Primus Reviews & Service Offerings

Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 17

Rating  6%     Rating  94%    

Add a Review     Ask a Question

Primus
Primus

Primus

Website: www.primus.ca
Services: DSL & Wi-FI
Availability: AB, BC, ON & QC
Monthly Price: $49.95 CAD

Visit Site


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion (2): Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(17 ) Reviews + (0) Replies: 17

Rating  6%     Rating  94%

Add a Review

Ask a Question


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 17

Rating  6%     Rating  94%    

  Add a Review     Ask a Question

 

Reviews Stats

Rating
2
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
15
When reviewing Primus Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !

Top Positive


5 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: January 30, 2019
Submitted by: Meila (Leamington , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Excellent Speed and Cust Service

Primus saved me from bell and saved me from the monopoly scam Cogeco had become. I was paying 180 for ... py bell Tv, home phone and high speed internet where I was lucky to hit 7mbps. I saw a flyer in the mail from Primus free activation home phone and unlimited internet 40 or higher speeds for 55 bucks plus ten bucks equipment rental. First three months 10 bucks off. No other fees or installation costs or anything. I decided give the 40mbps package a shot and port my home phone from bell. I dropped the ... py tv and hooked up an HD antenna on the side of the house which picked up 20 channels or so (more then enough). A guy from integrated market services showed up hooked up the cable internet for us helped me set up the phone and bang I was done with bell and good with Primus. My phone was amazing clarity worked well. The internet was cable lightening speed 40 or over mbps as promised. They use Cogeco lines or bell whichever package you choose determines what Primus will give you. They do have live chat at Primus.ca and they were completely honest with me. I was gonna go with 25mbps and the agent said forty mbps is a dollar less a month and will use a cable not the same bell dsl you are not satisfied with now. I went with the cable. I got unlimited cable internet and home phone andnim saving 120 a month. Canadians need to wake up and demand these companies who treat people fairly get more right. Thank you Primus my internet and phone is incredible and no need for tv. So many streaming options and antenna these days picks up true 4K and local channels like satellite or cable never could. Primus was the perfect soultuon for me and it will be for you. If you are unhappy with bell and you choose Primus and they use the same dsl line, expect the same results. So discuss your options with a Primus agent like I did and we found a solution for me because cable was available to me. Happy hunting everyone and give Primus a try!!!!


Do you find this review useful?

5 Yes No 4 Report abuse


Top Critical


117 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: August 16, 2015
Submitted by: Norman (Mississauga , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

BEWARE!

Primus’ affordable price and unlimited internet usage may be appealing, but poor internet connectivity is a deal breaker.

I was originally subscribed with Rogers’ Internet, Cable and Home Phone. I decided to cut the cable and rely on Netflix and free OTA broadcasts. Primus’ unlimited internet usage and VOIP telephone appear to fit my needs. Enrollment through Costco was quick and installation with a Bell technician went smoothly. I subscribed to Internet 60 and Basic Digital Home Phone Bundle. The initial 2 week period was great. No issues with streaming Netflix. VOIP quality was clear. Then the issues began. The phone stopped working. Cannot make or receive calls as there was no dial tone. Resetting the modem resolved this issue. Furthermore, internet connectivity was frequently poor in the evenings after 10pm. Forget about streaming Netflix or YouTube, surfing the web was slow. I suspected Primus was throttling my bandwidth allowance in the evenings when public usage levels were high. As a result of poor internet connectivity, my VOIP was regularly dropped. I was forced to reset the modem every few days to restore phone service. Several calls to tech support revealed no resolution, although they were friendly. Primus did acknowledge my documented poor connectivity instances, but denied throttling. Instead, I was told the source of my problem could be from my router, my laptop, my phone lines etc or even the absurd possibility of my neighbor’s equipment emitting EMI. My network equipment setup did not pose a problem with Rogers’ internet. The only change in my setup was Primus. I recently went away on vacation for 2 weeks and surprisingly my phone worked for the whole duration and continued for another 2 weeks after I returned. But now, the grace period is over and I’ve resumed resetting the modem every few days.

After 5 months of tolerating Primus, I realize that it won’t get better. I’m reluctantly returning to Rogers’ internet where I’ll be paying more, but it will be reliable.

As a parting gift to Primus, I will give them $200 (cancellation fee) for terminating my 2 year contract. This useful information is hidden within the “Terms & Conditions” link found on the web page where you select either 1 year or 2 year term to order.

I’ve tried to be objective in writing my review. You can decide whether or not to give them your business. Buyer Beware.


