Best All-Around!
Best All-Around!

Phone Power Reviews & Service Offerings

Phone Power
Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 53

Rating  93%     Rating  7%    

Phone Power
Phone Power

Phone Power

Website:
Devices:
Availability:
www.phonepower.com
iPhone, Android & Windows PC
AB, BC, MB, ON & QC

Visit Site

Monthly Fee Setup Fee Other Fees Long Distance Rates
USD$5.99 FREE 0
Bring your own Device Optional

Canada: FREE
USA: FREE
Intl. Minutes: 60 FREE

Phone Power, is one of the most popular and award wining VoIP service providers. A premier phone service alternative with frequently praised North American based customer support serving the Canadian Market. It's no wonder is ranked #1 by toptenreviews among voip providers/ home phone alternatives. Phone Power was founded in 2006, HQ in Winnetka, California. It has been growing ever since, it is the largest privately held VoIP provider in North America. 

In our Phone Power review we found an abudance of features and constant drive to provide more at no extra cost. Among the top features is FREE number portability, a free ATA with the ability to use two lines with the same number (cloned line) AND unlimited Canada and US wide calling. Among the plan their current special offer thru gonevoip is that you get 2nd year of service free, only have to pay taxes. This is the only provider offering such a generous plan in terms of features, calling coverage and term in Canada.

Phone Power also supports bring your own device (BYOD) for the majority of the best known ATAs out there (Grandstream and Linksys), give you a handy softphome for PC/laptop and an free iPhone and Android App plus 60 minutes of free international calling to any of more than 55 countries. You can also add a Virtual number anywhere in Canada, US and in over 50 countries worldwide.

Curious to see how Phone Power compares side by side to popular giant Comwave? Check out this article.

A very nice feature, explained in the video below, is to ring simultaneously in various devices; for example; calling your home phone will also ring your mobile and your office phone. See video tutorial.

Phone Power reviews are among the best, putting Phone Power as one of gonevoip.ca favorites providers. It's feature rich, it is flexible and at affordable costs with no setup fees nor contracts and very good support behind it all. 

Still Thinking about it? Call now to 1-855-462-5349

 

Maple Leaf Features

Call Blocking Checkmark
Conference Calling Checkmark
BYOD: Checkmark
Smartphone App: Checkmark
Call Forwarding Checkmark
Call Hold Checkmark
Caller ID Name: Checkmark
Enhanced VoiceMail: Checkmark
 

Reviews Stats

Rating
27
Rating
13
Rating
1
Rating
1
Rating
3

Top Positive


7 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: January 23, 2013
Submitted by: Mats(Oshawa, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Phone Power Provider

I work from home and is important for me to have a reliable phone system. Had been using VOIP for years and thus far this is probably the best provider I could find. Not without the typical hiccups of using VOIP, but the customer service support is very responsive, quite often I just chat online with them. I notice no difference in sound quality when compared to Vonage and is significantly cheaper.


Do you find this review useful?

7 Yes No 0 Report abuse


Top Critical


8 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: January 2, 2016
Submitted by: Eric (Langley, BR)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Phone Power

I used then for the last 2 years and I am not happy at all. The quality of the phone is terrible .. I had this problem from the beginning. Maybe 2 or 3 months when I have a good quality phone conversation.. but the rest of the time: either did not work at all or I have to call them few times a week. I stop calling them 4-5 months ago and start looking for a new provider.. I could not do it early because I will lost my money (I paid for 2 years).. There is no way I will come back to them.


Do you find this review useful?

