Freephoneline Reviews & Service Offerings

Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 25

Rating  65%     Rating  35%    

Add a Review     Ask a Question

Freephoneline
Freephoneline

Freephoneline

Website: www.freephoneline.ca
Devices: Windows PC
Availability: AB, BC, MB, NB, NF, NS, ON, PEI, QC & SK
Monthly Price: $4.95 CAD

Visit Site


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion (2.5): Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(18 ) Reviews + (7) Replies: 25

Rating  65%     Rating  35%

Add a Review

Ask a Question


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 25

Rating  65%     Rating  35%    

  Add a Review     Ask a Question

 

Reviews Stats

Rating
10
Rating
2
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
6
When reviewing Freephoneline Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling satisfied satisfied !

Top Positive


12 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: November 27, 2014
Submitted by: Maxime Thibault (Pierrefonds , QU)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

no mountly fee landline

Hello
I'm with this company since mars 2012.
I bought a ATA box, bought the sip, transfer my bell number. I struggle for a while with the config. Mostly my Router. Qos is the key.
I don't use it a lot but it's free, no monthly fee.
Every time the phone was not working it was my equipment in problem. I'm very happy with the service. My only fear, how long will it last. How they make money?


Do you find this review useful?

12 Yes No 1 Report abuse


Top Critical


9 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: September 18, 2016
Submitted by: Duc (Brossard , QU)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

my number from freephoneline suddenly disappear

1 week in utilisation, and 1 week later, my account has just been erased. No login, nbo password and the number has been erased to be re-assigned to a new people.

Very strange way to do business.


Do you find this review useful?

9 Yes No 6 Report abuse


All Reviews

1 person found the following review useful
August 6, 2018
Submitted by: Lulu Malone (Montreal , QU)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Inexistent customer support

Their services disconnect often with no reason. In addition, their customer support is horrible: it takes days, if at all, to answer a request.
Not recommended.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 1 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
June 18, 2018
Submitted by: Marina (Gatineau , QU)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Fine VOIP service.

I have Freephoneline within 4 eyars. I have no problem to call in Canada. i had some problems to call abroad and applied to support. They helped to fix my issues and now line works fine, as regular phone.

Very good service.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 1 Report abuse
4 persons found the following review useful
December 12, 2017
Submitted by: Greg (Toronto , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Useless

On December 5, 2017 I called 911 only to hear "This call is not covered by your tariff plan." Contacted them twice for an explanation, nothing. I don't use the service much, but when you need 911, you expect it to work.
Do you find this review useful? 4 Yes No 4 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
July 7, 2017
Submitted by: Ron (Markham , ON)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Extremely satisfied !

I've been using the service for about 4 years and have been extremely satisfied with the service. I've not had any downtime. I've utilized their long distant discount rate by calling throughout the US and Asia and have been please with the sound quality and rates.

I am using the Obihai ATA which was recommended by the moderator when I posted for recommendations. The model of the Obihai is obi202 which allows for 2 phone lines, fax, etc. I figured I may expand to a second line soon.

I installed the unit in my ba ... t, connecting to the main telephone port which are connected to all the phone ports in the bedrooms, kitchen, etc. All my phones are connected to the Obihai device. The sound quality is superb !!!

The key feature my wife an I like is the "follow me" where the calls are forwarded to my wife's cell simultaneously; hence we can be out on on dinner or vacation and not having to miss any important calls. We traveled to Europe and was able to screen the calls and picked up only the calls that are important.

I have recommended the service to many of my friends. I've also recommended the Obihai ATA to them as well as I've had great success with them.
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 0 Report abuse
7 persons found the following review useful
February 13, 2017
Submitted by: Eric Parent (Ottawa , ON)
Feeling: Feeling thankful Thankful
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

3 years later, still works, still free!

I signed up with Freephoneline.ca over 3 years ago. For a $50 one-time fee, you can use an ATA for your home's phone jacks. I was skeptical, but I figured what the heck, it's only $50 anyway, so no big loss if it doesn't work. I bought a Cisco SPA112, and I paid the $50 fee for the parameters to enter into it. I plugged a line from my SPA112's line-out jack to one of my home phone jacks, and then I plugged my cordless phone into another phone jack, and sure enough, dial tone!

Well, low and behold, after over 3 years, my home phone service still works! It's never gone down once! I have all the features, including voicemail with my messages emailed to me as audio file attachments, call forwarding, caller ID, call waiting, call block, etc etc etc. In other words, I have pretty much every feature available in a premium home phone package, unlimited local outbound calling, and unlimited inbound calls! For free!

So, it's for real! After three years, I've not once received a phone bill. I can plugin any normal telephone in any phone jack in my house, and I get a dial tone. So if you're skeptical, don't be! The service is free if you use a softphone (computer), or you can do what I did, pay the $50, and use your normal telephone(s).
Do you find this review useful? 7 Yes No 0 Report abuse
9 persons found the following review useful
September 18, 2016
Submitted by: Duc (Brossard , QU)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

my number from freephoneline suddenly disappear

1 week in utilisation, and 1 week later, my account has just been erased. No login, nbo password and the number has been erased to be re-assigned to a new people.

