Sonetel Reviews & Service Offerings

Sonetel
Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 12

Rating  14%     Rating  86%    

Sonetel2
Sonetel

Sonetel

Website:
Devices:
Availability:
www.sonetel.com
Android, iPhone, Mac, Linux, Nokia, Windows PC, SIP Phone
AB, BC, ON & QC

Visit Site

Monthly Fee Setup Fee Other Fees Long Distance Rates
$1.49 0.99
Bring your own Device Optional

Canada: $0.01
USA: $0.01
Intl. Minutes: PAYG

Sonetel is a Swedish based VOIP proivder that delivers a 'free' cloud based pbx for small and medium business. In true is inexpensive service, not completely free. Sonetel assigns iNums (International Numbers) and these may be forwarded to other (mobile) phones. It offers unlimited extensions. It also has a premiun package that has unlimited calling to some 40 countries plus  additional features such as FAX to email and SMS to email, are also free. The GUI interface is fairly intuitive and allows to easly navigate and add users, features and credit. Strangely only one supported ATA (Linksys 3102).  But there are more IP phones and desktop software that has been tested and there are instructions on how to connect any SIP phone based.

Sonetel has revolutionized business communications with its cloud-based phone system, and global enterprises are starting to take notice. International business can be complicated, and Sonetel offers a way to get rid of the boundaries, giving access to anyone that may need it—even those in the small business market. 

Sonetel’s service is the latest way that mobile phone users can avoid paying expensive bills for long distance calls. Skype, now onewd by Microsoft is another mobile app option to make VoIP calls that reduce long distance costs to fractions of a penny per minute. 

Maple Leaf Features

Fax Capabilities Checkmark
Fax to Email Checkmark
Multiple Users: Checkmark
Toll Free Numbers: Checkmark
Web Management: Checkmark
Area Code Selection: Checkmark
Smartphone App: Checkmark
Conference Calling Checkmark
 

Reviews Stats

Rating
0
Rating
1
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
6
When reviewing Sonetel Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry!

Top Positive


1 person found the following review useful
Submitted on: September 29, 2014
Submitted by: Ed(Toronto, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Great Price

We have been using Sontel for about 1 year for our business. In our case, we market nationwide.. so we needed a good price on virtual numbers to be routed to a single line. Sonetel allows us to have 10 virtual phone numbers in our target markets for only 99 cents per number per month.. If you have high call volumes over 1,000 minutes per month.. they offer unlimited incoming for just 9.99... so basically we get 10 local phone numbers and unlimited incoming calls for $20/month. That is a terrific price.

We have found the network reliable and the customer service via email very efficient.

The only negative we see is that the IOS / Android app and PC software phone client is LOW quality. We do not use them.. so it is not a deal breaker for us. We just have all calls forwarded to our main office.

So, I can recommend Sonetel as long as it is clear the software phones are low quality. If you just need virtual phone numbers to route to your own lines.. it is a great deal.


Do you find this review useful?

1 Yes No 0 Report abuse


Top Critical


Submitted on: August 17, 2014
Submitted by: Another customer (Helsinki, NE)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Marked as spam by customer support

The Sonetel Android app does not work properly. When I tried to complain about it to customer support, they blocked me as spam.

Reply from: Henrik Thome On: August 17, 2014
Sorry. We did not block you. It was a mistake I made personally this morning when battling Spam to our company, and entering an IP-address rule incorrectly, which caused all email to Sonetel to be blocked for a while.

I am really sorry that you experienced this problem, but I can assure you that it was not aimed at you.

It was a plain mistake that affected all email.

Henrik
CEO & Founder


Do you find this review useful?

0 Yes No 1 Report abuse


All Reviews

January 18, 2017
Submitted by: James (Toronto, ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Don't bother with Sonetel

I've tried for 2 years, I've been as patient as any half normal human being. The system consistently does not forward calls, customer service consistently can't fix it (if they even get back to you promptly). They maybe cheap but you get what you pay for which is nothing. USE ANOTHER COMPANY.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 1 Report abuse
July 31, 2015
Submitted by: Jarek Pole (Auckland, AL)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Hidden charges and waste of time

I had several issues with Sontel since I subscribed for their premium services:
Pricing policy is badly explained. I got surprised when I figured out that premium services does not include phone numbers and that you still need to load prepaid account. But thats fine, its my mistake I probably didn't spent enough time to get in to the details
Next issue really made mi angry at them. The Sontels application on iPhone by default is set for the �call back option which is a paid option. So I was paying for each call that normally should be for free. When I called their support centre they told me that it is my fault because i didn't reed it in the conditions. I felt i was trapped in to this. It wasn't honest at all.
Issues continued when I change the settings in my I phone. Now Sontel is still charging me for calls I make to Europe. They are trying to check why? Still waiting for answer.

