Cogeco Reviews & Service Offerings

Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 7

Rating  14%     Rating  86%    

Add a Review     Ask a Question

Cogeco
Cogeco

Cogeco

Website: www.cogeco.ca
Services: Cable
Availability: ON & QC
Monthly Price: $65 CAD

Visit Site


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion (2): Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(7 ) Reviews + (0) Replies: 7

Rating  14%     Rating  86%

Add a Review

Ask a Question


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 7

Rating  14%     Rating  86%    

  Add a Review     Ask a Question

 

Reviews Stats

Rating
1
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
6
When reviewing Cogeco Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !

Top Positive


3 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: January 3, 2016
Submitted by: Alex Dolhescu (Oakville , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Internet problems

I had problems with my internet on Dec 31 2015.I called the technical support and Mahomed was working with me to diagnose the network. He set an appointment and a technician came over.
He was very professional doing his job.
They improve a lot lately ,technical support and technicians.


Do you find this review useful?

3 Yes No 4 Report abuse


Top Critical


4 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: August 21, 2018
Submitted by: Chris Bishop (Burlington , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

no help. don't care.

Cogeco has had a chokehold on the Halton region for far too long.
Average phone wait times to talk to a support member is anywhere from 20-30 minutes.

Then when you get on the phone, they can't help you or do anything of service.

Would not recommend based on high pricing, poor customer service, and an overall disregard of their fellow person


Do you find this review useful?

4 Yes No 0 Report abuse


All Reviews

November 14, 2018
Submitted by: Jenn (Brighton , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Worst customer service everrrrrrr

PLEASE DONT WASTE YOUR TIME!!! CALL BELL!!!! THIS COMPANY HAS THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER! THEY WILL DO NOTHING TO HELP YOU. THE TECHS WONT SHOW UP... AND WILL LIE AND SAY THEY DID. YOU WILL WAIT ALL DAY FOR NOTHING! MANAGEMENT IS A FUCKING JOKE. THE WHOLE COMPANY IS A JOKE. CALL BELL IF YOU NEED SERVICES IN THE AREA.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
October 22, 2018
Submitted by: Zakkary Burton (Welland , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

10 years of loyalty down the drain

Have been LIED TO TWICE. Both on the 16th and 22nd of October the service Technician has neither showed up nor called to confirm. Both myself and my father have taken days of work to accomdate them and they have not showed up and then proceeded to say that we did not answer our phones nor were there to greet them. Now have to wait potentially 24 days for our cable to be installed. We need to take them down a peg and find alternate service provider's. Please do not subscribe nor use their services.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
October 16, 2018
Submitted by: Duncan (Sarnia , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

They Broke It

Since changing to Cogeco Connexion, Customwr service has gone missing. 1 hour wait for a person whon you usually can't understand. Then they accidently hang up on you.
Unwarranted charges on your monthly bill for things / equipment charges. I've spent 3 months trying to get my bill straightened out, and each month it gets worse.
DO NOT authorize automatic payments!!!
I'm getting rid of them ASAP.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
August 28, 2018
Submitted by: Merry (Hamilton , ON)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Most Disappointing Service

I was hopeful when I switched to Cogeco from Bell that the service would be better, instead it was so so much worse.

A month ago, Cogeco accidentally cancelled our internet. This was the information given to me after 3 hours on the phone, being transferred to 8 different people. Apparently then, 1 of the 8 people opened a ticket and didn't close it out properly which resulted in my account being stuck in the system which meant no one could do anything about it.

Understanding that they had upgraded to a new system, I tried to be patient. ONE MONTH LATER, after weekly calls, I still had no internet and their answer was the same. Someone was "looking into" the situation but had no progress.

I asked them to elevate my situation to management which I was told on several occasions was done. Not once was I ever contacted by a Cogeco representative.

When I called to cancel, the lady on the phone said unfortunately there was still nothing they could do.

We have been so extremely disappointed and angry with Cogeco and wonder how Cogeco still in service??
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
August 28, 2018
Submitted by: Merry (Hamilton , ON)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Most Disappointing Service

I was hopeful when I switched to Cogeco from Bell that the service would be better, instead it was so so much worse.

A month ago, Cogeco accidentally cancelled our internet. This was the information given to me after 3 hours on the phone, being transferred to 8 different people. Apparently then, 1 of the 8 people opened a ticket and didn't close it out properly which resulted in my account being stuck in the system which meant no one could do anything about it.

