Freephoneline Reviews & Service Offerings

Maple Leaf Company Info
Freephoneline
Freephoneline

Freephoneline

Website: www.freephoneline.ca
Devices: Windows PC
Availability: AB, BC, MB, NB, NF, NS, ON, PEI, QC & SK
Monthly Price: $4.95 CAD

1-855-462-5349

Visit Site


25 2 5 Get Free Quotes

Home Phone

Home Internet

Business Phone

Business Internet

 

Reviews Stats

When reviewing Freephoneline Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling satisfied satisfied !
Rating
10
Rating
2
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
6

All Reviews

August 6, 2018
Review Helpful? 3 Yes No 2
Submitted by: Lulu Malone (Montreal , QU)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Inexistent customer support

Their services disconnect often with no reason. In addition, their customer support is horrible: it takes days, if at all, to answer a request.
Not recommended.
June 18, 2018
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 2
Submitted by: Marina (Gatineau , QU)
Feeling satisfied Satisfied Rating ๐Ÿ‘

Fine VOIP service.

I have Freephoneline within 4 eyars. I have no problem to call in Canada. i had some problems to call abroad and applied to support. They helped to fix my issues and now line works fine, as regular phone.

Very good service.
December 12, 2017
Review Helpful? 5 Yes No 6
Submitted by: Greg (Toronto , ON)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Useless

On December 5, 2017 I called 911 only to hear "This call is not covered by your tariff plan." Contacted them twice for an explanation, nothing. I don't use the service much, but when you need 911, you expect it to work.
July 7, 2017
Review Helpful? 3 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Ron (Markham , ON)
Feeling satisfied Satisfied Rating ๐Ÿ‘

Extremely satisfied !

I've been using the service for about 4 years and have been extremely satisfied with the service. I've not had any downtime. I've utilized their long distant discount rate by calling throughout the US and Asia and have been please with the sound quality and rates.

I am using the Obihai ATA which was recommended by the moderator when I posted for recommendations. The model of the Obihai is obi202 which allows for 2 phone lines, fax, etc. I figured I may expand to a second line soon.

I installed the unit in my ba ... t, connecting to the main telephone port which are connected to all the phone ports in the bedrooms, kitchen, etc. All my phones are connected to the Obihai device. The sound quality is superb !!!

The key feature my wife an I like is the "follow me" where the calls are forwarded to my wife's cell simultaneously; hence we can be out on on dinner or vacation and not having to miss any important calls. We traveled to Europe and was able to screen the calls and picked up only the calls that are important.

I have recommended the service to many of my friends. I've also recommended the Obihai ATA to them as well as I've had great success with them.
February 13, 2017
Review Helpful? 7 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Eric Parent (Ottawa , ON)
Feeling thankful Thankful Rating ๐Ÿ‘

3 years later, still works, still free!

I signed up with Freephoneline.ca over 3 years ago. For a $50 one-time fee, you can use an ATA for your home's phone jacks. I was skeptical, but I figured what the heck, it's only $50 anyway, so no big loss if it doesn't work. I bought a Cisco SPA112, and I paid the $50 fee for the parameters to enter into it. I plugged a line from my SPA112's line-out jack to one of my home phone jacks, and then I plugged my cordless phone into another phone jack, and sure enough, dial tone!

Well, low and behold, after over 3 years, my home phone service still works! It's never gone down once! I have all the features, including voicemail with my messages emailed to me as audio file attachments, call forwarding, caller ID, call waiting, call block, etc etc etc. In other words, I have pretty much every feature available in a premium home phone package, unlimited local outbound calling, and unlimited inbound calls! For free!

So, it's for real! After three years, I've not once received a phone bill. I can plugin any normal telephone in any phone jack in my house, and I get a dial tone. So if you're skeptical, don't be! The service is free if you use a softphone (computer), or you can do what I did, pay the $50, and use your normal telephone(s).
September 18, 2016
Review Helpful? 11 Yes No 7
Submitted by: Duc (Brossard , QU)

my number from freephoneline suddenly disappear

1 week in utilisation, and 1 week later, my account has just been erased. No login, nbo password and the number has been erased to be re-assigned to a new people.

Very strange way to do business.
March 10, 2016
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 0
Submitted by: slick (surrey , BR)

Nice

I just started using the service with the free softphone on my laptop and it works perfectly. I will upgrade the voip key so I can use a no adverti ... t softphone. Keep up the good work.
February 24, 2016
Review Helpful? 5 Yes No 35
Submitted by: Michael Zamborsky (Longueuil , QC)

Don't kid yourself

Iv Been with Freephoneline and now also with Fongo as well for over 6 years and the only thing I can realy say is save yourself the stress and frustration and get a real phone because after all this time waisted and problems that I'm sure you don't even realise you have,it just isn't worth it.
I'm not even going to waist my time to explain it all so get yourself hooked up with them and go through what I did and still am today experience it for yourself!
Voip in general is garbage I don't care what anybody says!
November 6, 2015
Review Helpful? 4 Yes No 12
Submitted by: VOIP USER (Alliston , ON)

Excellent Free VOIP

Have been using freephoneline for over 6 years and it never had any major issue with service. Occasionally need to reset my ATA which I purchase from freephoneline. I save so much money as I was using it as a second line. Now saying good bye to bell for good and getting world line Internet service and using my freephoneline as my main home line now.

