Best BYOD
Best BYOD

CallCentric Reviews & Service Offerings

CallCentric
Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 8

Rating  88%     Rating  13%    

CallCentric
CallCentric

CallCentric

Website:
Devices:
Availability:
www.callcentric.com
iPhone, Android, SIP Phone
AB, BC, MB, NB, NF,NS, ON, QC & SK

Visit Site

Monthly Fee Setup Fee Other Fees Long Distance Rates
$0.0198 pr min $1.5 $1.95
Bring your own Device Optional

Canada: FREE
USA: FREE
Intl. Minutes: PPC

CallCentric was founded in 2001, providing services as a wholesale at first and from 2005 also serving the general public. HQ in New York, NY

Callcentric provides Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) phone service to residential and business customers worldwide. Using software on your computer or mobile device, Analog Telephone Adapters (ATA's), IP Phones, or IP PBX's, along with a broadband internet connection allows you to bypass the traditional local, long distance, and international telephone carriers resulting in significant savings for both incoming and outgoing calls. Callcentric customers receive the benefits of high quality phone calls, reduced costs, an advanced feature-set, and flexible services.

CallCentric has a complete set of features, such as 4-way calling, voicemail, smartphone and/or desktop app, support 911 and support BYOD. CallCentric separates receiving and making calls plans. CallCentric user firendly GUI and flexible, affordable and custom configurable plans make it one of gonevoip.ca BYOD providers favorites.CallCentric offers a full phone alternative with North America wide calling plans that are pay per call ($0.0198 per/min outgoing call and $0.15 per/min incoming) to $6.95 for 500 minutes North America Calling (also included is the 911 service).

You can port your number, though depending on your location a fee may apply. Though CallCentric supports Porting Canadian numbers for free. A very neat feature is the ability to assign 'extensions'; in fact these are sub-accounts so you can add new devices/lines dependant of the main one but allowing to make/receive calls on their own.

CallCentric is a top choice/best in class for those who love the freedom of BYOD! Though as noted in the article we wrote, First Encounter Setting up OBi with CallCentric; a non-technical person narrates how he got the setup to work... so if this sounds like fun for you, why not give it a try eh?

Maple Leaf Features

Call Blocking Checkmark
Conference Calling Checkmark
BYOD: Checkmark
Smartphone App: Checkmark
Call Forwarding Checkmark
Call Hold Checkmark
Caller ID Name: Checkmark
Enhanced VoiceMail: Checkmark
 

Reviews Stats

Rating
6
Rating
1
Rating
0
Rating
1
Rating
0

Top Positive


6 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: February 3, 2015
Submitted by: Josh Vanhee(Eden Mills, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Excellent even on sat-based internet

I researched long and wide, because I wanted to go with a VOIP that could work over our antenna-based internet: we are in a small community in Ontario that has no cable- or DSP-based internet available. I tried a new line with Callcentric after I purchased a Grandstream 702 to use my existing phones. It worked great. Just over one month later I ported my existing Bell line. Excellent service, quality. Of all calls, just one with lesser quality. The setup is a bit longer when you do it with Grandstream equipment, but the Callcentric website has very detailed and good instructions. I love the detailed reports as well. Highly recommend!


Do you find this review useful?

6 Yes No 0 Report abuse


Top Critical


7 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: February 4, 2015
Submitted by: Gord Duncan (Guelph, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Website a nightmare

Customer Service is only available by initiating a trouble ticket on their website. At first this was O.K. but now to log in first I have to delete their cookies then create a new password which is a Royal Pain. Also, I can't change my PIN for voice mail despite repeated tries so am unable to check voice mail from my cell phone; another Royal Pain. I am switching from Callcentric, probably to PhonePower!


Do you find this review useful?

7 Yes No 1 Report abuse


All Reviews

6 persons found the following review useful
February 2, 2016
Submitted by: Al (North Bay, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Callcentric very flexible and reliable

Hesitated making the switch to VOIP from Bell landline. Tried NetTalk first as a second line. Switched to Callcentric and transfered Bell phone number. Great customer service and quality phone calls. Very flexible plans with NO commitment. Great for phones that are used only some of the time. Love voice mail to email feature. Monthly bills range from $3.50 to $20.00 depending on usage (US funds). One or two minor problems fixed quickly by customer support. Excellent phone service! Highly recommended.
Do you find this review useful? 6 Yes No 0 Report abuse
4 persons found the following review useful
December 28, 2015
Submitted by: Stu (Oakville, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Best to talk to Family in UK

This is the best service we found to talk to family in UK. We got referred by family which was great and come to find talking between Call Centric numbers is free :) Good find...!
Do you find this review useful? 4 Yes No 0 Report abuse
4 persons found the following review useful
June 16, 2015
Submitted by: Allan Davison (Burnaby, BR)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Over about 4 yrs it's been magnificent

Hasn't skipped a beat. I haven't needed tech support. I've never had good support from ANY telephone service provider. Luckily setup on my android phone was easy. Call clarity has been clear and reliable. [This is true of two other VOIP providers I use regularly). Callcentric gets the gold star for price. Free account. Permanent free phone number. And per minute usage as close to free as makes no difference.
Do you find this review useful? 4 Yes No 0 Report abuse
7 persons found the following review useful
February 4, 2015
Submitted by: Gord Duncan (Guelph, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Website a nightmare

Customer Service is only available by initiating a trouble ticket on their website. At first this was O.K. but now to log in first I have to delete their cookies then create a new password which is a Royal Pain. Also, I can't change my PIN for voice mail despite repeated tries so am unable to check voice mail from my cell phone; another Royal Pain. I am switching from Callcentric, probably to PhonePower!
Do you find this review useful? 7 Yes No 1 Report abuse
6 persons found the following review useful
February 3, 2015
Submitted by: Josh Vanhee (Eden Mills, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Excellent even on sat-based internet