Very strange way to do business.
Do you find this review useful? 9 Yes No 6 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
March 10, 2016
Submitted by: slick (surrey , BR)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Nice

I just started using the service with the free softphone on my laptop and it works perfectly. I will upgrade the voip key so I can use a no adverti ... t softphone. Keep up the good work.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
4 persons found the following review useful
February 24, 2016
Submitted by: Michael Zamborsky (Longueuil , QC)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Don't kid yourself

Iv Been with Freephoneline and now also with Fongo as well for over 6 years and the only thing I can realy say is save yourself the stress and frustration and get a real phone because after all this time waisted and problems that I'm sure you don't even realise you have,it just isn't worth it.
I'm not even going to waist my time to explain it all so get yourself hooked up with them and go through what I did and still am today experience it for yourself!
Voip in general is garbage I don't care what anybody says!
Do you find this review useful? 4 Yes No 31 Report abuse
3 persons found the following review useful
November 6, 2015
Submitted by: VOIP USER (Alliston , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Excellent Free VOIP

Have been using freephoneline for over 6 years and it never had any major issue with service. Occasionally need to reset my ATA which I purchase from freephoneline. I save so much money as I was using it as a second line. Now saying good bye to bell for good and getting world line Internet service and using my freephoneline as my main home line now.

Reply from: Paul
March 17, 2016
My wife and I signed up with freephoneline shortly after we got married in 2012. It is our first home phone service.

It was hard to get the Voip adapter configured properly, but once configured it was fairly reliable. We discovered that most of our cut outs were due to poor service from our ISP. We changed ISP and have had reliable service ever since.

Reply from: Daniel
February 26, 2016
I have been using FreePHone line for 5 years now. I own my VOIP Cisco SIP box.
I never had any issue with the service.
Its always there and good quality.
I don't need these fancy features, except CallerID, which is already included.

I have my cell phone and FPL is the best option for home line and Fax

Reply from: Michael Zamborsky
February 24, 2016
6 years no problems? Bullshit!! Occasionally need to reset ATA box is not a problem?
not receiving calls when your not even aware of it either wouldnt be a problem?(My Personal experience)
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 10 Report abuse
5 persons found the following review useful
December 30, 2014
Submitted by: Erik (Hamilton , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Simply pays for itself.

We signed on with Freephoneline.ca 5 years ago when we first started monkeying around with using VoIP instead of POTS for our home phone.

We paid $50 for an ATA off Ebay, $50 for the "unlock" and $20 for a long distance 'voucher'. That was ALL we paid for 4 years of telephone service (the long distance needed to be topped up after 4 years). We are still using this service today.

Free calling to most major urban centres in Canada means you won't be using your long distance minutes as often as you would think.

Some features are available through their web interface - "follow me" settings allow you to set behavior (always forward calls to another number, forward when busy, forward after X rings).

There have been a few service interuptions in the past 4 years, but usually brief.

We've come to rely on Voip.ms for a more "feature rich" service for our second line, but our FPL line has been without question the most economical option.
Do you find this review useful? 5 Yes No 0 Report abuse
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Other Fees Long Distance Rates
$4.95 $25 $73.95
Bring your own Device Optional

Canada: FREE
USA: $0.02
Intl. Minutes: 0

Freephoneline.ca was established in 2007, is a sister company of Fibernetics HQ in Cambridge, ON. At first, the focus was to deliver desktop dialer using VOIP. then they've included selling the SIP configuration file for a flat fee and you could also port your number for a fee. Fibernetics also owns Fongo; similarly provides a free number and Canadian calling to most Canadian cities for free. Also, Wordline.ca is the commercial implementation of the same service. Fongo and/or Freephoneline may be good/cheap alternatives but had been plagued by reliability issues.

Also shall be noted that Freephoneline has started charging for calls, albeit these are outside of the defined free called zones. Also for those that purchased the VoIP configuration and set up the ATA in DIY fashion will find it rather an unpleasant that for dialing 911 they'll be cracked $35 - each time.

In all Freephoneline service may be good for those wanting to do a test with VoIP; though those looking for a no-frills offering may be better with Talkit or if looking for more quality features, customer support at an affordable price should look at Phone Power or VoIP Much or at Yak. Sometimes paying a bit more is just to ensure the quality of service will be there when you need it. 

Maple Leaf Features

Call Blocking Checkmark
Conference Calling Checkmark
BYOD: Checkmark
Smartphone App: Checkmark
Call Forwarding Checkmark
Call Hold Checkmark
Caller ID Name: Checkmark
Enhanced VoiceMail: Checkmark

how to deactivate my account?


If you don't use the account for a period of 90 days the account will be deleted. Otherwise you';; have to contact their Support to have it deactivated immediately. Hope this helps! The Gonevoip Team

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

Summer Calling

The longest day of the year, also known as the summer solstice, marks the start of summer for all North Americans. Many people have plans to travel during summer either to escape work or travel �
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 130 Reviews
Yak
Visit Website
$5 / mo.
Read 187 Reviews
Phone Power
Visit Website
$7.40 / mo.
Read 55 Reviews
VOIPO
Visit Website
$7.70 / mo.
Read 3 Reviews
CallCentric
Visit Website
FREE / mo.
Read 8 Reviews
1-VOIP
Visit Website
$11 / mo.
Read 15 Reviews

Best Internet Canada

Altima Telecom
Visit Website
$49.95 / mo.
Read 40 Reviews
Distributel
Visit Website
$35 / mo.
Read 29 Reviews
GemsTelecom
Visit Website
$29.99 / mo.
Read 12 Reviews