Fongo Reviews & Service Offerings

Maple Leaf Company Info
Fongo
Fongo

Fongo

Website: www.fongo.com
Devices: iPhone, Android & Windows PC
Availability: AB, BC, MB, NB, NF, NS, ON, PEI, QC & SK
Monthly Price: $4.95 CAD

1-855-462-5349

Visit Site


49 2 reviewCount Get Free Quotes

Home Phone

Home Internet

Business Phone

Business Internet

 

Reviews Stats

When reviewing Fongo Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling satisfied satisfied !
Rating
17
Rating
3
Rating
3
Rating
3
Rating
10

All Reviews

April 3, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Peter Cheung (Winnipeg , MA)
Feeling happy Happy Rating ๐Ÿ‘

Dumped landline for VOIP phone

I dumped my landline and switched to VOIP phone from Fongo. Free upgrade from AAA Security from old landline monitoring system to Internet. It's $6 per month extra, but I saved $34 per month from BellMTS for the landline.
Fongo shipped me the adapter via FedEx in a couple of business days, setup was easy and smooth. Phone line was crystal clear, no echo at all. Long distance fees are comparable to BellMTS or Shaw Cable. Porting my existing phone # was within 10 calendar days.
It's been over 5 weeks, working great.
March 27, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Jay J (Vancouver , BR)
Feeling satisfied Satisfied Rating ๐Ÿ‘

Saving $30/month with Fongo

Saving $30/month ($360/year) with Fongo on my cell. I have a Data-only plan - and make all calls/texts on Fongo.

Call quality is good enough - no way i will ever go back to paying big $$$$$ to the Big-4 Telco Crooks!
December 27, 2018
Review Helpful? 4 Yes No 0
Submitted by: JC (Winnipeg , MA)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘

Poor Technical Support

My house line has been experiencing line echoes since day 1. All incoming callers (through landlines or cellular) would hear themselves talking.

I opened a ticket with the technical support department. They replied back with a few general DO's and DON'Ts steps. I've been in the IT industry for over 20 years, and I know those steps wouldn't solve the problem. But I still played along nicely and tried them all. Of course, nothing worked. I emailed them back; they came back and asked me for my internet download speed. I replied back telling them my download speed is over 600 Mbps. Shortly after I received another question about my upload speed. I replied back telling them it's over 21 Mbps. Then everything went silent. I waited for a few days and requested a status update, nothing. I sent another status update, still nothing.

I am starting to look elsewhere. The support from this company is close to nil. Wouldn't recommend at all.

Reply from: Cathy
January 2, 2019
We switched to VoIP Much. Echos are GONE!
December 3, 2018
Review Helpful? 4 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Henry Andrews (Calgary , AL)
Feeling satisfied Satisfied Rating ๐Ÿ‘

Excellent Service

I ported the number I have had for over 30 years and it transferred without an issue!

Pricing is exactly as promised. No Hidden fees,

Phone service works flawlessly!
November 23, 2018
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Rob (Montreal , QU)
Feeling happy Happy Rating ๐Ÿ‘

Couldn't be happier with Fongo home phone

The sign up process was simple over the phone with a Fongo representative who was super helpful. We ported our current phone number with Bell with no hassle.

The phone adapter arrived a few days after I signed up and it was super easy to set up.

Canada wide calling for just over $5 a month, international calling at 2c a minute to the UK and the call quality is perfect.

I'd thoroughly recommend this service. A fraction of the cost of Bell and the service is way better. This company deserves your business.

I could have saved hundreds of dollars over Bell's service if I'd found out about Fongo earlier.
December 12, 2017
Review Helpful? 5 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Darrell (Halifax , NO)
Feeling happy Happy Rating ๐Ÿ‘

Great Savings and Functionality

I have been using Fongo for almost a year on my iPad. With add ons for non free long distance calls and global texting, it more than replaces a mobile phone. Fongo is especially useful when I travel. It is fully functional anywhere that has reliable WiFi. Super savings on long distance, about 5 dollars for one hour hour of call time. Very happy with Fongo.
May 7, 2017
Review Helpful? 12 Yes No 24
Submitted by: Pj (Calgary , AL)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Piece of ... programming

Nothing lower than one on you scale??
Glitchy to the nth! Wasted two hours between waiting for confirmation and attempting to register. Tried multiple email addresses trying to make it work. It repeatedly told me incorrect name or password. 2 hours of my life I will never get back. But Don't worry I WILL tell all my friends.
January 28, 2017
Review Helpful? 10 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Tom (Abbotsford , BR)
Feeling satisfied Satisfied Rating ๐Ÿ‘

Fantastic and free

Free, free, free. Excellent quality phone service, complete with phone number. Talk till the cows come home. All you need is WiFi or data plan, which you already have. The best voip, better call quality than magic jack. Ocassional hicup only due to poor internet. If there us a problem, they have customer support. Did I mention that it's free?
January 7, 2017
Review Helpful? 10 Yes No 7
Submitted by: Marc Cioce (Montrรฉal , QU)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Bull ...