Do you find this review useful?

117 Yes No 0 Report abuse


All Reviews

April 23, 2019
Submitted by: Sam (Edmonton , AL)
Feeling: Feeling disappointed Disappointed
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Bad service

Don't bother your self and west your Time with third party company they will charge you for a modem rent and they will charge you for shipping the modem she or home and back if you if you want to cancel the service and they charge you an extra fees I would never bother myself any more to deal with this company
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
April 21, 2019
Submitted by: R D (Winnipeg , MA)
Feeling: Feeling thankful Thankful
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

I'm glad I listen to my gut

Thankful for not signing!! After carefully reading all of the reviews I'm goin to listen to my gut, way too familiar horrible stories I do not want to be in , thx to all sharing your experience you saved me tons of money and more important headaches. Just to give you a sample of pre signing, the sales person which I have to say a beautiful looking woman , I was hooked on the sale and after 10 mins. (Which ill never get back) going thru the contact things started changing and after the 3rd one I went with my gut not to sign, if I had not ask the right questions , what other surprise will get after I sign and be hooked on for a year!! That's my experience just saying
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
April 9, 2019
Submitted by: suresh gurung (Lethbridge , AL)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Everything is way worse

Service, internet, phone, and costumer care(do not care) everything is ... worse. 0% care of customer. It like a scam. Take money less service.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
5 persons found the following review useful
March 26, 2019
Submitted by: Mandy (Victoria , BR)
Feeling: Feeling disappointed Disappointed
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Primus at costco

I signed up Primus at Costco thinking if it is affiliated with it can't be bad.
I was wrong.
The sales person at Costco did not explain the total cost of the bill after the first 3 months. All he emphasized was how low the initial cost was and the contract will sent to me for review later. I didn't review it! Which was my fault. I based my faith at Costco. The sales person did not disclose the equipment rental cost either. I am paying more then Shaw and with a below average internet service. I called to cancel, but there was a cancellation fee of $100. So I cancelled the cancellation. When I received my next bill, I was shocked to see a $100 cancellation fee and a reactivation service fee of $165. I called right away and have it resolved. The phone call was not unpleasant. I am glad I checked my ebill, otherwise it could have gone through and I ended up fighting it months later. I think the sales person should be more clear on the contract and billing. Lesson learned: read your contract that was sent to you!!!!
Do you find this review useful? 5 Yes No 0 Report abuse
4 persons found the following review useful
March 11, 2019
Submitted by: Judy (Montreal , QU)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Worst internet service such a scam!

Surprised costco would even promote such a terrible company. Worst customer service.
Internet speed is nowhere what they advertised and service is always shutting down and needs to be rebooted
Do you find this review useful? 4 Yes No 0 Report abuse
12 persons found the following review useful
January 31, 2019
Submitted by: Hyun (Edmonton , AB)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Bad service

Waiting for 5 days more from scheduled date and still can't use internet. They said they will send technician one week later. It's a disaster. The customer service woman was so unkind and rude. Worst service ever.
Do you find this review useful? 12 Yes No 0 Report abuse
5 persons found the following review useful
January 30, 2019
Submitted by: Meila (Leamington , ON)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Excellent Speed and Cust Service

Primus saved me from bell and saved me from the monopoly scam Cogeco had become. I was paying 180 for ... py bell Tv, home phone and high speed internet where I was lucky to hit 7mbps. I saw a flyer in the mail from Primus free activation home phone and unlimited internet 40 or higher speeds for 55 bucks plus ten bucks equipment rental. First three months 10 bucks off. No other fees or installation costs or anything. I decided give the 40mbps package a shot and port my home phone from bell. I dropped the ... py tv and hooked up an HD antenna on the side of the house which picked up 20 channels or so (more then enough). A guy from integrated market services showed up hooked up the cable internet for us helped me set up the phone and bang I was done with bell and good with Primus. My phone was amazing clarity worked well. The internet was cable lightening speed 40 or over mbps as promised. They use Cogeco lines or bell whichever package you choose determines what Primus will give you. They do have live chat at Primus.ca and they were completely honest with me. I was gonna go with 25mbps and the agent said forty mbps is a dollar less a month and will use a cable not the same bell dsl you are not satisfied with now. I went with the cable. I got unlimited cable internet and home phone andnim saving 120 a month. Canadians need to wake up and demand these companies who treat people fairly get more right. Thank you Primus my internet and phone is incredible and no need for tv. So many streaming options and antenna these days picks up true 4K and local channels like satellite or cable never could. Primus was the perfect soultuon for me and it will be for you. If you are unhappy with bell and you choose Primus and they use the same dsl line, expect the same results. So discuss your options with a Primus agent like I did and we found a solution for me because cable was available to me. Happy hunting everyone and give Primus a try!!!!
Do you find this review useful? 5 Yes No 4 Report abuse
12 persons found the following review useful
January 24, 2019
Submitted by: Stephen Ko (Surrey , BR)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

