Cogeco Reviews & Service Offerings

Maple Leaf Company Info
Cogeco
Cogeco

Cogeco

Website: www.cogeco.ca
Services: Cable
Availability: ON & QC
Monthly Price: $70 CAD

1-855-462-5349

Visit Site


13 2 reviewCount Get Free Quotes

Home Phone

Home Internet

Business Phone

Business Internet

 

Reviews Stats

When reviewing Cogeco Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !
Rating
2
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
11

All Reviews

May 5, 2019
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Darren Chow (Burlington , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Unlawful Business Practices

I had been a loyal customer with Cogeco for nearly 7 years ever since moving to Burlington and after years of service I decided to switch over to Bell instead because of the better offerings and newer technology. I setup to cancel my account but was hit with a $150 contract termination fee! On my last contract renewal I was offered a slight discount and was encouraged to sign up for a phone plan at $0. The sales person told me that it was at not cost so I might as well get it, I believe they encouraged me to get it in order to get an additional $5 off. Unbeknownst to me the cable discount was only for 6 months and the phone plan extended my contract by 24 months. If I hadn't signed up for the phone plan I would not have been locked in for an additional 18 months for a service I never used. Cogeco never informed me of this 24 month contract at the time of my signing. The sales person at the time informed me that I could just negotiate after my 6 month promotion ended. So now I'm stuck with an addition $150 charge. If this is the way Cogeco treats it's loyal customers I will never use them again and not recommend others to use their services either especially if their sales practices are designed to screw over us consumers. Please share my story.
April 10, 2019
Review Helpful? 5 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Amy mastromattei (parry sound , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

GARBAGE

This is by far THE worst provider I had ever had. I was a day late on one bill and I get sent collections!!! SERIOUSLY? I had evey intention to pay and I did. They continued the service however some idiot had an option to disable the wifi on my account after my payment was already made! This took 3 days for these idiots to sort out what was going on. Not to mention we had one storm a few months ago....and because of that it did something to the modem. We called for someone to come in. They said the only available time would be just over a week from that day! Took the day off work because they don't give a specific time...did they show up?NO!!! So now I'm out a full day of work and time,a week of their bull ... ...its madness and stupidly priced. I DO NOT and would never recommend this company for your needs.
March 19, 2019
Review Helpful? 3 Yes No 1
Submitted by: ricnob (burlington , ON)
Feeling disappointed Disappointed Rating 👎

Never again Cogeco !

Dear readers,
I gave them a chance to get this service again for 12 months with their super "promo" $ 99.99 + tax. After this time and I phoned Cogeco to get a new contract service but the price jump almost 100%. My suggestion, do not go with this company, there are better and cheaper options in the market.
March 8, 2019
Review Helpful? 3 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Shibashis Dutta (Welland , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Worst customer care service

I used Cogeco internet for few months in Welland.
their customer care service is very bad. I had to wait for more than hour to get hold of someone, if I say that i am an existing customer. But if I say I am new customer my wait time is 10/15 minutes.

and when I disconnected finally they charged me 226 for modem returning issue, even though it was returned and I called up customer care and they confirmed me that there is no balance showing in my account. but still they charged it.

there should be some kind of credit score for the companies too.
If I miss any payment they will report me to credit Bureau after a month.
December 8, 2018
Review Helpful? 5 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Alana (Hornell Heights , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👍

Cogeco does not care for its existing customers

So I had internet. It was working well until a neighbor moved in beside me and opted for cogeco as well. I caught the cable man sent to hook up his internet in my backyard unhooking my internet. I stopped him the first time. Then a couple days later the cable man came back while I was at work. When I came back home I found he had not only unhooked my internet, he sliced the cable with a cable cutter then stapled in the new neighbors cable across the side of my house to hook him up to the connection I previously had. Now I have no internet. My severed cable dangles from my ba ... t ceiling. I've called cogeco to come fix it that day, instead I have to wait 2 days and get it fixed at the most inconvenient time. I'm surprised that cable man wasn't charged with trespassing and destruction of property...
December 2, 2018
Review Helpful? 6 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Brian (Sarnia , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Cogeco is absolutely the worst of the worst

