TekSavvy Reviews & Service Offerings

Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 8

Rating  13%     Rating  88%    

TekSavvy
TekSavvy

TekSavvy

Website: www.teksavvy.com
Devices: N/A
Availability: ON & QC
Monthly Price: $14.95 CAD

Visit Site


Maple Leaf Rating
Gonevoip's Opinion (1.5): Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(8 ) Reviews + (0) Replies: 8

Rating  13%     Rating  88%


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 8

Rating  13%     Rating  88%    

 

Reviews Stats

Rating
0
Rating
1
Rating
0
Rating
1
Rating
6
When reviewing TekSavvy Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling disappointed disappointed !

Top Positive


4 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: January 9, 2015
Submitted by: Trina Rogers (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

happy in TORONTO!

I ported my phone AND my internet from ROGERS
and I have had some challenging moments,
BUT with the help from the technicians I was able to work the modem and change the cable wire to another type and voila', in TORONTO we do not have all the options than other places? the monopoly is basically ROGERS and BELL and I was paying 150.00 with ROGERS with as many problems( YES DARLINGS ROGERS SUCKS!!) as with Teksavvy or MORE so... at least now I have a faster, much inexpensive Internet, same quality phone, and all that for LESS than half I was dishing out to the A^&*s at ROGERS! and with this company I GET THROUGH!! to the technicians managers and so on!


Do you find this review useful?

4 Yes No 0 Report abuse


Top Critical


10 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: December 28, 2013
Submitted by: John (Ottawa , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

I regret about my decision to port my phone number

TekSavvy started as an agile and reliable company several years ago but as they grow they seem to become more and more rigid. Waiting for the customer service takes longer and longer; and effectiveness on addressing issues gets decreased quite noticeably.

Due to the error on their side while porting my phone number they de facto left my phone number inaccessible. And even after acknowledging the error on their side they did not take any action to elevate the case. All they proposed was `to wait` while leaving me without my phone number and charging me for the service that did not even have enabled yet.


Do you find this review useful?

10 Yes No 0 Report abuse


All Reviews

2 persons found the following review useful
June 30, 2018
Submitted by: Ray (Windsor , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Tektalk is a joke now

I had tektalk 3 years ago and was happy with it. I then switched providers due due business needs. 3 years later wanted to go back with tektalk. First off, their customer service went from good to careless. Second the ata has limitations where only tier 2 can modify your features which is against the privacy act. So second day with them and will be porting out. Their internet is throttled so dont trust it
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
September 2, 2017
Submitted by: Bob (Ottawa , ON)
Feeling: Feeling disappointed Disappointed
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

No service of any kind

I have been a Teksavvy customer for many years and they were great until the summer of 2017. Now you can just not contact them. They never answer the phone no matter how long you wait or how often you try, and they do not answer emails or their chat line. They have gone from great to terrible. I can not arrange a change in service and they are obviously going to make it hard to cancel since you have to call them to cancel.
There are other good ISPs out there. Time to look beyond and past Teksavvy.
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
June 21, 2016
Submitted by: Matt (Calgary , AL)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Awful Setup and Poor Service

Multiple missed activation dates, was lied to about when it would be activated then was told later that I wasn't given those dates in the first place. They then tried to push back install by another week and when I told them I couldn't wait that long they told me I had no choice. I asked to cancel before I ever got service activated and they told me I had to pay a 50% restocking fee to return the voip box and pay my own shipping both ways. Awful service, lies and 30 minute wait times - go elsewhere!!
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 0 Report abuse
4 persons found the following review useful
April 24, 2015
Submitted by: Chris Dear (Milton , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Wolf in sheeps clothing

I have had cable service from them, but I had to cancel. Reason. Customer service. For two months they have been double charging me. When I called them and told them I was moving to a new address they opened up a new account and then continued to charge me for my old account. When I asked them for a refund for their mistake, I was told they don't offer refunds and that I should have canceled the old account. Which was not the understanding I had originally.

Be warned they have great customer service when they want to be. But they became cold and silent when it came to their mistake and money needed to be refunded.

Disappointing in a service provider that claims they care.
Do you find this review useful? 4 Yes No 0 Report abuse
4 persons found the following review useful
January 9, 2015
Submitted by: Trina Rogers (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

happy in TORONTO!

