Surf Internet Reviews & Service Offerings

Surf Internet
Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 32

Rating  42%     Rating  58%    

Surf Internet2
Surf Internet

Surf Internet

Website:
Services:
Availability:
www.surfinternet.ca
Cable
BC

Visit Site

Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$19.99 Shipping: $ Other: $85 No

Download: 5Mbps

Upload: 512kbps

Cap:

Overage:

Surf Internet is an internet service provider which serves Vancouver AND Lower Mainland, British Colombia. Surf Internet’s actual corporation name is IAAK Technologies Inc. and their HQ are in Coquitlam, British Colombia. Surf Internet is made up of a team of Canadian engineers and it was founded in 2013. In our review of Surf Internet, we will take a look at the residential internet packages Surf Internet offers and we will examine the company’s fee structure.
 
Surf Internet has three residential broadband cable internet packages all available with no contract.
The “Home Surf Internet 5” comes in at $19.99 per month plus taxes and includes unlimited data usage along with download speeds of 5 Mbps and upload speeds of 512 Kbps.
The “Home Surf Internet 15” costs $29.99 per month plus taxes and includes unlimited data usage and download speeds of 15 Mbps and upload speeds of 512 Kbps.
The “Home Surf Internet 30” costs $39.99 plus taxes and includes unlimited data usage and download speeds of 30 Mbps and upload speeds of 2.5 Mbps.
All three of the packages have a one-time installation fee of $85 and all include a complimentary cable modem and a complimentary wireless modem.
 
The prices Surf Internet are offering may be the best we have yet to see in Canada. Gonevoip’s Top 3 ISPs of Yak, TekSaavy, and Worldline have similar packages available in BC which are all more expensive. Yak has an unlimited cable internet package with download speeds of 15 Mbps for $42.95. TekSaavy offers an unlimited cable internet package with download speeds of 10 Mbps for $34.95.Worldline has an unlimited cable internet package with download speeds of up to $54.95. As you can see, Surf Internet truly trumps these prices. It is important to note that these companies serve the vast majority of Canada, while Surf Internet is a small startup which only serves Vancouver and Lower Mainland, British Colombia.
 
Surf Internet states they are able to provide these prices thanks to new wireless technology that makes it cheaper for you to connect to the internet and offers a better service as well. The Surf Internet website was not working properly to see exactly what the innovative technology is. There were other broken links which limited our access to the terms and conditions. We will update this when the site is working properly.
 
To sum up our review of Surf Internet, we are amazed at the prices they are able to offer. The most expensive package they offer at $39.99 is still one of the best prices on the market, while their basic package is the best price in the country that we have seen. The installation fee of $85 is reasonable and the only additional charge we could find. There are also no contracts. It is extremely encouraging sign for the rest of Canada, a country with one of the most expensive internet prices in the world, that a new startup is able to offer unlimited data for such a reasonable price.
 
If you live in Vancouver or Lower Mainland, we highly recommend Surf Internet although we still have yet to access their terms and conditions. If you live outside of these cities, then we can only hope that this will be the start of a trend in the right direction for residential internet service.

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark
 

Reviews Stats

Rating
2
Rating
1
Rating
3
Rating
1
Rating
12
When reviewing Surf Internet Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry!

Top Positive


3 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: April 29, 2017
Submitted by: Elaire(Vancouver, BR)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Great service - no complaints!

I've been using Surf Internet for 2+ years now and their service has been very reliable and friendly. The company uses Shaw cables so it's the same quality that you'd get from Shaw but for a fraction of the price. Plus it feels great to pay less while supporting a local business at the same time.


Do you find this review useful?

3 Yes No 1 Report abuse


Top Critical


15 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: August 12, 2016
Submitted by: Sammy (Vancouver, BR)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Biggest Thieves!

I purchased there service thru the internet and never got a confirmation from them or thank you, but they had no problem taking $236.07. One week later still no call. I contacted them because install was supposed to be the next day. They said that its going to have to wait. The worst customer service. There a shady Middle Eastern company. I asked for full refund but they said that Shaw was booked for install but found out from Shaw it was never booked. The guy ripped me off $85 + tax.