8 Yes No 0 Report abuse


All Reviews

January 14, 2017
Submitted by: Allan Hucaluk (Pickering, ON)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Excellent call quality and outstanding customer service

Excellent call quality , features and outstanding customer service.
I've been a customer for 5 years.
Yes there was teething problems in the beginning but the customer service was the best I've encountered anywhere. They made sure the issues were fixed and they follow upped with a call . Its rare today to have that kind of commitment. But when you realize that it cost very little to keep a customer and when they lose you to a competitor they never get you back , so it makes sense to keep customers happy. My only complaint is its in $US dollars, but even with the exchange its still cheaper than comparable companies in Canada,
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
November 29, 2016
Submitted by: Ram (Dorval, QU)
Feeling: Feeling happy Happy
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Much better than videotron

I switched after years and years having videotron. I can talk to my cousins in the Bay Area and not pay extra. Also is great to have the app; so when I'm visiting my family in US I can still use my own home phone number to call. Off course using Wi-Fi. Downside of this is that it was in USD; but to be clear even then it still amount to be a lot cheaper than what I was paying to Videotron (about $45/month, after all fees & taxes). Used VOIP for 4 months now and happy with what I get. Did recommended to family and friends.
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 0 Report abuse
9 persons found the following review useful
October 18, 2016
Submitted by: L (Toronto, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Pricing

I think it should be made clear that this great pricing you have posted is for 1 or 2 years. After that they are charging what amounts to over $30/month, not exactly top of the hill.
Do you find this review useful? 9 Yes No 0 Report abuse
6 persons found the following review useful
March 22, 2016
Submitted by: Mathew S (Winnipeg, MB)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Service Works!

While I mostly use my mobile is good to have a phone line at home. We went Home Phone free for a couple of years. but ultimately decided to have something else, mobiles get hot/warm while in a call that is longer than 2", have to charge them, or these get misplaced or lost... We still have our mobile phones, but happy to have a phone service @ home that is useful and cheap. Now, I get voice-mails emailed and pick it them up on my smartphone.
Do you find this review useful? 6 Yes No 0 Report abuse
4 persons found the following review useful
March 10, 2016
Submitted by: Steve Harrington (London, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Hidden fees, watch out!

Although it may seem like a great deal there are many hidden fees. You might see an unlimited plan of $149/year, so you're thinking, OK, $12.50/mth. Not bad.

Here's what it actually is:
Breakdown of Charges:
Service Price: $149.95
Regulatory Recovery Fee $23.76
911 Cost Recovery $11.88
Federal, State and Local Services (FSLS) Recovery: $17.45
Total Fees: $203.04

Wow! Total fees, 203.04. But wait it's more this is IN US$ !!! So in CAN $ this is $270/12 = $22.50 CAN/month. Now you're entering into rip off Vonage territory. As they say on the Shark Tank, "Because your cost is too high, and you are not being transparent to your customers, and the quality of services is nominal at best...for those reasons, I'm out!"

Reply from: CrankyNanny
March 11, 2016
Relax... you probably did not read that is for 2-years instead of ONE!?! So your $270/12 shall be 270/24 instead... Though in any case, I'm happy with the service thus far, got it a couple of months ago and price is still fine, fact is just also got it for my parents to replace their Bell line.
Do you find this review useful? 4 Yes No 1 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
January 9, 2016
Submitted by: Waldo (Kitchner, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Good Features

This replaced my Rogers phone service. We ported our number and that was done in about 2-weeks with no issues. Call quality within Canada is usually good but when used to do international calls to family in Colombia there are break-outs; nothing major but annoying have you have to try a few time until you get a good connection. Happens to certain numbers, not all calls to US are as good as those within Canada.. All-in the service is cheap, and has more features than what we use. The voicemail to email though is something very useful.
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
8 persons found the following review useful
January 2, 2016
Submitted by: Eric (Langley, BR)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Phone Power

I used then for the last 2 years and I am not happy at all. The quality of the phone is terrible .. I had this problem from the beginning. Maybe 2 or 3 months when I have a good quality phone conversation.. but the rest of the time: either did not work at all or I have to call them few times a week. I stop calling them 4-5 months ago and start looking for a new provider.. I could not do it early because I will lost my money (I paid for 2 years).. There is no way I will come back to them.
Do you find this review useful? 8 Yes No 0 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
December 22, 2015
Submitted by: Andy (Toronto, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Using my own ATA

