magicJack Reviews & Service Offerings

magicJack
Maple Leaf Company Info
magicJack
magicJack

magicJack

Website: www.magicjack.com
Devices: iPhone
Availability: AB, BC, MB, NB, NF, NS, ON, QC & SK
Monthly Price: $0 CAD

Buy Now Visit Site


8 3 5 Get Free Quotes

Home Phone

Home Internet

Business Phone

Business Internet

 

Reviews Stats

When reviewing magicJack Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !
Rating
0
Rating
3
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
4

All Reviews

December 12, 2018
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Ben (Ottawa , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

By the minute calling

After being with MajicJack for 3 years, until recently under our agreement i had free long distance for US and Canada, but now they are going to start charging me by the minute for a phone number that I've been calling once a week for the last 3 years, which by the way is a number located in the same locality that I am. They've been contacted about the issue but won't change it.
December 3, 2018
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Christina Graham (Smiths Falls , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Awful service

It took us over 6 months to get our phone number transferred back to a real phone company after we lost usability. We called several times with no one answering customer service line. Numerous emails redirected to someone whom blew us off.
I will never deal with this company again and will not let anyone I care about deal with them either.
September 18, 2018
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Irene (Parrsboro , NO)
Feeling disappointed Disappointed Rating 👎

not working with my ISP

For the first 5 years the magic jack worked good for me just like some of the reviews said. Then I switched from Bell Aliant to a smaller satellite provider because of horrendous internet charges by Bell. However, this rural smaller ISP apparently cannot support the magic jack, or so MJ claims. So now I will have to try to get out of my contract because I was not aware of this. The signal is not strong enough and MJ is basically useless.It drops calls constantly, I can't even hear the phone ring anymore, an endless list of issues.
Looking for a new reliable solution.
August 29, 2015
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 0
Submitted by: paul (mississauga , ON)

Try this

I see no mention of majicjack as a provider of voip. Its much cheaper than others mentioned here. I have been using for two years with great service. check it out .

Reply from: Alan
February 16, 2017
I'm not sure I understand your rating of 1 star as opposed to your comment to try it. Could you please clarify.
July 12, 2013
Review Helpful? 2 Yes No 0
Submitted by: sherry (winnipeg , MA)

Cheap!! only 35.00 a year

I have been using magic jack,both the old one and now the Plus,
It does work great 95% of the time, one dropped call.

I like the fact that if I say go on vacation to the cottage or move, I can just plug my device into my laptop, and have instant service, instead of waiting for an appointment for Shaw or MTS to come.

Unlimited callling in North America except AK and Nuvavut.

I can use the phone even tethered from my iPhone.

I do have to add money to call Jamaica, but it is 16 cents a minute to a landline and .25 cents to a cell phone and it tells me how many minutes are remaing. Love it!!
February 19, 2013
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Pat Worth (Montreal , QC)

Phone bill free for 5-years

Opted for the 5-year plan. Not keeping my old phone number so save another $10 monthly. Calls are sometimes choppy BUT with this we are not even thinking about phone bills for the next 5-years, plus we have warranty on the unit so if fails we get it exchanged.
February 19, 2013
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Pat Worth (Montreal , QC)

Phone bill free for 5-years

Opted for the 5-year plan. Not keeping my old phone number so save another $10 monthly. Calls are sometimes choppy BUT with this we are not even thinking about phone bills for the next 5-years, plus we have warranty on the unit so if fails we get it exchanged.
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Other Fees Long Distance Rates
0

Canada: FREE
USA: FREE
Intl. Minutes: 0

magicJack traces his root to the very first Internet Phone ever, back in 1996. It is incredible that we are 23-years later talking about the benefits of magicJack! The very first magicJack to come to market was a USB device that required a computer to be on at all times.

In 2011 magicJack PLUS was introduced; which since has eliminated the need for a computer. The MagicJack PLUS can be plugged directly into the AC adapter and to the normal household telephones.

As with other Single Box Home Phone solutions with the initial purchase you get the adapter and first-year, or first 3-months depending on if you get magicJack GO or majickJack Express subscription. Gonevoip found MagicJack has the usual VoIP Home Phone features:

  • Caller ID 
  • Call forwarding
  • Voicemail
  • Unlimited Canada/US calling is also included
  • supports number portability (for a fee) 

With the magic app, you can have your phone number available to you on your smartphone. Making it an ideal companion when travelling.

Shall be noted that not all calls are free with magicJack; there is a certain type of calls may require a premium; such as calls to conference bridges or calling cards. magicJack is a widely popular solution; though those looking at VoIP Home Phone may want to consider Ooma in the Single Box category or Phone Power as for a feature set richer and with more flexibility as it also allows BYOD.

Maple Leaf Features

Call Blocking Checkmark
Conference Calling Checkmark
BYOD: Checkmark
Smartphone App: Checkmark
Call Forwarding Checkmark
Call Hold Checkmark
Caller ID Name: Checkmark
Enhanced VoiceMail: Checkmark
Load More Q&A

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Rating
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 167 Reviews
netTALK CONNECT ezLINQ
Rating
$7 / mo.
Read 10 Reviews
CallCentric
Rating
FREE / mo.
Read 8 Reviews
VOIPO
Rating
$7.70 / mo.
Read 4 Reviews
Nomado
Rating
$7 / mo.
Read 0 Reviews
Talkit
Rating
$6.67 / mo.
Read 57 Reviews

Best Internet Canada

Altima Telecom
Rating
$29.95 / mo.
Read 62 Reviews
CIK Telecom Inc
Rating
$24.99 / mo.
Read 19 Reviews
GemsTelecom
Rating
$29.99 / mo.
Read 17 Reviews