Vonage Reviews & Service Offerings

Vonage
Maple Leaf Company Info
Vonage
Vonage

Vonage

Website: www.vonage.ca
Devices: N/A
Availability: AB, BC, MB, NB, NF, NS, PEI, ON, QC & SK
Monthly Price: $24.99 CAD

1-855-462-5349

Visit Site


9 1 reviewCount Get Free Quotes

Home Phone

Home Internet

Business Phone

Business Internet

 

Reviews Stats

When reviewing Vonage Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling satisfied satisfied !
Rating
2
Rating
0
Rating
2
Rating
1
Rating
4

All Reviews

June 17, 2019
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Bill Roberts (Halifax , NO)
Feeling unpleasantly_surprised Unpleasantly Surprised Rating 👎

Limited Access, Unreliable Service

My Halifax phone is unable to access 311 (Halifax Regional Municipality) , 511 (Nova Scotia Highway Reports), 811 (Medical Help Line) and 310-3776 (Pioneer Fuels) all of which were accessible with my previous land line. Several calls to support, but no response from them. Would appreciate an explanation or better yet, a fix!
In addition occasionally incoming calls go direct to voice mail without ringing the phone and outgoing calls result in no ring-no answer conditions.
Service is not up to standard.
May 9, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: James (Ontario , ON)
Feeling satisfied Satisfied Rating 👍

Vonage is Generous

I just moved from U.S to Canada last month. I looked for an affordable home phone plan. I searched in google and found Vonage. After 6 months, my promotion ran out, so i decided to cancel Vonage. However, i was astonished the agent gave me back the same rate without losing features of my Vonage plan. I said' okay huhuhhh...
January 5, 2017
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Michelle (Kelowna , BR)
Feeling satisfied Satisfied Rating 👍

No issues with Vonage

I have used Vonage since 2008. Rarely do I have to call support and I have found that both call quality and support to be very good.

I like the phone app and it came in very handy when I was in Mexico and needed to call home. Just called off of Wifi.

I also really like the voice mail to text. Sometimes you get some weird translations but for the most part you can figure out what what the intent is of the message without having to listen to the voicemail.

The only thing missing I would like to see is selective call block. It might come as Vonage does update the features on a regular basis.

Someone commented on a contract -- I don't have a contract and never did.
October 10, 2016
Review Helpful? 4 Yes No 0
Submitted by: srinath (brampton , ON)

worst customer service

This is one of the worst business provider. i have seen in my life
The customer service people laughs at people while talking to them made some racist comments
July 13, 2016
Review Helpful? 5 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Paul Freeman (Vancouver , BC)

Lots of dropped calls

I have reconfigured the set up several times and still get dropped calls randomly. So I am going to drop Vonage. Their tech support was quite prompt, and their set instructions clear and easy to follow. But the phone service is poor.
March 21, 2016
Review Helpful? 8 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Pramod (Brampton , ON)

Bad services

Billing system is wrong. .Vonage makes fraud payments.please don't use. .
January 3, 2016
Review Helpful? 12 Yes No 6
Submitted by: Doug (Beeton , ON)

Works great

For all you baby whiners that complain....you want it cheaper and cheaper and your never happy. You get what you pay for.

Now, for a real review...

1. Everything I was promised when I switched to Vonage was delivered.
2. No waiting for a dial tone...it's just like normal.
3. Customer service answers calls immediately.
4. It works great

So if you want a working service that is charged on your visa, actually works and your not interested in complaining about saving pennies...then come join Vonage as I did and be happy your not paying what Bell and Rogers charges.
April 23, 2014
Review Helpful? 12 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Connie (Thornill , ON)

Wasn't bad but found better

We had signed for Vonage 2 years ago, moved from Rogers. The service OK, though sometimes it would have noise in the background. We thought overall was good for the price. Ultimately the main issue is or was with the fact you sign-up a contract; which wasn't that clear to us. This come up during the 2nd year renewal we wanted to change package and have the world calling plan, which at the time was cheaper than what we were paying! The agent told us that promo was for new customers only and that would mean a new one year commitment (hum?) While we decided to stay with Vonage for another year we did our due diligence and end up switching to Phone Power earlier this year (the same date we were due to renew) Vonage allowed number to be ported with no issue (when I ported my Rogers number they called me a couple of times to try to convince me otherwise..) To summarize, it was not a bad service but you can get more for less than what vonage price is and without a contract; which is what we ultimately did.
May 26, 2013
Review Helpful? 16 Yes No 3
Submitted by: richard (cornwall , ON)

lying agents

i called vonage to ask about international calling to the philippines ,they said they have a plan for $40.00 per month all we can talk ,so i agreed to the service , i forget the rest of the details ,but i then found out this plan was not availble to me ,so i never install vonage equipment for over 3 months ,anyway long story ,vonage is charging me for a second line and after i told them i did not order a second line they cancled it and charge me a cancelation fee .

now they sent this bill to a collection agency ,making my problems worst . i will never use vonage again cause they lie evertime i call them .
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Other Fees Long Distance Rates
$24.99 $19.99 $29.99

Canada: FREE
USA: FREE
Intl. Minutes: 0

Vonage was established in the US in 2001 and is HQ in Edison, New Jersey. Started operations in Canada in 2004; Canadian operation offices are in Mississauga, ON. While Vonage is not accredited with Better Business Bureau we can see here there had been 112 complains closed through BBB over the last 12-months, and in all over the last 3-years, there had been 415 complaints registered with BBB. In the beginning, Vonage reviews were very negative due to a variety of reason, internet connection, and own infrastructure.

