Best BYOD
Best BYOD

CallCentric Reviews & Service Offerings

CallCentric
Maple Leaf Company Info
CallCentric
CallCentric

CallCentric

Website: www.callcentric.com
Devices: iPhone, Android, SIP Phone
Availability: AB, BC, MB, NB, NF,NS, ON, QC & SK
Monthly Price: $0 CAD

Buy Now Visit Site


8 4.5 reviewCount Get Free Quotes

Home Phone

Home Internet

Business Phone

Business Internet

 

Reviews Stats

Rating
6
Rating
1
Rating
0
Rating
1
Rating
0

All Reviews

February 2, 2016
Review Helpful? 9 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Al (North Bay , ON)

Callcentric very flexible and reliable

Hesitated making the switch to VOIP from Bell landline. Tried NetTalk first as a second line. Switched to Callcentric and transfered Bell phone number. Great customer service and quality phone calls. Very flexible plans with NO commitment. Great for phones that are used only some of the time. Love voice mail to email feature. Monthly bills range from $3.50 to $20.00 depending on usage (US funds). One or two minor problems fixed quickly by customer support. Excellent phone service! Highly recommended.
December 28, 2015
Review Helpful? 4 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Stu (Oakville , ON)

Best to talk to Family in UK

This is the best service we found to talk to family in UK. We got referred by family which was great and come to find talking between Call Centric numbers is free :) Good find...!
June 16, 2015
Review Helpful? 6 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Allan Davison (Burnaby , BR)

Over about 4 yrs it's been magnificent

Hasn't skipped a beat. I haven't needed tech support. I've never had good support from ANY telephone service provider. Luckily setup on my android phone was easy. Call clarity has been clear and reliable. [This is true of two other VOIP providers I use regularly). Callcentric gets the gold star for price. Free account. Permanent free phone number. And per minute usage as close to free as makes no difference.
February 4, 2015
Review Helpful? 10 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Gord Duncan (Guelph , ON)

Website a nightmare

Customer Service is only available by initiating a trouble ticket on their website. At first this was O.K. but now to log in first I have to delete their cookies then create a new password which is a Royal Pain. Also, I can't change my PIN for voice mail despite repeated tries so am unable to check voice mail from my cell phone; another Royal Pain. I am switching from Callcentric, probably to PhonePower!
February 3, 2015
Review Helpful? 10 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Josh Vanhee (Eden Mills , ON)

Excellent even on sat-based internet

I researched long and wide, because I wanted to go with a VOIP that could work over our antenna-based internet: we are in a small community in Ontario that has no cable- or DSP-based internet available. I tried a new line with Callcentric after I purchased a Grandstream 702 to use my existing phones. It worked great. Just over one month later I ported my existing Bell line. Excellent service, quality. Of all calls, just one with lesser quality. The setup is a bit longer when you do it with Grandstream equipment, but the Callcentric website has very detailed and good instructions. I love the detailed reports as well. Highly recommend!
January 9, 2013
Review Helpful? 3 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Camelia (Toronto , ON)

Free account is a nice bonus

I started using with my parents that are back in Romania, we both signed in for the free account thus we could call each other for free. Better call quality than Windows Messenger and we did not had to use a computer After a few months I ported my Toronto number. Beyond the known issues after Sandy hit I never had any problems. Call Centric customer support is very friendly and true to be told I'm more in contact now with my folks back home than ever before as many more had signed for free accounts overtime thus my list of free calls keeps growing.
January 4, 2013
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Pascal (Montreal , QC)

Service is Great, But Reliability?

The service and the setup just works fine BUT serious reliability issues were uncovered when mega-storm Sandy hit. No geographical redundancy at the time; went days without service. Luckily we do have mobiles and had service back within a week or so. While you cannot prevent what mother nature will throw at you I would expecting to anticipate these situations. They are overall very cheap and convenient, was more hassle to switch. We are staying put but will take some time until we fully trust their reliability. I do recommend it as overall they are the best BYOD we've seen.
January 2, 2013
Review Helpful? 2 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Whitney (Edmonton , AB)

Great BYOD

Had been using Call Centric for some years now. I'm an independent financial adviser thus I'm on the phone quite a lot; I have never had complaints nor I can't complain about the sound quality. I'm not technically savvy but Callcentric website does a great job making the setup as painless as possible. I have added DID over the years, even have one in New York! Service upgrades are hassle free and do not break the bank.
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Other Fees Long Distance Rates
$0 FREE $1.95
Bring your own Device Optional

Canada: $0.02
USA: $0.02
Intl. Minutes: PAYG

CallCentric was founded in 2001, providing services as a wholesale at first and from 2005 also serving the general public. HQ in New York, NY

Callcentric provides Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) phone service to residential and business customers worldwide. Using software on your computer or mobile device, Analog Telephone Adapters (ATA's), IP Phones, or IP PBX's, along with a broadband internet connection allows you to bypass the traditional local, long distance, and international telephone carriers resulting in significant savings for both incoming and outgoing calls. Callcentric customers receive the benefits of high-quality phone calls, reduced costs, an advanced feature-set, and flexible services.