Ported my number for free couple of months ago, I had to wait for them to assign a temporary number but other than that setup was a breeze. Since I'm using my own ATA costs have been minimal and the features are great. I have family down in the States and in Montreal and now we talk without regard of phone bills. Can't complain.
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 0 Report abuse
9 persons found the following review useful
December 7, 2015
Submitted by: Gaby (Toronto, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Among the Best

It is one of the best services we had. Had it for about 2 years, going for the 3rd now. When I had to renew saw that rate changed to a monthly rate, which was something like $20 - I called them up and told them I would not renew on that rate and the rep on the phone offer me a $99+taxes annual deal for renewal, which they can set automatically.
On my years of using Phone Power this is the only time I had to call them, and have to say they were efficient and polite
Do you find this review useful? 9 Yes No 2 Report abuse
5 persons found the following review useful
November 7, 2015
Submitted by: Pat (Toronto, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Overall good choice

Switched to PP from Ma Bell. I was paying 36CAD a month for just the dial tone and no call features... This is by far better Thanks.
Do you find this review useful? 5 Yes No 0 Report abuse
4 persons found the following review useful
October 13, 2015
Submitted by: Irwin Hartman (NEPEAN, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Very Good Service and palans

I have had Phone Power for a full year. Two lines, one for business and one personal. There was some issue at first getting a 2 line phone to work with one adapter and Phone Power does not support that. They suggested two separate phone. I should have asked for two adapters. Aside from that the occasion re-boot of the adapter and the rare poor quality (mostly due to the 2 line phones) there has been no issue. The call features are numerous and great. Love the voice mail send as a file to my cell phone The re- routing to my cell phone when the power goes out of the adapter needs a re-boot is very convenient and I never miss a call.
Do you find this review useful? 4 Yes No 0 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
February 7, 2015
Submitted by: John Daz (Toronto, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Great Price, Service & Support

I've been a customer for a couple of years now and this seems to have the better mix. It's very reasonable priced, the service is very reliable. Their website is one of the best I've seen in the market (better than Vonage, I used to be with them) Last but not least is the support; I'll explain on this one; a while back decided to upgrade our home phones to a new Panasonic DECT set. At the same time it occured like a good idea to have multimedia media center converge with the ATA line in the basement. Seemed like a good idea all in one place; though I started having chopped voice, breaking up and so on. The Technical Support at Phone Power after some troubleshooting and making some questions quickly pointed the issue. I had the ATA too close to other equipment and that was causing interference (or noise as they called it) - well moved the ATA to another location and that did it. No more issues. I haven't had to call them that often but I'm gladly impressed on their level of knowledge and care; they called a couple of days later to follow-up to see if everything was fine, which they wouldn't have to do it since the issue was more or less self-made and not their making. I'll be staying with Phone Power.
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
January 4, 2015
Submitted by: Jesus (London, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Beats Bell's Home Phone

For years we had Bell; first on my parents house and then on my own. I switched a bit over a year ago and couldn't be happier. It's packed with features we would had to pay extra with Bell. We get Canada/US wide free and unlimited calling. We don't really know what is the limit of the unlimited , but as of yet we have yet to reach it. Their support was a bit rough at first but they've made improvements on their online chat and with their staff. Couple of times we got callbacks to make sure everything was working and in order. Will definitively renew and do recommend.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
December 14, 2014
Submitted by: Mariana (Toronto, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

New Phone

For the last few years had only had our mobile, no other phone at our household at all. Someone at work made comments about voip/phone power, and considering was/is relatively zero risk decided to give them a try. Since we got a new number is not a lot of people that calls us in, yet, but we do have family overseas and I can attest calling out is cheaper and as far as I can tell call quality is good. Recently went to LA for work and used the iPhone app for my PP Home Phone to actually make calls to Toronto and local/US calls thru it (free Canada/US calling better than roaming) using the Hotel free Wi-Fi network.
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
November 10, 2014
Submitted by: Jamie Cordero (Toronto, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Phone