Note Vonage offering is directly in competition with Phone Power In terms of comparison by doing a Vonage review we found is more expensive (3x times more) and not as flexible (no support for BYOD for instance) nor feature rich (have to pay extra for certain features that are free elsewhere). Also, Vonage chooses to use a 6-month price reduction whereas the Phone Power deal gonevoip features exclusively does give a low monthly fee throughout. Also, the offers from Vonage, as mentioned before are tied to a 1-year agreement (read the contract).

Vonage also has an international plan (included calling to 60-countries), which is currently running a promotion at $9.99 for the first 6-months, though is a jaw-dropping $32.99 thereafter. So a full year at the regular price of the international plan would set you back $395 + taxes; at that price is better to compare and assess what is the best plan out there!  

In our Vonage home Phone Review, we looked at the Canada/US plan, as it is the most common use. We do note the plan does offer good VoIP features; such as caller ID, call blocking or Call forwarding, or voicemail to text message. Though it's an extra to have a fax-line, providers such as Phone Power or VoIP Much would let you receive and or send faxes from their web interface. Also, it is extra to have Vonage's softphone; meaning you can't use Vonage with any SIP client.  There is an application Vonage has introduced they call Vonage Extension, which may be used from any phone (office or mobile) and use the rate from the Vonage line. Newer plans have one extension associated with free service otherwise it is a chargeable feature. The way extension works are like calling cards, in where you have to register numbers allowed to make outbound calls. Useful but pales in comparison to other integrations we have seen on Home Phone and smartphone.

The mobile Vonage App allows free talking and texting between Vonage App users, with available video chatting for iPhone and Android users. It is just one more chat-like app doesn't offer full integration nor any added features.

>>Compare Vonage in our head to head against 1-VoIP. Call 1-855-462-5349<<

Something else Canadian we do not get from is the no-frills brand of Vonage, Basic Talk which is only available in the US. It uses the same network; not as many features and all in one basic plan at advertised $9.99; but as we said earlier is not available for Canada and is not know if it would ever be.

In summary, Vonage Canada does have a good plan if compared against traditional landline providers (such as Bell or Rogers) - though nowadays there are many more providers in the same space as Vonage. Ten years ago Vonage's plans were innovative, today are expensive and rather pale in per comparison.

Maple Leaf Features

Call Blocking Checkmark
Conference Calling Checkmark
BYOD: Checkmark
Smartphone App: Checkmark
Call Forwarding Checkmark
Call Hold Checkmark
Caller ID Name: Checkmark
Enhanced VoiceMail: Checkmark

Why not Vonage not able help all fraud problem

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

How do I get my my messages?


Hello, From your Vonage home phone, dial * 1 2 3, then Enter your Password/PIN when prompted. Finally, Press 1 and then choose to listen to new or saved messages. Hope this helps! The GONEVOIP Team

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

My phone # 705 744 7040 is not one I can keep. Why is this & what kind of numbers are available in Ontario Canada ?


Hi, checkout VoIP Much, they are $9.45 /month and can port your Mattawa, ON number - https://www.gonevoip.ca/voip-much-phone-company-residential-review

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

The 25 Most Popular Providers of 2018

Annually the GoneVoIP platform receives about half a million visitors. In general, the visits tend to be spread over the more than 490 service providers found in the GoneVoIP platform, though there are trends and �
Continue Reading

Rating  3     Rating  2
Report abuse

The Metamorphosis of Landlines

Canadians love to communicate. That is not a secret. Today the evolving and changing telecommunications landscape offers many different ways to communicate. Though is unavoidable to look and examine in particular the traditional phone landlines; �
Continue Reading

Rating  0     Rating  0
Report abuse

Home Phone Comparison – Revised

Welcome to our 2017 edition of the home telephone service comparison between traditional landline and VoIP (Voice Over Internet Protocol) phone service providers. For those who are not familiar with VoIP phone service, in a nutshell, �
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  0
Report abuse

Grading Online Security: How Secure is Your Provider?

Performing tasks online saves us so much time that we often take this convenience for granted. For instance, instead of visiting a bank, we are paying bills and transferring funds using our mobile devices or �
Continue Reading

Rating  3     Rating  1
Report abuse

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Rating
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 167 Reviews
netTALK CONNECT ezLINQ
Rating
$7 / mo.
Read 10 Reviews
CallCentric
Rating
$0 / mo.
Read 8 Reviews
VOIPO
Rating
$7.70 / mo.
Read 4 Reviews
Nomado
Rating
$7 / mo.
Read 0 Reviews
Talkit
Rating
$6.67 / mo.
Read 57 Reviews

Best Internet Canada

Altima Telecom
Rating
$29.99 / mo.
Read 64 Reviews
CIK Telecom Inc
Rating
$44.99 / mo.
Read 23 Reviews
GemsTelecom
Rating
$24.99 / mo.
Read 22 Reviews