Atalk Reviews & Service Offerings

Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 7

Rating  50%     Rating  50%    

Atalk
Atalk

Atalk

Website:
Services:
Availability:
atalk.ca
Cable, DSL, Wi-Fi & Dry-loop
ON & QC

Visit Site

Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$29.99 Shipping: $99.95 Other: $ No

Download: 7Mbps

Upload: 1Mbps

Cap:

Overage:

Atalk.ca is a telecommunications company founded in 2005. Two years ago, they entered the high-speed internet market and now provide internet services to both Ontario and Quebec. Atalk.ca is a division of Acrobat Telecom Inc. and their HQ is in Toronto.

Atalk.ca offers unlimited DSL internet usage for $34.95 with no contract. This price does not include the dry-loop fee. Some companies charge a standard dry-loop fee while others charge dependent on proximity to the company’s station. Atalka.ca is the latter, so if you live outside of the Toronto core, you can expect a steeper dry-loop charge. I live next to the CN Tower, and when I called for a price quote, they quoted me at $34.95, and called the $5 dry-loop charge “one of the smallest they had ever quoted”.

One of the most attractive bonuses for Atalk.ca is that they are one of the few companies that truly offers unlimited internet. Reading through their terms and conditions, they only speak of phone unlimited usage restrictions – not internet usage restrictions. However, in a separate section, it does state the company can terminate their services to a customer for certain reasons including if the customer: “Abuses the network with excessive usage as may be determined by Atalk. Excessive usage shall be determined solely by Atalk”. There is no reference to whether they are talking about the phone services, the internet services, the IPTV services - or all three. 

24-7 customer support is also provided; however, the terms and conditions state you accept all charges of calls placed to support and you will be served on a “best-efforts basis”. When I called the company I received an answer quickly.

The terms and conditions do state clearly that the slight inconveniences of “lack of service or poor quality are not grounds for contract termination” (Of course for the internet services, there is no contract). The customer must allow “reasonable” time for the company to diagnose and fix any issue. Only after 30 days of the problem continuing can the customer cancel without penalty. In what world is 30 days reasonable time to fix an internet outage? That would have been unacceptable in 1995, much less in 2015. 

Heronet and Distributel have the same monthly fee for their basic packages at Atalk.ca ($34.95) while TekSaavy is slightly cheaper at $27.99. However, Atalk.ca’s setup costs are $50 which is slightly more expensive than Heronet ($0 currently) & Distributel ($0 as well).

Meanwhile, the modem (ADSL or VDSL) is $60 to buy or $5 a month to rent. If you have your own modem, you would pay no additional modem fee but they do not guarantee the modem will work with their service. They do offer up to 80% refund if you change providers and wish to return the purchased modem (but you must pay for the shipping and have the original packaging).

Overall, we love their unlimited DSL internet package at $34.95 monthly. We are a little put off by their terms and conditions, which allows them up to 30 days to fix an outage consequence-free. While that may be an extreme instance, it still seems excessively high. The bottom-line is if you can get past the rather high setup fee, then you could generate some decent savings with Atalk.ca in the long run.

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark
 

Reviews Stats

Rating
2
Rating
0
Rating
1
Rating
0
Rating
1

Top Positive


3 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: November 10, 2015
Submitted by: Avi (Richmond Hill , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Amazing. Gotta try it to belive it!

I couldn't believe it would be possible to pay so little and recieve so many great services! I've been a customers for over 2 years, and I love love love the services I'm getting. Internet and TV services have been great, and I've been getting helpful customer service

Reply from: Atalk On: November 10, 2015
We are so glad to hear that and very happy to always hear from our customers!


Do you find this review useful?

3 Yes No 0 Report abuse


Top Critical


2 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: November 9, 2015
Submitted by: Ramin (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Very Amateur

... I think this is a family business.

- I pay $39.99 + tax
- No support after hours.
- Old Modems & router
- If you call on Friday you can expect a call on Tuesday the next week. And when they call you they just ask you to reset the modem like you haven't tried it over the past few days, and then say then won't be able to send someone over because everything is fine on their end.

