Surf Internet Reviews & Service Offerings

Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 64

Rating  63%     Rating  38%    

Add a Review     Ask a Question

Surf Internet
Surf Internet

Surf Internet

Website: www.surfinternet.ca
Services: Cable
Availability: BC
Monthly Price: $19.99 CAD

Visit Site


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion (4.5): Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(39 ) Reviews + (25) Replies: 64

Rating  63%     Rating  38%

Add a Review

Ask a Question


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 64

Rating  63%     Rating  38%    

  Add a Review     Ask a Question

 

Reviews Stats

Rating
12
Rating
2
Rating
4
Rating
1
Rating
20
When reviewing Surf Internet Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling satisfied satisfied !

Top Positive


4 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: October 13, 2017
Submitted by: hanna (surry , BR)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

The best Services

I tried Surf and i found the Internet and TV with very good price and very good service


Do you find this review useful?

4 Yes No 1 Report abuse


Top Critical


21 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: August 12, 2016
Submitted by: Sammy (Vancouver , BR)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Biggest Thieves!

I purchased there service thru the internet and never got a confirmation from them or thank you, but they had no problem taking $236.07. One week later still no call. I contacted them because install was supposed to be the next day. They said that its going to have to wait. The worst customer service. There a shady Middle Eastern company. I asked for full refund but they said that Shaw was booked for install but found out from Shaw it was never booked. The guy ripped me off $85 + tax.

Reply from: George On: November 7, 2016
Dear Sammy,

Our apologies for the lateness in the installation, as you know, we get many installation requests per day. We are sorry the installation form took a week longer than it should. I will be more than happy to book another installation for you. This is paid to Shaw to book a shaw technician to come and connect the cable to you.


Do you find this review useful?

21 Yes No 1 Report abuse


All Reviews

October 19, 2018
Submitted by: Camtu (Richmond , BC)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Internet

Countless problems, don't send technician to check, have to come to their office with the equipment in order to get it fix.

Don't refund deposit when you close the account.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
August 3, 2018
Submitted by: camtu (Richmond , BR)
Feeling: Feeling unpleasantly_surprised Unpleasantly Surprised
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Services

Unreliable TB box and internet.
Too many issues. Don't send technicians over to solve a problem, you have to come to them in order to get it fix.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
July 5, 2018
Submitted by: Gerry Greensale (Port Coquitlam , BR)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Customer Service

Customer Service is not their forte. They only answer the phone, if they have time, between 10am and 8pm. And if they cannot fix they say they will have a technician call in the next 24 hours. Back to Shaw!!!!!
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
May 1, 2018
Submitted by: Jack (Vancouver , BR)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Great price

Surf internet gave me a very good price for TV with only 12$/month and sent the technician for me for free to make all the setup, really good service, and great price.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 1 Report abuse
May 1, 2018
Submitted by: Ramy (vancouver , BR)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

great support

My internet was down and i depend on it as i work from home, i called surfinternet and they promised me to send a technician, actually i did not believe it, but i found George at my door after short time and he fixed everything to me
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 1 Report abuse
January 7, 2018
Submitted by: Hao (Richmond , BR)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Can't access modem

Ordered online. After that no email no phone call. But the installation guy showed up without any notice.
No big problem so far. Internet speed is fast as advertised. But there are several "no internet access" moments every day.
Try to access modem by 192.168.0.1 but to no avail.
Emailed to their only email account and the reply said will forward to technical support. Then nothing happened.
So I still can't access the modem to change any setting.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 1 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
December 15, 2017
Submitted by: George (Vancouver , BR)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Phone calls to US

When signed up for one year, phone calls to most parts of the US was free, that was in October 2017 now i see there are charging $0.03215/min to all the states i checked recently. They advertise free phone calls to over 90 percent of North America?I phoned to inform them of the problem but got the runarround, they say it's not them it's the carrier they deal with.
I don't care all i know is when i signed up with this company, phone calls were free to California, now they are "NOT" . I guess i got what i paid for, low price low quality.

Reply from: Jim Morganson
July 5, 2018
Try VOIP.MS. it is more reliable and will cost a bit more and YOU have control of it.

Reply from: George Sun
February 21, 2018
Hi George, i know it's a bit late with my reply. I know for a fact I DID NOT dial 0116 on my US call, now i triple check all my country code now so long distance charges don't happen again. I also spoke to three of your reps about what happened, not one have a correct explanation for me on my long distance charges.

While i'm on the subject. Why can't i phone overseas to Australia or Fiji, every time i phone i get a busy signal with the Australia number (country code 61) and the message " The number you are calling is currently unavailable" with the Fiji number(country code 679).

I sent a message thru your website but no reply, it's been 4 days now.