Reply from: George On: November 7, 2016
Dear Sammy,

Our apologies for the lateness in the installation, as you know, we get many installation requests per day. We are sorry the installation form took a week longer than it should. I will be more than happy to book another installation for you. This is paid to Shaw to book a shaw technician to come and connect the cable to you.


Do you find this review useful?

15 Yes No 1 Report abuse


All Reviews

July 14, 2017
Submitted by: Melodie (Vancouver, BR)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Surfnet TV

Unfortunately Surfnet customer service is beleaguered with policy. I have contacted in regards to audio video out of sync. A small operation like these folks should run on common sense. They advise that they watch for it and correct. But if you notify them.....they do nothing!!! So with that kind of pretend customer service is that? Think twice before ordering any of their products. I know they have some good people there but there are one or two road blockers that just dont get it!

Reply from: Joe Colangelo
July 17, 2017
Melodie I too have the same issue. You tell them something that is a fix under their control. It benefits you and every other customer. You are actually helping them to provide a better product and help making them look good. Why do they throw protocol into the works that makes them look like idiots. I think they need a consulatant to review how they handle customers and customer issues. They could do themselves a favour and easily expand their business by dealing with issues under their control. "Stupid" is fixable and is so sad to see bad remarks about Surfnet and possibly another small guy going out of business. I some times think the English language may be a barrier OR the first line has a huge lack of knowledge of the full operation. If I was a consultant I would suggest cross training right away.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
June 14, 2017
Submitted by: Netflixforme (Pitt Meadows, BR)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Hi George...please respond.

Today at 6:30 I was enjoying watching the news on Global, it froze and I rebooted. Now no news, no stations up and running such as Global, CTV or CBC. Is the rain that is causing the problem? This is soooo disappointing to subscribe to such a poor product. I did not call as in the past when there are problems, no one answers. Why does no one answer and why no follow up?
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
June 7, 2017
Submitted by: mahbobeh (vancouver, BR)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

THAT"S FRAUD NOT A SERVICE!!!

I had a awful and frustrating experience with these guys.
For the first month including installation fees and box and modem and router, it cost me $400.
Two days later they sent me an invoice and said, the payment was for the last month deposit and I have to pay for the first month.
TV service was awful, most of the time was disconnected. My TV didn't work for a week, I sent them an email and asked them to fix it, they didn't care.
I had to cancel the service after 2 months. and it cost me more than $550.
DON'T DO THAT!
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
June 2, 2017
Submitted by: Kanaka (Pitt Meadows, BR)
Feeling: Feeling unpleasantly_surprised Unpleasantly Surprised
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

TV is good with too many disappointments!!!

Think twice about their TV.

Pros....cheap
They seem to try to please but may be flogging a product to "perfect" for Shaw and then lose the product to allow Shaw to sell.

Cons
Sound to video rarely in sync

Often the channel freezes and you call in and the remedy is to remove power from android box and reconnect or change channel and then back to what you were watching. And often when you go back to the desired channel it just doesn't work and then often all the popular CDN channels aren't there or the American channels are not there. Today did the hard boot and says authentication failed...so no TV at all!!! Then off to Netflix!!

Problem hour is any time after 4pm. And no one answers the phone and you leave your name and number and NO callback. So what if TV is down and I call about their other services like internet or phone and they don't call back?? Not good!!

If you press your HOME key to stop the box from streaming rarely reinitiating the logon returns to the same place. Sometimes to the last channel, sometimes to the full menu and sometimes menu with station numbers only but no description of what is playing. Often leads to a "another" full reboot.

Wind or heavy rain seems to be a factor in quality as well.


What could be better
Fix it.

If they won't call back then inform your customers by a blanket email.

If this is the level of quality for TV, then should I take a chance on internet or phone service??

Allow it to run on an iOS app.

Reply from: Kanaka
June 6, 2017
Monday June 5 5:40pm. No CTV or Global TV.

Reply from: kanaka
June 4, 2017
Here we go again. Saturday channel 7 5:40pm....just froze!!!

Reply from: kanaka
June 3, 2017
Here we go again. Channel 7 9:28 am just froze.

Reply from: Kanaka
June 3, 2017
Here we go again. Saturday morning watching the news on channel 7. Freezes, rebooted box. And no feed is there to watch. This is just so pathetic!!!!!!

