Best All-Around!
Best All-Around!

Phone Power Reviews & Service Offerings

Phone Power
Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 53

Rating  93%     Rating  7%    

Phone Power
Phone Power

Phone Power

Website:
Devices:
Availability:
www.phonepower.com
iPhone, Android & Windows PC
AB, BC, MB, ON & QC

Visit Site

Monthly Fee Setup Fee Other Fees Long Distance Rates
USD$5.99 FREE 0
Bring your own Device Optional

Canada: FREE
USA: FREE
Intl. Minutes: 60 FREE

Phone Power, is one of the most popular and award wining VoIP service providers. A premier phone service alternative with frequently praised North American based customer support serving the Canadian Market. It's no wonder is ranked #1 by toptenreviews among voip providers/ home phone alternatives. Phone Power was founded in 2006, HQ in Winnetka, California. It has been growing ever since, it is the largest privately held VoIP provider in North America. 

In our Phone Power review we found an abudance of features and constant drive to provide more at no extra cost. Among the top features is FREE number portability, a free ATA with the ability to use two lines with the same number (cloned line) AND unlimited Canada and US wide calling. Among the plan their current special offer thru gonevoip is that you get 2nd year of service free, only have to pay taxes. This is the only provider offering such a generous plan in terms of features, calling coverage and term in Canada.

Phone Power also supports bring your own device (BYOD) for the majority of the best known ATAs out there (Grandstream and Linksys), give you a handy softphome for PC/laptop and an free iPhone and Android App plus 60 minutes of free international calling to any of more than 55 countries. You can also add a Virtual number anywhere in Canada, US and in over 50 countries worldwide.

Curious to see how Phone Power compares side by side to popular giant Comwave? Check out this article.

A very nice feature, explained in the video below, is to ring simultaneously in various devices; for example; calling your home phone will also ring your mobile and your office phone. See video tutorial.

Phone Power reviews are among the best, putting Phone Power as one of gonevoip.ca favorites providers. It's feature rich, it is flexible and at affordable costs with no setup fees nor contracts and very good support behind it all. 

Still Thinking about it? Call now to 1-855-462-5349

 

Maple Leaf Features

Call Blocking Checkmark
Conference Calling Checkmark
BYOD: Checkmark
Smartphone App: Checkmark
Call Forwarding Checkmark
Call Hold Checkmark
Caller ID Name: Checkmark
Enhanced VoiceMail: Checkmark
 

Reviews Stats

Rating
27
Rating
13
Rating
1
Rating
1
Rating
3
When reviewing Phone Power Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling happy happy!

Top Positive


8 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: January 23, 2013
Submitted by: Mats(Oshawa, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Phone Power Provider

I work from home and is important for me to have a reliable phone system. Had been using VOIP for years and thus far this is probably the best provider I could find. Not without the typical hiccups of using VOIP, but the customer service support is very responsive, quite often I just chat online with them. I notice no difference in sound quality when compared to Vonage and is significantly cheaper.


Do you find this review useful?

8 Yes No 0 Report abuse


Top Critical


9 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: January 2, 2016
Submitted by: Eric (Langley, BR)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Phone Power

I used then for the last 2 years and I am not happy at all. The quality of the phone is terrible .. I had this problem from the beginning. Maybe 2 or 3 months when I have a good quality phone conversation.. but the rest of the time: either did not work at all or I have to call them few times a week. I stop calling them 4-5 months ago and start looking for a new provider.. I could not do it early because I will lost my money (I paid for 2 years).. There is no way I will come back to them.


Do you find this review useful?