In general I spent a lot of time with helpdesk guys from Sontel, waisting time I could spent on working.
If I knew its so much trouble with them I would choose other service provider. In fact I am planning to do that if they will not fix the issue with payments to Europe.
Save yourself time and go somewhere else to get your virtual phones.

Reply from: Henrik Thome
August 9, 2015
Hi Jarek,

To summarize the conversation we have had by email:

I asked you to specify what things that had caused your anger, to allow me to understand what we have done wrong.

#1 You wrote "When making the same call (for example using sontel app from my NZ phone to FR landline) sometimes I got charged, some times I didnt get charged. There is no rules. "

I replied and referred to the list of destinations that are always free: http://sonetel.com/en/help/help-topics/premium/which-countries-are-free-to-call/ and asked you to provide a single example of a call where you had been charged incorrectly so that I could investigate it personally.

#2 You said "I guess it was [name of rep] (not completly sure) who offered me to switch our conversation to Skype in the middle of our talk about the problem. So if he doesnt use your service why should I trust it. ".

I answered that I agree that it sounded weird, but that maybe the intent was to save you the cost of the call. I will investigate why this was suggested.

#3 You wrote "When he got upset at me and I said I will cancel the service he asked me if he could do it now, right away when I still had some money on prepaid. Totally disrespectful."

I responded by saying that "I am sorry if our representative got upset. I dont know how your conversation went, so it is difficult for me to have any opinions about it, but it is naturally important to me that our representatives keep cool and professional regardless of what the customer says, so I will follow up on this as well to get an understanding. In any case, when a service is cancelled, we always refund any unused funds. So if we offered to cancel your account, with the implicit understanding that we would refund any unused funds what in that is disrespectful? "

You responded that to all my questions above by saying that you do not have time to provide answers.

As our engineers have scrutinized all your call logs and found that all calls are correctly charged - and since you now do not have the time to point out a single call that was incorrectly charged - it becomes very difficult for me to resolve your problem.

As an entrepreneur I take great pride in our business, and take any complaints very seriously.

Given this I hope that you can find the time to substantiate your claims to allow me to validate if there indeed is something we have done wrong.

Looking forward to hearing back from you.

As to your original post above, it is apparent that you have misunderstood how Callback and Call thru works. It is not so that one is a "paid" and another "free".
More info can be found here: http://sonetel.com/en/help/help-topics/make-calls/ but I guess that this misunderstanding was cleared in your communication with our customer service.

Yours,

Henrik Thome
CEO & Founder Sonetel

Reply from: Henrik Thome
August 7, 2015
Hi Jarek,

Really sorry that you are unhappy with our service.
Our team has investigated your issue and found that there are no issues with the call charges. They are as per our published price list.

I'll drop you an email to see if I can reach a better understanding why you are so unhappy with our service.

Yours,

Henrik Thome
CEO and Founder

Reply from: Jarek Pole
August 6, 2015
Dear Padmini,
The fact is that the issue was solved for one day only. And when it appeared again and I called your team to report reported issue with Sonetel charging me wrongly they didnt even understand the issue.
To make it simple you have a mess in your system. Sometimes you charge me for the incoming and outgoing calls sometimes you not (for exactly the same calls). And the support I am getting is really bad. I decided to resign from your services at the end of the month.
My recommendation is still very negative. Waste of time....
Regards

Reply from: Padmini Narayana
August 1, 2015
Hello Jarek,

I have been following up on your case after noting your doubts on the call charges. I have got this under high priority and my engineers will be actively working on answering your queries and solving any issues which may have been causing this inconvenience. I apologize for this and have instructed the team to follow up for a quick resolution so that you can continue using our services smoothly again.

Yours,
Padmini

Padmini Narayana
Head-Customer Support
Sonetel Customer Service
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
May 1, 2015
Submitted by: Peter (Perth, AL)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Sonetel Beware - Useless Non Service

I have been making repeated calls to Sonetel for the last 6 weeks to their call center through their Australian number to report a fault and complained about the service that I am not getting from Sonetel.

