Shaw Reviews and Plans

Provider Summary Information
Shaw
Shaw

Shaw

Website: www.shaw.ca
Services:
Coverage: AB, BC, MB, ON, QC & SK
Monthly : $95 CAD

595 2 reviewCount
Axvoice VoIP Service
 
FACT: When reviewing Shaw visitors in most cases feel Feeling disappointed disappointed!!
Rating
3
Rating
12
Rating
26
Rating
136
Rating
416

All Reviews

February 27, 2021
Review Helpful? 3 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Albert (Edmonton , AB)
Feeling disappointed Disappointed Rating 👎

Shaw internet is shit

Shaw's internet connection is terrible. It constantly keeps disconnecting and it's just bad in general because the ping is super high even when the minimum is supposed to be at least 70 and it's most of the time 200 above.
October 19, 2020
Review Helpful? 4 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Ray (Calgary , AB)
Feeling disappointed Disappointed Rating 👎

Too many outages

Too many outages especially during COVID when people are working remotely.

Reply from: Richard Rutherford
May 31, 2021
I've been a dedicated customer for over a decade and you guys have treated me like a second-class citizen I am so appalled at the way I've been treated I've been a loyal customer and just can't get over the lock of support I've got from you guys and the under-educated customer service reps you have appalled disgusted I don't know how you keep in business
June 11, 2020
Review Helpful? 4 Yes No 3
Submitted by: Wayne Phillips (Red Deer , AB)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Shaw Customer Service is non-existent

I have just spent the last 1 1/2 on chat with Shaw. Even though their website says the best way to contact them is chat, I was told by the employee I was chatting with I should have phoned if I wanted to talk to a person and get one on one help. Basically the end result was Shaw can remove a channel from your package without discounting the price, then charge you for every channel you add after that. After all that time and three people telling me to try this, try that, I get told I have to phone or contact someone in the morning to get the problem fixed. Customer service stinks.

Reply from: Mike
June 20, 2020
They used to be very good. After late Shaw , their founder, it seems they chose to go to a different path.

As per my exp. when a company starts to treat clients like this, it is the beginning of their end.

They used to treat loyal clients very well. That is not the case any more.
May 26, 2020
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Josh Crisby (Penticton , BC)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

I\'d rather use dial up

I would never use Shaw cable again in a post apocalyptic earth and they were the last providers available. Signed up for the 600mps services. Never got more than 200mps. Spent time on their live chat with a "technician" never had the problem fixed. No follow up phone call after doing a power cycle on the modem.
They got my email address wrong and I thought they had set up the automatic billing. Apparently they hadn't and my account went unpaid for four months, all they while their reminder emails were going to someone else. Finally they call me only to tell me I had 48 hrs and they were going to cancel the service. Worst customer service possible. They only reason why Canadians don't have better ISP's is due to the fact that we have no competition. Otherwise Shaw would have gone under a decade ago.
They never did deliver even half of the 600mps they claimed to provide. Cancelled my account when the speed dipped from 200mps to under 100mps and then they wanted me to payout the remaining contract time, ON A CONTRACT THEY COULD LIVE UP TO.
Bottom line I'd rather use dial up.
May 25, 2020
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Travis (Comox , BC)
Feeling disappointed Disappointed Rating 👍

Shaw Just Plain Sucks

I had Telus Optik until I moved and could not get it at my new house. Shaw Blue Curve sucks plain and service is awful. Pay way too much for what you get. Internet speeds do not match what they sell you.
Load More Reviews
Promo Plan Speeds

Download: 75 Mbps

Upload: 7.5 Mbps

Shaw Home Internet is a leading internet service provider in Canada, offering reliable and high-speed internet solutions for residential customers. With a strong focus on performance, coverage, and customer satisfaction, Shaw has become a popular choice for households seeking a seamless online experience.

Internet Plans and Speeds

Shaw provides a diverse range of internet plans to suit various needs and preferences. From entry-level plans for light internet users to top-tier packages tailored for heavy streaming, online gaming, and multiple connected devices, Shaw Home Internet offers a plan for every household. Customers can choose from a variety of speeds, including Shaw's ultra-fast Fibre+ Gig plans, which deliver lightning-fast download and upload speeds, ensuring smooth and uninterrupted online activities.

Advanced Network Technology

Shaw continuously invests in advanced network technologies to maintain a cutting-edge internet infrastructure. With a combination of fiber-optic and coaxial cable technologies, Shaw's Hybrid Fibre 150 and Fibre+ Gig plans deliver fast and reliable internet to homes across Canada. The use of innovative technology ensures that customers enjoy a consistent internet experience, even during peak usage hours.

