magicJack Reviews & Service Offerings

magicJack
Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 7

Rating  83%     Rating  17%    

magicJack
magicJack

magicJack

Website:
Devices:
Availability:
http://www.magicjack.com
iPhone
AB, BC, MB, NB, NF, NS, ON, QC & SK

Visit Site

Monthly Fee Setup Fee Other Fees Long Distance Rates
0

Canada: FREE
USA: FREE
Intl. Minutes: 0

magicJack traces his root to the very first Internet Phone ever, back in 1996. It is incredible that we are 22-years later talking about the benefits of magicJack! The very first magicJack to come to market was a USB device that required a computer to be on at all times.

In 2011 magicJack PLUS was introduced; which since has eliminated the need for a computer. The MagicJack PLUS can be plugged directly into the AC adapter and to the normal household telephones.

As with other Single Box solutions with the initial purchase you get the adapter and first-year subscription. MagicJack has the usual VoIP features, caller ID, call forwarding and voicemail. Unlimited Canada/US calling is also included and supported number portability. With the magic app, you can have your phone number available to you on your smartphone. Making it an ideal companion when traveling.

Shall be noted that not all calls are free with magicJack; there is certain type of calls may require a premium; such as calls to conference bridges or calling cards. magicJack is a widely popular solution; though those looking at VoIP may want to consider Ooma in the Single Box category or Phone Power as for a feature set richer and with more flexibility as it also allows BYOD.

Maple Leaf Features

Call Blocking Checkmark
Conference Calling Checkmark
BYOD: Checkmark
Smartphone App: Checkmark
Call Forwarding Checkmark
Call Hold Checkmark
Caller ID Name: Checkmark
Enhanced VoiceMail: Checkmark
 

Reviews Stats

Rating
0
Rating
4
Rating
0
Rating
1
Rating
1

Top Positive


1 person found the following review useful
Submitted on: January 5, 2013
Submitted by: Carlos (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Very economical

Switched from Bell to the magicJack this is a great little gadget. The call quality is mostly good, the few calls dropped are made up with the huge savings we get.


Do you find this review useful?

1 Yes No 1 Report abuse


Top Critical


1 person found the following review useful
Submitted on: August 29, 2015
Submitted by: paul (mississauga , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Try this

I see no mention of majicjack as a provider of voip. Its much cheaper than others mentioned here. I have been using for two years with great service. check it out .

Reply from: Alan On: February 16, 2017
I'm not sure I understand your rating of 1 star as opposed to your comment to try it. Could you please clarify.


Do you find this review useful?

1 Yes No 0 Report abuse


All Reviews

1 person found the following review useful
August 29, 2015
Submitted by: paul (mississauga , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Try this

I see no mention of majicjack as a provider of voip. Its much cheaper than others mentioned here. I have been using for two years with great service. check it out .

Reply from: Alan
February 16, 2017
I'm not sure I understand your rating of 1 star as opposed to your comment to try it. Could you please clarify.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
July 12, 2013
Submitted by: sherry (winnipeg , MA)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Cheap!! only 35.00 a year

I have been using magic jack,both the old one and now the Plus,
It does work great 95% of the time, one dropped call.

I like the fact that if I say go on vacation to the cottage or move, I can just plug my device into my laptop, and have instant service, instead of waiting for an appointment for Shaw or MTS to come.

Unlimited callling in North America except AK and Nuvavut.

I can use the phone even tethered from my iPhone.

I do have to add money to call Jamaica, but it is 16 cents a minute to a landline and .25 cents to a cell phone and it tells me how many minutes are remaing. Love it!!
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
March 25, 2013
Submitted by: sin (toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

It's cheap!

For the price, nothing can beat it. We have had it for about 3 years now, and are still using the one attached to our computer.
We have a good internet plan, so no issues with quality really.

the only thing is that when you are at the computer, and the phone rings, the software flashes up on your screen and that is annoying. even if you close the window, it will flash up onto your screen again when the call is ended.

with the computer version your PC is on 24/7.

we still like it and would never change.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
February 19, 2013
Submitted by: Pat Worth (Montreal , QC)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Phone bill free for 5-years

Opted for the 5-year plan. Not keeping my old phone number so save another $10 monthly. Calls are sometimes choppy BUT with this we are not even thinking about phone bills for the next 5-years, plus we have warranty on the unit so if fails we get it exchanged.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
February 19, 2013
Submitted by: Pat Worth (Montreal , QC)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Phone bill free for 5-years

Opted for the 5-year plan. Not keeping my old phone number so save another $10 monthly. Calls are sometimes choppy BUT with this we are not even thinking about phone bills for the next 5-years, plus we have warranty on the unit so if fails we get it exchanged.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
January 5, 2013
Submitted by: Carlos (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Very economical

Switched from Bell to the magicJack this is a great little gadget. The call quality is mostly good, the few calls dropped are made up with the huge savings we get.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 1 Report abuse
Load More Reviews
Load More Q&A

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(6 ) Reviews + (1) Replies: 7

Rating  83%     Rating  17%

Maple LeafTop Internet Providers

Altima Telecom
Visit Website
$49.95 / mo.
Read 28 Reviews
Distributel
Visit Website
$35 / mo.
Read 5 Reviews
HeroNet.ca
Visit Website
$38.88 / mo.
Read 4 Reviews
Page generated in 0.4148 seconds.