Best of 2017!
Best of 2017!

Phone Power Reviews & Service Offerings

Phone Power
Maple Leaf Company Info
Phone Power
Phone Power

Phone Power

Website: www.phonepower.com
Devices: iPhone, Android & Windows PC
Availability: AB, BC, MB, ON & QC
Monthly Price: $11.70 CAD

1-855-462-5349

Buy Now Get a Quote Visit Site


Get Free Quotes

Home Phone

Home Internet

Business Phone

Business Internet

 

Reviews Stats

When reviewing Phone Power Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !
Rating
26
Rating
13
Rating
1
Rating
1
Rating
5

All Reviews

June 27, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Ian Barkema (Nanaimo , BC)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Billed two years after service

No notice about an unjustified unpaid balance from two years. Now it is sent to collections. I called them to understand why I was receiving bill. Operator constantly spoke over me by saying "you are not going to let me talk are you." I let her talk, and then when ever I try to talk I was told again, "you are not going to let me talk are you." I was basically told I should have disputed the made up charge that I haven't been given notice about two years ago, even though I had no notice at the time.
March 24, 2018
Review Helpful? 3 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Vernon Brewster (Earl Grey , SA)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Phonepower is a scam.

Don't use this non service. It does not work.
Can't be fixed. Contract will double in price and you can't get out of it easily.

Reply from: Phone Power Care Team
March 24, 2018
We are sorry the service you may have experienced was not up to par. We are almost certain that whatever issue you may have experienced if it was on our end we will go to lengths to have it fixed, and honestly, it does not double in price. Finally, you can get out anytime as there is no contract. Ultimately we don't like to see our customers go and would love to have an opportunity to talk about the specifics of the case(s) here. Please reach out at 1-888-607-6937 or via email to customerservice@phonepower.com We'll help set things straight.
January 14, 2017
Review Helpful? 3 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Allan Hucaluk (Pickering , ON)
Feeling satisfied Satisfied Rating 👍

Excellent call quality and outstanding customer service

Excellent call quality , features and outstanding customer service.
I've been a customer for 5 years.
Yes there was teething problems in the beginning but the customer service was the best I've encountered anywhere. They made sure the issues were fixed and they follow upped with a call . Its rare today to have that kind of commitment. But when you realize that it cost very little to keep a customer and when they lose you to a competitor they never get you back , so it makes sense to keep customers happy. My only complaint is its in $US dollars, but even with the exchange its still cheaper than comparable companies in Canada,
November 29, 2016
Review Helpful? 4 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Ram (Dorval , QU)
Feeling happy Happy Rating 👍

Much better than videotron

I switched after years and years having videotron. I can talk to my cousins in the Bay Area and not pay extra. Also is great to have the app; so when I'm visiting my family in US I can still use my own home phone number to call. Off course using Wi-Fi. Downside of this is that it was in USD; but to be clear even then it still amount to be a lot cheaper than what I was paying to Videotron (about $45/month, after all fees & taxes). Used VOIP for 4 months now and happy with what I get. Did recommended to family and friends.
October 18, 2016
Review Helpful? 20 Yes No 0
Submitted by: L (Toronto , ON)

Pricing

I think it should be made clear that this great pricing you have posted is for 1 or 2 years. After that they are charging what amounts to over $30/month, not exactly top of the hill.
March 22, 2016
Review Helpful? 6 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Mathew S (Winnipeg , MB)

Service Works!

While I mostly use my mobile is good to have a phone line at home. We went Home Phone free for a couple of years. but ultimately decided to have something else, mobiles get hot/warm while in a call that is longer than 2", have to charge them, or these get misplaced or lost... We still have our mobile phones, but happy to have a phone service @ home that is useful and cheap. Now, I get voice-mails emailed and pick it them up on my smartphone.
March 10, 2016
Review Helpful? 8 Yes No 2
Submitted by: Steve Harrington (London , ON)

Hidden fees, watch out!

Although it may seem like a great deal there are many hidden fees. You might see an unlimited plan of $149/year, so you're thinking, OK, $12.50/mth. Not bad.

