Fongo Reviews & Service Offerings

Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 43

Rating  59%     Rating  41%    

Fongo
Fongo

Fongo

Website:
Devices:
Availability:
www.fongo.com
iPhone, Android & Windows PC
AB, BC, MB, NB, NF, NS, ON, PEI, QC & SK

Visit Site

Monthly Fee Setup Fee Other Fees Long Distance Rates
$4.95 $59 $14.95
Bring your own Device Optional

Canada: FREE
USA: $0.02
Intl. Minutes: 0

Fongo was established in 2012, is a sister company of Fibernetics HQ in Cambridge, ON. At first, the focus was to deliver mobile dialer Apps using mobile VOIP. Dell VOICE was a marketing effort to explore the mobile VoIP space, which ultimately Dell decided to abandon the initiative and subsequently all subscribers were moved to Fongo/Fibernetics. Fongo also provides desktop Apps.

Fibernetics also owns Freephoneline.ca which provides a free number and Canadian calling to most Canadian cities for free. Shall be noted Wordline.ca is the commercial implementation of the same service. Dell VOICE/Fongo and/or Freephoneline may be good/cheap alternatives but continue to be plagued by reliability issues and fongo customers reviews often observe a poor customer support experience/low quality of service.

Also shall be noted Fongo started charging $0.04 connection fees to all calls that are outside their FREE calling cities. This is in addition to the $0.02 Fongo charged for calls outside the denominated FREE calling zones.  The Fongo Free Calling zone has more than 700 cities/towns, across the ten Canadian provinces and in more than 30 metropolitan areas.

Fongo does support number porting, but in which case there is an additional fee of $20 or $25, depending on when you do the transfer. It's cheaper to order the transfer during registration.

The setup fee of $59 includes a locked pre-configured ATA, in which you'll still have to also add $14.95 for shipping.

Early in 2013 Fongo made a very public offer for Wireless carrier Wind Mobile, but experts agreed that was more a publicity stunt than a serious offer. Nonetheless, that shows intriguing ambitions.

In all Fongo is an alternative but if looking for a Home Phone a no-frills offering deal may be better with Talkit or VoIP Much (more features) and if looking for more rich features, free number transfer, a mature provider will find Phone Power as being one of the top providers.

Maple Leaf Features

Call Blocking Checkmark
Conference Calling Checkmark
BYOD: Checkmark
Smartphone App: Checkmark
Call Forwarding Checkmark
Call Hold Checkmark
Caller ID Name: Checkmark
Enhanced VoiceMail: Checkmark
 

Reviews Stats

Rating
14
Rating
3
Rating
3
Rating
3
Rating
9
When reviewing Fongo Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !

Top Positive


10 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: November 26, 2015
Submitted by: TAwfick (Milton , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Customer Service

Great customer service and who ever connect to my computer and fixed my problem was very good in fixing the problem and helping me and fixed the issue.. keep up the good service


Do you find this review useful?

10 Yes No 2 Report abuse


Top Critical


5 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: July 28, 2014
Submitted by: Ray (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

No Customer Support

I lost the dial tone on my home service all of sudden.. I tried to reach Fongo Tech support. They wanted me to power cycle internet modem/router and their ATA which didn't help. after that they never answered any email or ticket I opened. just use this service as long as it's free.
get it as home service was a huge mistake.

Reply from: Ray On: July 29, 2014
I'm back here to change the "No Customer Support" title to " poor Customer support".
After leaving the review here, the next day I had an email from Fongo Tech support which addressed the issue ( basically pointing ATA device to second SIP Server with a different Port which eliminates all blaming on Client DNS error and Client port blocking claimed by Fongo Tech support at the first place).
I still believe they must have a established tech support for their Home services.


Do you find this review useful?