I ported my phone AND my internet from ROGERS
and I have had some challenging moments,
BUT with the help from the technicians I was able to work the modem and change the cable wire to another type and voila', in TORONTO we do not have all the options than other places? the monopoly is basically ROGERS and BELL and I was paying 150.00 with ROGERS with as many problems( YES DARLINGS ROGERS SUCKS!!) as with Teksavvy or MORE so... at least now I have a faster, much inexpensive Internet, same quality phone, and all that for LESS than half I was dishing out to the A^&*s at ROGERS! and with this company I GET THROUGH!! to the technicians managers and so on!
Do you find this review useful? 4 Yes No 0 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
December 23, 2014
Submitted by: Greg Taylor (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Just doesn't work

I've had TekSavvy VOIP for a year or so and anytime I have a power outage or internet outage, the service stops working and I have to spend an hour on the phone with their tech support fixing it. It's just not at all reliable. I'm not sure if it's a problem with the hardware or compatibility with Rogers, but they haven't been able to solve the problem permanently, so I'm cancelling. Very annoying.
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
10 persons found the following review useful
December 28, 2013
Submitted by: John (Ottawa , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

I regret about my decision to port my phone number

TekSavvy started as an agile and reliable company several years ago but as they grow they seem to become more and more rigid. Waiting for the customer service takes longer and longer; and effectiveness on addressing issues gets decreased quite noticeably.

Due to the error on their side while porting my phone number they de facto left my phone number inaccessible. And even after acknowledging the error on their side they did not take any action to elevate the case. All they proposed was `to wait` while leaving me without my phone number and charging me for the service that did not even have enabled yet.
Do you find this review useful? 10 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
March 6, 2013
Submitted by: Desmond (Ottawa , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Not what I thought it would be

There's usually a delay in connecting the call (talking about 10-20 seconds) ... calls randomly drop and if we call support it takes long to speak with someone and they are quick to tell you they'll call back. Which they they do, but it does takes time for them to call you back and hence the resolution of the issue takes longer.. Also in the caller ID issue they tried to point the issue as it was our fault! I/we using their equipment they provide. Anyways, realizing there are greener pastures elsewhere we'll be switching soon.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Other Fees Long Distance Rates
$14.95 $5 $59.95
Bring your own Device Optional

Canada: FREE
USA: FREE
Intl. Minutes: 0

Teksavvy is Canadian internet telecommunications company based in Chatham, ON. Was founded in 1998 and provides last mile service using Bell, Rogers, Cogeco, Videotron,  Shaw or Telus infrastructure.

Teksavvy is well known for their Internet packages, as these in contrast with those of other carriers are unlimited. In terms of VoIP offering Teksavvy plans do not have all the VoIP features one can have today and are on the expensive side when compared to other VoIP exclusive providers.

In doing our expert review of Teksavvy's TekTalk Digital Home Phone we found it has certain modern features such as: has Caller ID, Caller ID Block, Advanced Voicemail, Call Forwarding and Do Not Disturb to name a few. The Unlimited calling plan does come with unlimited calling throughout North America. Regrettably, there is no integration with Smartphone app or desktop app. There is support for BYOD, but that is for advanced users as Teksavvy does not commit any support to integration devices other than their own (currently a GrandStream 812).

We review here the plan called "Premium", at $14.95 a month comes with 100 calling minutes to landlines and mobiles in Canada and the USA. While 100 minutes is better than nothing, it pales when compared to plans like VoIP Much, that offers 3,500 calling minutes to Canada USA. Also, VoIP Much is cheaper at $9.45 a month.

One short-coming from TekSavvy's Digital Home Phone is that only supports Basic 911; in contrast to Canada's Top Providers that support E911 (Enhanced 911) with TekSavvy's Basic 911 you have to be able to tell your location as the address will not be passed to the emergency services automatically. Check E911 vs Basic 911 and be informed

The rates for international calls are on the expensive side when compared to some of our Long Distance providers. For example, Teksavvy rates to call a landline in India is $0.08 and with Rebtel, the rate is $0.02.

As with other Canadian ISPs, Teksavvy may be a very good alternative for Internet high speed but the savings and advantages of a Home Phone VoIP may be fully realized using a VoIP exclusive provider; such as Phone Power or any others in gonevoip's Top Residential VoIP list.

Maple Leaf Features

Call Blocking Checkmark
Conference Calling Checkmark
BYOD: Checkmark
Smartphone App: Checkmark
Call Forwarding Checkmark
Call Hold Checkmark
Caller ID Name: Checkmark
Enhanced VoiceMail: Checkmark

Very poor customer service

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

Grading Online Security: How Secure is Your Provider?

Performing tasks online saves us so much time that we often take this convenience for granted. For instance, instead of visiting a bank, we are paying bills and transferring funds using our mobile devices or …
Continue Reading

Rating  3     Rating  1
Report abuse

Maple LeafTop Internet Providers

Altima Telecom
Visit Website
$49.95 / mo.
Read 28 Reviews
Distributel
Visit Website
$35 / mo.
Read 5 Reviews
HeroNet.ca
Visit Website
$38.88 / mo.
Read 4 Reviews
Page generated in 0.3428 seconds.