Surf Internet Reviews & Service Offerings

Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 68

Rating  59%     Rating  41%    

Add a Review     Ask a Question

Surf Internet
Surf Internet

Surf Internet

Website: www.surfinternet.ca
Services: Cable
Availability: BC
Monthly Price: $19.99 CAD

1-855-462-5349

Visit Site


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion (4.5): Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(41 ) Reviews + (27) Replies: 68

Rating  59%     Rating  41%

Add a Review

Ask a Question


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 68

Rating  59%     Rating  41%    

  Add a Review     Ask a Question

 

Reviews Stats

When reviewing Surf Internet Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling satisfied satisfied !
Rating
12
Rating
2
Rating
4
Rating
1
Rating
22

All Reviews

July 11, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: yash Sharma (surrey , BC)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

NEVER EVER- SURF INTERNET

Zero credibility , Con Company . They will Lure you with cheap plan there after will extract money with different ways BUY Compatible modem etc. If you set direct payment they will keep charging even if scheme changed or discontinued . I wrongly paid whole year amount even then I was charged for 2 months . Pathetic worst experience . Very unfriendly staff . Surely BIG BIG Harassment . SOLID NO NO
October 30, 2018
Review Helpful? 3 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Melody (Pitt Meadows , BR)
Feeling disappointed Disappointed Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Surf Media TV

Customer service here is horrible. And I do think they are self destructive.

Often on weekends only, 50% or more of the channels are all black. Why weekends only? My guess is they do maintenance. So my questions are: Why not at 1 am any day of the week? Why not put that in a message when you call in? Call in on Sa ... ay they unexpectedly call back on Sunday when they are supposedly closed.

While the TV has improved with the new EPG, I wonder how or if they have informed their customers of the upgrade. How many others are on the edge just waiting for Telus or Shaw to knock on their door so they can switch to a more reliable product.

Wake up Surf!

Reply from: Melody
November 1, 2018
Thanks George. All news to me. When are you planning on updating your existing customers?

Reply from: George
November 1, 2018
Dear Melody,

The TV services, we are constantly improving and adding more, for less money.

We try our best to keep the costs down as much as possible. We offer Basic TV (over 24 channels) for 80 per YEAR!, this is the cheapest price in Canada.

We now introduced Voice Command Surf TV, to use voice to search for channels, shows ...etc.

Also, we improved the PVR and Recordings in our latest version 16.3.

thanks,
October 19, 2018
Review Helpful? 5 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Camtu (Richmond , BC)
Feeling satisfied Satisfied Rating ๐Ÿ‘

Internet

Countless problems, don't send technician to check, have to come to their office with the equipment in order to get it fix.

Don't refund deposit when you close the account.
August 3, 2018
Review Helpful? 4 Yes No 0
Submitted by: camtu (Richmond , BR)
Feeling unpleasantly_surprised Unpleasantly Surprised Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Services

Unreliable TB box and internet.
Too many issues. Don't send technicians over to solve a problem, you have to come to them in order to get it fix.
July 5, 2018
Review Helpful? 6 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Gerry Greensale (Port Coquitlam , BR)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Customer Service

Customer Service is not their forte. They only answer the phone, if they have time, between 10am and 8pm. And if they cannot fix they say they will have a technician call in the next 24 hours. Back to Shaw!!!!!
May 1, 2018
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 2
Submitted by: Jack (Vancouver , BR)
Feeling satisfied Satisfied Rating ๐Ÿ‘

Great price

Surf internet gave me a very good price for TV with only 12$/month and sent the technician for me for free to make all the setup, really good service, and great price.
May 1, 2018
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 2
Submitted by: Ramy (vancouver , BR)
Feeling satisfied Satisfied Rating ๐Ÿ‘

great support

My internet was down and i depend on it as i work from home, i called surfinternet and they promised me to send a technician, actually i did not believe it, but i found George at my door after short time and he fixed everything to me
January 7, 2018
Review Helpful? 2 Yes No 2
Submitted by: Hao (Richmond , BR)
Feeling satisfied Satisfied Rating ๐Ÿ‘

Can't access modem

Ordered online. After that no email no phone call. But the installation guy showed up without any notice.
No big problem so far. Internet speed is fast as advertised. But there are several "no internet access" moments every day.
Try to access modem by 192.168.0.1 but to no avail.
Emailed to their only email account and the reply said will forward to technical support. Then nothing happened.
So I still can't access the modem to change any setting.
December 15, 2017
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 1
Submitted by: George (Vancouver , BR)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Phone calls to US

When signed up for one year, phone calls to most parts of the US was free, that was in October 2017 now i see there are charging $0.03215/min to all the states i checked recently. They advertise free phone calls to over 90 percent of North America?I phoned to inform them of the problem but got the runarround, they say it's not them it's the carrier they deal with.
I don't care all i know is when i signed up with this company, phone calls were free to California, now they are "NOT" . I guess i got what i paid for, low price low quality.

Reply from: Jim Morganson
July 5, 2018
Try VOIP.MS. it is more reliable and will cost a bit more and YOU have control of it.

Reply from: George Sun
February 21, 2018
Hi George, i know it's a bit late with my reply. I know for a fact I DID NOT dial 0116 on my US call, now i triple check all my country code now so long distance charges don't happen again. I also spoke to three of your reps about what happened, not one have a correct explanation for me on my long distance charges.

While i'm on the subject. Why can't i phone overseas to Australia or Fiji, every time i phone i get a busy signal with the Australia number (country code 61) and the message " The number you are calling is currently unavailable" with the Fiji number(country code 679).

I sent a message thru your website but no reply, it's been 4 days now.

