Vonage Reviews & Service Offerings

Vonage
Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 7

Rating  33%     Rating  67%    

Vonage
Vonage

Vonage

Website: www.vonage.ca
Devices: N/A
Availability: AB, BC, MB, NB, NF, NS, PEI, ON, QC & SK
Monthly Price: $24.99 CAD

Visit Site


Maple Leaf Rating
Gonevoip's Opinion (3): Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(7 ) Reviews + (0) Replies: 7

Rating  33%     Rating  67%


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 7

Rating  33%     Rating  67%    

 

Reviews Stats

Rating
1
Rating
0
Rating
2
Rating
0
Rating
4
When reviewing Vonage Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling satisfied satisfied !

Top Positive


1 person found the following review useful
Submitted on: January 5, 2017
Submitted by: Michelle (Kelowna , BR)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

No issues with Vonage

I have used Vonage since 2008. Rarely do I have to call support and I have found that both call quality and support to be very good.

I like the phone app and it came in very handy when I was in Mexico and needed to call home. Just called off of Wifi.

I also really like the voice mail to text. Sometimes you get some weird translations but for the most part you can figure out what what the intent is of the message without having to listen to the voicemail.

The only thing missing I would like to see is selective call block. It might come as Vonage does update the features on a regular basis.

Someone commented on a contract -- I don't have a contract and never did.


Do you find this review useful?

1 Yes No 0 Report abuse


Top Critical


14 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: May 26, 2013
Submitted by: richard (cornwall , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

lying agents

i called vonage to ask about international calling to the philippines ,they said they have a plan for $40.00 per month all we can talk ,so i agreed to the service , i forget the rest of the details ,but i then found out this plan was not availble to me ,so i never install vonage equipment for over 3 months ,anyway long story ,vonage is charging me for a second line and after i told them i did not order a second line they cancled it and charge me a cancelation fee .

now they sent this bill to a collection agency ,making my problems worst . i will never use vonage again cause they lie evertime i call them .


Do you find this review useful?

14 Yes No 2 Report abuse


All Reviews

1 person found the following review useful
January 5, 2017
Submitted by: Michelle (Kelowna , BR)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

No issues with Vonage

I have used Vonage since 2008. Rarely do I have to call support and I have found that both call quality and support to be very good.

I like the phone app and it came in very handy when I was in Mexico and needed to call home. Just called off of Wifi.

I also really like the voice mail to text. Sometimes you get some weird translations but for the most part you can figure out what what the intent is of the message without having to listen to the voicemail.

The only thing missing I would like to see is selective call block. It might come as Vonage does update the features on a regular basis.

Someone commented on a contract -- I don't have a contract and never did.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
October 10, 2016
Submitted by: srinath (brampton , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

worst customer service

This is one of the worst business provider. i have seen in my life
The customer service people laughs at people while talking to them made some racist comments
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 0 Report abuse
4 persons found the following review useful
July 13, 2016
Submitted by: Paul Freeman (Vancouver , BC)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Lots of dropped calls

I have reconfigured the set up several times and still get dropped calls randomly. So I am going to drop Vonage. Their tech support was quite prompt, and their set instructions clear and easy to follow. But the phone service is poor.
Do you find this review useful? 4 Yes No 0 Report abuse
6 persons found the following review useful
March 21, 2016
Submitted by: Pramod (Brampton , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Bad services

Billing system is wrong. .Vonage makes fraud payments.please don't use. .
Do you find this review useful? 6 Yes No 1 Report abuse
10 persons found the following review useful
January 3, 2016
Submitted by: Doug (Beeton , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Works great

For all you baby whiners that complain....you want it cheaper and cheaper and your never happy. You get what you pay for.

Now, for a real review...

1. Everything I was promised when I switched to Vonage was delivered.
2. No waiting for a dial tone...it's just like normal.
3. Customer service answers calls immediately.
4. It works great

So if you want a working service that is charged on your visa, actually works and your not interested in complaining about saving pennies...then come join Vonage as I did and be happy your not paying what Bell and Rogers charges.
Do you find this review useful? 10 Yes No 4 Report abuse
11 persons found the following review useful
April 23, 2014
Submitted by: Connie (Thornill , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Wasn't bad but found better

We had signed for Vonage 2 years ago, moved from Rogers. The service OK, though sometimes it would have noise in the background. We thought overall was good for the price. Ultimately the main issue is or was with the fact you sign-up a contract; which wasn't that clear to us. This come up during the 2nd year renewal we wanted to change package and have the world calling plan, which at the time was cheaper than what we were paying! The agent told us that promo was for new customers only and that would mean a new one year commitment (hum?) While we decided to stay with Vonage for another year we did our due diligence and end up switching to Phone Power earlier this year (the same date we were due to renew) Vonage allowed number to be ported with no issue (when I ported my Rogers number they called me a couple of times to try to convince me otherwise..) To summarize, it was not a bad service but you can get more for less than what vonage price is and without a contract; which is what we ultimately did.
Do you find this review useful? 11 Yes No 1 Report abuse
14 persons found the following review useful
May 26, 2013
Submitted by: richard (cornwall , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

lying agents

i called vonage to ask about international calling to the philippines ,they said they have a plan for $40.00 per month all we can talk ,so i agreed to the service , i forget the rest of the details ,but i then found out this plan was not availble to me ,so i never install vonage equipment for over 3 months ,anyway long story ,vonage is charging me for a second line and after i told them i did not order a second line they cancled it and charge me a cancelation fee .