CallCentric has a complete set of features, such as 4-way calling, voicemail, smartphone and/or desktop app, support 911 and support BYOD. CallCentric separates receiving and making calls plans. CallCentric user-friendly GUI and flexible, affordable and custom configurable plans make it one of gonevoip.ca BYOD providers favorites.CallCentric offers a full phone alternative with North America wide calling plans that are pay per call ($0.0198 per/min outgoing call and $0.15 per/min incoming) to $6.95 for 500 minutes North America Calling (also included is the 911 service).

You can port your number, though depending on your location a fee may apply. Though CallCentric supports Porting Canadian numbers for free. A very neat feature is the ability to assign 'extensions'; in fact, these are sub-accounts so you can add new devices/lines dependant of the main one but allow to make/receive calls on their own.

CallCentric is a top choice/best in class for those who love the freedom of BYOD! Though as noted in the article we wrote, First Encounter Setting up OBi with CallCentric; a non-technical person narrates how he got the setup to work... so if this sounds like fun for you, why not give it a try eh?

Maple Leaf Features

Call Blocking Checkmark
Conference Calling Checkmark
BYOD: Checkmark
Smartphone App: Checkmark
Call Forwarding Checkmark
Call Hold Checkmark
Caller ID Name: Checkmark
Enhanced VoiceMail: Checkmark

Is it really Free?

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Is it really Free?


Hello Danial, Calls to Phone Numbers within the Callcentric Network and SIP to SIP calling is free. We also offer 40+ Features at no additional cost(https://www.callcentric.com/features/). If you have any questions about our Service or need help choosing plans, you may contact us directly using the form here: https://www.callcentric.com/contact_us.php

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Hello, there. How much I have to pay for Internet adapter?


Hello, Thank you for your potential interest in our VoIP Phone Service, we will be happy to assist with your inquiry. We are a BYOD (Bring Your Own Device) Service Provider. As such, in order to use our services you need to source/configure your own SIP Compatible Hardware (ATA Adaptor, IP Phone, etc) or Software (Softphone, IPPBX, etc). Our service WORKS GREAT with the most popular SIP Compatible Devices/Platforms currently available; including: Grandstream, OBihai, Vtech, Yealink, 3CX, Asterisk, Zoiper, etc… You can find a list of tested/supported devices, as well as a library of over 100+ Step by Step Configuration Guides via the following page on our site – https://www.callcentric.com/support/device/ Again, thank you for your interest in our services. If we can be of further assistance, please contact us directly at support@callcentric.com. Sincerely, Callcentric Support

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse

What is the minimum internet speed is required to get good results with this product?


Hello, With the high-speed internet being as fast as it is nowadays it is hardly a problem. However for some may be an issue as there are many devices to connected in the home. A general rule is if you have 1 to 5 devices connected to the internet, with occasional streaming (youtube or Netflix) then a connection of 6mbps download & 1mbps upload is fine. If there are more streaming and more devices connected then start looking for faster connections. Such as15mbps down & 5mbps up. Though note the driver is the concurrency of multiple devices competing for the connection. In itself, VoIP does not consume or require much. We have a nice article here: https://www.gonevoip.ca/internet-bandwidth-for-voip/ Hope this helps! The Gonevoip Team

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse

Is the pricing shown in your web site in Canadian or US dollars?


Can I use my regular phone with this service?


Hello Jon. All our Pricing is in USD. And Taxes ONLY apply to New York State residents at this time.

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

2016 The Year in Review

It is that magical time of the year when one can look back at the year from the rearview mirror. We started 2016 with netTALK & Iristel dispute that left thousands of Canadian customers stranded. �
Continue Reading

Rating  6     Rating  1
Report abuse

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Rating
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 173 Reviews
netTALK CONNECT ezLINQ
Rating
$7 / mo.
Read 11 Reviews
CallCentric
Rating
$0 / mo.
Read 8 Reviews
VoIPLy
Rating
$7.16 / mo.
Read 1 Reviews
VOIPO
Rating
$7.70 / mo.
Read 4 Reviews
Talkit
Rating
$4.99 / mo.
Read 57 Reviews

Best Internet Canada

Altima Telecom
Rating
$29.99 / mo.
Read 67 Reviews
CIK Telecom Inc
Rating
$44.99 / mo.
Read 25 Reviews
GemsTelecom
Rating
$24.99 / mo.
Read 22 Reviews