpful? 5 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Tom Vinze (Lindsay , ON)
Feeling unpleasantly_surprised Unpleasantly Surprised Rating 👎

Poor speeds and connections

Hello and thank you for the time to complete this.
We have used Xplornet for approx 3 years now and consistently have extremely low internet connection speeds of less them 1 MBPS and pay for up to 25 MBPS LTE. We call all the time and we get, sorry peak times. For the cost of the service it is by far the worst and most expensive service ever. We would NOT recommend Xplornet to anyone unless they want ulcers.
April 25, 2019
Review Helpful? 7 Yes No 0
Submitted by: S (Peterborough , ON)
Feeling disappointed Disappointed Rating 👎

Be wary

Off peak times the system works well. As soon as the demand is high the download speeds are avg 1-2
Buffering and frustration
Forget Netflix and goodness if you have kids no one can use Snapchat!! Or look for a recipe online with out issue
Dial up seems like a better option then this service
April 8, 2019
Review Helpful? 8 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Liane J (Fergus , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

The worst internet service ever

Their customer service, for the most part, is lovely to deal with. Their residential services, however, are absolutely infuriating. $100+ per month, they won't remove my auto-payments and have charged me several times in a months period just for funsies, my download speeds are NEVER above 1.25 Mbps and if you have more than 1 device connected at a time you won't be able to do a thing with either device. I've literally never been so angry and disappointed by a service in my life and I'm ridiculously over-paying constantly even if they only charge me once. When I took over the previous owners account, I missed out on any new customer offers, I've called to complain about the speeds several times and am promised that "new towers are coming" but it's been almost a year.
April 5, 2019
Review Helpful? 3 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Bob Holtslander (Guelph , ON)
Feeling disappointed Disappointed Rating 👎

Xplornet

Not very good internet. Fine during the day but unusable between 8 and 11 every night.
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$ Shipping: $ Other: $ No

Download:

Upload:

Cap:

Overage:

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark

Hey, I just logged a very bad review of Xplornet but realized that I reference GB when I actually meant MB. Big difference. Is there any way to correct this error?


Hello Steve, Please use the Reply/Update ... on to update the review with the correct statement. Sorry at this time individual reviews cannot yet be edited individually (but coming in the future) The GONEVOIP TEAM

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

How much is your service

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

How to file a complaint against a Provider

If you feel you have a valid complaint against your telecom provider, you are not alone. According to an article in the Financial Post complaint rates rose dramatically in 2017-2018 by a staggering 57%. In �
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse

The 25 Most Popular Providers of 2018

Annually the GoneVoIP platform receives about half a million visitors. In general, the visits tend to be spread over the more than 490 service providers found in the GoneVoIP platform, though there are trends and �
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  1
Report abuse

The Metamorphosis of Landlines

Canadians love to communicate. That is not a secret. Today the evolving and changing telecommunications landscape offers many different ways to communicate. Though is unavoidable to look and examine in particular the traditional phone landlines; �
Continue Reading

Rating  0     Rating  0
Report abuse

Best Rural Internet Canada

XPlorNet
Visit Website
$59.99 / mo.
Read 36 Reviews

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 159 Reviews
netTALK CONNECT ezLINQ
Visit Website
$7 / mo.
Read 4 Reviews
VOIPO
Visit Website
$7.70 / mo.
Read 4 Reviews