Worst of Year
Worst of Year

Comwave Reviews & Service Offerings

Comwave
Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 32

Rating  18%     Rating  82%    

Add a Review     Ask a Question

Comwave
Comwave

Comwave

Website: www.comwave.net
Services: Cable, DSL, Wi-Fi, Dry-Loop
Availability: AB, BC, ON, QC
Monthly Price: $49.95 CAD

Get a Quote Visit Site


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion (0.5): Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(28 ) Reviews + (4) Replies: 32

Rating  18%     Rating  82%

Add a Review

Ask a Question


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 32

Rating  18%     Rating  82%    

  Add a Review     Ask a Question

 

Reviews Stats

Rating
5
Rating
1
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
22
When reviewing Comwave Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !

Top Positive


88 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: December 28, 2018
Submitted by: Patrick Curtis (Edmonton , AL)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Contract lies

I was told I have 6 months free, 3 months at the start and my last 3 month's of my contract.33 days later I get a text saying if I don't pay my bill my service will be disconnected. Apparently I still have to pay for box rental fees, and any and all cable packages immediately. My service will shut off after 21 days . bull ... . The contract is full of lies and omissions to get a new customers charge more than Shaw or telus, and send u the boxes via mail( which I had to pay) and they won't send an installer unless you beg for it and even then they didn't show up. I could go on and on about the cable service, internet bs, but I will say DONT WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY ON THIS B RATED COMPANY.


Do you find this review useful?

88 Yes No 0 Report abuse


Top Critical


74 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: October 22, 2015
Submitted by: Susan (Oakville , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Comwave - Caveat Emptor

Yep! Worst tech mistake EVER! These people must be making their money by charging their exorbitant cancellation fees!

Reply from: Vladislao On: May 10, 2017
Agree 100% with you....worst company ever if you need to cancel their service for any reason. Never again..!!!


Do you find this review useful?

74 Yes No 0 Report abuse


All Reviews

3 persons found the following review useful
April 15, 2019
Submitted by: Marlando Bailey (Brampton , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

This company is a RIP OFF SCAM COMPANY

I called SCAM WAVE multiple times to cancel my internet service with them and they told me that only a manager can cancel an account. They then transfer me over to the managers line every sing time and no one ever picked up the phone, i waited for hours to speak to a manger multiple times and waisted hours. this went on for 4 months and every time i called in to talk to them i tell them i am recording the conversation and they still put me on hold knowing no one will ever pick up the phone. now they have sent my name to collections for $623 and claim that they have invoices to prove that i owe them.DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY EVER !!!!!!! The government needs to look into the business practices of this rip off company and shut them down.
Do you find this review useful? 3 Yes No 0 Report abuse
53 persons found the following review useful
January 18, 2019
Submitted by: Michelle (Kempville , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Comwave

I had decided to try comwave for the internet as my current provider was unreliable. I was first told that there was service in my area and it would be installed in about a week. They just needed payment for the installation and deposit up front first. It totaled over $200 that came out of my account, even though I was told a different amount. Then, FIVE DAYS later I received a text message to give them a call. When I did, I found out that my internet would not be installed as there is no service in my area now. At first, they had the wrong postal code, and told me there was service and to call back the next day. I just called back to find out that there is no service in my area. I now have to wait 5 - 7 business days for the refund, even though it took less than twenty minutes for them to take the money!!!! I would highly recommend anyone to avoid this company at all cost!!!!!! The worst customer service ever!!!!!!!!
Do you find this review useful? 53 Yes No 2 Report abuse
88 persons found the following review useful
December 28, 2018
Submitted by: Patrick Curtis (Edmonton , AL)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Contract lies

I was told I have 6 months free, 3 months at the start and my last 3 month's of my contract.33 days later I get a text saying if I don't pay my bill my service will be disconnected. Apparently I still have to pay for box rental fees, and any and all cable packages immediately. My service will shut off after 21 days . bull ... . The contract is full of lies and omissions to get a new customers charge more than Shaw or telus, and send u the boxes via mail( which I had to pay) and they won't send an installer unless you beg for it and even then they didn't show up. I could go on and on about the cable service, internet bs, but I will say DONT WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY ON THIS B RATED COMPANY.
Do you find this review useful? 88 Yes No 0 Report abuse
59 persons found the following review useful
September 28, 2018
Submitted by: Claud Walker (Hamilton , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