5 Yes No 0 Report abuse


All Reviews

2 persons found the following review useful
December 12, 2017
Submitted by: Darrell (Halifax , NO)
Feeling: Feeling happy Happy
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Great Savings and Functionality

I have been using Fongo for almost a year on my iPad. With add ons for non free long distance calls and global texting, it more than replaces a mobile phone. Fongo is especially useful when I travel. It is fully functional anywhere that has reliable WiFi. Super savings on long distance, about 5 dollars for one hour hour of call time. Very happy with Fongo.
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
May 7, 2017
Submitted by: Pj (Calgary , AL)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Piece of ... programming

Nothing lower than one on you scale??
Glitchy to the nth! Wasted two hours between waiting for confirmation and attempting to register. Tried multiple email addresses trying to make it work. It repeatedly told me incorrect name or password. 2 hours of my life I will never get back. But Don't worry I WILL tell all my friends.
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 8 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
January 28, 2017
Submitted by: Tom (Abbotsford , BR)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Fantastic and free

Free, free, free. Excellent quality phone service, complete with phone number. Talk till the cows come home. All you need is WiFi or data plan, which you already have. The best voip, better call quality than magic jack. Ocassional hicup only due to poor internet. If there us a problem, they have customer support. Did I mention that it's free?
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 1 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
January 7, 2017
Submitted by: Marc Cioce (Montréal , QU)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Bull ...

I don't know who is the owner of this business, but i try in one week two support message and i have no answer, i transfert a home phone line i have since ten years, and now i have NOBODY to answer, and this business have no phone number to reach it
extremely be carefull before do business with that!
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 1 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
June 13, 2016
Submitted by: Heather Dee (Kingston , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Great Experience

Had issues with a botched attempt to port our number over from another company. To make a long story short, received outstanding customer support and our issues were resolved well beyond what we were hoping, and in a short period of time, too. Very happy with our home telephone service, too. Highly recommended.
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 2 Report abuse
10 persons found the following review useful
November 26, 2015
Submitted by: TAwfick (Milton , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Customer Service

Great customer service and who ever connect to my computer and fixed my problem was very good in fixing the problem and helping me and fixed the issue.. keep up the good service
Do you find this review useful? 10 Yes No 2 Report abuse
5 persons found the following review useful
August 17, 2015
Submitted by: Michael (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Fongo and Freephonline.ca

I have it, it works perfect. No problems. I love it.
Do you find this review useful? 5 Yes No 1 Report abuse
5 persons found the following review useful
June 5, 2015
Submitted by: Stephane (Montreal , QU)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Perfect for expatriate

I am an expatriate living in Berlin, Germany. Fongo is perfect to stay connected with Canada. I used the service as an official number on my smartphone. It works perfectly. The only negative aspect is the long distance fees between area code outside Montreal. I don't understand why it is not free.
Do you find this review useful? 5 Yes No 0 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
March 24, 2015
Submitted by: Simon (Montreal , QU)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Not getting registration call

I've been trying to register for a few days but I've never received the phone call that should give me the confirmation code. I'd love to try this service.
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 2 Report abuse
4 persons found the following review useful
March 7, 2015
Submitted by: Dave (St Catharines , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Quick Support

I hooked up the Fongo adaptor as instructed on the Quick Start Guide but wasn't getting a telephone connection. I emailed "Support" with a description of the issue and received a reply within 1/2 hour. I followed support's instructions and had the phone up and running in no time. We have had no issues with the service so far except for a bit of an echo on the line. For the cost of service, I'm not going to complain about an echo. GOOD-BY BELL!!
Do you find this review useful? 4 Yes No 0 Report abuse
Load More Reviews

can I use zoiper with your service?

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

What is highest download speed you can provid in MarkhamL6B0L5

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Hi! In your opinion, what is the best mobile app for iPhone to replace the regular cell phone providers to make phone calls and texts? I would need a Canadian phone number, and would be making calls mostly to Canada, even though I may be out of the country when placing the calls. Some international calling would be necessary, but only a few times a year. Thanks! (I currently have fongo but am nervous about putting that number on my business card and expecting it to work all the time)

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

I already have a FONGO # can I use that same # here? ?? Number is

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

I am not able to choose Maple Ridge, BC for my phone number. Why?

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(32 ) Reviews + (11) Replies: 43

Rating  59%     Rating  41%

Maple LeafTop Internet Providers

Altima Telecom
Visit Website
$49.95 / mo.
Read 28 Reviews
Distributel
Visit Website
$35 / mo.
Read 5 Reviews
HeroNet.ca
Visit Website
$38.88 / mo.
Read 4 Reviews
Page generated in 1.0115 seconds.