Yak Reviews & Service Offerings

Yak
Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 64

Rating  65%     Rating  35%    

Yak
Yak

Yak

Website:
Services:
Availability:
www.yak.ca
Cable, DSL, Wi-Fi
AB, BC, ON & QC

Visit Site

Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$29.95 Shipping: $8.95 Other: $Inst: $49.95 / Modem: $25 No

Download: 6Mbps

Upload: 1Mbps

Cap: 60GB to Unlimited

Overage: $0.50/GB

With lightning-fast speed and a generous bandwidth allowance, Yak Internet saves its customers some serious moola!

Founded in 1998 with a promise of high-quality, low-cost, contract-free service, Yak has served over 1 million Canadians from coast-to-coast.

Yak has challenged the oligopoly created by big communication companies since its inception, working around the clock to evolve its product line and expand coverage. Their goal – drive prices down to fair levels, and reduce Canada’s reliance on inflated companies who charge outrageous fees to support fat paycheques.

In 2009, Yak proudly created 120 new jobs in Canada by opening a Customer Support Center in Windsor, Ontario. 100% of its support staff are based in Canada, and committed to offering bilingual support wherever you are, whenever you need it.

About Yak Internet Service:

Yak believes Canadians deserve High-Speed Internet Service at a fair price, with no contracts and no limits. With both Cable and DSL Internet Service covering 80% of the country, they have lots of options to help you surf and save.

While other companies cap downloading or reduce your speed when you’ve used ‘too much’, Yak ensures the Internet has no limits. Think of it as true digital freedom, with the ability to surf, share, download and binge however you like.

Live in a large household? Go Unlimited (optional) and never worry about overage fees again, no matter how many devices and services are hooked up to your Internet service.

Best of all – bundle your Internet service with Yak Home Phone and really save big!

Go ahead and enjoy that extra money you’ll save. It’s time to #Ungouge.

  • Choose Your Plan: High-Speed Cable Internet and High-Speed DSL Internet are available in Ontario, Quebec, British Columbia and Alberta.
  • Choose Your Cap: 60GB, 150GB, 200GB, 250GB, 300 GB or go Unlimited.
  • Available Fixed IP for DSL
  • Unlimited: $0 for Cable, $8-$15 for DSL (depending on location and plan)
  • Connect all your household devices to Yak Internet and enjoy great service at a great price.

Why Bundle:

Avoid flashy 3-month offers on a multi-year contract, where providers treat you nicely until you’ve signed up and are locked in. With a Yak Bundle, the great service stays great, and the everyday low price you see is the price you keep. There’s no contract when you sign up – just better service and lower prices.

Plus, get up to 6 months of free Home Phone service when you Bundle today. How much will you save every year by bundling Yak Home Phone and Internet?

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark
 

Reviews Stats

Rating
10
Rating
4
Rating
3
Rating
1
Rating
14
When reviewing Yak Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling disappointed disappointed!

Top Positive


31 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: January 9, 2016
Submitted by: Leah Small(Burlington, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Very good

Great for the whole family. We bundled with Home Phone and got some additional savings. Everything has been smooth from buying, to install, to connecting with our Netflix and XBox. Spent all of the Christmas holidays streaming without data caps. Amazed by how many devices run well on one connection. We had problems with Comwave in the past, but very happy with yak.

Reply from: The Yak Team On: January 11, 2016
Hi Leah,

It sounds like your family of 'super users' is having a super amount of fun with Yak! If there's anything we can do to make your experience even better, please let us know by e-mailing marketing@yak.ca.

Sincerely,
The Yak Team


Do you find this review useful?

31 Yes No 5 Report abuse


Top Critical


28 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: October 27, 2015
Submitted by: Vince (Ottawa, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Terrrrrible

They made me pay shipping on items.. Why couldn't the tech just bring them? Not to mention the tech they sent didn't even set it up, came and left my house left internetless for another 3-4 days! Yak is terrible everyone is so bad!