They are thieves

I cancelled my service within the trial period and they still charge me early cancellation fee. It took two months to get my money back. Two months After returning all their equipments they add a $107 charge to my card ssying I still have a reciever for them. And they still have my money.
Do you find this review useful? 59 Yes No 2 Report abuse
7 persons found the following review useful
September 10, 2018
Submitted by: Sheerzad (Toronto , ON)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Roxanne 4581

Roxanne was a great help at technical support.
I finally have my TV equipment running fine.
I was having problems since Sunday 9th 2018.
Thank you Roxanne
Do you find this review useful? 7 Yes No 8 Report abuse
60 persons found the following review useful
June 20, 2018
Submitted by: Candy Ahmadyar (Edmonton , AL)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Most unprofesionl and dishonest company

This company has not honoured any agreements. From set up to rates. Waited almost 2months for a modem they lost my order. Finally they ups expressed modem in 7 days . Then I had to program my modem my self because they don't have service reps near Edmonton. Then the 60dollar a month plan was upped with no notice and bounced my banking . They took a online deposit 125 first 24 hours. My first bill was over $200 auto withdrawn for a $60 a month plan just saw they with drew another 200 early and bounced my accounts again so 240 a month so far no reimbur ... t and they were not to bill me for 3 plus months because of there last mix up. How do I terminate this agreement . What a nightmare company!
Do you find this review useful? 60 Yes No 0 Report abuse
7 persons found the following review useful
June 12, 2018
Submitted by: Kimber (Milton , ON)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

David ext 4582

What a wonderful experience ...moved from London to Milton and the easier internet move I have experienced in years!! Called in with trouble to connect and within minutes David had me up and running on line! Great work
Do you find this review useful? 7 Yes No 15 Report abuse
37 persons found the following review useful
April 29, 2018
Submitted by: Nilo Oblefias (scarborough , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Worst Internet speed and quality

Made a complaint since free trial period, given a promise that they will do something about it to improve their signal, our contract of 75 Mbps internet service was not met as of now internet speed test to our house measured 14 Mbps down load and 4.7 Mbps upload that's why their TV service is worst with repetitive audio and video intermittent signal, recall technician and he trying to improve their signal in the receiving end our house using our computer. I'm not computer wizard but trying to improve internet speed on receiving end is unbelievable.
Do you find this review useful? 37 Yes No 0 Report abuse
30 persons found the following review useful
March 28, 2018
Submitted by: RAJ (MISSISSAUGA , ON)
Feeling: Feeling disappointed Disappointed
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

# Say NO to Comwave

Hello, I read an adverti ... t of comwave in local news paper and became interested. I wanted to move my phone and interest connection to Comwave but was concerned with the bad online reviews. I reached out to social media of Comwave and received response from Mark Harfield, Director , Social Media , Comwave. He assured that “Comwave Network is safe to say that our network is reliable and works properly”. He termed the online posters as dishonest who do not want to pay dues to Comwave. He assured that in case of any tech issues I can reach out to him directly. Based on his false assurance I got internet and home phone connection.
The internet connection was promptly set up and I liked the way the connection and communication was done by COMWAVE. But the good things just ended there itself with the instillation of internet connection. Internet disconnects frequently ( 100’s of times in a day), or there is no internet available most of the time. Further when there was internet available the speed fluctuates between 6-10 mbps . On paper I have an internet connection with a download speed of 30 mbps. I have spent hours together calling COMWAVE. I was assured and reassured that it will work but I am very sad to tell you that “COMWAVE internet connection does not work” and the reviews of people where absolutely correct.
I called the so called director of Comwave and got no response. Voice messages and emails remained unanswered. It is now 7-8 months and still Comwave internet connection do not work. I spent hours and hours calling tech support.
Finally I gave a 30 days notice to Comwave to either fix the issue or take away the garbage cable box. Comwave still is playing tricks by saying that they have fixed the problem. I will teach Comwave a lesson and will go to court to terminate the 3 year contract. Comwave represents fraud, cheating, false representation and is a crooked company.
Learn from my mistake , # Say NO to Comwave