Understanding that they had upgraded to a new system, I tried to be patient. ONE MONTH LATER, after weekly calls, I still had no internet and their answer was the same. Someone was "looking into" the situation but had no progress.

I asked them to elevate my situation to management which I was told on several occasions was done. Not once was I ever contacted by a Cogeco representative.

When I called to cancel, the lady on the phone said unfortunately there was still nothing they could do.

We have been so extremely disappointed and angry with Cogeco and wonder how Cogeco still in service??
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
4 persons found the following review useful
August 21, 2018
Submitted by: Chris Bishop (Burlington , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

no help. don't care.

Cogeco has had a chokehold on the Halton region for far too long.
Average phone wait times to talk to a support member is anywhere from 20-30 minutes.

Then when you get on the phone, they can't help you or do anything of service.

Would not recommend based on high pricing, poor customer service, and an overall disregard of their fellow person
Do you find this review useful? 4 Yes No 0 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
January 3, 2016
Submitted by: Alex Dolhescu (Oakville , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Internet problems

I had problems with my internet on Dec 31 2015.I called the technical support and Mahomed was working with me to diagnose the network. He set an appointment and a technician came over.
He was very professional doing his job.
They improve a lot lately ,technical support and technicians.
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 4 Report abuse
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$65 Shipping: $ Other: $ No

Download: 15Mbps

Upload: 2Mbps

Cap: 95GB

Overage: $2/GB

Cogeco Inc has very historical roots being one of the oldest companies to still be operating in Canada. They were founded back in 1956 and have made great strides in the telecommunications world up till now. Their headquarters can be found at Montréal, Québec H3B 0B3 Canada. They boast a very large employee force of 5,000 strong! 

They offer a variety of services ranging from Television, VoIP, internet solutions and many more! Our focus will be to review the starter residential plan that Cogeco has to offer to see whether or not it is up to par with other service providers!

Cogeco offers the High-Speed Internet UltraFibre 15 plan which allows for download speeds of up to 15 mbps and upload speeds of up to 2 mbps. The usage cap of this plan is only 95 GBs and the total cost of the plan is $65. This price is considerably expensive in comparison to other service providers out there. Not only do they offer minimal bandwidth, they charge an excessive amount of money. SkyChoice internet offers a 6 mbps plan which provides unlimited usage, at the very economical rate of $24.99 per month, while Cogeco is charging almost $30.00 extra. 

Cogeco overage charges are appallingly high as well as $2 per GB. The norm in the internet business is around $0.50 per GB, but Cogeco is charging four times that amount. After allowing such a minimal bandwidth limit, Cogeco implements a very high overcharge rate, this is a tactic to increase your monthly bill without you even being aware of how much bandwidth you have actually spent. 

There is no mention of unlimited usage times which is even more upsetting. This plan is like a stranglehold around the customer with very low bandwidth, extremely high overage charges, and no unlimited usage times! Other services providers go out of their way to provide unlimited usage times to customers if they know that they have provided an insufficient bandwidth limit, however, Cogeco sticks to its guns, and offers pretty much nothing.

Cogeco Inc needs to rework this plan if they desire it to be successful on any level. Not only are there many better options available, but there is no real unique reason to opt into Cogeco’s High-Speed Internet Express UltraFiber 15 plan. It is like every other plan except that it has a small bandwidth limit and a very high price tag. 

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark

My current download speed with bell internet is 2.38. What can I expect from Cogeco? 1748 Lakes ...

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

What is the minimum letters for a email

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

Comparing Best Home Internet Plans in Ontario

After the Home Internet rates for some of the most popular plans in Ontario were set higher we set a mission. We had to do a research for the Best Home Internet Plans in Ontario. We are comparing the traditional …
Continue Reading

Rating  3     Rating  0
Report abuse

Best Home Internet Canada

Altima Telecom
Visit Website
$49.95 / mo.
Read 39 Reviews
Distributel
Visit Website
$35 / mo.
Read 27 Reviews
GemsTelecom
Visit Website
$29.99 / mo.
Read 12 Reviews
Velcom
Visit Website
$47.95 / mo.
Read 1 Reviews
VMedia Inc
Visit Website
$19.95 / mo.
Read 3 Reviews
HeroNet.ca
Visit Website
$38.88 / mo.
Read 19 Reviews