Well, been using Phone Power for the last couple of months now, and all I can say is that is actually quite good. I did ported my number from Rogers, they do it for free anyway so instead of cancelling I just kept it. The PROS: this is cheap and surprisingly good; CONS: I have yet to find one..
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
October 4, 2014
Submitted by: Edward (Toronto, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

It's a good service

This is one of those things I tell myself how come didn't switch earlier? Anyhow now the review; the call quality is same as it was before (bell) we can call anywhere now in Canada an not incur in long distance fees
Have not used the app but the voicemail to email is a nice addition. We had the misadventure of having to use/call 911 and service, as far as I can tell worked as usual
A good service and would recommend.

Reply from: Amir
October 9, 2014
WOW, this is a very good scam, so its 5.99 per month and the second year is free...Its 5.99 for the 24 months, that's 2 years. there is no free business.

Reply from: @Amir
October 9, 2014
Call it whatever you want though at 5.99 it sure beats paying up 40 something bucks for (dis)similar service...
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
September 25, 2014
Submitted by: Pierre P. (Trois-Rivières, QU)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Troubles.

Looking for problems, get Phone Power VOIP. After one year, we had to contact their support 23 times for diverse problems, mostly outbound or inbound calls not getting through. Today, on sept. 25, 2014, Phone Power is still down so that I cannot contact my own children. If your cable company offers the same service and has a clean reputation, I would suggest you hook up with them instead of PhonePower.

Reply from: Lionel
September 26, 2014
Well that's terrible experience; but totally different from what I've been thru. I have actually switched myself from Rogers and just a while back my parents. The difference between what was being paid and service is just way too much. The only one time my parents had issues, was on my dad's bday from all the dates! - Phone Power support team was really outstanding; they did changed not sure what in where et voila! What I did I chatted with them/Phone Power Technical Support online and they offer me to call me back to continue the resolution over the phone. Couple of days later they called back to check/make sure everything was good! How is that for a contrast in experience? 23 issues you say? isn't it weird? From my experience I say they are pretty good/solid. Granted I'm in Toronto and parents in Calgary, that may be a difference? In my case beats paying up gold and a leg to the usual suspects.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
August 31, 2014
Submitted by: Thiago (Aurora, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Very Good Service

This is a very good service, when compared to what I had from Bell makes me wonder doh! how come we were still paying $40 something for just local calls??
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
July 5, 2014
Submitted by: Esteban (Toronto, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Best phone

About a month ago switched/ditched Bell for this service. I can say enough good things about it. With the World Cup in progress we spent a lot of time on the phone with our extended family in Colombia. It has been amazing to just pick-up the phone and call whomever we want to. Signed for the international calling and is just very good service, can't tell the difference and not worrying about using phone cards or minutes nor the outrageous rates Bell would charge in the odd occasion we used. Makes me wonder why we didn't switch earlier? Anyhow, now we do recommend to anyone who asks.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
March 17, 2014
Submitted by: Shawn (Toronto, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Loving Voip!

Im loving this new service. Was hesitant to switch out from Bell, but after years and years of abuse decided was enough of it and took the leap of faith. Though thus far Im really impressed, the service people at Phone Power seems they care and know what they are doing. Im not a technical person at all and I was with them through the initial connection. A few days later they called to see how things where working? Imagine that!!

