WISP Reviews and Plans

Provider Summary Information
WISP
WISP

WISP

Website: www.wisponline.ca
Services: DSL
Coverage: Rural Ontario
Monthly : $35.00 CAD

7 2.5 reviewCount Request Quotes

Home Phone

Home Internet

Business Phone

Business Internet

 
FACT: When reviewing WISP visitors in most cases feel Feeling satisfied satisfied!!
Rating
3
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
1

All Reviews

March 5, 2021
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Murray McMillan (Camborne , ON)
Feeling happy Happy Rating 👍

WISP Is Awesome

I ran a Download rest yesterday and I got 30 megs Down and 5 Megs up with a 35 Ping/latency...that ius what I am talking about.
January 27, 2019
Review Helpful? 3 Yes No 2
Submitted by: David Nielsen (Beaverton , ON)
Feeling satisfied Satisfied Rating 👍

Totally satisfied

wisp is a growing internet service provider in rural Ontario.While they have had to persevere major storm damage to some of their towers in spring of 2018, resulting in undesirable service interuptions to some of their clients, they seem to be getting back on track and continuing to developed their network and services. I have had to persevere Bell and Explore net for many years and was and am so overwhelmingly glad these folks came along. Small but growing private company, great product. Totally satisfied. David.
November 28, 2018
Review Helpful? 14 Yes No 2
Submitted by: patrick doyle (Port Perry , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Terrible

This company is a scam. They are not really in the business of selling internet, but more so in the business of taking on 'investors' money to pay off previous 'investors', it is essentially a ponzi /pyramid scheme... Chris Evelyn (CEO of this ... hole of a business), has been previously sued numerous time in the past for doing this. How? Well, he finds people who don't understand the technology and who also have substantial capital to invest. He then promises them a low risk 200+% on their return over 20 years. All they have to do is become a 'Broadband Superhero' by giving him $40k; in return he uses $10k of that 'investment' to build, equip and install a tower on the 'investor's' property, while using the remaining funds to pay off previous 'investors' ... All the people that have been duped by this guy will never get what he promised them. Nor has anyone. Chris, your only skill is being a lying thief... Soon you are going to be in jail.

Reply from: Chris Evelyn
September 3, 2020
This review is fake. I am the president and owner of WISP internet Services. All you need to do is look at the name the review is posted under. My full name is Patrick Christopher Doyle Evelyn, and i've gone by Chris my entire life. The individual who posted this review was obviously trying to stir up trouble and thought he or she was being funny by using my name. What's more, It's currently September 2020, 2 years since the obviously fake reply was posted stating that there was an investigation under way. To the best of my knowledge there is not now, nor has there ever been any investigation by the police into WISP. certianly neither myself nor any of my staff have been contacted by anyone at the police department. I would encourage anyone looking for internet service to give us a call and check us out.

Reply from: John Law
December 21, 2018
OPP investigation is underway. If you or anyone you know has been scammed please spread the work and
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$35.00 Shipping: $15.00 Other: $75.00 No

Download: 4 MBPS

Upload: 1 MBPS

Cap:

Overage:

WISP Internet is a Canadian telecommunications company. Some of the services they provide include Internet services, home networking, security services, and tower building.

Wisp serves rural Ontario areas and has headquarters in tranquil Bowmanville, Ontario.

In our review of WISP Internet, we will examine their Internet service plans and see how it compares with GoneVoip’s top three Internet service providers. Upon visiting their website, it was not working fully and the logo was missing.

WISP offers four main types of Internet service plans: The WISP Basic, the WISP Standard, the WISP Turbo and the WISP Express.

The WISP Basic, as the name suggests, is their most basic and inexpensive plan. It checks in at $39.95 a month, and their website states that their most basic entry-level is the equivalent of many of their competitors' most expensive packages. Included is up to 5 MBPS download speeds, up to 1 MBPS upload speeds, a dynamic public IP address, no contracts, no bandwidth limits, and 5 WISP email accounts.

The WISP Standard is stated as the company’s most popular package and comes in at $59.95 per month... It states that it allows you to stream full HD Netflix and is an excellent option for light gaming. This, therefore, leads us to believe that the basic package does not allow you to do those things. Included in this package is 9 MBPS download speeds, 2 MBPS upload speeds, a dynamic public IP address, no bandwidth limits, and no contracts.

The WISP Turbo keeps with the trend of each package raising in monthly cost by $20. The WISP Turbo comes in at $79.95. Includes are 11 MBPS download speeds, 3 MBPS upload speeds, 10 WISP emails, a static IP address and again no bandwidth limits or contracts.

The WISP Express comes in at $99.95 ($60 difference between WISP basic) and features download speeds of up to 14 MBPS, upload speeds of up to 4 MBPS, a static public IP address, 10 WISP email accounts, no contracts, and no bandwidth limits.

The WISP Flash costs $109.95 per month and provides 18 Mbps Download, 5 Mbps Upload, your own IP address and 18 WISP email addresses.

WISP offers equipment rentals for $15 per month. If you do rent the modem, the installation is free. Alternatively, you can buy the equipment and the installation cost is $400 (which includes one month of free service). Furthermore, if you do not have a pre-existing mounting point for the hardware such as a TV tower or an empty satellite mount) otherwise there is an additional cost for the satellite mount of $75.

In our review of WISP, we thought the company offers reasonable packages with a clear and concise feature and price upgrade concept for all the different types. There are no hidden charges or contracts. $20 more for each level, with good increases for each additional level.

WISP Internet is not the cheapest option but they still offer good value, specifically with the WISP standard package. 

Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark
Load More Q&A

How to file a complaint against a Provider

If you feel you have a valid complaint against your telecom provider, you are not alone. According to an article in the Financial Post complaint rates rose dramatically in 2017-2018 by a staggering 57%. In fact, the Commission for Complaints for Telecom-television Services (CCTS) reported even more startling numbers with a 75% increase in complaints between August 2017 and January 2018. Most issues revolve around non-disclosure and people finding that their contracts have been inaccurately outlined by provider representatives. GoneVoIP offers an
Continue Reading

Rating  6     Rating  1
Report abuse

Best Rural Internet Canada

XPlorNet
Rating
$59.99 / mo.
171 Reviews

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Rating
CAD $9.45 / mo.
286 Reviews
netTALK CONNECT ezLINQ
Rating
$7 / mo.
23 Reviews
VoIPLy
Rating
$8.95 / mo.
5 Reviews
CallCentric
Rating
$0 / mo.
10 Reviews
1-VOIP
Rating
$11 / mo.
17 Reviews
Transat Telecom
Rating
$14.95 / mo.
0 Reviews