Primus Reviews & Service Offerings

Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 26

Rating  8%     Rating  92%    

Add a Review     Ask a Question

Primus
Primus

Primus

Website: www.primus.ca
Services: DSL & Wi-FI
Availability: AB, BC, ON & QC
Monthly Price: $49.95 CAD

1-855-462-5349

Visit Site


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion (2): Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(26 ) Reviews + (0) Replies: 26

Rating  8%     Rating  92%

Add a Review

Ask a Question


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 26

Rating  8%     Rating  92%    

  Add a Review     Ask a Question

 

Reviews Stats

When reviewing Primus Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !
Rating
3
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
23

All Reviews

June 30, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Siamak (Richmond hill , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Horrobile

The most horrobile service , My service in internet 25 but always have speed issue and drop line issue. I have a great regret I have contract with such a abusing company like that...
June 26, 2019
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Meleena (Ottawa , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Terrible.

Been with them for years now. Terrible service and they always blame you when they disconnect your WiFi at 7am. They told my mother to get her phone working with data if we wanted the WiFi back which is very unprofessional. Lost WiFi 6 days ago for 3 days and lost wifi again today. Of course they blame us and told us they can't do anything about it. So I guess my mother is paying for no reason ? Disappointed. Don't ever go with them. You'll go through to much stress.
June 26, 2019
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Paul mccallum (London , ON)
Feeling unpleasantly_surprised Unpleasantly Surprised Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Confused Company

Primus is run very poorly.. I ordered internet and home phone DSL... the phone worked sporadically until I finally had enough after 31 days.. I asked them to cancel the home phone and keep the internet.. one week later the idiots cancelled everything. I call CS and they admitted their mistake... the billing is Bell CANADA and they are a BCE inc. company ( Bell CANADA) so stay away. The billing is Bell and they make It hard to understand the charges... They did me a favour and will charge me a cancellation fee .... Seriously !!!!
June 22, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Jacek Seroka (Ottawa , ON)
Feeling satisfied Satisfied Rating ๐Ÿ‘

100% better than Bell

I was using Bell Canada Internet 25 MB for more than 15 years. In recent years and months buffering has been annoying.
There were fixes that were not helpful.
I desided to move to Primus knowing that this company using Bell Canada fiber optics lines. It was great decision, no more buffering, flawless speed using Chromecast . I pay for European Internet TV which with Bell was buffering very often and I blamed TV servers uploading data. Since I'm with Primus the internet TV is also working perfectly. I'm very happy for the change and less expensive service. I hope that this standard will stay for long time:)
June 17, 2019
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 0
Submitted by: wally (Toronto , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

bad service

Got internet service thru Costco with Primus. Bought their modem for $200. It didn't work as it would not allow me to thread the cable on to attach it. Got 1/2 thread on and that was it. Signal was poor - 2MB download speed. Called them and they said they would replace. Then charged me $200 for new one that works. Plus had to send old one that I own back to them. On hold for 40 minutes trying to speak to someone.

Big mistake leaving Cogeco. Do't make the same mistake.
June 14, 2019
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Jill Vaughan (Stittsville , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Shame on you Costco for letting yoir members down

Day 3 of my nightmare. EVERYTHING is extra. Long wait (24 + hours) to receive incoming calls. Can only plug in one base phone. No features unless you pay extra. $0.05/minute LD on VOIP!!! Extra wires and Ethernet cable to plug in phone modem where my Wi-Fi is .... on my desk.

Long story short I would have been better off to pay my last provider a 30% increase... both financially and in terms of aggravation. And, I haven't even seen my first bill yet.

So sorry I didn't believe the reviews I read on line. I trusted Costco.
June 12, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Pavan (Mississauga , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Worst Service Provider - Dont buy

I had a horrible experience with Primus past 3 months. I have trust on Costco and I bought primus home phone and internet only because of Costco.

Sales guys lie( Waterloo Costco) , customer service iOS worst, technical service is horrible.