Voice quality is great, and for things like caller id and voicemail we were paying extra it's all included. Only regret is not switching earlier!! While I had it for about a month only this has already surpassed my expectations, in a very good way.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
February 8, 2014
Submitted by: Scott (Ottawa, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Low Cost

We had long switched to use a Digital Phone (VIOP) with our internet provider when late last year found this offer. We get 2 years worth of service with calling anywhere in Canada and US along with some modern features all coming under $160!! That is like 80 per year, its very cheap when compared to others and quality wise I would say is even better, never really liked the quality of Distributel Home Phone. Note you do have to pay up-font (which includes the 2 years of service) and its essentially a non-issue since it is not a contract. Overall we have recommended to family and friend since you cant beat the combination of incredible low cost, features and quality for a digital home phone in my experience is the best. I had to reset thier adaptor, which is also included what you pay, as we had no calls going out but their were getting calls redirected to my wife's mobile as per the failsafe # configuration. We had similar issues every so now and then with Distributel, but we did not have that redirect to a mobile though.
Hope this helps - it is a good alternative.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
February 2, 2014
Submitted by: Manish (Toronto, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Service started choppy but once switched internet is flawless

We had been using Phone Power for about 5-months now. At the very beginning we did had issues (poor call quality, voice was metallic or would be breaking off) and almost we switched off. Though have to say hands-off to Phone Power technical support team. Not only they tried everything, followed-up but ultimately pointed to the problem. I had Acanac DSL Highspeed Internet; Acanac's support was not helpful at all. Finger pointing to Phone Power's ATA (which they did changed) and trying to charge me for a modem change... Long story short changed to Start High Speed on Cable and ever since no more issues. Phone Power support team was able to trace back everything to and from my ATA and they said my internet connection was affecting as packets (of some sort..) begun to go out of sequence it arrived into my internet provider domain.
Anyhow, since got my internet connection not only got a faster connection but also got great call quality and love the feature you get your voicemail in your email. All in all, very satisfied with the switch (first ever VoIP provider).

Reply from: Manish
August 5, 2014
Hi Anthony, switched to Start High Speed internet, via Cable (before had Acanac via DSL).

Reply from: Antony
July 29, 2014
hi Manish, could you advice me which ISP did you switch to? i too am contemplating changing my ISP but dont know any reliable one to switch too.

your response will be much appreciated.,
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
December 19, 2013
Submitted by: Susan (Markham, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

We switched to Phone Power

We had been using VOIP for the past 4-years - as it really is that cheap when compared to Bell or Rogers. Then we saw this ad and decided to switch to Phone Power. It is a lot cheaper than Vonage and it does have a lot of more features and it even includes free international calling minutes! The number porting was done for free - the only hiccup we had in this first two months of service was that the website sometimes seemed slow, but that has improved a lot since a recent upgrade they've done. Overall this is perhaps the best voip provider we have had and we have recommended to other family members.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
December 9, 2013
Submitted by: Lynn (Toronto, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

my phone by phone power

We had it for few months now and can't really find any real issue with it. The voice quality is pretty good, our number was ported for free and also we got the phone power box for free, well we had to pay shipping but that is sort of nullified if you apply the $15 dollars off, so that is ok.. my take is this is the best deal we could find and it actually works and support is far better than what I was used to (was w/Rogers) Only time I had to call them to configure call forwarding they walk me through it and had even followed up a couple of days after to see if I got it working! Sadly not used to such a great service; certainly a great find and not looking back.

Reply from: Phil Smith
September 13, 2015
Sounds as though you have had a great experience with setting this up. Hope that this service may be as great in rural Ontario as well.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
December 6, 2013
Submitted by: Ivan Solomons (Orangeville, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Didnt work

Couldnt port over my current land line number or provide any number that was local to me (which is important for me), but tried it anyway. Had some problems getting it up and running, and when I did get it working I dialled my number (from my cell phone) and received recorded messages telling me that the number allocated could not be recognized. Probably a reasonable system if and when more attention is paid to potential Canadian users.

Reply from: Saturnino
April 3, 2014
I would said that is a bit harsh - sometimes providers can't port a number because of reasons beyond their control. In my case they did without a glitch.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
December 5, 2013
Submitted by: Rajesh (St. Catherines, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Best deal

Switched a few weeks back - and I cannot tell the difference in quality nor other people can.. Porting number was included along with the device and the smartphone app, which is something I still have to try but I think is a valuable addition to speak with family saving long distances charges.

