Voip.ms Reviews & Service Offerings

Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 18

Rating  86%     Rating  14%    

Voip.ms
Voip.ms

Voip.ms

Website: voip.ms
Devices: Sip Client
Availability: AB, BC, ON & QC
Monthly Price: $5.95 CAD

Visit Site


Maple Leaf Rating
Gonevoip's Opinion (2): Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(15 ) Reviews + (3) Replies: 18

Rating  86%     Rating  14%


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 18

Rating  86%     Rating  14%    

 

Reviews Stats

Rating
11
Rating
1
Rating
0
Rating
1
Rating
2
When reviewing Voip.ms Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling satisfied satisfied !

Top Positive


5 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: January 28, 2016
Submitted by: Ken (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Satisfied customer

Been using voip.ms for a year and a half. As expected, my phone bill dropped like a rock and although I was willing to sacrifice some audio quality for savings, I have to say that I'm really impressed. No echoes, no dropped calls, almost noise free.

Was using it with a Linksys PAP2T but have since moved to a Cisco 7940. The configuration wiki was very helpful.


Do you find this review useful?

5 Yes No 1 Report abuse


Top Critical


Submitted on: July 26, 2016
Submitted by: Kenneth Rapoport (Northbrook , IL)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

This company steals money from accounts!

I had an account with funds, they did not notify me or send me bills. I did not use the service and had terminated. But rather than tell me that, they just kept sucking my account dry until I was down to less than 10.00, then they chose to "inform me". By then they had already stolen my money!

Reply from: Tim On: February 24, 2017
Idiot, read terms of service, you most of not filled in the contact info and for sure you did not log in to cancel so you were billed the monthly fee like the rest of us, go back to bell and pay the big bucks.

Reply from: Hiromi Satashi On: January 25, 2017
Pretty unintelligent person.

It's called. Logging in.
Deleting your DID number so you don't get charged $0.85/month LoL.

If you don't have the intelligence to login to an ONLINE VOICE service, then you should just stick with the incubments. You are an adult now, not a child. It's your responsibility to pay your bills and know what you're being charged.


Do you find this review useful?

0 Yes No 6 Report abuse


All Reviews

1 person found the following review useful
March 25, 2017
Submitted by: Doug (Delta , BR)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Satisfied Customer

I have been a customer since 2011 ,I did find the set up of my device a little harder than expected ,but i was in my late fifties .But with the help of their wiki site I was able get my PAP 2 device working. I use their premium service for all my local and international calls and voice and sound quality is great. on average my monthly bill is $5.00 .I have had a couple of problems over the year but have always been able to fix over MSvoips chat line .My worst problem was having my account hacked and all my money drained . Which msvoip did send me emails about as this was happening .However this was resolved with a couple of emails and suggestions from msvoip and all my money was placed back in my account .Over all I have had great service from them.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 1 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
March 15, 2017
Submitted by: Audralex (Montreal , QU)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Tres bon service voip

J'utilise le service depuis 2013. Je suis satisfait du service et de la qualite des telecommunications. Le support est excellent.
Les couts d'utilisation sont minimes par rapport aux grands fournisseurs.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
February 24, 2017
Submitted by: tim (oshawa , ON)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

excelllent

Been a customer for over 6 years. I love the online interface, I've saved a tone of money, great connection quality. I also now run my own asterisk server and now can use my home phone at any WiFi spot on my android cell phone. Saves me cell time.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
July 26, 2016
Submitted by: Kenneth Rapoport (Northbrook , IL)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

This company steals money from accounts!

I had an account with funds, they did not notify me or send me bills. I did not use the service and had terminated. But rather than tell me that, they just kept sucking my account dry until I was down to less than 10.00, then they chose to "inform me". By then they had already stolen my money!

Reply from: Tim
February 24, 2017
Idiot, read terms of service, you most of not filled in the contact info and for sure you did not log in to cancel so you were billed the monthly fee like the rest of us, go back to bell and pay the big bucks.

Reply from: Hiromi Satashi
January 25, 2017
Pretty unintelligent person.

It's called. Logging in.
Deleting your DID number so you don't get charged $0.85/month LoL.

If you don't have the intelligence to login to an ONLINE VOICE service, then you should just stick with the incubments. You are an adult now, not a child. It's your responsibility to pay your bills and know what you're being charged.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 6 Report abuse
April 11, 2016
Submitted by: Pablo (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Great service, call quality, features and price.

I've been using Voip.ms for about 4 months now.
Porting my landline from Bell was easier and faster than expected. Both my personal and business lines work great (value routing at 0.52 c / min).
Relatives abroad call me to my iNum via a local number and we speak for free as much as we like.
Setting up a Cisco SIP phone and sub-accounts to use on my PC and mobile was straight forward with the use of their Wikis and occasional LiveChat support. Support staff are corteous and knowledgeable.
I love the ability to forward SMS to my cellphone and to receive voice mails as attachments.
In addtion, setting up NOMOROBO to block robocallers has been a godsend. No more annoying calls!
Another feature I use is Time Conditions, which ensures no calls to my business line disturb me at night.
I've read not so glamorous reviews about voip.ms but I have not had any issues with them. I will be porting my friends' phones to voip.ms soon.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
5 persons found the following review useful
January 28, 2016
Submitted by: Ken (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Satisfied customer

Been using voip.ms for a year and a half. As expected, my phone bill dropped like a rock and although I was willing to sacrifice some audio quality for savings, I have to say that I'm really impressed. No echoes, no dropped calls, almost noise free.