Hidden charges and service disruptions or disconnects without customer requests and their support team give a ... to customers. Never buy Primus.
June 9, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Angeline (abbotsford bc , BR)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Thieves

A miscommunication with a rep occurred. I am giving them benefit of the doubt. I called right after interaction to say I did not apply for service!! A month later i recieve a bill!!!! I call AGAIN to say how can u charge when i have no service nor eqpt. Rep cant speak english so i asked for an email has been 3 days no email. That is illegal to ask gor money when no service was provided!!
May 17, 2019
Review Helpful? 3 Yes No 0
Submitted by: ravi (Westlock , AL)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Ripp off Grady sales person at Costco

his name subich sold 150mbs unlimited internet after sign in an email shows internet 25 and 1 year term and 100$ cancellation
unbelievable very unethically sold by this agent I reported and cancelled as well Costco should not allow them to do this sales very bad shame on people who's doing for commission stay away...
..
April 23, 2019
Review Helpful? 2 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Sam (Edmonton , AL)
Feeling disappointed Disappointed Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Bad service

Don't bother your self and west your Time with third party company they will charge you for a modem rent and they will charge you for shipping the modem she or home and back if you if you want to cancel the service and they charge you an extra fees I would never bother myself any more to deal with this company
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$49.95 Shipping: $ Other: $3.95 No

Download: 7 Mbps

Upload: 1 Mbps

Cap:

Overage:

Primus was established in 1997, is HQ in Toronto, ON. Primus provides long distance, VoIP, Internet and POTS for residential and business use.

Primus was bought by York Capital Management in July of 2013. In the United States Primus operates under the name Lingo.  Primus went thru a major business transformation, which saw named a new CEO in January of 2014.

The Internet Plans are unlimited and offer a good array of support, but being a close mimic to Bell Internet plans suffer from the same high fees. Though Primus does offer 3-months at reduced pricing at $40 from the normal $49.95 in a 1-year term or $39.95 in a 2-year term. Prices do go quite high thereafter up to $112.95. There is no option but to buy the WiFi modem from Primus, which is $140 or you may lease it at $6.95/month. There is also a $59.95 one time installation fee.

The next Internet plan is the Internet 30 with up to 30 Mbps download and up to 5 Mbps upload with unlimited usage. This plan is coming with the promotion of the first 3 months at $55 thereafter is $64.95 in a 1-year plan. Alternatively in a 2-year plan is $54.95 per month. The comparable plan from Heronet, for example, is $52.88 per month, and if you pay a yearly subscription is $48.88! That is a total of  $192.84 in annual savings, for a similar Home Internet plan!

The fastest home internet plan Primus has goes for $112.95 a month or $103 for the first 3 months. With a download speed of 250 Mbps and an upload of 20 Mbps with unlimited usage. If it was for performance alone this is a good package, but monthly pricing makes it quite expensive in the long run. In an annual basis, this internet package from Primus will cost you $1,355.40! 

Primus applies Performance Management to the network, sometimes known as traffic shaping, as per Primus statements this is active at all times and shall be transparent to the end user. Though the priority is supposed to kick-in when congestion is detected this could impact the user experience, more so when multiple devices in one home are using the internet connection.

In all Primus, the Home Internet offers unlimited access, packed with extra protection (antivirus & antispam) but it looks expensive when compared to Heronet for example. More so when looking at these added fees. Also, note it does not support using other than their own branded modems.  

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark

Is there wifi services with the internet


Hello, In short, Yes. Primus does have a Wi-Fi home gateway that is configured to work on their network. Purchase or lease options are available. The GoneVoIP Team

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Why can't I contact prints about my internet breakdown

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

The 25 Most Popular Providers of 2018

Annually the GoneVoIP platform receives about half a million visitors. In general, the visits tend to be spread over the more than 490 service providers found in the GoneVoIP platform, though there are trends and รƒฦ’ร‚ยฏรƒโ€šร‚ยฟรƒโ€šร‚ยฝ
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  2
Report abuse

Best Home Internet Canada

Altima Telecom
Visit Website
$29.95 / mo.
Read 60 Reviews
CIK Telecom Inc
Visit Website
$24.99 / mo.
Read 17 Reviews
GemsTelecom
Visit Website
$29.99 / mo.
Read 17 Reviews

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 167 Reviews
netTALK CONNECT ezLINQ
Visit Website
$7 / mo.
Read 10 Reviews
CallCentric
Visit Website
FREE / mo.
Read 8 Reviews