Reply from: George
December 18, 2017
Dear George,

to confirm, you dialed 011626 by mistake, which takes to international Indonesia. To call USA, you simply dial 1 + 626 ... etc.

thanks,

Reply from: George
December 18, 2017
Dear George,

Calls to USA as advertised is free. I checked your case, you dialed number 011+ country code, instead of dialing the standard +1 + area code. This caused the billing issue.

thanks,
November 2, 2017
Review Helpful? 2 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Zien (Burnaby , BR)
Feeling satisfied Satisfied Rating ๐Ÿ‘

the special deal with good price

I joined Surf since last Month the price was given better than any other price
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$19.99 Shipping: $ Other: $85 No

Download: 5 Mbps

Upload: 1 Mbps

Cap:

Overage:

Surf Internet is an internet service provider which serves Vancouver AND Lower Mainland, British Colombia. Surf Internet’s actual corporation name is IAAK Technologies Inc. and their HQ is in Coquitlam, British Colombia. Surf Internet is made up of a team of Canadian engineers and it was founded in 2013. In our review of Surf Internet, we will take a look at the residential internet packages Surf Internet offers and we will examine the company’s fee structure.

Surf Internet has three residential broadband cable internet packages all available with no contract.

The “Unlimited Internet 5” comes in at $19.99 per month plus taxes and includes unlimited data usage along with download speeds of 5 Mbps and upload speeds of 1 Mbps.

The “Unlimited Internet 25” costs $29.99 per month plus taxes and includes unlimited data usage and download speeds of 15 Mbps and upload speeds of 2.5 Mbps.

The “Unlimited Internet 75” costs $39.99 plus taxes and includes unlimited data usage and download speeds of 30 Mbps and upload speeds of 7.5 Mbps.

The “Unlimited Internet 150” costs $59.99 plus taxes and includes unlimited data usage and download speeds of 30 Mbps and upload speeds of 15 Mbps.

The “Unlimited Internet 300” costs $69.99 plus taxes and includes unlimited data usage and download speeds of 30 Mbps and upload speeds of 20 Mbps.

All three of the packages have a one-time installation fee of $85 and all include a complimentary cable modem and a complimentary wireless modem.

The prices Surf Internet are offering may be the best we have yet to see in Canada. Gonevoip’s Top 3 ISPs of Yak, TekSaavy, and Distributel have similar packages available in BC which are all more expensive. Yak has an unlimited cable internet package with download speeds of 15 Mbps for $42.95. TekSaavy offers an unlimited cable internet package with download speeds of 10 Mbps for $34.95.Worldline has an unlimited cable internet package with download speeds of up to $54.95. As you can see, Surf Internet services for the Home do truly trump the prices from the competition. It is important to note that these companies serve the vast majority of Canada, while Surf Internet is a small startup which only serves Vancouver and Lower Mainland, British Colombia.

Surf Internet states they are able to provide these prices thanks to new wireless technology that makes it cheaper for you to connect to the internet and offers a better service as well. The Surf Internet website was not working properly to see exactly what the innovative technology is. There were other broken links which limited our access to the terms and conditions. We will update this when the site is working properly.

To sum up our review of Surf Internet, we are amazed at the prices they are able to offer. The most expensive package they offer at $39.99 is still one of the best prices on the market, while their basic package is the best price in the country that we have seen. The installation fee of $85 is reasonable and the only additional charge we could find. There are also no contracts. It is extremely encouraging sign for the rest of Canada, a country with one of the most expensive internet prices in the world, that a new startup is able to offer unlimited data for such a reasonable price.

If you live in Vancouver or Lower Mainland, we highly recommend Surf Internet although we still have yet to access their terms and conditions. If you live outside of these cities, then we can only hope that this will be the start of a trend in the right direction for residential internet service.

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark

I would like to purchase my own Cable Modem for your Fiber Optic installs with speeds up to 1000 Mbps. Can advise as to what is requirred to connect to your internet service,

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

what modem I need for the internet 25MB


Hello, You'll need a DOCSIS 3.0 compatible modem. It is better to check with the team at Surf Internet the firmware version they support. Unfortunately, they do not have or publish a list of supported hardware and firmware. You can call them up to 604-945-4225 The Gonevoip Team

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Will this service be available on Vancouver Island in the future. Or are you looking to start up on the island and looking for someone to help get it going here... looking forward to your reply. .Steve Keel

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

The 25 Most Popular Providers of 2018

Annually the GoneVoIP platform receives about half a million visitors. In general, the visits tend to be spread over the more than 490 service providers found in the GoneVoIP platform, though there are trends and รƒฦ’ร‚ยฏรƒโ€šร‚ยฟรƒโ€šร‚ยฝ
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  2
Report abuse

Canada’s Internet Speeds and Prices

Types of internet access providers This summer we set out to analyze the status of the home internet connections across the country. We picked fourteen representative major urban centers and analyzed factors such as maximum available รƒฦ’ร‚ยฏรƒโ€šร‚ยฟรƒโ€šร‚ยฝ
Continue Reading

Rating  4     Rating  1
Report abuse

Best Home Internet Canada

Altima Telecom
Visit Website
$29.95 / mo.
Read 60 Reviews
CIK Telecom Inc
Visit Website
$24.99 / mo.
Read 17 Reviews
GemsTelecom
Visit Website
$29.99 / mo.
Read 17 Reviews

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 167 Reviews
netTALK CONNECT ezLINQ
Visit Website
$7 / mo.
Read 10 Reviews
CallCentric
Visit Website
FREE / mo.
Read 8 Reviews