Reply from: Dana Garbutt
August 13, 2018
So far, the best deal on internet is Cannettel. The only issue is communication. All of their customer service and tech associates have strong asian accents, making it a bit difficult to understand. They are a good company and try to solve any issues fast. Check them out
Do you find this review useful? 30 Yes No 2 Report abuse
23 persons found the following review useful
February 1, 2018
Submitted by: Carle Churly (Peterborough , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Not installed

No TV equipment delivered on setup date
Do you find this review useful? 23 Yes No 2 Report abuse
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$49.95 Shipping: $$95 Other: $Dry Loop Fee $7.95 Yes

Download: 30 Mbps

Upload: 2 Mbps

Cap: Throttled

Overage: Throttled

Comwave is one of Canada’s largest independent communications company, serving over 1100 cities in Canada and over 1,600 in the United States. Comawave's suite of services is segmented into Consumer, Business Enterprise and Wholesale.

Comwave was fined by the Competition Bureau for over a quarter of a million dollars, this was because Comwave was found it did not disclose properly the fees and limitations of their Internet and Home Phone services. This was an exemplary fine and should serve as a deterrent but based on the reviews GoneVoIP receives the behavior seems to continue.

Comwave High-Speed Internet

Shall be noted that although Comwave markets the plans as unlimited there is "Fair Usage" policy, in where Comwave is monitoring constantly the subscriber's usage and based on triggers the company manages. Regrettably, there is no upfront disclosure of what those triggers are. Though based on those 'triggers' Comwave may elect to suspend, change plans or restrict the internet service.

In a recent meeting with Comwave representatives with GonevoIP Comwave admitted their quality of service could be as good as Bell and/or Rogers networks are in your area. This is because Comwave effectively resells internet service from both. So if you are having a poor experience using the Internet with Bell then chances are you'll experience similar or worse with Comwave. Having said that, the caveat to consider is that Comwave actively monitors their own Internet traffic at all times. Comwave uses what is called Internet Traffic Management Policies (ITMP); what these do is to prioritize traffic based on a set number of rules. In short, when congestion is detected, Comwave's Internet Traffic Management assigns higher priority levels to premium traffic such as time-sensitive internet traffic like Comwave home and business lines, ComwaveTV,  to ensure that these are not affected by the traffic generated from resource-intensive applications like file downloads and/or peer to peer traffic. This may impact your overall experience, hence it could happen that you end up being worse than with Bell or Rogers - contrary to what Comwave's Sales team would like you to think.

With that said, Comwave offers a variety of Unlimited plans starting with the 30 Mbps Download and 2 Mbps upload for $49.95 per month in a 3-year contract. With plans including download speeds of up to 250 Mbps and 20 Mbps upload at $89.95 per month for the first year, thereafter is $115 per month. 

Whether you are an average user checking emails and watching Netflix or youtube or have a household full of tech-savvy teenagers. Sounds enticing right? Trouble begins when your Comwave internet connection begins acting up and service is degraded or overall below grade. Shall be noticed here at Gonevoip and throughout other sites, Consumer sentiment towards Comwave high-speed internet service is one of high frustration. Generally, consumers feel they are not getting their money worth.

You could bundle your Internet service with Comwave's Home Phone and elect to receive 6 Months FREE Home Phone Service when you sign up for a 3-year term. Though that is if you are ready to bundle and commit for 3 years. The Home Phone pricing weather is monthly or in a contract is one of the most expensive and most negatively reviewed in the Canadian market.                                                                                                                                 

 

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark

How doew comwave get into my house? I have no phone line available


Hi Fred, Comwave in spite of much of their marketing campaign are resellers of the big Telco guys, so if your Home has an internet connection from Rogers or Bell then that's how they could get into. The question is then is it worth it?