Happy with it and have recommended to family & friends.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
November 13, 2013
Submitted by: Rich (Ottawa, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

It works once your internet is solid

Been using Phone Power for about a year. At the beginning we had some quality issues in around 20% of calls with the voice/sound - some echo, and background noise when using our land-line. Ironically, when we used Phone Power's smartphone app for calling (to the same numbers) we did not had the same issues. By chance we happen to move houses in the middle and with it our Internet carrier provider changed, we went from DSL internet to cable internet et voila no more quality issues. I have recommended it to family but make clear the internet connection has to be good. Was not the speediest connection we got in our older home and that may be a factor - Phone Power support did tried to help us and pointed at internet connection and/or router issues. We are sticking with them as for value there is no comparison.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
October 13, 2013
Submitted by: Matt (Toronto, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Getting used to..

We had been using Phone Power for a few months - switched from Bell. There are some things that you have to get used to, such as takes some time to complete the call after being dialled (not a biggie) in some occasions there was some crackling noise in the conversations. Though after troubleshooting that with Phone Power support managed to configure my Internet modem to prioritize VoIP calls - which seems to have improved quality quite a lot. In all you have to get used to using it - but the true is the savings are great and features are quite a lot. I do like the fact that I have an app with my home phone, so I can pick-up or make calls or get voice-mails from my Galaxy. We will be moving soon, and with that my internet connection will change - we'll see if that has any impact. Overall we are happy with the service, and based on the type of use we have (some Canadian long distance calling but mainly is local calling) we have not got complains. Just get used to have some quirks here and there; though that seems to be with all VoIP providers.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
September 17, 2013
Submitted by: Darren (Vaughan, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Small price to Big Savings

I love how it'll worked out of the box, ported our Rogers number, amazing. Prior switching we did a research and Phone Power come on top, specially against Comwave and Vonage. Considering we have family overseas is very convenient to have a home phone that gives you some free minutes for international calls. Plus we can now block telemarketers, since we switched we have reduced about 90% of unwanted calls.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
August 28, 2013
Submitted by: Greg (Toronto, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Thus far best option out there!

Recently switched off Bell, after years of paying about $60 monthly decided to seriously look what (if anything) we could do to part-ways from the (in)famous OneBill...! Out of all the VoIP providers we looked over Phone Power seemed to have the most complete offering; for us was important the fail-safe feature they offer (at no charge..) as if the internet connection goes down the incoming calls are redirected to our mobile. Been a couple of months and we had not run into the situation we required it but knowing is there is just for piece of mind.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
July 21, 2013
Submitted by: Samana (Niagara Falls, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Cheap Phone Service

I have been using Phone Power for over 4 months now and i am very pleased with the service. I have Unlimited North America plan for less than $10 per month and all features are included - amazing service!
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
July 9, 2013
Submitted by: Joe Austin (Toronto, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Lucky Find!

I was actually going to go with another provider (Comwave) luckily did some research and stumbled on all sort of bad reviews for the provider I was considering and went on to find Phone Power and their discount on this site. Be assured Phone Power it's cheap, but does gives a lot and after two weeks of service I can't complain. Best of all its just plug-in and voila; even for a non-technical person as myself it was easy to follow the instructions.
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
June 27, 2013
Submitted by: Danny (Toronto, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

What a great find!

I had seen some advertising that lead me to search for VoIP. Ultimately decided to go with Phone Power, what can I say? What a great find! I had ported my Bell number without any issues (I still have Bell for internet though) and the call quality is excellent. It's awesome now we have integrated our home phone with the smartphone app. By far the best service I ever imagined I could get and reasonably priced too!
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
May 31, 2013
Submitted by: Neil (Toronto, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Perhaps the best