I have 2 sonetel numbers, one Australian and one USA. I have not been able to make ??call back?? calls to nor receive calls from my Australian contacts since nearly 2 months ago and I have called Sonetel repeatedly to report about this problem but to no avail. I reported to their staff that every time I make a call to an Australian number the line would get cut off immediately when someone on the other side picks up the phone. I have also not been able to receive calls from anyone who calls me from within Australia. I have paid Sonetel an initial fee of more than $70 to set this up for my business plus I have had to pay a fee each month to them for their non-service as well as fees for all failed calls. I have not received the full service from Sonetel as per our agreement to procure from them. I am asking to for my numbers with Sonetel to be cancelled as of immediate effect and I am asking for a refund of all the monies that I have paid Sonetel. This is excluding what I have suffered in lost business opportunities out of the company failure to provide the service as outlined in their Terms and Conditions for Service. I will also seek help from my solicitors to recover any losses as a result of this.

I want all my money refunded.

They are completely useless!

Truly,
Peter Chin
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
September 29, 2014
Submitted by: Ed (Toronto, ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Great Price

We have been using Sontel for about 1 year for our business. In our case, we market nationwide.. so we needed a good price on virtual numbers to be routed to a single line. Sonetel allows us to have 10 virtual phone numbers in our target markets for only 99 cents per number per month.. If you have high call volumes over 1,000 minutes per month.. they offer unlimited incoming for just 9.99... so basically we get 10 local phone numbers and unlimited incoming calls for $20/month. That is a terrific price.

We have found the network reliable and the customer service via email very efficient.

The only negative we see is that the IOS / Android app and PC software phone client is LOW quality. We do not use them.. so it is not a deal breaker for us. We just have all calls forwarded to our main office.

So, I can recommend Sonetel as long as it is clear the software phones are low quality. If you just need virtual phone numbers to route to your own lines.. it is a great deal.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
August 17, 2014
Submitted by: Another customer (Helsinki, NE)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Marked as spam by customer support

The Sonetel Android app does not work properly. When I tried to complain about it to customer support, they blocked me as spam.

Reply from: Henrik Thome
August 17, 2014
Sorry. We did not block you. It was a mistake I made personally this morning when battling Spam to our company, and entering an IP-address rule incorrectly, which caused all email to Sonetel to be blocked for a while.

I am really sorry that you experienced this problem, but I can assure you that it was not aimed at you.

It was a plain mistake that affected all email.

Henrik
CEO & Founder
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 1 Report abuse
October 2, 2013
Submitted by: Razmata (Pune, AL)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Bad Support, horrible product. wasted time and money

Ok, So the story begins with the need to change out provider as the options with them are limited.
Sonetel comes to mind first and i sign up for trial.

Signup and system config is easy. But the product itself has not worked properly.

Now imagine this. you are shifting phone systems, you need to switch over to a new system and it takes 3 days to just hear back from vendor support. Horrible.

I picked it up last Thursday and got things setup in under an hour. But then continuously had issues. Level 1 support kept asking the same questions without understanding the issue.

1. IVR didnt work - fixed by support before Friday.
2. I cant make calls to internal extensions. So call transfer doesn't work as well. Issue is still not fixed and was logged on friday. today is Wednesday
3. Voicemail could not be recorded. it would say record message and then say goodbye immediately, without giving time for input. was solved by support before Monday.
4. Some of my users have voice quality issues on sonetel. but they can call allright from skype at the same time.

The product has its limitations which was quite ok.

It has taken me 5 days excluding a weekend to get basic things to work. As the owner of the company, I can not afford to wait for email replies.
Constantly chasing support and getting a response that L2 is looking into it does not work for me. I believe there are no managers or supervisors responsible for quality control.

So long Sonetel suckers. I would probably move to ring central. pay a few dollars more for a very advanced product.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
July 30, 2013
Submitted by: Mistreated Customer (Other, AL)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Poor Service, Poor Product

I was a customer of Sonetel and experienced poor customer service and a poor product from Day 1. It took longer than 20 days to port over a business number which disrupted my business. I then experienced dozens of calls experiencing communication difficulty (caller/recipient couldn't hear each other) or the calls would not connect. To top it off, Sonetel suddenly interrupted my service one day claiming that I had gone over a daily limit when I had not. It has been a horrible experience dealing with Sonetel's "customer service" reps although I was a PREMIUM customer. Never again.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
Load More Reviews

Is it possible to use SONETEL as commercial purpose in Bangladesh?

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(7) Reviews + (5) Replies: 12

Rating  14%     Rating  86%