EastLink Reviews & Service Offerings

Maple Leaf Company Info
EastLink
EastLink

EastLink

Website: www.eastlink.ca
Services: Cable
Availability: AB, BC, NB, NF, NS, ON & PEI
Monthly Price: $139.95 CAD

1-855-462-5349

Visit Site


13 2.5 reviewCount Get Free Quotes

Home Phone

Home Internet

Business Phone

Business Internet

 

Reviews Stats

When reviewing EastLink Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !
Rating
1
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
11

All Reviews

August 13, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Sarah Globe (PETERBOROUGH , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Horrible

We have had 2 appointments where a tech was supposed to come between 8 and 5. We booked time off work and ... ody shows up. They dont even call to say they arent coming. The supervisor was rude and didnt care. Go with anyone but east link.
July 8, 2019
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Mitchell (Halifax , NO)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Stay the ... away

This review is solely on their home services.
Their mobile services are much worse.

Their cable is expensive for what it is and is not comparable to competitors.

Their home phone is grainy and they force you to have it with a bundle, and almost force you to have all the expensive add-ons even if you never use the home phone.

Their internet however, is the worse of all. It went out 6 times in the first (and only) month we had it. Luckily, the neighbour in the other half of my duplex is an Eastlink technician. I had to also restart the modem 13 times that month. The speeds were about .5 mbps when we were paying for gigabit (yes, that is correct... we were getting a two-thousandth of the speed we were supposed to be getting).

The only real option for reliable and fast internet in Nova Scotia is Bell and they are quite expensive, but the only option.
June 27, 2019
Review Helpful? 3 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Kyle (Grande Prairie , AL)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Bush League Company

These guys are a joke. Their internet speeds are terrible and you will need to power cycle your modem at least 3 times a week. Their billing department and customer service is somehow even worse than their internet though. I'd rather have dial up than deal with this incompetent company again.
June 17, 2019
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Carol (Halifax , NO)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Absolutely awful - horrible customer service, won't let you close an account

It took my partner and I several months to try to add em to the account so I could make adjustments, and then we decided just close our account. It was all said and done, equipment returned balances paid and I am STILL receiving bills /being charged 2 months later. Their chat staff can't do anything unless you have all the account and pin information (a pin which we never made bc never used the online account) - this is absolutely ridiculous. I don't want to spend my time dealing with an awful company with whom I don't even have an account! I suggest everyone switch to CityWide or another company. Much better prices.
June 3, 2019
Review Helpful? 2 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Mark Hudkins (Grande Prairie , AL)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Monopoly!

False speed claims, frequent service outages, poor customer service. You'll be hard pressed to use any kind of streaming service with how frequent the outages are. Same goes for any kind of online gaming, regardless where the server you're connected to is. But hey, what can you expect from a monopoly? Overpriced and VASTLY underperforming.

Reply from: Mark Hudkins
June 3, 2019
I absolutely did NOT give this a 5 star review. 1 star all day long
April 11, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Bob butt monkey (Halifax , NS)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Scam

I'd have to pay 60 bucks for a technician to change the outlet of my TV signal?! Fuck you
April 7, 2019
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Eric Bader (Murray Siding , NS)
Feeling disappointed Disappointed Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Eastlink Wifi Perfected

Was suggested to upgrade to Eastlink's wifi perfected by an eastlink employee, so i did and paid the install fee, and the extra charge per month. Our internet speed and connection got x3 worse then what it was before upgrading. I contacted Eastlink/Eero a couple of times, and had no luck in finding a solution why my internet was not "perfected". Called and removed the service, but it was still a waste of money.