This is perhaps the best service one can find - we got the transfer from Bell, for free, with all the services that are quite frankly too long to know what those all do; the one we believe is the better yet is where we have our voicemail sent via emails to us so we get to read anywhere on our smartphones. The sound quality is really as good as always been, perhaps some crackling noises in some calls but the true is we also had that with Bell too. We took advantage of the gonevoip discount coupon so that made the choice a little easier too. All in all we are very happy and I do definitively recommend Phone Power to family and friends.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
March 19, 2013
Submitted by: ayub (Mississauga, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

phone power

On Feb 24 called broadvoice and able to know unlimited calling available for specific country and placed order and one day after received email removed unlimited calling service for specific country ... therefore called customer service and cancelled my order and got 100% refund back as it was within 30 days cancellation took place....... impressed by customer service dealing and now thinking to switch over as they still best in service and features........
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
March 17, 2013
Submitted by: Andre W (Toronto, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Switched to Phone Power

A couple of months ago we switched providers to Phone Power; mainly because we kept getting telemarketers calls (yes, we are in on the do not call list). We kept getting calls day after day for weeks. When we talked to our previous provider they said that the block feature was not available in our service (they were thinking on implementing) and their support suggested we get handsets that block anonymous calls... With that said we found Phone Power to be cheaper, transfer our TOR number without much of a hassle and got us up and running rather quickly. Once we were setup with Phone Power, these annoying calls have reduced to almost nothing as we are using Call Block; and for those that get through we quickly add them to the block list from Phone Power web portal. For this feature alone is worth switching!
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
February 27, 2013
Submitted by: Nino (Newmarket, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

10x Better than Bell!

We had been paying Bell about $40 monthly and that was only for "local calls" I had to pay long distance if when calling Toronto numbers! So VOIP/Phone Power come along and seemed the best option. We have had the occasional issue, in one case we would get a busy tone when dialing a particular local number, that used to work. The support at Phone Power went out of their way to troubleshoot the issue, ultimately was something on their end (call routing something) and they did resolved it. After the incident, and in the spam of a few weeks they called us twice to check to see how things where working. Imagine that, Customer Support that cares! There's also sometimes a sound like a frying pan in the background, but is so rare and it does not affect the communication at all. We truly like the fact now we get our voicemails in our emails too. All in all, we are happy and I do recommend it.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
February 24, 2013
Submitted by: Paul (Markham, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

So far so good

My old phone number was transferred with no cost in about 2-weeks time. Very easy process to port; just make sure you do keep your old provider until the porting is completed. The call block feature alone is awesome to keep telemarketers at bay.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
February 2, 2013
Submitted by: Jan (Longueuil, QU)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Good Home Phone

I was on the verge of cutting the cord; been tired of over paying phone service and thought to go wireless. Then I stumbled with Phone Power. Been a few months, I had come to expect things will be bumpy but really have no issues. They sent us an ATA (free) that supports two phones, so we can make two outgoing calls. Handy in New Year celebration! Have yet to test their Android App; we're going to Europe this summer so for sure will come handy.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
February 1, 2013
Submitted by: Daniel (Winnipeg, MB)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Fully Packed Plan

My wife and I work from Home - Phone Power Residential/Small Business Plan works great for our needs. We had added more numbers, from other provinces over time for marketing purposes and that was done very easily. It's still under $20 a month with tons of features we need, such as Fax to Email, handy desktop app that allows to record conversations and use it wherever there is internet. Give it a try if you are small business or home office/business.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
7 persons found the following review useful
January 23, 2013
Submitted by: Mats (Oshawa, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Phone Power Provider

I work from home and is important for me to have a reliable phone system. Had been using VOIP for years and thus far this is probably the best provider I could find. Not without the typical hiccups of using VOIP, but the customer service support is very responsive, quite often I just chat online with them. I notice no difference in sound quality when compared to Vonage and is significantly cheaper.
Do you find this review useful? 7 Yes No 0 Report abuse
January 11, 2013
Submitted by: Pablo (Vaughan, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Free Long Distance Calls Included

