Seaside Wireless Reviews & Service Offerings

Seaside Wireless
Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 4

Rating  25%     Rating  75%    

Seaside Wireless2
Seaside Wireless

Seaside Wireless

Website:
Services:
Availability:
www.seasidehighspeed.com

MB

Visit Site

Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$ Shipping: $$99.00 - $50.00 Other: $$49.95 Yes

Download: 1.5 MBPS

Upload: Not Mentioned

Cap: Unclear

Overage: Unclear

Seaside Wireless is a community based endeavour which helps the people of Cape Breton acquire internet access at an affordable cost. However whether or not the cost is truly affordable will be discussed later. Seaside wireless is the sister company to another telecommunications provider known as Seaside Communications which offers wired internet across numerous counties in Nova Scotia. However our focus will remain on Seaside wireless which provides wireless internet connections, across numerous counties in Manitoba. The headquarters of Season Wireless can be found at 1318 Grand Lake Road (Next to Cape Breton University) Reserve Mines, Nova Scotia P.O. Box number 4558 Reserve Mines, Nova Scotia, B1E 1L2. Let us now review one of the Seaside Wireless flagship residential internet plans!

The first thing we noticed about all of Seaside Wireless’s internet plans is the fact that they are all offered on a contractual basis. They offer the same plan in three different time frames of a contractual agreement. The plan has the following specifications: download speeds of up to 1.5 mbps and varying installation fees. If you decide to go with the one year contract you’ll have to pay a $99.00 installation fee and a monthly fee of $49.95 per month. If you opt into the two year contract you’ll have to pay a setup fee of $49.95 and the same charges on a monthly basis. If you however opt into the three year contract, the setup fees are waived, but the monthly charge remains the same.

It was vaguely mentioned that this plan is based on an unlimited bandwidth cap but we can’t be too sure about that considering the lack of information. The rates at which Seaside Wireless is providing their services aren’t too bad when compared to other wireless providers such as Last Mile Wireless and MDS Wireless which offer the same plan at the same rates of $49.95 per month. The troubling part is the fact a contractual agreement is required under any circumstance when opting into Seaside Wireless services.

The lack of information on Seaside Wireless’s website is another suspicious factor about their services. A very vague mention was made to them offering unlimited bandwidth, and apart from that there wasn’t much information provided at all. A page of benefits was provided, but those benefits pertain to having general internet access and not specifically about the services provided by Seaside Wireless.

Seaside Wireless can do away with their requirements for a contractual agreement and that would make their plans seem a hundred times better. As it currently is however, they require a contractual agreement on every wireless plan they offer and that doesn’t usually sit too well with customers looking for a potential wireless service provider. Furthermore Seaside Wireless definitely needs to provide more information about their plans!

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark
 

Reviews Stats

Rating
1
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
3
When reviewing Seaside Wireless Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry!

Top Positive


Submitted on: February 10, 2018
Submitted by: Rod(Beaver Cove, NO)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

ZoomZoom

We have had the same internet provider for several years but searching for new and improved led us to Seaside. From answering questions/concerns to booking and completing installations to help with set up to follow-up calls Seaside rates high on our satisfaction. The speeds we sought have been consistently met and the heavy rains/clouds did not really affect performance. We also obtained their new rural phone service over the internet and, so far, all is well. We are happy we switched providers and sorry we didn't do it a year ago.


Do you find this review useful?

0 Yes No 0 Report abuse


Top Critical


2 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: July 30, 2017
Submitted by: Kenzie (Inverness, NO)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

The WORST ISP Ever

Seaside Wireless is an internet service provider that seems to be very shady. They take advantage of rural customers where they have little competition by charging outrageous rates for bare-bones service. I am thankful to be under contract where we get ours for free but at the same time free high speed is way better than what we're getting.

Most days, internet speed doesn't exceed 0.4 Mbps when we're supposed to be getting 1.5 Mbps and I'm connected through ethernet!

I've also written emails to their customer service email without any reply, which just makes me more angry.


Do you find this review useful?