really bad experience with this company

They didn't keep correct contact information.
They didn't keep correct information of your purchase.
They start charge since the set-up date even that is not what you purchased.
They never listen to you and never admit their mistakes.
They are trying to sue me for their over charge.
Never buy any product from this company ever.
Do you find this review useful? 12 Yes No 0 Report abuse
9 persons found the following review useful
January 1, 2019
Submitted by: Mohamed Berrada (Roxboro , QC)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Horrible service

Worst internet provide I have ever to deal with
Do you find this review useful? 9 Yes No 0 Report abuse
8 persons found the following review useful
December 26, 2018
Submitted by: Chim (Toronto , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Fraudulent company

They charged me termination fee even though my service is still active and I never cancelled!
Do you find this review useful? 8 Yes No 0 Report abuse
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$49.95 Shipping: $ Other: $3.95 No

Download: 7 Mbps

Upload: 1 Mbps

Cap:

Overage:

Primus was established in 1997, is HQ in Toronto, ON. Primus provides long distance, VoIP, Internet and POTS for residential and business use.

Primus was bought by York Capital Management in July of 2013. In the United States Primus operates under the name Lingo.  Primus went thru a major business transformation, which saw named a new CEO in January of 2014.

The Internet Plans are unlimited and offer a good array of support, but being a close mimic to Bell Internet plans suffer from the same high fees. Though Primus does offer 3-months at reduced pricing at $40 from the normal $49.95 in a 1-year term or $39.95 in a 2-year term. Prices do go quite high thereafter up to $112.95. There is no option but to buy the WiFi modem from Primus, which is $140 or you may lease it at $6.95/month. There is also a $59.95 one time installation fee.

The next Internet plan is the Internet 30 with up to 30 Mbps download and up to 5 Mbps upload with unlimited usage. This plan is coming with the promotion of the first 3 months at $55 thereafter is $64.95 in a 1-year plan. Alternatively in a 2-year plan is $54.95 per month. The comparable plan from Heronet, for example, is $52.88 per month, and if you pay a yearly subscription is $48.88! That is a total of  $192.84 in annual savings, for a similar Home Internet plan!

The fastest home internet plan Primus has goes for $112.95 a month or $103 for the first 3 months. With a download speed of 250 Mbps and an upload of 20 Mbps with unlimited usage. If it was for performance alone this is a good package, but monthly pricing makes it quite expensive in the long run. In an annual basis, this internet package from Primus will cost you $1,355.40! 

Primus applies Performance Management to the network, sometimes known as traffic shaping, as per Primus statements this is active at all times and shall be transparent to the end user. Though the priority is supposed to kick-in when congestion is detected this could impact the user experience, more so when multiple devices in one home are using the internet connection.

In all Primus, the Home Internet offers unlimited access, packed with extra protection (antivirus & antispam) but it looks expensive when compared to Heronet for example. More so when looking at these added fees. Also, note it does not support using other than their own branded modems.  

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark
Load More Q&A

The 25 Most Popular Providers of 2018

Annually the GoneVoIP platform receives about half a million visitors. In general, the visits tend to be spread over the more than 490 service providers found in the GoneVoIP platform, though there are trends and �
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  1
Report abuse

Best Home Internet Canada

Altima Telecom
Visit Website
$29.95 / mo.
Read 51 Reviews
CIK Telecom Inc
Visit Website
$24.99 / mo.
Read 6 Reviews
GemsTelecom
Visit Website
$29.99 / mo.
Read 12 Reviews
Transat Telecom
Visit Website
$39.95 / mo.
Read 0 Reviews
HeroNet.ca
Visit Website
$44.88 / mo.
Read 19 Reviews

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 150 Reviews
netTALK CONNECT ezLINQ
Visit Website
$7 / mo.
Read 3 Reviews
VOIPO
Visit Website
$7.70 / mo.
Read 3 Reviews
CallCentric
Visit Website
FREE / mo.
Read 8 Reviews
1-VOIP
Visit Website
$11 / mo.
Read 15 Reviews