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Considering changing my phone internet and tv service to a new provider. Reading reviews on Comvave find that they are all negative regarding Comwave. Have you done anything do improve your service?


Hello Douglas, From what we see, we can say that over the last few years it has been no change in terms of consumer sentiment towards Comwave. Soon we will have available a new feature that will allow seeing reviews sentiment over time. We have tested it with Comwave and unfortunately, it has not been in the positive side; sadly ever. There is always hope that changes though. But we leave to the public to decide if it is worth it. Thank You and Have a Great Day! The GONEVOIP Team

Rating  2     Rating  0 Report abuse

Do you have service in CB , Nova Scotia

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

How can i change my internet user name and password


Hello, This depends on what do you actually mean. If you are using a DSL internet connection, then you are likely using PPPoE which provides the authentication to in the modem to establish an internet connection. The users and authentication is handled by the provider, in this case, Comwave. If you mean changing the Wi-Fi please follow the instructions below: For DSL Open your browser and type the following IP Address in the Address Bar: 192.168.17.1 Enter the Modem Credentials we provided in your Welcome Letter Click on the Wireless tab In the SSID box you can change your Network Name and in the Key box you can change your Password Save your changes If you unable to change the Wireless Credentials for your device, please contact our Technical Support Team For Cable Open your browser and type the following IP Address in the Address Bar: 192.168.0.1 Enter the following credentials. Username: cusadmin Password: password Click on the Wireless tab Go to Basic Settings In the SSID box you can change your Network Name To change the Password, go to the WPS and Security tab and in the Pre-Shared Key box you can change your Password Save your changes If you unable to change the Wireless Credentials for your device, please contact Comwave Technical Support Team

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

Are all of these service available in this postal code K7s3g7

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

Internet Cable Wars: Battleground Ontario

It has been brewing for a few months. Competition in the Cable Internet segment, especially on Rogers territory is fierce. This is mainly driven by, ironically Rogers itself by making available to smaller or independent �
Continue Reading

Rating  3     Rating  0
Report abuse

How to file a complaint against a Provider

If you feel you have a valid complaint against your telecom provider, you are not alone. According to an article in the Financial Post complaint rates rose dramatically in 2017-2018 by a staggering 57%. In �
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse

The 25 Most Popular Providers of 2018

Annually the GoneVoIP platform receives about half a million visitors. In general, the visits tend to be spread over the more than 490 service providers found in the GoneVoIP platform, though there are trends and �
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  1
Report abuse

The Most Popular 150 Mbps Internet Plans in Ontario

Comparing five of the Best 150 Mbps Download and Unlimited Internet plans in Ontario. For this comparison, we chose to use Cable Internet. Note, all providers listed here are using Rogers Cable backbone network. What sets �
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  1
Report abuse

Canada’s Internet Speeds and Prices

Types of internet access providers This summer we set out to analyze the status of the home internet connections across the country. We picked fourteen representative major urban centers and analyzed factors such as maximum available �
Continue Reading

Rating  3     Rating  1
Report abuse

2017 The Year in the Rear View Mirror

It is time to look back the year that it was. Certainly, 2017 offers unquestionably lessons to be learned. We saw the landline decline is a trend that is beyond the point of no return. For over 140 years �
Continue Reading

Rating  1     Rating  0
Report abuse

Best Home Internet Canada

Altima Telecom
Visit Website
$29.95 / mo.
Read 51 Reviews
CIK Telecom Inc
Visit Website
$24.99 / mo.
Read 6 Reviews
GemsTelecom
Visit Website
$29.99 / mo.
Read 12 Reviews
Transat Telecom
Visit Website
$39.95 / mo.
Read 0 Reviews
HeroNet.ca
Visit Website
$44.88 / mo.
Read 19 Reviews

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 150 Reviews
netTALK CONNECT ezLINQ
Visit Website
$7 / mo.
Read 3 Reviews
VOIPO
Visit Website
$7.70 / mo.
Read 3 Reviews
CallCentric
Visit Website
FREE / mo.
Read 8 Reviews
1-VOIP
Visit Website
$11 / mo.
Read 15 Reviews