9 Yes No 0 Report abuse


All Reviews

2 persons found the following review useful
January 14, 2017
Submitted by: Allan Hucaluk (Pickering, ON)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Excellent call quality and outstanding customer service

Excellent call quality , features and outstanding customer service.
I've been a customer for 5 years.
Yes there was teething problems in the beginning but the customer service was the best I've encountered anywhere. They made sure the issues were fixed and they follow upped with a call . Its rare today to have that kind of commitment. But when you realize that it cost very little to keep a customer and when they lose you to a competitor they never get you back , so it makes sense to keep customers happy. My only complaint is its in $US dollars, but even with the exchange its still cheaper than comparable companies in Canada,
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
4 persons found the following review useful
November 29, 2016
Submitted by: Ram (Dorval, QU)
Feeling: Feeling happy Happy
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Much better than videotron

I switched after years and years having videotron. I can talk to my cousins in the Bay Area and not pay extra. Also is great to have the app; so when I'm visiting my family in US I can still use my own home phone number to call. Off course using Wi-Fi. Downside of this is that it was in USD; but to be clear even then it still amount to be a lot cheaper than what I was paying to Videotron (about $45/month, after all fees & taxes). Used VOIP for 4 months now and happy with what I get. Did recommended to family and friends.
Do you find this review useful? 4 Yes No 0 Report abuse
14 persons found the following review useful
October 18, 2016
Submitted by: L (Toronto, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Pricing

I think it should be made clear that this great pricing you have posted is for 1 or 2 years. After that they are charging what amounts to over $30/month, not exactly top of the hill.
Do you find this review useful? 14 Yes No 0 Report abuse
6 persons found the following review useful
March 22, 2016
Submitted by: Mathew S (Winnipeg, MB)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Service Works!

While I mostly use my mobile is good to have a phone line at home. We went Home Phone free for a couple of years. but ultimately decided to have something else, mobiles get hot/warm while in a call that is longer than 2", have to charge them, or these get misplaced or lost... We still have our mobile phones, but happy to have a phone service @ home that is useful and cheap. Now, I get voice-mails emailed and pick it them up on my smartphone.
Do you find this review useful? 6 Yes No 0 Report abuse
4 persons found the following review useful
March 10, 2016
Submitted by: Steve Harrington (London, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Hidden fees, watch out!

Although it may seem like a great deal there are many hidden fees. You might see an unlimited plan of $149/year, so you're thinking, OK, $12.50/mth. Not bad.

Here's what it actually is:
Breakdown of Charges:
Service Price: $149.95
Regulatory Recovery Fee $23.76
911 Cost Recovery $11.88
Federal, State and Local Services (FSLS) Recovery: $17.45
Total Fees: $203.04

Wow! Total fees, 203.04. But wait it's more this is IN US$ !!! So in CAN $ this is $270/12 = $22.50 CAN/month. Now you're entering into rip off Vonage territory. As they say on the Shark Tank, "Because your cost is too high, and you are not being transparent to your customers, and the quality of services is nominal at best...for those reasons, I'm out!"

Reply from: CrankyNanny
March 11, 2016
Relax... you probably did not read that is for 2-years instead of ONE!?! So your $270/12 shall be 270/24 instead... Though in any case, I'm happy with the service thus far, got it a couple of months ago and price is still fine, fact is just also got it for my parents to replace their Bell line.
Do you find this review useful? 4 Yes No 1 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
January 9, 2016
Submitted by: Waldo (Kitchner, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Good Features

This replaced my Rogers phone service. We ported our number and that was done in about 2-weeks with no issues. Call quality within Canada is usually good but when used to do international calls to family in Colombia there are break-outs; nothing major but annoying have you have to try a few time until you get a good connection. Happens to certain numbers, not all calls to US are as good as those within Canada.. All-in the service is cheap, and has more features than what we use. The voicemail to email though is something very useful.
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
9 persons found the following review useful
January 2, 2016
Submitted by: Eric (Langley, BR)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Phone Power

I used then for the last 2 years and I am not happy at all. The quality of the phone is terrible .. I had this problem from the beginning. Maybe 2 or 3 months when I have a good quality phone conversation.. but the rest of the time: either did not work at all or I have to call them few times a week. I stop calling them 4-5 months ago and start looking for a new provider.. I could not do it early because I will lost my money (I paid for 2 years).. There is no way I will come back to them.
Do you find this review useful? 9 Yes No 0 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
December 22, 2015
Submitted by: Andy (Toronto, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Using my own ATA

