Iristel Reviews & Service Offerings

Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 4

Rating  0%     Rating  100%    

Iristel
Iristel

Iristel

Website: www.iristel.ca
Services: Cable, DSL & Dry-Loop
Availability: AB, BC, MB, NB, NF,ON, PEI, QC & SK
Monthly Price: $39.95 CAD

Visit Site


Maple Leaf Rating
Gonevoip's Opinion (3): Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(3 ) Reviews + (1) Replies: 4

Rating  0%     Rating  100%


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 4

Rating  0%     Rating  100%    

 

Reviews Stats

Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
3
When reviewing Iristel Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !

Top Positive


Submitted on: January 2, 2015
Submitted by: Anonymous (Milton , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Pathetic excuse for an ISP

Needed to switch ISPs since current one was overcharging, and didn't have higher bandwidth caps. So I was recommended Iristel, and thought I would take a chance and see how it is. Spoke to a representative and discussed the plans and prices, and everything that I had a concern for. When it came time for them to show up at my doors to setup the modem they sent, no one shows up. According to Iristel someone did come and no one answered. Clearly their claim is bull ... since I had 3 family members sitting in the living-room, just feets away from the door, and there was no one who knocked, or rung the door bell. I get a call from Iristel saying no one was at home at the time of when the technician was suppose to show up, and they are standing on their case firmly. I talked to the representatives multiple times, to discuss the mishap, and they require me to reschedule the technician again (Which will take another week), and for that I might be charged ($50). It's my day off, my kids are at home as well as my wife. So I'm guessing my family and I are literally ... ed since we didn't hear a knock or the doorbell during the time given by Iristel. Haven't even tried the service yet, and already it is disappointing. Would not recommend to anyone unless you want a major headache.


Do you find this review useful?

0 Yes No 0 Report abuse


Top Critical


Submitted on: January 2, 2015
Submitted by: Anonymous (Milton , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Pathetic excuse for an ISP

Needed to switch ISPs since current one was overcharging, and didn't have higher bandwidth caps. So I was recommended Iristel, and thought I would take a chance and see how it is. Spoke to a representative and discussed the plans and prices, and everything that I had a concern for. When it came time for them to show up at my doors to setup the modem they sent, no one shows up. According to Iristel someone did come and no one answered. Clearly their claim is bull ... since I had 3 family members sitting in the living-room, just feets away from the door, and there was no one who knocked, or rung the door bell. I get a call from Iristel saying no one was at home at the time of when the technician was suppose to show up, and they are standing on their case firmly. I talked to the representatives multiple times, to discuss the mishap, and they require me to reschedule the technician again (Which will take another week), and for that I might be charged ($50). It's my day off, my kids are at home as well as my wife. So I'm guessing my family and I are literally ... ed since we didn't hear a knock or the doorbell during the time given by Iristel. Haven't even tried the service yet, and already it is disappointing. Would not recommend to anyone unless you want a major headache.


Do you find this review useful?

0 Yes No 0 Report abuse


All Reviews

June 28, 2017
Submitted by: alfie (laval , QU)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

poor service

signed up with them a little more than a year ago and after a couple of months the speed during the evenings was less than 1/3 of what it was to be. paid for 15 meg service and in the evening rarely had more than 5 megs and at times less than that. after months of sending speed test reports and numerous complaints finally started getting decent speeds at nights but would have constant disconnections like every 10 to 15 minuets all night long. nothing but fustration from Aug 2016 till Feb 2017 when I cancelled, i requested a partial refund and got but 1 month only refunded. if you do sign up with them, the 1st sign of speed slowing down, cut your losses and move on
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
March 8, 2015
Submitted by: Idgaf (Mississauga , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

SO BAD!

Internet keeps d/c for no reason half the time, i can't even play a game without the internet going out for 5 mins, iristel you holding me back from challenjour, now thanks to you im stuck in elo ... . I can't do my 1v5 bot lane without d/c and dying for no reason. gg

Reply from: Iristel
March 24, 2015
Hello,

Sorry to hear that you have been experiencing some disconnects, in order for us to better service you please do try to contact our customer support that way we could see where are the disconnections coming from.

Sincerely from what you are saying we can only imagine what could be the situation, it could be a faulty cable, it could be the modem, or even something that happens to the cable up to the modem.