Here's what it actually is:
Breakdown of Charges:
Service Price: $149.95
Regulatory Recovery Fee $23.76
911 Cost Recovery $11.88
Federal, State and Local Services (FSLS) Recovery: $17.45
Total Fees: $203.04

Wow! Total fees, 203.04. But wait it's more this is IN US$ !!! So in CAN $ this is $270/12 = $22.50 CAN/month. Now you're entering into rip off Vonage territory. As they say on the Shark Tank, "Because your cost is too high, and you are not being transparent to your customers, and the quality of services is nominal at best...for those reasons, I'm out!"

Reply from: CrankyNanny
March 11, 2016
Relax... you probably did not read that is for 2-years instead of ONE!?! So your $270/12 shall be 270/24 instead... Though in any case, I'm happy with the service thus far, got it a couple of months ago and price is still fine, fact is just also got it for my parents to replace their Bell line.
January 9, 2016
Review Helpful? 2 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Waldo (Kitchner , ON)

Good Features

This replaced my Rogers phone service. We ported our number and that was done in about 2-weeks with no issues. Call quality within Canada is usually good but when used to do international calls to family in Colombia there are break-outs; nothing major but annoying have you have to try a few time until you get a good connection. Happens to certain numbers, not all calls to US are as good as those within Canada.. All-in the service is cheap, and has more features than what we use. The voicemail to email though is something very useful.
January 2, 2016
Review Helpful? 13 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Eric (Langley , BR)

Phone Power

I used then for the last 2 years and I am not happy at all. The quality of the phone is terrible .. I had this problem from the beginning. Maybe 2 or 3 months when I have a good quality phone conversation.. but the rest of the time: either did not work at all or I have to call them few times a week. I stop calling them 4-5 months ago and start looking for a new provider.. I could not do it early because I will lost my money (I paid for 2 years).. There is no way I will come back to them.
December 22, 2015
Review Helpful? 3 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Andy (Toronto , ON)

Using my own ATA

Ported my number for free couple of months ago, I had to wait for them to assign a temporary number but other than that setup was a breeze. Since I'm using my own ATA costs have been minimal and the features are great. I have family down in the States and in Montreal and now we talk without regard of phone bills. Can't complain.
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Other Fees Long Distance Rates
$11.70 FREE 0
Bring your own Device Optional

Canada: FREE
USA: FREE
Intl. Minutes: 60 FREE

Phone Power, is one of the most popular and award-winning VoIP service providers. A premier phone service alternative with frequently praised North American based customer support serving the Canadian Market. It's no wonder is ranked among the VoIP Home Phone providers. Phone Power was founded in 2006, HQ in Winnetka, California. It has been growing ever since it is the largest privately held VoIP provider in North America. 

In our Phone Power review, we found an abundance of features and constant drive to provide more at no extra cost. Among the top features is FREE number portability, a free ATA with the ability to use two lines with the same number (cloned line) AND unlimited Canada and US-wide calling. Among the plan their current special offer thru GoneVoIP is that you get the 2nd year of service free, only have to pay taxes. Believe it or not, not that many providers offering such a generous plan in terms of features, calling coverage and flexible terms in Canada.

Phone Power also supports bring your own device (BYOD) for the majority of the best-known ATAs out there (Grandstream and Linksys), give you a handy softphone for PC/laptop and a free iPhone and Android App plus 60 minutes of free international calling to any of more than 55 countries. You can also add a Virtual number anywhere in Canada, US and in over 50 countries worldwide.

Curious to see how Phone Power compares side by side to popular giant Comwave? Check out this article.

A very nice feature, explained in the video below, is to ring simultaneously in various devices; for example; calling your home phone will also ring your mobile and your office phone. See video tutorial.

Phone Power reviews are among the best, making Phone Power one of GoneVoIP favorites providers. In simple terms Phone Power is feature-rich, it is flexible and at an affordable monthly, even if it is a USD rate. Though to obtain the best savings have to be paid annually, and with GoneVoIP promo you pay one year and get second free.

To maximize Gonevoip promo use promo code Gonevoip that will save you about $20 (CAD) Phone Power has no setup fees nor contracts; generally known as very good support service and forum community behind it all. 

Still Thinking about it? Call now to 1-855-462-5349

 

Maple Leaf Features

Call Blocking Checkmark
Conference Calling Checkmark
BYOD: Checkmark
Smartphone App: Checkmark
Call Forwarding Checkmark
Call Hold Checkmark
Caller ID Name: Checkmark
Enhanced VoiceMail: Checkmark

I need very basic phone service in Calgary. I have a number for the area code, I need voicemail tat can forward messages to my email, access 800 numbers and can be used with Bria softphone while I am in Panama. US calling would be nice. Can you help?


