netTalk DUO Reviews & Service Offerings

netTalk DUO
Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 10

Rating  40%     Rating  60%    

Add a Review     Ask a Question

netTalk DUO
netTalk DUO

netTalk DUO

Website: www.nettalk.ca
Devices: iPhone, Android & Windows PC
Availability: AB, BC, MB, NB, NF, NS, ON, PEI & QC
Monthly Price: $0 CAD

Buy Now Visit Site


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion (4): Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(10 ) Reviews + (0) Replies: 10

Rating  40%     Rating  60%

Add a Review

Ask a Question


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 10

Rating  40%     Rating  60%    

  Add a Review     Ask a Question

 

Reviews Stats

Rating
1
Rating
3
Rating
0
Rating
2
Rating
4
When reviewing netTalk DUO Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !

Top Positive


Submitted on: January 3, 2013
Submitted by: Stephen (Calgary , AB)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Works very well

Had used magicJack in the past and read somewhere netTalk was of superior call quality. I can attest calls, at least for me are better the unit is nicely done and does not require a computer to be on. Will be buying another unit for my parents.


Do you find this review useful?

0 Yes No 1 Report abuse


Top Critical


3 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: January 18, 2016
Submitted by: ronnie (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Not reputable -rip off company

Net talk company Canadian subscribers were denied porting their numbers.Company does not return calls


Do you find this review useful?

3 Yes No 0 Report abuse


All Reviews

1 person found the following review useful
May 28, 2018
Submitted by: David (Windsor , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Scammers and con artists

NEVER EVER deal with this company! I paid for 5 years of service and after 1 year it stopped working. Their support got it going a couple of times but then suddenly I was unable to reach them and didn't get the remaining 4 years of phone service. Companies like this with no integrity deserve a negative rating below zero. They only 4 years of service which I didn't get. This happened a few years ago but they still are selling more of their products and ripping off more people. Shame on them. MagicJack is the best!
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
January 18, 2016
Submitted by: ronnie (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Not reputable -rip off company

Net talk company Canadian subscribers were denied porting their numbers.Company does not return calls
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
June 19, 2015
Submitted by: GARY MacDonald (Stirling , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Using for 3 years

I'm satisfied with the service that i'm getting with my NetTalk Duo.
There are times that I have to dial out twice to connect but that is only 5% of the time.
The price is unbelievable.
Remember that you get both Canada and US FREE
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
March 26, 2015
Submitted by: Olivier Leduc (deux-montagnes , QU)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Low price...

I had a Nettalk for 2 years and had lots of problem... You get what you pay for.

Pros: Super low price, Good voice quality

Cons: Super slow e-mail service (weeks), Sometimes the number signaled rings silent, Sometimes some numbers are unreachable
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
March 11, 2015
Submitted by: Yu (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Junk

Paid for a year 9 months ago, worked for first month, then no incoming calls came in, now no more outgoing as well! I have paid for a plastic box with a blinking light on it.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
July 11, 2013
Submitted by: Lou (Ottawa , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Garbage...do NOT touch!!!

I spent two weeks trying to get this stupid DUO II to take calls. I tried everything and no one at NetTalk could help because they're incompetent.

Support is virtually non-existent (Mon-Fri, 10 am to 4 pm EST). Finally, a NetTalk technician promised me he'd call at 5 pm EST so I left work early to be there...NO CALL!!!

That was it. I returned the product to Future Shop and told them not to sell this garbage anymore.

If you value time, don't waste it with this company.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
June 8, 2013
Submitted by: Paul (Hamilton , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Not very reliable

The setup was easy and I was making calls within minutes. I tested the device by calling my nettalk # with my cell and notice it sometimes would give a busy signal.
I also notice when I called my nettalk # and let it ring it would sometimes just hang up on me before going to voice mail.

If you can put up with these problems the quality was very good and no drop call problems while your connected to the other party.
Customer service is a problem with wait times of 1 hour or more and when you do get through they are not much help at all.
I decided to return the device to the store and purchased Talkit instead.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
February 8, 2013
Submitted by: JP (Longueuil , QC)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Portable

We go to Florida every summer and past two summers take along the phone adapter. We get all the calling features we need and it's very easy to setup and very portable.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
January 15, 2013
Submitted by: Damien (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

DUO Review

We've installed this as a 2nd line for our daughter . Since this worked for her, we're honestly thinking we could use the same as our main line at home too.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
January 3, 2013
Submitted by: Stephen (Calgary , AB)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Works very well

Had used magicJack in the past and read somewhere netTalk was of superior call quality. I can attest calls, at least for me are better the unit is nicely done and does not require a computer to be on. Will be buying another unit for my parents.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 1 Report abuse
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Other Fees Long Distance Rates
0

Canada: FREE
USA: FREE
Intl. Minutes: 0

netTalk is HQ in Miami, FL. Was founded in 2008. As with other Single Box solutions you pay the cost of the ATA and yearly service up-front. netTalk flagship product is netTalk DUO, which has in a very portable design. netTalk comes with the most common features found in VoIP providers, such as caller ID, call forwarding, unlimited Canada/US calling all packed at a very reasonable price of $59.95 with one year of service included.  One of the drawbacks of netTalk is that if you have an issue with the ATA you'll likely have to buy a new one from the same vendor - this is the same issue as with Ooma or MagicJack.

netTalk DUO may be combined with an app, called netTalk CONNECT or Talk. Available for Android and iOS devices is a very handy app to get your home phone in your pocket and keep calling while you travel the world with the same great rates netTalk offers.

At gonevoip.ca we like netTalk DUO and DUO II (cheaper version) as these have a very portable design, simplicity, overall good quality and also have to factor that nettalk has a Canadian website. However, if you are looking for a fully featured VOIP provider, with more robust and full-blown feature set and may want to use your own ATA at an affordable price then Phone Power is a better choice. 

The later version from nettalk is DUO WiFi, which as the name implies allows connecting via a Wi-Fi internet. The WiFi DUO has all the same features as the prior versions and goes for $74.95 with a one year of service included.

<< In January 2016 netTalk had a legal dispute with Iristel, who provided Canadian numbers to netTalk. In turn, this conflict-affected Canadian nettalk subscribers for over a week >>  <<As Gonevoip reported and followed on the topic Nettalk had confirmed to gonevoip issue was resolved>>

Maple Leaf Features

Call Blocking Checkmark
Conference Calling Checkmark
BYOD: Checkmark
Smartphone App: Checkmark
Call Forwarding Checkmark
Call Hold Checkmark
Caller ID Name: Checkmark
Enhanced VoiceMail: Checkmark

I had Magic Jack 3 years ago, I ended up throwing it off the 12th floor of my condo, ( no one below ),, I live about 25 miles from downtown Vancouver, just wondering is this simple to hook up?? And is there a monthly fee ?? Thank you Regards, Glen Dupuy

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

2016 The Year in Review

It is that magical time of the year when one can look back at the year from the rearview mirror. We started 2016 with netTALK & Iristel dispute that left thousands of Canadian customers stranded. …
Continue Reading

Rating  5     Rating  1
Report abuse

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 125 Reviews
Yak
Visit Website
$5 / mo.
Read 186 Reviews
Phone Power
Visit Website
$7.40 / mo.
Read 55 Reviews
VOIPO
Visit Website
$7.70 / mo.
Read 3 Reviews
CallCentric
Visit Website
FREE / mo.
Read 8 Reviews
1-VOIP
Visit Website
$11.21 / mo.
Read 15 Reviews