Reply from: The Yak Team On: October 27, 2015
Hi Vince,

We are sorry to hear about your negative experience. It is a separate company that provides installation for our service so unfortunately we have to ship the modem separately. We hope your Internet is working now. If you have any further issues, please contact our support team at 1-877-925-4925 and we would be happy to help.

Sincerely,

The Yak Team


Do you find this review useful?

28 Yes No 6 Report abuse


All Reviews

September 8, 2017
Submitted by: Maria (Montreal, QU)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Terrrible customer service and no Internet!

Yesterday a technician came to my place to install a modem. Since then, I have no internet connection. Since this morning, I have been on the phone with Distributel trying to get it fixed, but every time I get to speak with someone after 40 minute of wait time, I get disconnected after 10 minutes and they never call me back! So I am without internet, trying to call for the 4th!!! time. None of the technicians was able to solve the problem due to the fact that the phone line cuts off and they do not call back, as they promised. I would like to cancel and get reimbursed for everything you have charged me. I would rather pay more, but have reliable services with Videotron or some other company.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
January 23, 2017
Submitted by: olga cori (Maple, ON)
Feeling: Feeling disappointed Disappointed
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

No internet Connection

I call the technician to fix my internet. She answer was: I don't know how to use windows 10 and hang up on me. Sorry your people has no manners. I don't like every body deserve respect.

Reply from: The Yak Team
January 23, 2017
Hi Olga,

This doesn't sound like a member of our team. Can you e-mail your name, account number, and brief description of the conversation to us at marketing@yak.ca? We'll look into this, and resolve right away.

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
5 persons found the following review useful
November 22, 2016
Submitted by: N (KW, ON)
Feeling: Feeling disappointed Disappointed
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Phone service good, but features recently limited

After a couple of weeks of research into various VoIP providers, I settled on Yak as the most suitable solution for me. While there are lower cost solutions, for me it struck the balance between cost/value/support. The sign-up process went smoothly enough including having my existing phone number ported from Bell. So far the phone service has been good and the support has been mostly helpful.

Here's where my disappointment and frustration come in. When I was doing my research earlier in November 2016 I was comparing cost/features/reviews of various providers. After I had finally signed up for Yak, the criteria that I thought I based my decision on had significantly changed!

The first change I realized after I had signed up was that there were no longer 200 LD minutes included with the basic plan (as was stated earlier in the month while researching – view a Google cached version of this page: https://www.yak.ca/digital-home-phone). That turned out to not be a deal break, because I don't do much long distance and will just have to pay Yak's standard rates. OK, that's fine.

Then I realized that the whole account Web interface on Yak.ca is inaccessible to me as a new customer. That means no access to features that I was counting on and that I based my decision on. For example, I was planning to receive email notifications for new voicemail messages - as a backup in case of an extended power outage or if I'm away. Also, I had planned on using my Yak VoiP account from a PC using X-Lite, as was highlighted on Yak's site.

So why couldn't I access these features and why had so many things changed within a week or two? I learned that because Distributel acquired Yak recently that new customers were essentially not getting the Yak features that were standard as recently as the beginning of November (yet having to pay the same price still). Even if I had realized Yak had changed hands, I couldn't have predicted that multiple features would be stripped!

My disappointment and frustration come from the fact that I had expectations of what features the service included and the reality was something very different. I only wish that this had been communicated better so that I could have made an informed decision. Instead I had to learn this from a series of calls to customer service and technical support - which of course were not really able to help me because they couldn’t give me these features that I had thought I was getting. Again, I'm not displeased with the core service, but my decision would have been definitely influenced by this reality. I am feeling some buyer's remorse.

Reply from: The Yak Team
November 22, 2016
Hi N,

You are correct - our prime service offering did change in November, with respect to LD minutes offered on a Basic plan, and the softphone and web functionality.

We are proud of the service and features Yak offers - there is no contract to sign, because we know that those who choose Yak typically love Yak. If Yak Home Phone is no longer what you were looking for, we understand.