Reply from: Paul
March 17, 2016
My wife and I signed up with freephoneline shortly after we got married in 2012. It is our first home phone service.

It was hard to get the Voip adapter configured properly, but once configured it was fairly reliable. We discovered that most of our cut outs were due to poor service from our ISP. We changed ISP and have had reliable service ever since.

Reply from: Daniel
February 26, 2016
I have been using FreePHone line for 5 years now. I own my VOIP Cisco SIP box.
I never had any issue with the service.
Its always there and good quality.
I don't need these fancy features, except CallerID, which is already included.

I have my cell phone and FPL is the best option for home line and Fax

Reply from: Michael Zamborsky
February 24, 2016
6 years no problems? Bullshit!! Occasionally need to reset ATA box is not a problem?
not receiving calls when your not even aware of it either wouldnt be a problem?(My Personal experience)
December 30, 2014
Review Helpful? 5 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Erik (Hamilton , ON)

Simply pays for itself.

We signed on with Freephoneline.ca 5 years ago when we first started monkeying around with using VoIP instead of POTS for our home phone.

We paid $50 for an ATA off Ebay, $50 for the "unlock" and $20 for a long distance 'voucher'. That was ALL we paid for 4 years of telephone service (the long distance needed to be topped up after 4 years). We are still using this service today.

Free calling to most major urban centres in Canada means you won't be using your long distance minutes as often as you would think.

Some features are available through their web interface - "follow me" settings allow you to set behavior (always forward calls to another number, forward when busy, forward after X rings).

There have been a few service interuptions in the past 4 years, but usually brief.

We've come to rely on Voip.ms for a more "feature rich" service for our second line, but our FPL line has been without question the most economical option.
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Other Fees Long Distance Rates
$4.95 $25 $73.95
Bring your own Device Optional

Canada: FREE
USA: $0.02
Intl. Minutes: 0

Freephoneline.ca was established in 2007, is a sister company of Fibernetics HQ in Cambridge, ON. At first, the focus was to deliver desktop dialer using VOIP. then they've included selling the SIP configuration file for a flat fee and you could also port your number for a fee. Fibernetics also owns Fongo; similarly provides a free number and Canadian calling to most Canadian cities for free. Also, Wordline.ca is the commercial implementation of the same service. Fongo and/or Freephoneline may be good/cheap alternatives but had been plagued by reliability issues.

Also shall be noted that Freephoneline has started charging for calls, albeit these are outside of the defined free called zones. Also for those that purchased the VoIP configuration and set up the ATA in DIY fashion will find it rather an unpleasant that for dialing 911 they'll be cracked $35 - each time.

In all Freephoneline service may be good for those wanting to do a test with VoIP; though those looking for a no-frills offering may be better with Talkit or if looking for more quality features, customer support at an affordable price should look at Phone Power or VoIP Much or at Yak. Sometimes paying a bit more is just to ensure the quality of service will be there when you need it. 

Maple Leaf Features

Call Blocking Checkmark
Conference Calling Checkmark
BYOD: Checkmark
Smartphone App: Checkmark
Call Forwarding Checkmark
Call Hold Checkmark
Caller ID Name: Checkmark
Enhanced VoiceMail: Checkmark

will i still be able to buy credits if i do not switch to fongo?


Hi John, You should be capable of still get "World Credits" though note Freephoneline and Fongo, are in essence the same. Different branding but one and the same product. You may want to have a look at our "Cheap Calls" section to verify if you are getting the best rates. The GoneVoIP Team

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

how to deactivate my account?


If you don't use the account for a period of 90 days the account will be deleted. Otherwise you';; have to contact their Support to have it deactivated immediately. Hope this helps! The Gonevoip Team

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

The 25 Most Popular Providers of 2018

Annually the GoneVoIP platform receives about half a million visitors. In general, the visits tend to be spread over the more than 490 service providers found in the GoneVoIP platform, though there are trends and รƒฦ’ร‚ยฏรƒโ€šร‚ยฟรƒโ€šร‚ยฝ
Continue Reading

Rating  3     Rating  2
Report abuse

Summer Calling

The longest day of the year, also known as the summer solstice, marks the start of summer for all North Americans. Many people have plans to travel during summer either to escape work or travel รƒฦ’ร‚ยฏรƒโ€šร‚ยฟรƒโ€šร‚ยฝ
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Rating
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 167 Reviews
netTALK CONNECT ezLINQ
Rating
$7 / mo.
Read 10 Reviews
CallCentric
Rating
FREE / mo.
Read 8 Reviews
VOIPO
Rating
$7.70 / mo.
Read 4 Reviews
Nomado
Rating
$7 / mo.
Read 0 Reviews
Talkit
Rating
$6.67 / mo.
Read 57 Reviews

Best Internet Canada

Altima Telecom
Rating
$29.95 / mo.
Read 61 Reviews
CIK Telecom Inc
Rating
$24.99 / mo.
Read 19 Reviews
GemsTelecom
Rating
$29.99 / mo.
Read 17 Reviews