Was using it with a Linksys PAP2T but have since moved to a Cisco 7940. The configuration wiki was very helpful.
Do you find this review useful? 5 Yes No 1 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
January 11, 2016
Submitted by: Doot (Vancouver , BR)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Mostly Awesome

I've been with voip.ms for over 5 years now. I've used voip,ms differently over the years depending on my needs and cir ... tances. I've had local and overseas DIDs. I use lots of their features. Call forwarding, DISA, callback, time conditions, routing rules based on caller ID filters, SMS. Finally finding a use for my inumb. voip.ms is great if you like to tinker around. It's got a lot of incredibly useful features under the hood once you start poking around.

I was disappointed with their service to balkan countries: Serbia, Montenegro, Bosnia, Macedonia. Landlines were ok most of the time but calls to mobiles were mostly useless. terrible sounds quality and FAS fraud. Calls to Turkey really went downhill while I was with them. Also, they've become really uncompetetive in their prices to european cell phones compared to skype subscriptions.

Basically, voip.ms is fantastic at handling north american originated and terminated calls. It has fantastic call routing controls at your fingertips. It's ok for calling european landlines and calling Africa was ok too whenever I tried it. Balkan countries and Turkey - forget it. I got tired of troubleshooting these issues and gave up. Western European cell phones - good quality sound but expensive on most cases.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
November 15, 2015
Submitted by: Ileana Pantea (Chicago , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

No contracts to back up claims!

Call quality is OK (for premium service). Just a notch bellow Net2Phone (which I used for years) but at a cheaper price.
The main problem is that they do not have the telecom contracts to backup World Wide service as claimed by website.
When they are cornered they will make outrageous demands for scanned IDs even if the payment is through PayPal and confirmed by VOIP equipment manufacturer and public records.
Worked OK for US, UK, Ecuador. Does not work for Eastern Europe and many other places (check other reviews)
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
June 15, 2015
Submitted by: Roy (Mississauga , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

voip.ms

Last year I ported our home number from Rogers to VOIP.MS. After purchasing the voip modem, it was reasonably easy to set up using their on-line wiki. I was very pleased with the quality & service. So we ported our Florida (vacation property) number from Comcast to VOIP.MS also. Great voice quality at both locations. Porting the US number was free ($10 in Canada). Both phones average about $5 per month using the "premium" one cent per minute option.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
January 2, 2015
Submitted by: luc (Montreal , QU)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Best VOIP provider

It cost only 0.99$ + usage and not the price listed on the site. Call quality is really great, better than POTS line with good IP phone.

They have all imaginable services and relayability is really good.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Other Fees Long Distance Rates
$5.95 $1.50
Bring your own Device Optional

Canada: FREE
USA: $0.01
Intl. Minutes: 0

Voip.ms was established in Montreal, QC in 2007.Voip.ms specializes in providing BYOD (Bring Your Own Device) and chose as you go/tiered pricing type of telecommunications solutions. Generally speaking Voip.ms audience and target market is a technically savvy one.

There is a great array of options and flexibility on configuring the services offered by Voip.ms, from the features that would be present, such as Caller ID, to the call routing itself. For the non-technical person it could be overwhelming; for those technically savvy it could represent a good alternative and may as well save some money. Voip.ms does offer the ability to acquire International DIDs; which as usual have to be paid monthly. These could then be set up to ring (forward) to some other Canadian number.

The International calling rates on Voip.ms are typically good but for example, if you are using a Long Distance provider such as Rebtel you could save some more. For example, for calls to India New Delhi the typical rate at Voip.ms is $0.0214 and at Rebtel is $0.015 Thus you can see how could you save if you do use for international calls. In Voip.ms Terms of Service offer enlighting advice to have a backup line in case their service does not deliver,  oddly worded the quality of service is noted "as-is".  The twitter feed of VoIP.ms does give an indication of the frequency and duration of which their services are impacted.

In any event, a similar type of Build Your Own VoIP service is Call Centric (named Best BYOD of 2015) Call Centric's website we found it to be less rustic with a more intuitive user interface, smoother navigation and while all Terms of service have the usual legal language, Call Centric's Terms are less bitter, user-friendlier if you will. 

For those looking for a BYOD solution, but not having to go through the raw and complexities of figuring out call routing and choosing individual features may also find in Phone Phower is an alternative.

Regrettably, for all the legendary status Voip.ms can be associated with, there is a darker side to it. In where bad business practices, lack of social skills and cockiness make a toxic cocktail. As shown in this thread in DSLReports. Voip.ms staff initiated a clear attempt of vilification against gonevoip. This campaign happened simultaneously via Facebook, with verbally abusive comments on gonevoip's Facebook page - which we had them removed. 

We @gonevoip believe in diversity, freedom of comparisons, choices, and certainly speech. Ultimately you, the consumer shall determine and weight what the DSLReports thread in question says about Voip.ms's, their conduct and if it is someone you want to deal with. 

Maple Leaf Features

Call Blocking Checkmark
Conference Calling Checkmark
BYOD: Checkmark
Smartphone App: Checkmark
Call Forwarding Checkmark
Call Hold Checkmark
Caller ID Name: Checkmark
Enhanced VoiceMail: Checkmark
Load More Q&A

Maple LeafTop Internet Providers

Altima Telecom
Visit Website
$49.95 / mo.
Read 28 Reviews
Distributel
Visit Website
$35 / mo.
Read 5 Reviews
HeroNet.ca
Visit Website
$38.88 / mo.
Read 4 Reviews
Page generated in 0.3958 seconds.