Reply from: kanaka
June 3, 2017
Forgot to mention...sometimes if you shut down the TV say at 10pm the next day the TV menu will still be showing 10pm "yesterday" and will play the programming. Once again leading to a full reboot.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 1 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
May 16, 2017
Submitted by: Swamps Buchinsky (Port Coquitlam, BR)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

WORST INTERNET EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

THIS IS BY FAR THE WORST INTERNET I HAVE EVER HAD. IT IS SO SLOW AND IT IS JUST SUCKISH. I AM SWITCHING TO ANOTHER COMPANY FOR BETTER INTERNET BECAUSE THIS INTERNET IS CRAP. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE. I WILL TELL ALL MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY TO NOT GET THIS INTERNET SERVICE AND IF THEY HAVE IT I WILL TELL THEM TO CANCEL IT ASAP. BETTER SEND THIS IN BEFORE I LOSE CONNECTION AGAIN
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 1 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
May 3, 2017
Submitted by: Chris (Port Coquitlam, BR)
Feeling: Feeling unpleasantly_surprised Unpleasantly Surprised
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Bad equipment

They are misleading you in offering a single band router, for free. Why, because it is not worth nothing. You need a dual band router. Make sure you get one otherwise you might have problems.
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
April 29, 2017
Submitted by: Elaire (Vancouver, BR)
Feeling: Feeling happy Happy
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Great service - no complaints!

I've been using Surf Internet for 2+ years now and their service has been very reliable and friendly. The company uses Shaw cables so it's the same quality that you'd get from Shaw but for a fraction of the price. Plus it feels great to pay less while supporting a local business at the same time.
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 1 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
April 12, 2017
Submitted by: Maher (Richmond, BR)
Feeling: Feeling unpleasantly_surprised Unpleasantly Surprised
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Good when it works, bad if it doesn't

I have been with Surfinternet for 2 years , it worked like a charm since then, no issues, speed is good and very reliable. The company has a very small team, they are very helpful and reliable but location and schedule can make it hard to reach them promptly in case issues arise. I never needed to contact cusomer service or technical service so all went great. They use shaw's network so if shaw runs smoothly at your location, you would expect the same. My problem started 2 months ago when I had a planned moving, so I notified cusomer service of the move, well ahead of thime they charged me $85 and booked shaw technician to come in and connect me, it didn't go well, the technician didn't tell me anything, I contacted surfinternet again, they booked another shaw appointmnet (1 week later), now the guy came and said nothing wrong with shaw signal and took off, again contacted surfinternet, the technician came same day and replace modem told me I should go online tomorrow morning, next day nothing happened I called them again, they said wait till end of the day, nothing happened, phoned again told me for sure the following day! long story short I am offline for 12 days now. It's mostly a bad luck as it turns out the modem was faulty but it took 12 days to get that fixed, something would normally take 1 day with shaw or telus I assume, so long story short, if problem happens expect some delays.
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
February 3, 2017
Submitted by: DB (Vancouver, BR)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

As advertised

Everything was as discussed, and they were quite helpful and accommodating. Even the Shaw tech who came to connect me was friendly and helpful. Speeds have been as advertised, with the exception of a couple days, when Shaw's network had some issues. I am planning on trying their IPTV and home phone as well at our new place.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 3 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
February 1, 2017
Submitted by: Santosh (Surrey, BR)
Feeling: Feeling unpleasantly_surprised Unpleasantly Surprised
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Hidde charged

They are charging $10 for any upgrade or degrade what the heck is this ....I don't recommend to any one
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 2 Report abuse
Load More Reviews

Will this service be available on Vancouver Island in the future. Or are you looking to start up on the island and looking for someone to help get it going here... looking forward to your reply. .Steve Keel

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(19) Reviews + (13) Replies: 32

Rating  42%     Rating  58%

Maple Leaf Top Internet Providers

Distributel
Visit Website
$35 / mo.
Read 5 Reviews
HeroNet.ca
Visit Website
$38.88 / mo.
Read 4 Reviews
TekSavvy Solutions Inc.
Visit Website
$27.99 / mo.
Read 2 Reviews

Maple LeafTop Residential VoIP

Yak
Visit Website
$5 / mo.
Read 173 Reviews
VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 54 Reviews
1-VOIP
Visit Website
$11.21 / mo.
Read 9 Reviews