2 Yes No 2 Report abuse


All Reviews

February 10, 2018
Submitted by: Rod (Beaver Cove, NO)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

ZoomZoom

We have had the same internet provider for several years but searching for new and improved led us to Seaside. From answering questions/concerns to booking and completing installations to help with set up to follow-up calls Seaside rates high on our satisfaction. The speeds we sought have been consistently met and the heavy rains/clouds did not really affect performance. We also obtained their new rural phone service over the internet and, so far, all is well. We are happy we switched providers and sorry we didn't do it a year ago.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
November 21, 2017
Submitted by: Kevin (TANGIER, NO)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Terrible service, total rip off

The only time I got even close to advertised speeds was the day it was installed and the following few days and one day after I spoke to tech support. The rest of the time I was getting speed test results of 0 to .15 MBPS download speed. Company would just give excuses, said I was using the wrong sever as if that makes a difference.
This company is advertising false speeds that they can't deliver.
Switched to citywide communications, now I get 5+ MBPS of unlimited hasel free service for $50 per month.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 1 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
July 30, 2017
Submitted by: Kenzie (Inverness, NO)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

The WORST ISP Ever

Seaside Wireless is an internet service provider that seems to be very shady. They take advantage of rural customers where they have little competition by charging outrageous rates for bare-bones service. I am thankful to be under contract where we get ours for free but at the same time free high speed is way better than what we're getting.

Most days, internet speed doesn't exceed 0.4 Mbps when we're supposed to be getting 1.5 Mbps and I'm connected through ethernet!

I've also written emails to their customer service email without any reply, which just makes me more angry.
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 2 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
January 6, 2017
Submitted by: Jason (Newglasgow, NO)
Feeling: Feeling unpleasantly_surprised Unpleasantly Surprised
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Terrible customer service.

I have been dealing with this company for almost three years, every winter my internet signal is almost nonecistant. They have blamed it on weather, solar activity, iron in the ground and roughly 15 other possibilities . I have spent endless hours on the phone with them trying to have the issue resolved. They refuse to send technicians although I beg, they have accused me of not calling when I did and deducted 15$ for a 8 day span... The thing is I pay more than 15$ for 8 days of what they call internet. Today I was speaking with who claimed to be a customer service manager and I was called names for wanting my bill looked into and technicians sent out to fix the issue. If you are in a small comunity or this is somehow your only option for service, I would recommend that you look into explorer net instead of this waste of time ignorant, lying business.
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 5 Report abuse
Load More Reviews

we joined seaside in october 2015 . I was able to play world of tanks or watch movies off of you tube perfectly . however by december pf 2015 the movies on you tube were not running as they would load every couple of minutes . my world of tanks game would not run as the ms went from 90 ms to 999 ms . what happened to our service . today seaside upgraded our intenna and charged us more money telling us this will fix the problem . however we are still not able to watch you tube movies without them stopping to load every couple of seconds and my world of tanks game is not able to run as the ms is still at 999 . I believe that when we first bought into seaside in october 2015 their service was fine , however something changed on their part within a couple of months for the worse and it has not gotten better it still is no good . some of my friends have left sea side for other providers and they are wanting me to join them but I know seaside will bring back their initial quality of service hopefully soon . my question is why did they drop their quality of service in the first place and when will they bring it back to their innitial quality . we are without internet more than we have internet . as far as their up grade goes their is no improvement but they are chargeing us more money for a service that we cannot use .


Hello, Please contact our customer care team at 1-888-965-5511 for a detailed review of your connection. Troubleshooting will be needed to determine possible causes, and a resolution. Thank you

Rating  0     Rating  2 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(4) Reviews + (0) Replies: 4

Rating  25%     Rating  75%

Maple Leaf Top Internet Providers

Altima Telecom
Visit Website
$49.95 / mo.
Read 21 Reviews
Distributel
Visit Website
$35 / mo.
Read 5 Reviews
HeroNet.ca
Visit Website
$38.88 / mo.
Read 4 Reviews

Maple LeafTop Residential VoIP

VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 54 Reviews
Yak
Visit Website
$5 / mo.
Read 173 Reviews
1-VOIP
Visit Website
$11.21 / mo.
Read 9 Reviews