We had been Cogeco users for over 10 years.
Recently we switched to Start.ca and reduced our long distance phone and 40 Mgb unlimited internet from $158.07 with Cogeco to $73.45 with Start. Both include taxes. The actual quality of the product is exactly the same, with the exception of more free options with Start voip phone.
Customer Service with Cogeco is non existent. Their service centre is a complete joke and they are completely incapable of fulfilling the most basic requests. I spent 3 hours on the phone trying to get a refund for a $158.07 overcharge to my credit card. During that time different operators hung up on me 5 times and most of the time was spent on hold. They still did not tell me when I will be receiving the refund. I have seen some jokes in my time but Cogeco are the biggest joke ever.
For anyone interested, Cogeco has an F rating with the Better Business Bureau. This is the worst rating possible.
November 14, 2018
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Jenn (Brighton , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Worst customer service everrrrrrr

PLEASE DONT WASTE YOUR TIME!!! CALL BELL!!!! THIS COMPANY HAS THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER! THEY WILL DO NOTHING TO HELP YOU. THE TECHS WONT SHOW UP... AND WILL LIE AND SAY THEY DID. YOU WILL WAIT ALL DAY FOR NOTHING! MANAGEMENT IS A FUCKING JOKE. THE WHOLE COMPANY IS A JOKE. CALL BELL IF YOU NEED SERVICES IN THE AREA.
October 22, 2018
Review Helpful? 2 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Zakkary Burton (Welland , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

10 years of loyalty down the drain

Have been LIED TO TWICE. Both on the 16th and 22nd of October the service Technician has neither showed up nor called to confirm. Both myself and my father have taken days of work to accomdate them and they have not showed up and then proceeded to say that we did not answer our phones nor were there to greet them. Now have to wait potentially 24 days for our cable to be installed. We need to take them down a peg and find alternate service provider's. Please do not subscribe nor use their services.
October 16, 2018
Review Helpful? 2 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Duncan (Sarnia , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

They Broke It

Since changing to Cogeco Connexion, Customwr service has gone missing. 1 hour wait for a person whon you usually can't understand. Then they accidently hang up on you.
Unwarranted charges on your monthly bill for things / equipment charges. I've spent 3 months trying to get my bill straightened out, and each month it gets worse.
DO NOT authorize automatic payments!!!
I'm getting rid of them ASAP.
August 28, 2018
Review Helpful? 3 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Merry (Hamilton , ON)
Feeling satisfied Satisfied Rating 👎

Most Disappointing Service

I was hopeful when I switched to Cogeco from Bell that the service would be better, instead it was so so much worse.

A month ago, Cogeco accidentally cancelled our internet. This was the information given to me after 3 hours on the phone, being transferred to 8 different people. Apparently then, 1 of the 8 people opened a ticket and didn't close it out properly which resulted in my account being stuck in the system which meant no one could do anything about it.

Understanding that they had upgraded to a new system, I tried to be patient. ONE MONTH LATER, after weekly calls, I still had no internet and their answer was the same. Someone was "looking into" the situation but had no progress.

I asked them to elevate my situation to management which I was told on several occasions was done. Not once was I ever contacted by a Cogeco representative.

When I called to cancel, the lady on the phone said unfortunately there was still nothing they could do.

We have been so extremely disappointed and angry with Cogeco and wonder how Cogeco still in service??
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$70 Shipping: $ Other: $ No

Download: 15Mbps

Upload: 2Mbps

Cap: 95GB

Overage: $2/GB

Cogeco Inc has very historical roots being one of the oldest companies to still be operating in Canada. They were founded back in 1956 and have made great strides in the telecommunications world up till now. Their headquarters can be found at Montréal, Québec H3B 0B3 Canada. They boast a very large employee force of 5,000 strong! 

