Nexicom Reviews & Service Offerings

Maple Leaf Company Info
Nexicom
Nexicom

Nexicom

Website: www.nexicom.net
Services: Cable, DSL, Wireless, Fiber, Dial-up, Dryloop
Availability: ON
Monthly Price: $52.95 CAD

Visit Site


5 3.5 reviewCount Get Free Quotes

Home Phone

Home Internet

Business Phone

Business Internet

 

Reviews Stats

When reviewing Nexicom Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !
Rating
1
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
4

All Reviews

June 3, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Ted Bidiuk (BRIDGENORTH , PR)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Terrible service

We have had on going problems with Nexicom for several years. We would lose phone and internet service frequently at our home and our office at work. They simply don't know how to fix it. It is so frustrating when you lose service while on the phone with a customer or using the internet. They never offer to compensate for the problems and trying to get someone on the phone is a waste of time.
February 4, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Dan Horner (Millbrook , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👍

Nexicom

I have been a customer with Nexicom for 17 years, Their service has been unreliable, Their customer service in pathetic and they do not care about you as a customer. 15 years, even 10 years ago the company had heart. How things have changed. Between their billing being wrong, defective DSL hardware, Customer service who do not know what they are doing it was driving me crazy. I had an argument with a customer service person once who said I was on DSL when I was on fibre! She said I would be billed for the modem. I have asked for a paper bill for the last year and a half as well as a password for my voicemail. never received anything, so I was paying what they had told me on the phone. So back in Oct 2018 and Nov 2018, I missed paying the bills! I have no idea why but oops. In the middle of January my internet was disconnect (after paying Decembers and January's bill). I called them up because I thought something was wrong with my internet. They said no we called you last Friday and left message. (this was Wednesday after) I told them i have never been able to access my email. So I told them I don't get paid for a week but I would pay it in full on that date. They were happy with that and would reconnect me for a fee. So I waited a day to be reconnected...Nothing. So I called them back and got the nasty customer service lady and she said it wold be connected 2 days after I paid...I cancelled everything I have with Nexicom! I know I was wrong to miss those bills, it was an honest mistake, but Nexicom did not care, they just wanted to make sure the get rid of a long standing customer.
September 1, 2018
Review Helpful? 4 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Brad McDonald (Ennismore , ON)
Feeling disappointed Disappointed Rating 👎

Declining Service

I have been with Nexicom for 5 yrs. The first four were reasonably trouble free. Not the case this year. It appears the company has become greedy, and has oversold their wireless service to a point that exceeds the capability of their infrastructure to support. There have also been extensive outages, so I suspect their infrastructure is aging, and they have not invested in maintenance or upgrades.
I subscribe to a 10Mb/s service, and the majority of this year, I have been getting from low, 0.7Mb/s to average 2.5 Mb/s.
When engaging their Customer supoort team, up to and including their Manager, "Don", as well as their filed staff, the response is "well, it is a shared service". An unacceptable response at best. I don't see them reducing my monthly fee by 80%, but they seem to feel it appropriate to provide only 20% of what I'm paying for.
Anyway, it looks like it's time to go shopping. I suggest anyone considering them for their wireless internet needs do the same.
January 23, 2018
Review Helpful? 4 Yes No 2
Submitted by: Amanda Walsh (Peterborough , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Lies

Dont let them tell u there are making notes on ùr conversation as they are onlt one sided and when then is somthing that u eant in the note that is promise it seems to disappear. There is no note and all the bull . Dont let then take u for a ride .
September 29, 2017
Review Helpful? 2 Yes No 2
Submitted by: George Crofts (Bridgenorth , ON)
Feeling disappointed Disappointed Rating 👎

Nexicom sucks

When you lost your tower, you gone down hill ever since, cable poor telephone works most of the time. Internet sucks big time never stable poor at best. Please come to service and not blow off your paying customers
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$52.95 Shipping: $0 Other: $0 Yes

Download: 40 Mbps

Upload: 10 Mbps

Cap: unlimited

Overage: 0

Nexicom is a telecommunications provider whose roots go all the way back to 1898. At that time, the Turner Telephone Company was founded and served the village of Millbrook. At the time, they were the first company to bring the telephone to those areas of Ontario. Eventually, a partnership was formed with Mr Ed Downs and the company was renamed DoCon Telephones.