Ported my number for free couple of months ago, I had to wait for them to assign a temporary number but other than that setup was a breeze. Since I'm using my own ATA costs have been minimal and the features are great. I have family down in the States and in Montreal and now we talk without regard of phone bills. Can't complain.
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 0 Report abuse
9 persons found the following review useful
December 7, 2015
Submitted by: Gaby (Toronto, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Among the Best

It is one of the best services we had. Had it for about 2 years, going for the 3rd now. When I had to renew saw that rate changed to a monthly rate, which was something like $20 - I called them up and told them I would not renew on that rate and the rep on the phone offer me a $99+taxes annual deal for renewal, which they can set automatically.
On my years of using Phone Power this is the only time I had to call them, and have to say they were efficient and polite
Do you find this review useful? 9 Yes No 2 Report abuse
5 persons found the following review useful
November 7, 2015
Submitted by: Pat (Toronto, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Overall good choice

Switched to PP from Ma Bell. I was paying 36CAD a month for just the dial tone and no call features... This is by far better Thanks.
Do you find this review useful? 5 Yes No 0 Report abuse
Load More Reviews

I need very basic phone service in Calgary. I have a number for the area code, I need voicemail tat can forward messages to my email, access 800 numbers and can be used with Bria softphone while I am in Panama. US calling would be nice. Can you help?


The service from Phone Power does include voicemail to email, it has it's own softphone app (for Android and iPhone & Windows computers) I have no trouble dialing 1-800 numbers with mine, though I have heard of cases that sometimes (for whatever reason) it may not work so you'll have to dial the direct number instead. Oh, Phone Power has Canada/US calling included - I never seem to reach the limit, if there is one. It also comes with an hour of international calling for free. I have used this a few times when calling resorts in Mexico planing and attending a destination wedding. Anyhow, that nor here or there. The service is very good and you should be able to take it wherever you go. I took with me, while in Mexico, via my smartphone app.

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

do you also have internet service


As far as I know they do not have internet. Though I use them with Yak Cable internet; works perfectly.

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Billing In US or Canadian Dollars?


2222It's in USD - though even in that case is so good there's simple no comparison. The features, quality and support are excellent. I been with them for over a year now. Quality is very good, I pay in advance so dollar fluctation doesn't affect me much, depends on how it is at that point. Though still is waaaay cheaper than Rogers (I used to have) I pay for the year what I once paid for the month to Rogers when I had to call family overseas, so to me is one of those things well worth it.


I have the service. I think works the same everywhere. (I'm in Surrey, BC) In order to get the savings you prepaid for the year, and they send you the device and port your existing phone number for free. I also used the code to get $15 off - which makes the shipping free too. I'm happy with Phone Power and have recommended to family in Toronto area.

Please provide details about home phone in Calgary, Alberta Canada with monthly fees, equip cost and any other associated/ applicable costs.Thanks

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(45) Reviews + (8) Replies: 53

Rating  93%     Rating  7%

Maple Leaf Top Residential VoIP

Yak
Visit Website
$5 / mo.
Read 173 Reviews
VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 54 Reviews
1-VOIP
Visit Website
$11.21 / mo.
Read 9 Reviews
VOIPO
Visit Website
$6.21 / mo.
Read 2 Reviews
CallCentric
Visit Website
$0.0198 pr min / mo.
Read 8 Reviews
Phone Power
Visit Website
USD$5.99 / mo.
Read 53 Reviews

Maple LeafTop Internet Providers

Distributel
Visit Website
$35 / mo.
Read 5 Reviews
HeroNet.ca
Visit Website
$38.88 / mo.
Read 4 Reviews
TekSavvy Solutions Inc.
Visit Website
$27.99 / mo.
Read 2 Reviews