Distributel Reviews & Service Offerings

Maple Leaf Company Info
Distributel
Distributel

Distributel

Website: www.distributel.ca
Devices: N/A
Availability: AB,BC,ON & QC
Monthly Price: $5 CAD

Visit Site


9 4.5 5 Get Free Quotes

Home Phone

Home Internet

Business Phone

Business Internet

 

Reviews Stats

When reviewing Distributel Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !
Rating
1
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
7

All Reviews

March 28, 2019
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Oppenheimer.T (Vancouver , BR)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Distributel: unscrupulous scammers

From the get-go they lied to us. They gave us a time and date to do the installation of equipment they sold us. They were a no-show. After two weeks, we were told that there would be no service call and that we would have to do the installation ourselves. They would instruct us over the phone how to do it. It was a nightmare for two seniors with poor vision and hearing loss. It took six days and countless hours on the phone to get the system to work. We were ready to scream in frustration. After a couple of months, they raised the monthly rate without any advance notice. We wanted to cancel our account, so they put back the original price. Months later, they raised the price again, without notice. We fought for a one year fixed-price contract which is still in place. Two days ago we requested a new phone number due to nuisance calls. The rep complied and promised our phone would be ready in an hour. Six hours later, we still can not receive incoming calls. Had to spend another hour on the phone with the technical department who informed that it will now be 24 to 48 hours before the phone is fixed. These scammers take advantage of low-income people who can't afford high internet costs and they are technically incompetent.
June 7, 2017
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Tony (Laval , QU)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

VOIP

I had a landline with Bell which my Long Distance was with Distributel. I have asked to activate a separate line to test their VOIP quality to switch over eventually. I got all the issues you can imagine:
- My existing Bell number was removed from their long distance plan
- I got a VOIP box that did not work
- Any calls I do had to do the 1+area code even for local calls
- I tried to call their toll free customer service number and was getting a recording: The phone number is outside of Distributels local calling are, I guess they don't want their customers to call them.

AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COST!
February 12, 2015
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Bob (arnprior , ON)

STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY

Waited on hold many hours, finally got account set up and told to send 201.61 and they would send out equipment. I did that and then received a call they could not provide us service send the equipment back, so we did. I have been told it will take 3 weeks before they will send a cheque out to us. That means they will have held our money for 5 weeks. Stay far away.
February 4, 2015
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 1
Submitted by: nasir z shenwari (Mississauga , ON)

PLEASE STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY

PLEASE STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY CUSTOMER SERVICE IF YOU CALL WAIT FOR HOURS NO ONE THERE TO HELP. TECH SUPPORT NO ONE THERE TO HELP . PAY MORE GET GOOD COMPANY
July 7, 2014
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 1
Submitted by: chet (Brampton , ON)

Distributel

Stay away from this company. Really bad customer service, expect to be on hold for 45 minutes when you call.
March 9, 2014
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 1
Submitted by: dr sharma (brampton , ON)

stay away

Waste of money and no support at all

Reply from: chet
July 7, 2014
awful customer service. Expect to be on hold 45 minutes when you call. They try to rip you off whenever they could eg. asking you to upgrade your service before they can give you technical support.
November 2, 2013
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: jai (edmonton , AL)

Distributel from Ottawa

I am glad that I have read the reviews also.
I was with Distributel, who charged me for moving from Ont to Alberta- when I have phone and internet service with them. Even though I had no contract with them, I still had a hard time cancelling service. They kept saying "once service is up and running" we will see about a refund. They lie and steal your money. I lodged a complaint with BBB and Distributel lied to them also.
September 21, 2013
Review Helpful? 3 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Sam (Mississauga , ON)

worse customer service

their customer service is the worse ever, the line is not reliable you can not get any one to talk to you with service drops and you will have to wait for days the get it sorted out. they are asking me to stay without a phone for over 2 weeks because of the migration they have to do.

I encourage every one to stay away from them do not waste your money and time
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Other Fees Long Distance Rates
$5

Canada: $0.019
USA: $0.02
Intl. Minutes: 0

Distributel is a Canadian Group that was established in 1988. HQ in  Ottawa, ON. Distributel group of companies include Yak, Acanac & ThinkTel. The Distributel Group provides services to more than 400,000 Canadian homes and business. As with many Canadian ISPs, Distributel provides Home Phone service thru VoIP along with internet and long distance plans. 

Since Distributel acquired Yak Home Phone from Globalive, Distributel is using Yak's Home Phone as their own Home Phone offer. Is worth repeating though, as from Gonevoip's perspective Yak's Home Phone is one of the best services you can find out there. Is cheap, starting at $5 for the first 2 months thereafter is $10 per month. You get 12 typical advanced calling features, such as Caller ID, Voicemail, and Call Forward. As it is usual with Yak Home Phone you can keep your existing phone number. Yak will transfer your number for free. Another feature, common among VoIP home phone providers, is the ability to have free in-network calling. That is, all Yak-to-Yak calls are free.

As we often say here at Gonevoip: if you are in the market for a Home Phone alternative to the usual big telco companies then; Distributel's Yak Home Phone may have the plan and rate for you.

To check our editorial review and users reviews of Yak Home Phone please click here.

Maple Leaf Features

Call Blocking Checkmark
Conference Calling Checkmark
BYOD: Checkmark
Smartphone App: Checkmark
Call Forwarding Checkmark
Call Hold Checkmark
Caller ID Name: Checkmark
Enhanced VoiceMail: Checkmark
Load More Q&A

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Rating
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 167 Reviews
netTALK CONNECT ezLINQ
Rating
$7 / mo.
Read 10 Reviews
CallCentric
Rating
FREE / mo.
Read 8 Reviews
VOIPO
Rating
$7.70 / mo.
Read 4 Reviews
Nomado
Rating
$7 / mo.
Read 0 Reviews
Talkit
Rating
$6.67 / mo.
Read 57 Reviews

Best Internet Canada

Altima Telecom
Rating
$29.95 / mo.
Read 62 Reviews
CIK Telecom Inc
Rating
$24.99 / mo.
Read 19 Reviews
GemsTelecom
Rating
$29.99 / mo.
Read 17 Reviews