We have family overseas in Argentina and the international calls included are really worthy. We've been saving so much. We had Bell and were hesitant to switch to VOIP - not anymore!
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
January 8, 2013
Submitted by: Mike (Montreal, QU)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Affordable and Lots of Extras

I work form home thus I had been using VOIP (Vonage) for years; but discovered I had to pay extra for things like softphone or fax support. These are Standard Phone Power provides on their plan - also the free iPhone App; while sometimes is not as reliable it has saved me and I could take calls via WiFi on my iPhone while traveling. All in all, good price and very good features.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
January 6, 2013
Submitted by: Donald (Ajax, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Best Provider out there

I had switched from Bell about a year ago and could not be happier. I have family out west in Alberta and we can talk with having to worry of long distance. Customer Support has been very good and you cannot beat the price. No difference in quality when compared to Bell.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
January 4, 2013
Submitted by: Raj (Brampton, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Great Experience

Had been using Phone Power for a while now. You cannot complain about the price and all the features you get. My only observation is their website interface needs to be made somewhat more intuitive. For the most their website it just works; for example great call log along with the ever handy call block. The service in itself found it very easy to setup. But it gets a little hard to navigate when you want to check voicemails online (wife always asks me) and where to change the codec. The last one I was just troubleshooting what it was an internet issue and and shouldn't be done that often but I actually had to contact their support to be able to find it. Luckily their support is pretty good/responsive.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse

I need very basic phone service in Calgary. I have a number for the area code, I need voicemail tat can forward messages to my email, access 800 numbers and can be used with Bria softphone while I am in Panama. US calling would be nice. Can you help?


The service from Phone Power does include voicemail to email, it has it's own softphone app (for Android and iPhone & Windows computers) I have no trouble dialing 1-800 numbers with mine, though I have heard of cases that sometimes (for whatever reason) it may not work so you'll have to dial the direct number instead. Oh, Phone Power has Canada/US calling included - I never seem to reach the limit, if there is one. It also comes with an hour of international calling for free. I have used this a few times when calling resorts in Mexico planing and attending a destination wedding. Anyhow, that nor here or there. The service is very good and you should be able to take it wherever you go. I took with me, while in Mexico, via my smartphone app.

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

do you also have internet service


As far as I know they do not have internet. Though I use them with Yak Cable internet; works perfectly.

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Billing In US or Canadian Dollars?


2222It's in USD - though even in that case is so good there's simple no comparison. The features, quality and support are excellent. I been with them for over a year now. Quality is very good, I pay in advance so dollar fluctation doesn't affect me much, depends on how it is at that point. Though still is waaaay cheaper than Rogers (I used to have) I pay for the year what I once paid for the month to Rogers when I had to call family overseas, so to me is one of those things well worth it.


I have the service. I think works the same everywhere. (I'm in Surrey, BC) In order to get the savings you prepaid for the year, and they send you the device and port your existing phone number for free. I also used the code to get $15 off - which makes the shipping free too. I'm happy with Phone Power and have recommended to family in Toronto area.

Please provide details about home phone in Calgary, Alberta Canada with monthly fees, equip cost and any other associated/ applicable costs.Thanks

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(45) Reviews + (8) Replies: 53

Rating  93%     Rating  7%

Maple Leaf Top Residential VoIP

Yak
Visit Website
$5 / mo.
Read 173 Reviews
VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 52 Reviews
1-VOIP
Visit Website
$11.21 / mo.
Read 9 Reviews
VOIPO
Visit Website
$6.21 / mo.
Read 2 Reviews
CallCentric
Visit Website
$0.0198 pr min / mo.
Read 8 Reviews
Talkit
Visit Website
$6.67 / mo.
Read 48 Reviews

Maple LeafTop Internet Providers

Distributel
Visit Website
$35 / mo.
Read 5 Reviews
HeroNet.ca
Visit Website
$38.88 / mo.
Read 4 Reviews
TekSavvy Solutions Inc.
Visit Website
$27.99 / mo.
Read 2 Reviews