They offer a variety of services ranging from Television, VoIP, internet solutions and many more! Our focus will be to review the starter residential plan that Cogeco has to offer to see whether or not it is up to par with other service providers!

Find here in this review all Cogeco Home Internet plans:

  • UltraFibre 15: 15 Mbps Download, 2 Mbps Upload, 95 GB Usage at $70 pr month
  • UltraFibre 40: 40 Mbps Download, 10 Mbps Upload, Unlimited Usage at $80 pr month. Promotion at $62 during the first 12-months.
  • UltraFibre 60: 60 Mbps Download, 10 Mbps Upload, Unlimited Usage at $95 pr month. Promotion at $67 during the first 12-months.
  • UltraFibre 120: 120 Mbps Download, 10 Mbps Upload, Unlimited Usage at $100 pr month. Promotion at $72 during the first 12-months.
  • UltraFibre 360: 360 Mbps Download, 30 Mbps Upload, Unlimited Usage at $100 pr month. Promotion at $72 during the first 12-months.
  • UltraFibre 1Gig: 1Gig Download, 30 Mbps Upload, Unlimited Usage at $77 pr month. Promotion at $77 during the first 12-months.

Let's zoom in Cogeco's Internet UltraFibre 15 plan which allows for download speeds of up to 15 Mbps and upload speeds of up to 2 Mbps. The usage cap of this plan is only 95 GBs and the total cost of the plan is $70. This price is considerably expensive in comparison to other service providers out there. Not only do they offer minimal bandwidth, but they also charge an excessive amount of money. SkyChoice internet offers a 6 Mbps plan which provides unlimited usage, at the very economical rate of $24.99 per month, while Cogeco is charging almost $30.00 extra. 

Cogeco overage charges are appallingly high as well as $2 per GB. The norm in the internet business is around $0.50 per GB, but Cogeco is charging four times that amount. After allowing such a minimal bandwidth limit, Cogeco implements a very high overcharge rate, this is a tactic to increase your monthly bill without you even being aware of how much bandwidth you have actually spent. 

There is no mention of unlimited usage times which is even more upsetting. This plan is like a stranglehold around the customer with very low bandwidth, extremely high overage charges, and no unlimited usage times! Other services providers go out of their way to provide unlimited usage times to customers if they know that they have provided an insufficient bandwidth limit, however, Cogeco sticks to its guns, and offers pretty much nothing.

Cogeco Inc needs to rework this plan if they desire it to be successful on any level. Not only are there many better options available, but there is no real unique reason to opt into Cogeco’s High-Speed Internet Express UltraFiber 15 plan. It is like every other plan except that it has a small bandwidth limit and a very high price tag. 

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark

My current download speed with bell internet is 2.38. What can I expect from Cogeco? 1748 Lakes ...

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

What is the minimum letters for a email

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

How to file a complaint against a Provider

If you feel you have a valid complaint against your telecom provider, you are not alone. According to an article in the Financial Post complaint rates rose dramatically in 2017-2018 by a staggering 57%. In �
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse

The 25 Most Popular Providers of 2018

Annually the GoneVoIP platform receives about half a million visitors. In general, the visits tend to be spread over the more than 490 service providers found in the GoneVoIP platform, though there are trends and �
Continue Reading

Rating  3     Rating  2
Report abuse

Comparing Best Home Internet Plans in Ontario

After the Home Internet rates for some of the most popular plans in Ontario were set higher we set a mission. We had to do research for the Best Home Internet Plans in Ontario. We are comparing the traditional telecom �
Continue Reading

Rating  4     Rating  0
Report abuse

Best Home Internet Canada

Altima Telecom
Rating
$29.99 / mo.
Read 65 Reviews
CIK Telecom Inc
Rating
$44.99 / mo.
Read 23 Reviews
GemsTelecom
Rating
$24.99 / mo.
Read 22 Reviews

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Rating
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 167 Reviews
netTALK CONNECT ezLINQ
Rating
$7 / mo.
Read 10 Reviews
CallCentric
Rating
$0 / mo.
Read 8 Reviews