Also, please make sure that you do not have any active downloads why playing that game or that there are not multiple users using your internet connection at the same time, even some light browsing can create lags.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for further assistance.

Have a wonderful day ahead.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
January 2, 2015
Submitted by: Anonymous (Milton , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Pathetic excuse for an ISP

Needed to switch ISPs since current one was overcharging, and didn't have higher bandwidth caps. So I was recommended Iristel, and thought I would take a chance and see how it is. Spoke to a representative and discussed the plans and prices, and everything that I had a concern for. When it came time for them to show up at my doors to setup the modem they sent, no one shows up. According to Iristel someone did come and no one answered. Clearly their claim is bull ... since I had 3 family members sitting in the living-room, just feets away from the door, and there was no one who knocked, or rung the door bell. I get a call from Iristel saying no one was at home at the time of when the technician was suppose to show up, and they are standing on their case firmly. I talked to the representatives multiple times, to discuss the mishap, and they require me to reschedule the technician again (Which will take another week), and for that I might be charged ($50). It's my day off, my kids are at home as well as my wife. So I'm guessing my family and I are literally ... ed since we didn't hear a knock or the doorbell during the time given by Iristel. Haven't even tried the service yet, and already it is disappointing. Would not recommend to anyone unless you want a major headache.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$39.95 Shipping: $ Other: $ No

Download: 7Mbps

Upload: 1Mbps

Cap:

Overage:

Iristel is a senior internet services provider having been founded way back in 1999. They have made quite a name for themselves considering they are active on a global front. With offices in Europe and North America, they are one of the few transatlantic telecommunication companies whose roots are from Canada. Their headquarters can be found at 675 Cochrane Drive, East Tower, 6th floor, Markham, ON L3R 0B8, Canada. Iristel provides a variety of services ranging from VoIP for businesses to humble internet services for residential usage. 

Iristel offers unlimited internet packages at very affordable rates. Their DSL 7 package allows users to attain up to 7 mbps downloading speeds, and 1 mbps uploading speeds. This isn’t that different from the usual 6 mbps speed that most internet service providers offer for their basic DSL plans.

Furthermore, this plan has an unlimited bandwidth and is priced at a meager $39.95. The 6 mbps plan of Iristel which they call the DSL Legacy is also unlimited and costs $28.95. Unlimited plans with speeds like this are very hard to come by at this economical price. For example, Distributel offers a 6 mbps plan with a usage cap of 60 GBs for the same price that Iristel’s 7 mbps plan is allocated for. If a user wants to gain unlimited bandwidth on Yak, they would have to pay an extra $10.00 per month! Furthermore, NetFox offers a 6 mbps unlimited plan for $36.95 per month. This goes to show how well Iristel have made their plans enticing to customers with their unbeatable pricing.

Not only are the prices extremely low, but Iristel is currently offering a promotion in which the dry loop fees and modem rental fees will be included in this already substantially low price of $29.95 per month. Most internet service providers charge anywhere between $5.00 to $25.00 per month for dry loops. Modem rental can cost anywhere between $5.00 to $10.00 per month as well. Both of these fees can be avoided if you opt-in Iristel service right now.

Upon investigation of Iristel’s reasonable usage policy, we came across some peculiarities. First off, Iristel plans are not truly unlimited. Any user that goes in excess of average usage patterns which is 150 GBs for residential users will be charged extra money. The overage charges that Iristel implements is $4.00 per GB! 

In all honesty, we found it rather disappointing that Iristel portrayed “unlimited” plans on their services page while in actuality they are anything but unlimited. However, the prices are still better than many other prominent internet service providers. Considering that the dry loop and modem rental fees are included with the monthly fee of $29.95, we believe that Iristel has got everything right!

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark
Load More Q&A

Maple Leaf Top Internet Providers

Altima Telecom
Visit Website
$49.95 / mo.
Read 28 Reviews
Distributel
Visit Website
$35 / mo.
Read 5 Reviews
HeroNet.ca
Visit Website
$38.88 / mo.
Read 4 Reviews

Maple LeafTop Residential VoIP

VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 108 Reviews
Yak
Visit Website
$5 / mo.
Read 173 Reviews
VOIPO
Visit Website
$7.70 / mo.
Read 3 Reviews
Page generated in 0.3694 seconds.