The service from Phone Power does include voicemail to email, it has it's own softphone app (for Android and iPhone & Windows computers) I have no trouble dialing 1-800 numbers with mine, though I have heard of cases that sometimes (for whatever reason) it may not work so you'll have to dial the direct number instead. Oh, Phone Power has Canada/US calling included - I never seem to reach the limit, if there is one. It also comes with an hour of international calling for free. I have used this a few times when calling resorts in Mexico planing and attending a destination wedding. Anyhow, that nor here or there. The service is very good and you should be able to take it wherever you go. I took with me, while in Mexico, via my smartphone app.

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

do you also have internet service


As far as I know they do not have internet. Though I use them with Yak Cable internet; works perfectly.

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Billing In US or Canadian Dollars?


It's in USD - though even in that case is so good there's simple no comparison. The features, quality and support are excellent. I been with them for over a year now. Quality is very good, I pay in advance so dollar fluctation doesn't affect me much, depends on how it is at that point. Though still is waaaay cheaper than Rogers (I used to have) I pay for the year what I once paid for the month to Rogers when I had to call family overseas, so to me is one of those things well worth it.


I have the service. I think works the same everywhere. (I'm in Surrey, BC) In order to get the savings you prepaid for the year, and they send you the device and port your existing phone number for free. I also used the code to get $15 off - which makes the shipping free too. I'm happy with Phone Power and have recommended to family in Toronto area.

Please provide details about home phone in Calgary, Alberta Canada with monthly fees, equip cost and any other associated/ applicable costs.Thanks

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

Finding Canada’s Best Internet Speeds

If you are like the rest of Canadians you probably have the same Internet connection for at least the past 2 years. But the demand on the internet connection in our daily lives and homes �
Continue Reading

Rating  6     Rating  0
Report abuse

Toronto Area Best Home Phone Service Deals

There are several advantages of having a VoIP home phone or digital home phone service. Thanks to Voice over IP, nowadays, telecommunications are easier and cheaper than ever before. It's not only easy to use �
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  0
Report abuse

2017 The Year in the Rear View Mirror

It is time to look back the year that it was. Certainly, 2017 offers unquestionably lessons to be learned. We saw the landline decline is a trend that is beyond the point of no return. For over 140 years �
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse

Phone Power vs Comwave Phone Comparison – Revised

Comwave is one of the major VoIP providers in Canada, having first introduced telephony services to the Canadian public in 1999. But since then, many other VoIP providers have come along looking to overthrow the �
Continue Reading

Rating  0     Rating  0
Report abuse

2016 The Year in Review

It is that magical time of the year when one can look back at the year from the rearview mirror. We started 2016 with netTALK & Iristel dispute that left thousands of Canadian customers stranded. �
Continue Reading

Rating  6     Rating  1
Report abuse

Grading Online Security: How Secure is Your Provider?

Performing tasks online saves us so much time that we often take this convenience for granted. For instance, instead of visiting a bank, we are paying bills and transferring funds using our mobile devices or �
Continue Reading

Rating  3     Rating  1
Report abuse

Summer Calling

The longest day of the year, also known as the summer solstice, marks the start of summer for all North Americans. Many people have plans to travel during summer either to escape work or travel �
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse

3 Important Considerations when Selecting VoIP Service

Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) service has gained popularity in recent years and for good reason. The technology allows for the streamlining of communication avenues while saving businesses and residents money in utilities. If you are �
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  0
Report abuse

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Rating
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 167 Reviews
netTALK CONNECT ezLINQ
Rating
$7 / mo.
Read 10 Reviews
CallCentric
Rating
FREE / mo.
Read 8 Reviews
VOIPO
Rating
$7.70 / mo.
Read 4 Reviews
Nomado
Rating
$7 / mo.
Read 0 Reviews
Talkit
Rating
$6.67 / mo.
Read 57 Reviews

Best Internet Canada

Altima Telecom
Rating
$29.95 / mo.
Read 61 Reviews
CIK Telecom Inc
Rating
$24.99 / mo.
Read 17 Reviews
GemsTelecom
Rating
$29.99 / mo.
Read 17 Reviews