Reply from: Atalk On: November 10, 2015
Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry to hear that you had a poor experience with our service, and would like to do what is necessary to help you make your experience with Atalk.ca a better one.
Because customer satisfaction is our number one priority at Atalk, we would appreciate it if you call us and inform us of your concerns, so we can assist you in the best way possible.
We do take all feedback from our customers very serious, however we need more information about the services you have with Atalk.ca and the Issues you may be facing, to do what needs to be done to remedy it. Unfortunately, We have been unable to find an existing or previous customer account under your name, otherwise we would have contacted you in order to address your concerns.
On your previous review, you have mentioned that you cancelled your services with ATALK.ca, yet it seems like you are still having Issues with your service last night? Are you still an Atalk Customer? If so, please be sure to call as at 1-905-370-2098, in order for our agents to assist you in the best way possible. We look forward to hearing from you soon.


Do you find this review useful?

2 Yes No 1 Report abuse


All Reviews

March 24, 2016
Submitted by: darko (toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

superb service

atalk is able to provide excellent service in spite of bell (dry-line provider) trying to obstruct it.

very satisfied!
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
November 10, 2015
Submitted by: Avi (Richmond Hill , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Amazing. Gotta try it to belive it!

I couldn't believe it would be possible to pay so little and recieve so many great services! I've been a customers for over 2 years, and I love love love the services I'm getting. Internet and TV services have been great, and I've been getting helpful customer service

Reply from: Atalk
November 10, 2015
We are so glad to hear that and very happy to always hear from our customers!
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 0 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
November 9, 2015
Submitted by: Ramin (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Very Amateur

... I think this is a family business.

- I pay $39.99 + tax
- No support after hours.
- Old Modems & router
- If you call on Friday you can expect a call on Tuesday the next week. And when they call you they just ask you to reset the modem like you haven't tried it over the past few days, and then say then won't be able to send someone over because everything is fine on their end.

Reply from: Atalk
November 10, 2015
Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry to hear that you had a poor experience with our service, and would like to do what is necessary to help you make your experience with Atalk.ca a better one.
Because customer satisfaction is our number one priority at Atalk, we would appreciate it if you call us and inform us of your concerns, so we can assist you in the best way possible.
We do take all feedback from our customers very serious, however we need more information about the services you have with Atalk.ca and the Issues you may be facing, to do what needs to be done to remedy it. Unfortunately, We have been unable to find an existing or previous customer account under your name, otherwise we would have contacted you in order to address your concerns.
On your previous review, you have mentioned that you cancelled your services with ATALK.ca, yet it seems like you are still having Issues with your service last night? Are you still an Atalk Customer? If so, please be sure to call as at 1-905-370-2098, in order for our agents to assist you in the best way possible. We look forward to hearing from you soon.
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 1 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
September 22, 2015
Submitted by: sue (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Average

If you are after a fast internet service, Atalk is not the one to go. They are fairly cheap and that's what you get in terms of service.

Reply from: Atalk Customer Service
October 7, 2015
We are very sorry to hear you did not have a good experience. We are always more than glad to hear from our customers and help resolve connection issues. We have just added cable internet to our services; we hope to hear from you soon!
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
Load More Reviews

How much would a second phone line be packaged with Internet and how much to call the UK

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(4 ) Reviews + (3) Replies: 7

Rating  50%     Rating  50%

Maple Leaf Top Internet Providers

Altima Telecom
Visit Website
$49.95 / mo.
Read 28 Reviews
Distributel
Visit Website
$35 / mo.
Read 5 Reviews
HeroNet.ca
Visit Website
$38.88 / mo.
Read 4 Reviews

Maple LeafTop Residential VoIP

VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 0 Reviews
Yak
Visit Website
$5 / mo.
Read 173 Reviews
VOIPO
Visit Website
$7.70 / mo.
Read 3 Reviews
Page generated in 0.7562 seconds.