When Ed Downs passed away, his sons took over the family-run business and the company was once again renamed to its present name – Nexicom.

In other words, this is a company with deep roots in telecommunications for multiple generations. When you consider that Rogers was founded in 1967, Nexicom has been around for twice as long. They know telecommunications – whether it is telephone or Internet services. Nexicom serves Ontario.

For this review of Nexicom, we will examine their Internet services and see how they stack up in comparison to Gonevoip’s top 3 Internet service providers.

Nexicom offers DSL, cable, wireless dial-up and fibre Internet packages.  

Let’s take a look at their high-speed DSL. All options include unlimited monthly usage and a one-year contract. Nexicom offers five DSL options alone, including the DSL 6, the DSL 10, the DSL 15, the DSL 25 and the DSL 50. They range in price from the cheapest (DSL 6) at $34.95 per month (for the first 3 months, before it jumps to $44.95) to the DSL 50 at $89.95 (for the first three months before it jumps to $99.95). The DSL 6 features download speeds of up to 10 Mbps and upload speeds of up to 1 Mbps, while the DSL 50 features download speeds of up to 50 Mbps and upload speeds of up to 10 Mbps.

The DSL packages all feature unlimited monthly usage, 6 email accounts, worldwide webmail access, a modem with a self-install kit provided and an option to upgrade to a wireless modem for $2 per month.  All include a reduced rate for the first 3 months before it rises to the normal rate. Dry loop fees are not included and not listed.

For Cable Internet Nexicom has the following offers:

Package Name Down Speed Up Speed Promo Rate Regular Rate
Cable 15 15 Mbps 2 Mbps $44.95/month $54.95/month
Cable 40 40 Mbps 10 Mbps $52.95/month $62.95/month
Cable 60 60 Mbps 10 Mbps $59.95/month $69.95/month
Cable 120 120 Mbps 10 Mbps $79.95/month $89.95/month

Promo rate only applies for the first 3 full months of the service - regular rate kicks-in in the fourth month onwards.

If you live in Lakefield, Hamlet, Bridgenorth or Peterborough, Nexicom offers reduced rates for cable Internet, with the same [price ranges and download/upload speeds as the DSL packages. If you live in Ontario but outside of these cities, the price jumps to $44.95 to $99.95 (for the first three months).

Nexicom offers six fiber packages with our recommended option being the Fiber 15 which checks in at $44.95 per month (for the first three months before jumping to $54.95) and offers download speeds of up to 15 Mbps and upload speeds of up to 10 Mbps.

Nexicom Internet also has a bonus student plan for a one-year internet plan at 6 Mbps download speeds; however, you need to pay the full year in advance.

Finally, Gonevoip found out that Nexicom offers two wireless packages, which have none of the promotional pricing seen with the other plans. Their basic wireless package comes in at $44.95 per month with download speeds of 3 Mbps while the other option is $69.95 at 10 Mbps

In Gonevoip's review of Nexicom Home Internet Services, Gonevoip gives them major bonus points for the community service longevity, as well with the ties to the community this implies. Gonevoip likes the plethora of options that Nexicom gives the consumers. Providing numerous options, and while they may not be the cheapest option in town, for unlimited internet usage the internet plans offered by Nexicom are definitely in the reasonable range.

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark
Load More Q&A

Best Home Internet Canada

Altima Telecom
Rating
$39.99 / mo.
Read 97 Reviews
CIK Telecom Inc
Rating
$44.99 / mo.
Read 208 Reviews
GemsTelecom
Rating
$24.99 / mo.
Read 27 Reviews

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Rating
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 177 Reviews
netTALK CONNECT ezLINQ
Rating
$7 / mo.
Read 13 Reviews
CallCentric
Rating
$0 / mo.
Read 8 Reviews