Start Communications Reviews and Plans

Provider Summary Information
Start Communications
Start Communications

Start Communications

Website: www.start.ca
Services:
Coverage: Ontario
Monthly : $90 CAD

251 3.5 reviewCount
Axvoice VoIP Service
 
FACT: When reviewing Start Communications visitors in most cases feel Feeling angry angry!!
Rating
1
Rating
179
Rating
16
Rating
1
Rating
52

All Reviews

July 24, 2022
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Rose (London , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

worst internet company

My internet is not working I called customer service they said it is 24-48 hrs before a tech can come. This was Friday and I am still waiting. No follow up calls. They have a office in London I asked if I could go talk to them or bring my router in to exchange and again it was no. This company sucks. I have only been with them for 2 months and I would never recommend them. They do not do anything
March 22, 2022
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Henry Allen (London , ON)
Feeling disappointed Disappointed Rating 👎

Poor technical support

Poor technical support cannot get my TV Internet working been on the phone for over an hour with technical support and still no TV I am 78 years old not in good health and all they tell me is I have to do it on my Internet but by them and their support I just can not do it not happy with these people at all
May 8, 2021
Review Helpful? 4 Yes No 0
Submitted by: DM (Brampton , ON)
Feeling disappointed Disappointed Rating 👎

Good until you need technical support

Moved to start.ca when for the price/quality worked good for 2 months, until my internet started dropping randomly (while working not the best experience). After probably 9 calls with technical support after changing routers, changed modems had technicians diagnosing the line nothing could fix the connection.Do not recomand especialy if you are working from home
November 8, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 1
Submitted by: gvrvwimpbot ( London , ON)
Feeling satisfied Satisfied Rating 👍

Review from Canadianisp.ca

Have had there fiber service since April 2019. started with 100/25 and then they upgraded it to 1000/50 for free in oct. no down time.

Reply from: The GoneVoIP Team
June 19, 2020
Hi Lise,

The reviews you refer to were imported from other sites by our bot. It is one of the cool things you can do here, check all reviews! That is why the Title of those reviews starts with "Review from.."
Also, those reviews have different background-color. Thank You and have a great weekend! The GoneVoIP Team.

Reply from: Lise Rodrigue
June 19, 2020
Reviews by gvrwimpbot (London & Newmarket)
Are these real reviews by the same person in two very different locations?
August 22, 2019
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 0
Submitted by: gvrvwimpbot ( Newmarket , ON)

Review from Canadianisp.ca

After 5+ years on old modem, started having problems. Spoke with Start on Tuesday night, new modem arrived on Thursday, switch took less than 5 mins. Could not be more happy. In the past whatever questions I had were answered quickly and professionally. Keep up the good work Start!
Load More Reviews
Promo Plan Speeds

Download: 300 Mbps

Upload: 20 Mbps

Start Communications was acquired by Telus in 2022. Start headquarters were in London, ON.

Start Comm. has certainly built a large infrastructure in the past ten years that is now providing service globally. It is rather commendable to find that they offer a multitude of services such as; IPTV, VoIP, web domains, dial-up internet, and VDSL or Cable internet connections.

Following Gonevoip will review the most current Start Home internet plan grid;

  • Home VDSL 50: 50 Mbps Down, 10 Mbps Up, Unlimited Usage at $65 / month
  • Home Cable 30: 30 Mbps Down, 5 Mbps Up, Unlimited Usage at $55 / month
  • Home Cable 75: 75 Mbps Down, 10 Mbps Up, Unlimited Usage at $65 / month
  • Home Cable 300: 300 Mbps Down, 20 Mbps Up, Unlimited Usage at $90 / month

Start communications does well to offer all internet plans with unlimited usage. 

Upon reading the unlimited use policy of Start communications we came across something very peculiar. Due to traffic congestion or other reasons, customer’s bandwidth limitations may be altered to better accommodate the entirety of the people on the Start network. Specific customers with excessive usage would be prime targets in this scenario. However, no mention was made of what range of consumption would warrant such actions from Start communications. This is known as internet traffic shaping or internet throttling.

All in all, there are many good things and some dubious with Start Home Internet plans. The pricing is a little heftier then the usual,  unlimited is good but your experience may be impacted by too much use - begin the question what is the point then of unlimited use? Nonetheless, Start Home Internet is an option Gonevoip recommends to consider while also looking into other service providers who offer all of these things and more at the same or more convenient and economical rates. 

Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark
Load More Q&A

Best Home Internet Canada

HeroNet.ca
Rating
$65 / mo.
138 Reviews

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Rating
CAD $9.45 / mo.
393 Reviews
VoIPLy
Rating
$8.95 / mo.
7 Reviews
CallCentric
Rating
$0 / mo.
10 Reviews
1-VOIP
Rating
$11.21 / mo.
20 Reviews
magicJack
Rating
$4.75 / mo.
178 Reviews
Talkit
Rating
$4.99 / mo.
78 Reviews