Suggestion for future customers:
If you want better wifi around you're house, I would avoid wifi perfected, and buy a better router and/or a wifi extender.
March 17, 2019
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 0
Submitted by: IAN P. MASTIN (Dartmouth , NO)
Feeling satisfied Satisfied Rating ๐Ÿ‘

Quality over quantity

My wife and I have been Eastlink for 2 years and that isn't about to change. We have Internet TV and Mobile service with Eastlink and have had a fantastic experience, The price we pay is great and because we have mobile service as well we get an additional discount. The service itself has been very reliable with very few interruptions to speak of and when they do happen they don't last long, The customer service is some of the best I've had in any industry and the best part is its local right here in Canada so I always know exactly what is going on when I call. Eastlink has been completely transparent about our promotion the price and duration with absolutely zero deviation from what was discussed when we signed up 2 years ago and that's more than I can say for our experiences with their competition. Overall I would rate Eastlink 10/10 any day of the week because we have gotten exactly what we paid for and have had nothing but great service.
January 23, 2019
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Jim Morrison (Summerside , PR)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Service sucks

What can I say, poor service, poor quality, they try hard but cannot compete with the big guys. I suggest you go with Bell or any other option. Not worth the effort to go with Eastlink.
May 7, 2018
Review Helpful? 6 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Bert Bolton (Town of Plympton Wyoming , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘

Unapologetic overcharging

Our region has had only one ISP for some time. Easlink purchased our DSL account and from Xcelco formerly Peoples Telephone. Service drops out multiple time daily. Speed varies from .5 to 3.0 Mbps making Netflix or Youtube near unwatchable. Price has gone up routinely and our bundle of internet and land line phone is over
$ 130.00 monthly. Seek alternative ISP via satellite of fixed wireless.
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$139.95 Shipping: $49.95 Other: $ No

Download: 940 Mbps

Upload: 10 Mbps

Cap:

Overage:

Eastlink was founded by the Bragg family around four decades ago when it obtained one of the first cable licenses granted by the CRTC. Eastlink began its rapid expansion through Canada after having started out as a wild blueberry business. They are headquartered in Atlantic Canada and boast a very strong employee force of 1700 strong. It wasn’t long until Eastlink became one of the few telecommunication companies to offer the “triple play “service in 2000. They now offer a variety of standalone internet plans as well. Our focus is to review the residential plans that Eastlink provides!

Eastlink offers a residential internet plan they call the Eastlink bundle. This plan allows download speeds of up to 940 Mbps and upload speeds of 10 Mbps. The plan has unlimited usage and costs a total of $139.95 per month. Current Promotion is to fix the cost for 24-months. In all honesty, the price is not worthy, even though there is quality in this plan. The speeds are very good and unlimited bandwidth is appreciated but you should search for better deals.

Another prominent telecommunications company known as Altima Telecom provides a 25 Mbps plan that has an upload speed of 10 Mbps with unlimited usage for only $39.95. The price discrepancy between Altima Telecom and Eastlink is proof enough of how expensive Eastlink is.

Most internet service providers allocate specific times for customers where they can freely download without being worried about hitting their bandwidth usage cap. However, Eastlink does not appear to add traffic shaping to their plans.

The standard installation fee of $49.95 applies when opting into Eastlink service. One of the few good things about this plan is that it is offered on a non-contract basis so that customers do not feel bound by anything.

All in all, Eastlink should live up to its reputation by providing customers with better internet solutions. The quality of this plan is great indeed, but the price tag isn’t justifiable. Furthermore, Eastlink needs to offer more basic plans such as a 25 Mbps starter plan which is generally what the residential population requires. These high-speed high price plans are not for the everyday internet user and should not be the only options available to customers!

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark

Have problems with laptop and printer, so require a HARD COPY of monthly bill.Thank you

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

last night I called and waited 45 minutes and no one answered me, onlhy a recordin g ever 2 to 3 minutes.i want to t

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

Canada’s Internet Speeds and Prices

Types of internet access providers This summer we set out to analyze the status of the home internet connections across the country. We picked fourteen representative major urban centers and analyzed factors such as maximum available รƒฦ’ร‚ยฏรƒโ€šร‚ยฟรƒโ€šร‚ยฝ
Continue Reading

Rating  4     Rating  1
Report abuse

Best Home Internet Canada

Altima Telecom
Rating
$29.99 / mo.
Read 67 Reviews
CIK Telecom Inc
Rating
$44.99 / mo.
Read 27 Reviews
GemsTelecom
Rating
$24.99 / mo.
Read 22 Reviews

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Rating
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 173 Reviews
netTALK CONNECT ezLINQ
Rating
$7 / mo.
Read 11 Reviews
CallCentric
Rating
$0 / mo.
Read 8 Reviews