Voip.com Reviews & Service Offerings

Voip.com
Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 6

Rating  100%     Rating  0%    

Add a Review     Ask a Question

Voip.com
Voip.com

Voip.com

Website: www.voip.com
Devices: PC, iOS & Android
Availability: AB, BC, MB, ON & QC
Monthly Price: $8.33 CAD

Visit Site


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion (4): Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(6 ) Reviews + (0) Replies: 6

Rating  100%     Rating  0%

Add a Review

Ask a Question


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 6

Rating  100%     Rating  0%    

  Add a Review     Ask a Question

 

Reviews Stats

Rating
5
Rating
1
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
0

Top Positive


Submitted on: January 3, 2013
Submitted by: James (Richmond Hill , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

It Just works...!

We had moved to our new home really we wanted to have something else than the usual. The builder offered a bundle with Rogers; luckily we only took the Internet option and signed with Voip.com - we use the Panasonic DECT cordless phones; the Grandstream ATA is connected downstairs to the base where the Rogers router is. Setup was relatively easy; although you do have to be patient to make the first call! It takes a few minutes until the ATA gets all the configuration and is ready to start making calls. Signed up for the yearly plan, found a $10 discount coupon so the offer was hard to pass.


Do you find this review useful?

0 Yes No 0 Report abuse


Top Critical


Submitted on: January 13, 2013
Submitted by: Colin (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Port number for free - minor hiccups

Overall meets expectations and the fact our number was ported for free (I bought my own ATA) it really puts voip.com apart from other providers. I do still experience some call quality issues, breakups but had been unable to determine if its related to the ISP (Acanac) or voip.com So far voip.com customer service had been very responsive and as far as I can tell have gone out of their way to resolve the issue. I'm leaning towards an ISP issue simply because when I use the softphone from my laptop at work I had never experienced any issues. Will see, for now I cannot honestly give 5-stars for sound quality.


Do you find this review useful?

0 Yes No 0 Report abuse


All Reviews

January 9, 2014
Submitted by: Ravi Sher (Brampton , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Excellent

Had been using VOIP for a while; I simply switched from Vonage to Voip.com for 2-simple reasons features and price. I wanted to have a softphone to use with my laptop; which voip.com provides at no charge. Been a couple of months and thus far notice no difference with call quality. Would recommend.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
February 5, 2013
Submitted by: Dino (Woodbridge , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Ciao Bell

Ported from Bell, I had been paying over $40 with Bell only for local calls. Now I have the world plan, we can call about 50 plus countries for under $20! They have amazing features, a note with the unlimited plan seems there are some restrictions, some 1200 minutes per month...(that's 20 hours of straight talking) My wife has family in Brazil and since we switched she started talking with her relatives every day. You have to keep an eye on the limitation their service is simply great; we had been using it for a few months without major glitches.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
January 13, 2013
Submitted by: Colin (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Port number for free - minor hiccups

Overall meets expectations and the fact our number was ported for free (I bought my own ATA) it really puts voip.com apart from other providers. I do still experience some call quality issues, breakups but had been unable to determine if its related to the ISP (Acanac) or voip.com So far voip.com customer service had been very responsive and as far as I can tell have gone out of their way to resolve the issue. I'm leaning towards an ISP issue simply because when I use the softphone from my laptop at work I had never experienced any issues. Will see, for now I cannot honestly give 5-stars for sound quality.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
January 12, 2013
Submitted by: Ryan (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Great Features

Had been using VOIP for a while; I simply switched from Vonage to Voip.com for 2-simple reasons features and price. I wanted to have a softphone to use with my laptop; which voip.com provides at no charge. Been a couple of months and thus far notice no difference with call quality. Would recommend.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
January 7, 2013
Submitted by: Stacey (Calgary , AB)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Customer Service

In this time and age is hard to find good customer service. We had an issue connecting calls to a particular phone number that so happens is someone else in our family, their customer support went out of their way to make sure calls connected. Also, we are on their monthly plan and are seriously considering to renew to one of the pre-paid yearly plans.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
January 3, 2013
Submitted by: James (Richmond Hill , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

It Just works...!

We had moved to our new home really we wanted to have something else than the usual. The builder offered a bundle with Rogers; luckily we only took the Internet option and signed with Voip.com - we use the Panasonic DECT cordless phones; the Grandstream ATA is connected downstairs to the base where the Rogers router is. Setup was relatively easy; although you do have to be patient to make the first call! It takes a few minutes until the ATA gets all the configuration and is ready to start making calls. Signed up for the yearly plan, found a $10 discount coupon so the offer was hard to pass.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Other Fees Long Distance Rates
$8.33 FREE
Bring your own Device Optional

Canada: FREE
USA: FREE
Intl. Minutes: FREE 60

Here's an attractive bundle when looking for a home phone alternative, basically you get two lines at price of one; the fact is one is a cloned line. Virtual duplexing; it allows to use the same phone number to make simultaneous and independent outbound calls. Ideal Home Phone alternative for those families with ever busy phone lines eh! It also comes with 45+ premium features, unlimited minutes to US and Canada, FREE number portability plus FREE 60 minutes worldwide for a very low monthly payment or opts for the unlimited worldwide calling for a few more dollars month - over 50 countries. Voip.com provides a very handy softphone and for those who like BYOD you can do that too., Voip.com actually has one of the most extensive hardware compatibility lists we have seen. Note though Voip.com does provides an ATA that's is quite nice, usually is a dual port InnoMedia or GrandStream FREE of charge, perhaps even more than what most would ever use in a home phone - The InnoMedia (or GrandStream) supports two lines plus an extra Ethernet port. A very good feature available at no extra cost is one called failsafe, in where a pre-configured phone number is configured to route calls in the event the internet connection is down. Usually, that phone number will be a mobile of the homeowner.

With that said it is one of the best VoIP Providers in North America at the moment - Voip.com has a very good track record and user experience and have a number of different offerings to make this a solid choice for your home phone alternative.  Voip.com is part of Phone Power family; the largest privately held VoIP Provider in North America.

Note Voip.com is now BroadVoice

For any further questions you may call us at 1-855-456-9021 we'll do our best to help you chose!

Maple Leaf Features

Call Blocking Checkmark
Conference Calling Checkmark
BYOD: Checkmark
Smartphone App: Checkmark
Call Forwarding Checkmark
Call Hold Checkmark
Caller ID Name: Checkmark
Enhanced VoiceMail: Checkmark
Load More Q&A

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 121 Reviews
Yak
Visit Website
$5 / mo.
Read 185 Reviews
Phone Power
Visit Website
$7.40 / mo.
Read 55 Reviews
VOIPO
Visit Website
$7.70 / mo.
Read 3 Reviews
CallCentric
Visit Website
FREE / mo.
Read 8 Reviews
1-VOIP
Visit Website
$11.21 / mo.
Read 15 Reviews

Best Internet Canada

Altima Telecom
Visit Website
$49.95 / mo.
Read 37 Reviews
Distributel
Visit Website
$35 / mo.
Read 27 Reviews
HeroNet.ca
Visit Website
$38.88 / mo.
Read 18 Reviews
VMedia Inc
Visit Website
$19.95 / mo.
Read 1 Reviews
GemsTelecom
Visit Website
$29.99 / mo.
Read 12 Reviews