We will continue working to ensure Yak is a service you are proud to have in your household. We hope you'll stick with us and enjoy all Yak has to offer.

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 5 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
November 14, 2016
Submitted by: Doug Frech (Newcastle, ON)
Feeling: Feeling disappointed Disappointed
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Terrible Customer Service

Awful experience and waste of time. Tried to switch to bundled package, Techs failed to arrive on day specified. Took 4 calls to finally get them to come at arranged time. I specifically asked can I keep my phone number if I switch internet and phone to Rogers and was assured 3-4 times that I could but when techs arrived said I could not! The tech who was nice and very apologetic was shown the door. Very poor coordination and implementation. Not dealing with a customer service that inept.

Reply from: The Yak Team
November 15, 2016
Hi Doug,

Are you sure your experience was with Yak and not Rogers (as stated at one point in your review)? Our Install team arrives within the window provided for Internet only (not Home Phone), and has no influence over keeping or switching a phone number (this is conducted by our team at service purchase).

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
November 7, 2016
Submitted by: Anne (Ottawa, ON)
Feeling: Feeling disappointed Disappointed
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Unreliable

I've been using Yak home phone and internet service for a bit more than a year now and can't say I'd recommend it.

It's unreliable. I have to reset/restart the modem and ATA 2 or 3 times a month. Although I have to say that this wasn't the case when I first started using their service. It has increased in the last 4 months or so.

So, I am shopping around for a new provider.

Reply from: The Yak Team
November 8, 2016
Hi Anne,

Have you spoken with a member of our Technical Support team? There is a known issue affecting many in Ontario. We'd be happy to troubleshoot with you. Please give us a call at 1-877-925-4925.

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 0 Report abuse
6 persons found the following review useful
October 5, 2016
Submitted by: Meiko (toronto, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

don't sign up with YAK

To cut the cost of landline telephone cost, I changed to YAK from Rogers (Rogers Internet , phone, TV Cable became unaffordable and expensive and increasing more and more), We managed the monthly telephone bill down by $30-40 monthly, but the landline connections were frequantly down every time Roger's upgrade the server (every once in a months or 2weeks). YAK should mention this problem prior to the customers who are inquiring their service. After trying for about 15 months, YAK even stop dealing the problems and not picking my calls or stop taking my calls. At the end I had to lose my land phone number that was with us many years. Very bad business practice.

Reply from: The Yak Team
October 14, 2016
Hi Meiko,

It's possible that conflicting hardware impacted service. We would be happy to find a permanent solution for you, with your help, if you decide to return to Yak.

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 6 Yes No 3 Report abuse
8 persons found the following review useful
September 26, 2016
Submitted by: Mark Kulinski (Calgary, AL)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Unreliable Service / Horrible Support

I have been using YAK Home Phone service since June 2016. It has been down more often than up. Customer service people are poorly trained and ready to offer excuses why service doesn't work rather than trying to resolve the issue. Super long wait times to speak to anybody at "Technical Support". Once you get finally a live "Help Desk" person they seem to be lost. They keep switching between different "profiles" what usually works for a day or two and than phone line goes down again. Messages left at their system to call back NEVER get any response. Hardware they use is made by Cisco so it should be reliable. I lost count how many times I had to reset their phone adapter connected to SHAW Internet. If I knew how unreliable their service is I would have never bought it. STAY AWAY from YAK if you do not want to be constantly frustrated.

Reply from: The Yak Team
September 27, 2016
Hi Mark,

We would be happy to look into this issue for you and find out way your service isn't working as it should be. We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused. Please email your account number to reviews@yak.ca so we can look into this for you.