I don't know who is the owner of this business, but i try in one week two support message and i have no answer, i transfert a home phone line i have since ten years, and now i have NOBODY to answer, and this business have no phone number to reach it
extremely be carefull before do business with that!
June 13, 2016
Review Helpful? 4 Yes No 2
Submitted by: Heather Dee (Kingston , ON)

Great Experience

Had issues with a botched attempt to port our number over from another company. To make a long story short, received outstanding customer support and our issues were resolved well beyond what we were hoping, and in a short period of time, too. Very happy with our home telephone service, too. Highly recommended.
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Other Fees Long Distance Rates
$4.95 $59 $14.95
Bring your own Device Optional

Canada: FREE
USA: $0.02
Intl. Minutes: 0

Fongo was established in 2012, is a sister company of Fibernetics HQ in Cambridge, ON. At first, the focus was to deliver mobile dialer Apps using mobile VOIP. Dell VOICE was a marketing effort to explore the mobile VoIP space, which ultimately Dell decided to abandon the initiative and subsequently all subscribers were moved to Fongo/Fibernetics. Fongo also provides desktop Apps.

Fibernetics also owns Freephoneline.ca which provides a free number and Canadian calling to most Canadian cities for free. Shall be noted Wordline.ca is the commercial implementation of the same service. Dell VOICE/Fongo and/or Freephoneline may be good/cheap alternatives but continue to be plagued by reliability issues and Fongo customers reviews often observe a poor customer support experience along with the low or unreliable quality of service.

Also shall be noted Fongo started charging $0.04 connection fees to all calls that are outside their FREE calling cities. This is in addition to the $0.02 Fongo charged for calls outside the denominated FREE calling zones.  The Fongo Free Calling zone has more than 700 cities/towns, across the ten Canadian provinces and in more than 30 metropolitan areas.

Fongo does support number porting, but in which case there is an additional fee of $9.95 or $25, depending on when you do the transfer. It's cheaper to order the transfer during registration.

The setup fee of $59 includes a locked pre-configured ATA, in which you'll still have to also add $14.95 for shipping.

Early in 2013 Fongo made a very public offer for Wireless carrier Wind Mobile, but experts agreed that was a publicity stunt and not a serious offer. Nonetheless, that showed intriguing and for now unaccomplished ambitions.

In all Fongo presents an alternative in the Home Phone market, but if looking for a Home Phone a no-frills offering deal may be better with Talkit or VoIP Much (more features) and if looking for more rich features, free number transfer, a mature provider will find Phone Power as being one of the top providers.

Maple Leaf Features

Call Blocking Checkmark
Conference Calling Checkmark
BYOD: Checkmark
Smartphone App: Checkmark
Call Forwarding Checkmark
Call Hold Checkmark
Caller ID Name: Checkmark
Enhanced VoiceMail: Checkmark

Can you use an existing phone number that is registered to me


Hi Barry, Technically yes. For that matter most VoIP Home Providers are capable to porting most of the phone numbers. Note some phone numbers may not be available for porting, some old Bell lines for example. Though that is something outside the VoIP Home Phone provider; since Bell or whomever hosts the number have to upgrade the infrastructure first. Also note in the case of Fongo, they charge $25 + Tax to port the number. While the charging for number portability is not unusual, most providers nowadays do this for free. Hope this was helpful. The GoneVoIP Team

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse

when will you provide numbers for area code 709, Newfoundland??

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

can I use zoiper with your service?

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

What is highest download speed you can provid in MarkhamL6B0L5

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Hi! In your opinion, what is the best mobile app for iPhone to replace the regular cell phone providers to make phone calls and texts? I would need a Canadian phone number, and would be making calls mostly to Canada, even though I may be out of the country when placing the calls. Some international calling would be necessary, but only a few times a year. Thanks! (I currently have fongo but am nervous about putting that number on my business card and expecting it to work all the time)

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

How to file a complaint against a Provider

If you feel you have a valid complaint against your telecom provider, you are not alone. According to an article in the Financial Post complaint rates rose dramatically in 2017-2018 by a staggering 57%. In รƒฦ’ร‚ยฏรƒโ€šร‚ยฟรƒโ€šร‚ยฝ
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse

The 25 Most Popular Providers of 2018

Annually the GoneVoIP platform receives about half a million visitors. In general, the visits tend to be spread over the more than 490 service providers found in the GoneVoIP platform, though there are trends and รƒฦ’ร‚ยฏรƒโ€šร‚ยฟรƒโ€šร‚ยฝ
Continue Reading

Rating  3     Rating  2
Report abuse

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Rating
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 173 Reviews
netTALK CONNECT ezLINQ
Rating
$7 / mo.
Read 11 Reviews
CallCentric
Rating
$0 / mo.
Read 8 Reviews
VoIPLy
Rating
$7.16 / mo.
Read 1 Reviews
VOIPO
Rating
$7.70 / mo.
Read 4 Reviews
Talkit
Rating
$4.99 / mo.
Read 57 Reviews

Best Internet Canada

Altima Telecom
Rating
$29.99 / mo.
Read 67 Reviews
CIK Telecom Inc
Rating
$44.99 / mo.
Read 25 Reviews
GemsTelecom
Rating
$24.99 / mo.
Read 22 Reviews