I researched long and wide, because I wanted to go with a VOIP that could work over our antenna-based internet: we are in a small community in Ontario that has no cable- or DSP-based internet available. I tried a new line with Callcentric after I purchased a Grandstream 702 to use my existing phones. It worked great. Just over one month later I ported my existing Bell line. Excellent service, quality. Of all calls, just one with lesser quality. The setup is a bit longer when you do it with Grandstream equipment, but the Callcentric website has very detailed and good instructions. I love the detailed reports as well. Highly recommend!
Do you find this review useful? 6 Yes No 0 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
January 9, 2013
Submitted by: Camelia (Toronto, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Free account is a nice bonus

I started using with my parents that are back in Romania, we both signed in for the free account thus we could call each other for free. Better call quality than Windows Messenger and we did not had to use a computer After a few months I ported my Toronto number. Beyond the known issues after Sandy hit I never had any problems. Call Centric customer support is very friendly and true to be told I'm more in contact now with my folks back home than ever before as many more had signed for free accounts overtime thus my list of free calls keeps growing.
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
January 4, 2013
Submitted by: Pascal (Montreal, QC)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Service is Great, But Reliability?

The service and the setup just works fine BUT serious reliability issues were uncovered when mega-storm Sandy hit. No geographical redundancy at the time; went days without service. Luckily we do have mobiles and had service back within a week or so. While you cannot prevent what mother nature will throw at you I would expecting to anticipate these situations. They are overall very cheap and convenient, was more hassle to switch. We are staying put but will take some time until we fully trust their reliability. I do recommend it as overall they are the best BYOD we've seen.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
January 2, 2013
Submitted by: Whitney (Edmonton, AB)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Great BYOD

Had been using Call Centric for some years now. I'm an independent financial adviser thus I'm on the phone quite a lot; I have never had complaints nor I can't complain about the sound quality. I'm not technically savvy but Callcentric website does a great job making the setup as painless as possible. I have added DID over the years, even have one in New York! Service upgrades are hassle free and do not break the bank.
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
Load More Reviews

Is the pricing shown in your web site in Canadian or US dollars?


Hello Jon. All our Pricing is in USD. And Taxes ONLY apply to New York State residents at this time.

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

costs calling Brazil and Portugal?


Hello Anthony, Here are the per minute rates: Brazil Proper: $0.0198/min(1.98cents) Brazil Mobile: $0.0880/min(8.80cents) Portugal Proper: $0.0132/min(1.32cents) Portugal Mobile: $0.0385/min(3.85cents) --- Please see our Rates page for the full list: http://www.callcentric.com/find/rate/ If you have any further questions, please feel free to email us at Support@callcentric.com Thank you

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Does CallCentric charge for the number ringing through to multpile devices? If yes, how much?


2222Thank you for your potential interest in our VoIP Phone Services, we will be happy to assist.  Call Hunting and Simultaneous Ringing are just 2 of the 40+ FREE Value Added Features that we offer.  Beyond standard usage charges, there are no extra charges for our Call Hunt and Simultaneous Ringing Features. however please note that once you complete a call using these features that standard billing will apply.   You can review a complete listing of all of our FREE Value Added Features via the following page on our website - http://www.callcentric.com/features/ Thank you, Stephen I. Callcentric Support

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

What does Multiple Users mean and why would I want this. It appears to be one of the few differences between CC and VoipMuch. (that and BYOD).


2222Thank you for your potential interest in our VoIP Phone Services, we will be happy to assist.   We offer a sub-account feature (known as “Extensions”) that will let you connect/manage up to 51 Unique Devices from a single account.  Our “Extenstions” sub-account feature is entirely free.  This feature is particularly useful for residential/business customers that are looking to connect multiple devices to use with our service but want the simplicity of being able to manage all of them from a single account.   Please note that we are a BYOD (Bring Your Own Device) VoIP Phone Service Provider; as such we do not provide nor sell any SIP Compatible hardware/software to use with our service.  With that said, our service is FULLY Compatible with the most popular SIP Compatible Hardware/Software Platforms currently available.  You can find a list of Supported/Tested Devices, as well as Step By Step Configuration Guides for each via the following page on our website – http://www.callcentric.com/support/device/   Please let us know if you have any additional questions/concerns and how we can best be of assistance. Thank you, Stephen I. Callcentric Support

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Is this a Canadian company? And, if so, do they bill in US dollars or CDN dollars?


Well, CC is HQ as far I know in New York - so my take is that they are an american company. My rates are charged in USD. Since our loonie Yo-Yos; I have to say I still find them very cheap; the exchange rate is non-impacting. Also is very reliable. T.
Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(8) Reviews + (0) Replies: 8

Rating  88%     Rating  13%

Maple Leaf Top Residential VoIP

Yak
Visit Website
$5 / mo.
Read 173 Reviews
VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 54 Reviews
1-VOIP
Visit Website
$11.21 / mo.
Read 9 Reviews
VOIPO
Visit Website
$6.21 / mo.
Read 2 Reviews
CallCentric
Visit Website
$0.0198 pr min / mo.
Read 8 Reviews
Phone Power
Visit Website
USD$5.99 / mo.
Read 53 Reviews

Maple LeafTop Internet Providers

Distributel
Visit Website
$35 / mo.
Read 5 Reviews
HeroNet.ca
Visit Website
$38.88 / mo.
Read 4 Reviews
TekSavvy Solutions Inc.
Visit Website
$27.99 / mo.
Read 2 Reviews