Ascent Networks Reviews & Service Offerings

Maple Leaf Company Info
Ascent Networks
Ascent Networks

Ascent Networks

Website: www.ascentnetworks.ca
Services: Wireless
Availability: No Longer Operating
Monthly Price: $29.95 CAD

Visit Site


8 0.5 reviewCount Get Free Quotes

Home Phone

Home Internet

Business Phone

Business Internet

 

Reviews Stats

When reviewing Ascent Networks Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !
Rating
0
Rating
4
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
1

All Reviews

August 16, 2018
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: gvrvwimpbot ( Conestogo , ON)

Review from Canadianisp.ca

We have been with Ascent Networks Inc for just over a year now. We have thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The packages are hard to beat as they are a GREAT price along with very fast internet. In the few instances where we went without internet for a few days. Darrin was always quick to help us out. We highly recommend ascent networks.
March 20, 2018
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: gvrvwimpbot ( Elmira , ON)

Review from Canadianisp.ca

Darrin is very easy to deal with and gets right on problems as soon as they occur
March 15, 2018
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: gvrvwimpbot ( Floradale , ON)

Review from Canadianisp.ca

It works very well and the price is good
November 10, 2017
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 0
Submitted by: gvrvwimpbot ( West montrose , ON)

Review from Canadianisp.ca

My experience so far with Ascent Networks has been nothing short of excellent. Installation was quick and professional, there was no long time spent waiting for a tech to come on site. I was with another local ISP who only offered 6 down / 1 up and with Ascent Networks I was able to get 35 down / 15 up with no monthly bandwidth restrictions which is a night and day difference! The overall reliability of the connection and lower latency really makes a noticeable difference, whether your are working from your home office or gaming online with your kids. Reaching out to support when required is quick and easy, and a followup response is generally almost right away. The team at Ascent Networks really demonstrates what it means to put customers first, I wouldn_t hesitate to recommend them to friends and family.

- Derek in West Montrose
March 9, 2017
Review Helpful? 5 Yes No 2
Submitted by: Alan Wright (Arthur , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating 👎

Poor service all round

This company is doomed to ultimate failure because of the disgusting attitude of it's owner Darrin. Any complaint about the awful reliability is met with rudeness, We are not the only ones to experience this.

Reply from: Richard Brennim
November 1, 2019
I have been a customer of Darrin's for almost 7 yrs and it has been the absolute BEST Internet service I have ever had and I have had a few providers. I couldn't care if he changed the company names 100 times, what he has NEVER done is shut us down and walk away like other companies have done in the Arthur/Alma area over the years and then pop up and try again under a different name years later. His speeds are amazing and if there is a rare outage he updates his phone message to let us know. I run a small online business and also game in my spare time as does my kids and not once have they complained about lag or drop outs. Darrin has been in the industry for what I believe is over 12 years and last I talked to him he was growing rapidly and I can only offer my appreciation for his hard work and not just walking away on us when the bad apples pop up to complain.

Reply from: Not a customer
October 15, 2019
Darrin has again renamed this company it is now called Driftwood Networks Inc and comes up when you search for Bluwest or Ascent Networks Inc.

Reply from: Not a customer
May 8, 2019
Company still operates however Darrin has simply renamed and incorporated it as Ascent Networks Inc.
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$29.95 Shipping: $ Other: $199.95 No

Download: 2Mbps

Upload: 512kbps

Cap:

Overage:

Ascent Networks (formerly known as BluWest) is an internet service provider which serves Southern Ontario. Their HQ was in Elmira, Ontario. Ascent Networks bills themselves as the leader in the wireless high-speed internet.

Ascent Networks was one of the more inexpensive plans on the market. Their basic residential package gave you unlimited data usage and bandwidth for $29.95 per month. For that price, you were receiving 2 Mbps download speeds and 512 Kbps upload speeds. There were no contracts and they said at the time, there were no hidden costs. However, it is worth noting that their installation fees of $199 were a bit on the expensive side. Furthermore, there were no terms and conditions to determine things such as usage caps, hidden fees, or any other unexpected surprises.

Ascent Networks (BluWest also had) has three other residential plans with much quicker speeds but at much more expensive prices. For $49.95 per month, you can increase the download speeds to 5 Mbps and the upload speeds to 1 Mbps. For $79.95, the download speeds go up to 6 Mbps while the upload speeds stay at 1 Mbps. Finally, they also had a package for $99.95 which offered download speeds of up to 10 Mbps and the same 1 Mbps upload speeds.

When we compare their price to Gonevoip’s top three, (on DSL & Cable) ISP providers, it comes in at the same price as Altima and Heronet. However, as mentioned earlier, their $199 installation fee is very much more expensive when compared to the three aforementioned companies which all have setup fees at $10 and below. Granted that likely is to do to the specific setup for Wireless service.

No caps and no contracts are always options worth considering. Certainly in Southwest Ontario BluWest was, now Ascent Networks bringing the Internet to communities, and certainly, it is good to see coverage. Though in this case, it looks like the chronicle may follow steps of the past. Giving too much with too little information widely available is always a receipt for problems.  

 

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark
Load More Q&A

Best Home Internet Canada

Altima Telecom
Rating
$39.99 / mo.
Read 98 Reviews
CIK Telecom Inc
Rating
$44.99 / mo.
Read 215 Reviews
GemsTelecom
Rating
$24.99 / mo.
Read 28 Reviews

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Rating
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 180 Reviews
netTALK CONNECT ezLINQ
Rating
$7 / mo.
Read 13 Reviews
CallCentric
Rating
$0 / mo.
Read 8 Reviews