Reply from: George
December 18, 2017
Dear George,

to confirm, you dialed 011626 by mistake, which takes to international Indonesia. To call USA, you simply dial 1 + 626 ... etc.

thanks,

Reply from: George
December 18, 2017
Dear George,

Calls to USA as advertised is free. I checked your case, you dialed number 011+ country code, instead of dialing the standard +1 + area code. This caused the billing issue.

thanks,
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
November 2, 2017
Submitted by: Zien (Burnaby , BR)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

the special deal with good price

I joined Surf since last Month the price was given better than any other price
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 1 Report abuse
October 15, 2017
Submitted by: Smith (Vancouver , BR)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

The best price with easy way

The price I paid for the TV and Internet Services was very good price
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 1 Report abuse
October 14, 2017
Submitted by: Khelly (Vancouver , BR)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Fast and good services

The Staff at Surf Internet professional and keep all information up dating
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 1 Report abuse
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$19.99 Shipping: $ Other: $85 No

Download: 5Mbps

Upload: 512kbps

Cap:

Overage:

Surf Internet is an internet service provider which serves Vancouver AND Lower Mainland, British Colombia. Surf Internet’s actual corporation name is IAAK Technologies Inc. and their HQ is in Coquitlam, British Colombia. Surf Internet is made up of a team of Canadian engineers and it was founded in 2013. In our review of Surf Internet, we will take a look at the residential internet packages Surf Internet offers and we will examine the company’s fee structure.

Surf Internet has three residential broadband cable internet packages all available with no contract.

The “Home Surf Internet 5” comes in at $19.99 per month plus taxes and includes unlimited data usage along with download speeds of 5 Mbps and upload speeds of 512 Kbps.

The “Home Surf Internet 15” costs $29.99 per month plus taxes and includes unlimited data usage and download speeds of 15 Mbps and upload speeds of 512 Kbps.

The “Home Surf Internet 30” costs $39.99 plus taxes and includes unlimited data usage and download speeds of 30 Mbps and upload speeds of 2.5 Mbps.

All three of the packages have a one-time installation fee of $85 and all include a complimentary cable modem and a complimentary wireless modem.

The prices Surf Internet are offering may be the best we have yet to see in Canada. Gonevoip’s Top 3 ISPs of Yak, TekSaavy, and Distributel have similar packages available in BC which are all more expensive. Yak has an unlimited cable internet package with download speeds of 15 Mbps for $42.95. TekSaavy offers an unlimited cable internet package with download speeds of 10 Mbps for $34.95.Worldline has an unlimited cable internet package with download speeds of up to $54.95. As you can see, Surf Internet truly trumps these prices. It is important to note that these companies serve the vast majority of Canada, while Surf Internet is a small startup which only serves Vancouver and Lower Mainland, British Colombia.

Surf Internet states they are able to provide these prices thanks to new wireless technology that makes it cheaper for you to connect to the internet and offers a better service as well. The Surf Internet website was not working properly to see exactly what the innovative technology is. There were other broken links which limited our access to the terms and conditions. We will update this when the site is working properly.

To sum up our review of Surf Internet, we are amazed at the prices they are able to offer. The most expensive package they offer at $39.99 is still one of the best prices on the market, while their basic package is the best price in the country that we have seen. The installation fee of $85 is reasonable and the only additional charge we could find. There are also no contracts. It is extremely encouraging sign for the rest of Canada, a country with one of the most expensive internet prices in the world, that a new startup is able to offer unlimited data for such a reasonable price.

If you live in Vancouver or Lower Mainland, we highly recommend Surf Internet although we still have yet to access their terms and conditions. If you live outside of these cities, then we can only hope that this will be the start of a trend in the right direction for residential internet service.

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark

I would like to purchase my own Cable Modem for your Fiber Optic installs with speeds up to 1000 Mbps. Can advise as to what is requirred to connect to your internet service,

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

what modem I need for the internet 25MB


Hello, You'll need a DOCSIS 3.0 compatible modem. It is better to check with the team at Surf Internet the firmware version they support. Unfortunately, they do not have or publish a list of supported hardware and firmware. You can call them up to 604-945-4225 The Gonevoip Team

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Will this service be available on Vancouver Island in the future. Or are you looking to start up on the island and looking for someone to help get it going here... looking forward to your reply. .Steve Keel

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

Canada’s Internet Speeds and Prices

This summer we set out to analyze the status of the home internet connections across the country. We picked fourteen representative major urban centers and analyzed factors such as maximum available download speed, average speed, …
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  0
Report abuse

Best Home Internet Canada

Altima Telecom
Visit Website
$49.95 / mo.
Read 37 Reviews
Distributel
Visit Website
$35 / mo.
Read 27 Reviews
VMedia Inc
Visit Website
$19.95 / mo.
Read 1 Reviews
Velcom
Visit Website
$47.95 / mo.
Read 1 Reviews
GemsTelecom
Visit Website
$29.99 / mo.
Read 12 Reviews
HeroNet.ca
Visit Website
$38.88 / mo.
Read 19 Reviews