Sincerely,

The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 8 Yes No 1 Report abuse
8 persons found the following review useful
August 2, 2016
Submitted by: Cindy (Hamilton, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Rip Off

I have to say, Yak Internet services is a total rip-off. I had called and asked to have my internet service with them terminated as of July 23/2016. I called today and found out that it wasn't done. The service, at best, was very intermittent and I had to unplug the system and restart it multiple times throughout an evening. I had nothing but issues with the service from day one. Now, because I trusted that the service would have been disconnected as of July 23/16, like I had asked, I will be billed for a portion of the month that I never even used their internet services...a total rip off.

Reply from: The Yak Team
August 2, 2016
Hi Cindy,

If you provide your account number (via marketing@yak.ca), we'll take a look into things and see if any charges can be reversed. If not, we'll provide a full explanation of the charges incurred.

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 8 Yes No 1 Report abuse
7 persons found the following review useful
July 28, 2016
Submitted by: Ben (Calgary, AL)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Very unreliable

The price is pretty decent and it seemed like very good value for money, but unfortunately I cannot recommend yak. Don't think I ever actually got the speed I paid for, frequent outages and very rude and unhelpful customer service. When it worked it worked ok, but just too unreliable. Against my better judgement I am switching to Shaw

Reply from: The Yak Team
August 2, 2016
Hi Ben,

Sorry to hear your experience was less than expected. We're happy to recommend different equipment to boost your speed, if you decide to give Yak another shot.

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 7 Yes No 0 Report abuse
4 persons found the following review useful
July 28, 2016
Submitted by: dan (montreal, QU)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Great

So i've been with them for a year now, first I took the 10 download 1 upload plan, which wasn't that great (I was really getting 8 down and 0,5 up)
For this I had to give a 100$ deposit (so I could borrow their modem) and a 90$ installation fee.
Connection was stable and all.
Then I decided to upgrade to 25 up 10 down (the upgrade was free of any charge and they lent me a better modem)
Now I'm getting exactly as advertised 25 down 10 up and stable connection.

Bare in mind this is Bell's service basically, they're just a reseller, so when you have a problem Bell come's to fix it.

The only downside is sometimes the slow waiting on customer support, but once you get someone on the phone they're very helpful

Reply from: The Yak Team
August 2, 2016
Hi Dan,

We're glad to hear you're enjoying Yak Internet. If you have any questions, please feel free to send a note our way (marketing@yak.ca).

Sincerely,
The Yak Team
Do you find this review useful? 4 Yes No 1 Report abuse
Load More Reviews

I have a pay as you go an which gives me 50 minutes phone time unlimitedly text and photo + 25 mb data which is general OK .can I get some better from yak yak and at what price?thank yoy


Hi Andre, Thank you for the question. Yak doesn't offer mobile plans at this time. Sincerely, The Yak Team

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Is the service available in my area/


Hi Richard, Please e-mail us your address, including postal code (marketing@yak.ca). We're happy to look into this for you. Sincerely, The Yak Team

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Do you provide internet in Abbotsford, BC?


Hi Brayden, Please give our team a call to determine what we can offer at your address (1-877-925-4925). Sincerely, The Yak Team

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Is the Cisco ATA you supply locked to YAK or can I add other services to it? i.e. Google Voice


Hi Craig. The Cisco ATA is hardwired for Yak service only. If you're unsure how amazing our service is, you can rent the ATA for 4.45 per month (yours to own after 12 months). If you have any addi

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Does Yak provide Internet in Surrey, BC?


Hi Alana,We do! For more information, please give us a call at 1-877-925-4925.Sincerely,The Yak Team

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(32) Reviews + (32) Replies: 64

Rating  65%     Rating  35%

Maple Leaf Top Internet Providers

Distributel
Visit Website
$35 / mo.
Read 5 Reviews
HeroNet.ca
Visit Website
$38.88 / mo.
Read 4 Reviews
TekSavvy Solutions Inc.
Visit Website
$27.99 / mo.
Read 2 Reviews

Maple LeafTop Residential VoIP

Yak
Visit Website
$5 / mo.
Read 173 Reviews
VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 54 Reviews
1-VOIP
Visit Website
$11.21 / mo.
Read 9 Reviews