Wide Coverage

Shaw Home Internet boasts extensive network coverage in many urban and suburban areas. This wide coverage allows Shaw to serve a large customer base, making it accessible to numerous households across the country. Shaw's commitment to expanding its network footprint means that more Canadians can benefit from its high-quality internet services.

Whole Home Wi-Fi

Shaw offers Whole Home Wi-Fi solutions to ensure seamless connectivity throughout the entire home. With Shaw BlueCurve Pods, customers can extend their Wi-Fi coverage and eliminate dead spots, providing a strong signal in every corner of their living space. The BlueCurve Gateway modem, equipped with advanced Wi-Fi technology, optimizes internet performance and delivers reliable connectivity to all connected devices.

Additional Features

Shaw Home Internet comes with a range of additional features and benefits to enhance the overall internet experience. Customers can enjoy Shaw Go WiFi, which provides access to over 100,000 Wi-Fi hotspots across Canada, allowing for internet usage on the go. Shaw also offers the SmartSecurity and SafeSurf features to protect customers from online threats, ensuring a safe and secure browsing experience.

Customer Support

Shaw is dedicated to providing excellent customer support. Customers can reach Shaw's knowledgeable and friendly support team through phone, live chat, or email. The company aims to resolve any technical issues or inquiries promptly, ensuring a positive experience for its subscribers.

Flexibility and Customization

Understanding that different households have unique internet needs, Shaw Home Internet offers flexible plans and options for customers to customize their service according to their preferences. Whether customers require faster speeds, additional data, or specific features, Shaw strives to accommodate their individual requirements.

Bundle Options

Shaw provides the convenience of bundled services, allowing customers to combine internet with other Shaw offerings, such as Shaw TV and Shaw Home Phone. By bundling services, customers can enjoy cost savings and the ease of managing multiple services under a single account.

In conclusion, Shaw Home Internet is a reliable and high-performance internet service that caters to the diverse needs of Canadian households. With its advanced network technology, wide coverage, and various internet plans, Shaw ensures that customers receive fast and consistent internet connectivity. Coupled with its whole-home Wi-Fi solutions, additional features, and excellent customer support, Shaw Home Internet stands as a popular choice for those seeking a seamless and enjoyable online experience.

Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark
Load More Q&A

The Pulse of Residential Internet in Canada

The Gonevoip.ca site allows visitors to request telecom service quotations, particularly used for business and residential internet. We have been providing this service, free of charge, for the past six (6) years. Thru the unprecedented and trying times of these past couple of years, we have received more Residential quotations requests than ever before. This report narrows the focus to the residential internet service quotation requests. To find out more about what Canadians are looking for, such as the price point
Continue Reading

Rating  10     Rating  3
Report abuse

Avoid the Modem Rental Trap

Many of us have struggled with this item at the time we are shopping for internet service: the modem. The idea of a non-technical person making a determination. The typical mindset has always been around, rent along with the service provider. Now internet providers are also including 'whole home internet' or Managed Wi-Fi services, providing the modem and Wi-Fi router. All at added expenses. However that bundling, while making it easier in appearance make no mistake is a cash-grab by the
Continue Reading

Rating  8     Rating  1
Report abuse

How to file a complaint against a Provider

If you feel you have a valid complaint against your telecom provider, you are not alone. According to an article in the Financial Post complaint rates rose dramatically in 2017-2018 by a staggering 57%. In fact, the Commission for Complaints for Telecom-television Services (CCTS) reported even more startling numbers with a 75% increase in complaints between August 2017 and January 2018. Most issues revolve around non-disclosure and people finding that their contracts have been inaccurately outlined by provider representatives. GoneVoIP offers an
Continue Reading

Rating  11     Rating  1
Report abuse

Best Home Internet in Alberta

Best Alberta Internet Providers of 2021 We did the research for the Best Home Internet Plans in Alberta. We are comparing the traditional telecom giants we typically love to dis-love, with comparable plans from last-mile providers.  We are not using any fancy or automated comparison tool to find and compare for example the internet providers in Calgary or determining the best internet providers in Edmonton. At Gonevoip.ca we find the best internet plans available in Alberta right at our fingertips; we work with most of the Internet Providers in Alberta. We did
Continue Reading

Rating  7     Rating  1
Report abuse

Best Home Internet Canada

HeroNet.ca
Rating
$65 / mo.
141 Reviews

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Rating
CAD $9.45 / mo.
394 Reviews
VoIPLy
Rating
$8.95 / mo.
8 Reviews
CallCentric
Rating
$0 / mo.
11 Reviews
1-VOIP
Rating
$11.21 / mo.
21 Reviews
magicJack
Rating
$4.75 / mo.
178 Reviews
Talkit
Rating
$4.99 / mo.
79 Reviews