XPlorNet Reviews and Plans

XPlorNet
Provider Summary Information
XPlorNet
XPlorNet

XPlorNet

Website: www.xplornet.com
Services: Wireless
Coverage: AB, BC, MB, NB, NL, NS, ON, PEI, QC, SK, NT, NU, YK
Monthly : $59.99 CAD

Visit Site


171 2.5 reviewCount Request Quotes

Home Phone

Home Internet

Business Phone

Business Internet

 
FACT: When reviewing XPlorNet visitors in most cases feel Feeling angry angry!!
Rating
6
Rating
0
Rating
5
Rating
3
Rating
143

All Reviews

June 2, 2021
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 2
Submitted by: Kepler (Amherst , NO)
Feeling happy Happy Rating 👍

Xplornet is amazing

I have no clue why there is just so many negative reviews. I just upgraded from seaside and its night and day. Xplornet is by far the best internet I have used. Before on seaside I'd get lucky to get more than 8Mb/s. On Xplornet I get anywhere from 30-70Mbs. Their service is great so far and the installer was quick, informative, and nice. It is a little more pricey but it 100% worth it.
January 26, 2021
Review Helpful? 3 Yes No 2
Submitted by: Judy Oldham (Whitby , ON)
Feeling disappointed Disappointed Rating 👎

Transparency

Very disappointed after asking ...is the seasonal suspension fee a one time charge?? I was told yes. Obviously the sales rep doesn't understand english. The suspension fee is charged once monthly for the 6 months you would suspend due to being at your trailer or cottage for only 6 months of the year. All i ask for is honesty when i enter a contract with a company. This was a deliberate evasive answer and as soon as I can without losing any more money i will cancel this service. Shame on sales rep...how desperate are you!!

Reply from: Paul Allen
June 17, 2021
I spoke with xplornet today to get quotes (06/17/2021). They offer seasonal at $30/month. Not a one-time charge. I find this excessive. Eastlink is $15/month!!

Reply from: Brenda Mclaughlin
March 15, 2021
what is the seasonal charge?? I was told they did not have a seasonal discontinuation available! even if you don't use it at the cottage you have to pay 12 months of the year??
December 20, 2020
Review Helpful? 12 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Ditz (Welland , ON)
Feeling disappointed Disappointed Rating 👎

Dial Ups more consistant

Had their satellite system for our internet for a year and it is really slow. However i have no other company that services my location. Have to try two cans some waxed string and a box of crayons it will be faster.

Reply from: The GoneVoIP Team
March 22, 2021
Hi Dale,
I think you mean Starlink? As far as we know still is on Beta. Meaning the product, service and pricing are not final. Furthermore, there is no publicly available pricing info. Starlink service may prove itself, but right now is a bit cryptic about what everyone gets and how much it costs. It may be best to wait until a time the service and pricing models are well established. The GoneVoIP Team

Reply from: Dale Lefreniere
March 21, 2021
Try the new skyline from Elon Musk. I have a few friends here that just received their setups and it's way faster. Still working out the bugs but it's compatible to having fiber optic and will get faster in the coming months
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$59.99 Shipping: $$99 Other: $ No

Download: 5 MBPS

Upload: 1 MBPS

Cap: 10 GB

Overage: $2 / GB

Xplornet Communications is a telecommunications provider founded in 2004. The company has headquarters in Woodstock, New Brunswick.

Xplornet states in their mission that they “aim to bridge urban/rural broadband digital divide ensuring that every Canadian, regardless of where they live, has access to broadband, thereby enabling them to compete effectively in the global economy and gain access to essential government and educational services.”

They state that their services are available Canada-wide, “including the hard to reach places.” Xplornet overcomes the normal geographical challenges of providing service to the second-largest country in the World – Canada – by having a vast hybrid network of fixed-wireless towers on the ground and next-generation satellites in space.

In our review, we will look at Xplornet’s Internet packages and services and see how they stack up against the competition.

  • Xplore 50/10 for $99.99 /month Unlimited data 50 Mbps Down, 10 Mbps Up
  • LTE 25 25 Mbps Download with Unlimited data for $59.99 /month
  • LTE 10 10 Mbps Download with Unlimited data for $39.99 /month

For all LTE packages, a $49 installation fee applies (2-year term required)

In our review of XplorNet, we are impressed with their efforts to extend broadband Internet coverage to the furthest reaches of Canada. Bearing that in mind, XplorNet is designed for areas where Internet connectivity is limited or there is little to no coverage. If you live in areas with multiple options, there are probably better and cheaper choices to consider such as GoneVoIP top Internet Service Providers.

Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark

Hey, I just logged a very bad review of Xplornet but realized that I reference GB when I actually meant MB. Big difference. Is there any way to correct this error?


Hello Steve, Please use the Reply/Update ... on to update the review with the correct statement. Sorry at this time individual reviews cannot yet be edited individually (but coming in the future) The GONEVOIP TEAM

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse

How much is your service

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

The 2020 Pulse of Residential Internet in Canada

The Gonevoip.ca site allows the request of telecom service quotations, particularly used for business and residential internet users. We have been providing this service, free of charge, for the past four (4) years. Thru the unprecedented and trying times of 2020, we have received more Residential quotation requests than ever before. This report narrows the focus to the residential internet service quotation requests. To find out more about what Canadians are looking for, such as the price point that triggers a
Continue Reading

Rating  5     Rating  1
Report abuse

How to file a complaint against a Provider

If you feel you have a valid complaint against your telecom provider, you are not alone. According to an article in the Financial Post complaint rates rose dramatically in 2017-2018 by a staggering 57%. In fact, the Commission for Complaints for Telecom-television Services (CCTS) reported even more startling numbers with a 75% increase in complaints between August 2017 and January 2018. Most issues revolve around non-disclosure and people finding that their contracts have been inaccurately outlined by provider representatives. GoneVoIP offers an
Continue Reading

Rating  6     Rating  1
Report abuse

The 25 Most Popular Providers of 2018

To check our most updated list of popular providers please follow this link. Annually the GoneVoIP platform receives about half a million visitors. In general, the visits tend to be spread over the more than 490 service providers found in the GoneVoIP platform, though there are trends and patterns GoneVoIP team of specialists observe. This year more than in any previous before, the top 5 most viewed pages of 2018 correspond to Internet Providers. The majority of searches are related to finding
Continue Reading

Rating  9     Rating  5
Report abuse

The Metamorphosis of Landlines

Canadians love to communicate. That is not a secret. Today the evolving and changing telecommunications landscape offers many different ways to communicate. Though it is unavoidable to look and examine in particular the traditional phone landlines; which no matter how you look at landlines extinction is a word that comes to mind. At least for a generation. According to the 2016 Communications Monitoring Report published by CRTC, the landline sector lost subscribers at a 4.3% rate in the five year period
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse

Best Rural Internet Canada

XPlorNet
Rating
$59.99 / mo.
171 Reviews

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Rating
CAD $9.45 / mo.
286 Reviews
netTALK CONNECT ezLINQ
Rating
$7 / mo.
23 Reviews
VoIPLy
Rating
$8.95 / mo.
5 Reviews
CallCentric
Rating
$0 / mo.
10 Reviews
1-VOIP
Rating
$11 / mo.
17 Reviews
Transat Telecom
Rating
$14.95 / mo.
0 Reviews