Ooma Reviews & Service Offerings

Ooma
Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 6

Rating  80%     Rating  20%    

Ooma
Ooma

Ooma

Website: www.ooma.ca
Devices: iPhone, Android
Availability: AB, BC, MB, NB, NF, NS, NT, PEI, ON, QC, SK & YK
Monthly Price: $9.99 CAD

Visit Site


Maple Leaf Rating
Gonevoip's Opinion (4.5): Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(5 ) Reviews + (1) Replies: 6

Rating  80%     Rating  20%

Add a Review

Ask a Question


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 6

Rating  80%     Rating  20%    

  Add a Review     Ask a Question

 

Reviews Stats

Rating
2
Rating
2
Rating
0
Rating
1
Rating
0

Top Positive


2 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: January 30, 2013
Submitted by: Karin (Bolton , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Community Blacklisting is awesome

After years of struggles to get first Bell and then Rogers to do something about telemarketers we believe we got a solution that for the past few months is working like a charm. One of the premium features of our Ooma has is blacklisting we define and community blacklisting (what everyone else is setting as an annoyance) ever since telemarketer calls have been reduced to almost zero, and if one made through we quickly update our blacklist and that's that. One note, the initial setup was not a smooth; my husband had sent the first unit we purchased back as advised by support (can't remember the issue but what we experienced was a busy signal when we wanted to dial a call) and after that it took some few more weeks until we got everything working.


Do you find this review useful?

2 Yes No 0 Report abuse


Top Critical


6 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: September 5, 2013
Submitted by: Bruce Robinson (Kingston , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Unhappy customer

We have three problems with the OOMA service:

1) It won't dial some 888 and 866 numbers.

2) It cuts out from time to time in the middle of the conversation and terminates the call.

3) An echo appears from time to time that makes it difficult to communicate.

I don't know whether these problems are common to all VOIP services or unique to OOMA.

Reply from: Rod On: April 25, 2015
I've had similar instances happen with Ooma and I was thinking along the same lines until I came to realize it wasn't Ooma, it was the internet and the lack of port forwarding with Qos. Ooma support can and does help with these settings and it pays to get your priorities straight by placing your voip at the very top of the list.


Do you find this review useful?

6 Yes No 0 Report abuse


All Reviews

6 persons found the following review useful
September 5, 2013
Submitted by: Bruce Robinson (Kingston , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Unhappy customer

We have three problems with the OOMA service:

1) It won't dial some 888 and 866 numbers.

2) It cuts out from time to time in the middle of the conversation and terminates the call.

3) An echo appears from time to time that makes it difficult to communicate.

I don't know whether these problems are common to all VOIP services or unique to OOMA.

Reply from: Rod
April 25, 2015
I've had similar instances happen with Ooma and I was thinking along the same lines until I came to realize it wasn't Ooma, it was the internet and the lack of port forwarding with Qos. Ooma support can and does help with these settings and it pays to get your priorities straight by placing your voip at the very top of the list.
Do you find this review useful? 6 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
February 21, 2013
Submitted by: Jenny (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

First Phone Line in Canada

We landed in Toronto from UK where astonished by the fees for services. So we looked at alternatives and decided to go with Ooma. Since it's our first "Canadian" number can't comment on number portability. Calls are good, though rates for international calls aren't the best we've seen (still using Localphone with a London number) but for local calls works well. This end of summer we're moving out to our new condo (or so we hope!) will see if there are any issues then.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
February 11, 2013
Submitted by: Dave (Ottawa , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Savings

It's been about a year using Ooma, call quality is pretty good crisp and clear. My only advice is do not put it in the night table in your Master. The lights are way too bright and looks like one of those pre-lit Xmas tree! Other than that we are saving a lot monthly ever since we switched (not using premium plan)
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
January 30, 2013
Submitted by: Karin (Bolton , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Community Blacklisting is awesome

After years of struggles to get first Bell and then Rogers to do something about telemarketers we believe we got a solution that for the past few months is working like a charm. One of the premium features of our Ooma has is blacklisting we define and community blacklisting (what everyone else is setting as an annoyance) ever since telemarketer calls have been reduced to almost zero, and if one made through we quickly update our blacklist and that's that. One note, the initial setup was not a smooth; my husband had sent the first unit we purchased back as advised by support (can't remember the issue but what we experienced was a busy signal when we wanted to dial a call) and after that it took some few more weeks until we got everything working.
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
January 17, 2013
Submitted by: JB (Montreal , QC)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Loving Ooma in Montreal

Cancelled Videotron line and been on Ooma for the past few months. Call quality is excellent most of the time. Although we are only using the standard offering (did not ported our number either) didn't want to pay a monthly fee.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Other Fees Long Distance Rates
$9.99 0

Canada: FREE
USA: $0.02
Intl. Minutes: 0

Ooma was founded in 2004, HQ in Palo Alto, CA. At one time saw Aston Kutcher (actor/producer) as their Creative Director. Kutcher left in 2008. The Ooma Telo is their next generation device, was launched to the market in 2009. It's a sleek design, packed with features Canada/US free calling.

As it is with other single box solutions you pay all up-front, in the case of Ooma you also have monthly minimal costs of around $3.50 in government taxes and other fees. Ooma premium option runs for $9.99 which introduces call blocking and other features alike. The Ooma Basic services include voicemail, caller ID, 911 and 911 alerts.  Canadians can keep their existing number though for some reason Ooma insists with a porting fee of $39.99 unless you opt for Ooma Premium in which case the porting fee is waived. Ooma has a very reliable app, available for Android and iOS.

We like Ooma's modern design and generally providing good service for the Canadian market. One of the key features that have always set apart Ooma is Voice Quality, one of the first to support High-Definition Calling. Having said that those looking for all premium features as part of standard rate and also have the ability/freedom to have any ATA VoIP Much or Yak may be better solutions.

Otherwise, one can buy latest Ooma @ Amazon for $129.99 - shipping included; which makes Ooma a very interesting value/alternative for a modern home phone.

Maple Leaf Features

Call Blocking Checkmark
Conference Calling Checkmark
BYOD: Checkmark
Smartphone App: Checkmark
Call Forwarding Checkmark
Call Hold Checkmark
Caller ID Name: Checkmark
Enhanced VoiceMail: Checkmark

How do you port your number to Ooma telo?


Use the online tool to determine if the telephone number can be ported, then submitted the port request. From the time the request was submitted to the actual port from Bell it took one week. Works great. No internet down time (have DSL and Bell had to dry loop it).


In my case just checked I could port it with them using their tool: http://ca.ooma.com/phone-number/ then just follow the prompts when activating your account. Will ask you for info of your existing phone number and provider.
Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

Grading Online Security: How Secure is Your Provider?

Performing tasks online saves us so much time that we often take this convenience for granted. For instance, instead of visiting a bank, we are paying bills and transferring funds using our mobile devices or …
Continue Reading

Rating  3     Rating  1
Report abuse

Maple LeafTop Internet Providers

Altima Telecom
Visit Website
$49.95 / mo.
Read 28 Reviews
Distributel
Visit Website
$35 / mo.
Read 5 Reviews
HeroNet.ca
Visit Website
$38.88 / mo.
Read 4 Reviews