now they sent this bill to a collection agency ,making my problems worst . i will never use vonage again cause they lie evertime i call them .
Do you find this review useful? 14 Yes No 2 Report abuse
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Other Fees Long Distance Rates
$24.99 $19.99 $29.99

Canada: FREE
USA: FREE
Intl. Minutes: 0

Vonage was established in the US in 2001 and is HQ in Edison, New Jersey. Started operations in Canada in 2004; Canadian operation offices are in Mississauga, ON. While Vonage is not accredited with Better Business Bureau we can see here there had been 278 complains closed through BBB over the last 12-months, and in all over the last 3-years, there had been 1199 complaints registered with BBB. In the beginning, Vonage reviews were very negative due to a variety of reason, internet connection, and own infrastructure.

Note Vonage offering is directly in competition with Phone Power In terms of comparison by doing a Vonage review we found is more expensive (3x times more) and not as flexible (no support for BYOD for instance) nor feature rich (have to pay extra for certain features that are free elsewhere). Also, Vonage chooses to use a 6-month price reduction whereas the Phone Power deal gonevoip features exclusively does give a low monthly fee throughout. Also, the offers from Vonage, as mentioned before are tied to a 1-year agreement (read the contract).

Vonage also has an international plan (included calling to 60-countries), which is currently running a promotion at $9.99 for the first 6-months, though is a jaw-dropping $32.99 thereafter. So a full year at the regular price of the international plan would set you back $395 + taxes; at that price is better to compare and assess what is the best plan out there!  

In our Vonage home Phone Review, we looked at the Canada/US plan, as it is the most common use. We do note the plan does offer good VoIP features; such as caller ID, call blocking or Call forwarding, or voicemail to text message. Though it's an extra to have a fax-line, providers such as Phone Power or VoIP Much would let you receive and or send faxes from their web interface. Also, it is extra to have Vonage's softphone; meaning you can't use Vonage with any SIP client.  There is an application Vonage has introduced they call Vonage Extension, which may be used from any phone (office or mobile) and use the rate from the Vonage line. Newer plans have one extension associated with free service otherwise it is a chargeable feature. The way extension works are like calling cards, in where you have to register numbers allowed to make outbound calls. Useful but pales in comparison to other integrations we have seen on Home Phone and smartphone.

The mobile Vonage App allows free talking and texting between Vonage App users, with available video chatting for iPhone and Android users. It is just one more chat-like app doesn't offer full integration nor any added features.

>>Compare Vonage in our head to head against 1-VoiP. Call 1-855-462-5349<<

Something else Canadian we do not get from is the no-frills brand of Vonage, Basic Talk which is only available in the US. It uses the same network; not as many features and all in one basic plan at advertised $9.99; but as we said earlier is not available for Canada and is not know if it would ever be.

In summary, Vonage Canada does have a good plan if compared against traditional landline providers (such as Bell or Rogers) - though nowadays there are many more providers in the same space as Vonage. Ten years ago Vonage's plans were innovative, today are expensive and rather pale in per comparison.

Maple Leaf Features

Call Blocking Checkmark
Conference Calling Checkmark
BYOD: Checkmark
Smartphone App: Checkmark
Call Forwarding Checkmark
Call Hold Checkmark
Caller ID Name: Checkmark
Enhanced VoiceMail: Checkmark

My phone # 705 744 7040 is not one I can keep. Why is this & what kind of numbers are available in Ontario Canada ?


Hi, checkout VoIP Much, they are $9.45 /month and can port your Mattawa, ON number - https://www.gonevoip.ca/voip-much-phone-company-residential-review

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

The Metamorphosis of Landlines

Canadians love to communicate. That is not a secret. Today the evolving and changing telecommunications landscape offers many  different ways to communicate. Though is unavoidable to look and examine in particular the traditional phone landlines; …
Continue Reading

Rating  0     Rating  0
Report abuse

Home Phone Comparison 2017 Edition

Welcome to our 2017 edition of the home telephone service comparison between traditional landline and VoIP (Voice Over Internet Protocol) phone service providers. For those who are not familiar with VoIP phone service, in a nutshell, …
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse

Grading Online Security: How Secure is Your Provider?

Performing tasks online saves us so much time that we often take this convenience for granted. For instance, instead of visiting a bank, we are paying bills and transferring funds using our mobile devices or …
Continue Reading

Rating  3     Rating  1
Report abuse

Maple LeafTop Internet Providers

Altima Telecom
Visit Website
$49.95 / mo.
Read 28 Reviews
Distributel
Visit Website
$35 / mo.
Read 5 Reviews
HeroNet.ca
Visit Website
$38.88 / mo.
Read 4 Reviews
Page generated in 0.3684 seconds.