CityWide Reviews & Service Offerings

Maple Leaf Company Info
CityWide
CityWide

CityWide

Website: yourcitywide.com
Services: Cable, DSL, Dial-up & Dry-loop
Availability: NB, NF, NS & PEI
Monthly Price: $41.95 CAD

1-855-462-5349

Visit Site


30 3 reviewCount Get Free Quotes

Home Phone

Home Internet

Business Phone

Business Internet

 

Reviews Stats

When reviewing CityWide Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !
Rating
4
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
3
Rating
16

All Reviews

August 19, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Kattia Guillen (Fall River , NO)
Feeling satisfied Satisfied Rating ๐Ÿ‘

Great customer service

Just spoke with a CSR name Richard for over 30 minutes on how was the best way for me to move my service to a new address. (Was looking to have service on my present address and on my new address as well). He was not only patience but understanding of my needs and extremely helpful. Bravo for your customer service skills!!!
August 1, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Cathy Fogarty (Trenton , NO)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

disconnects

Had City wide for a couple years now, eastlink was so overpriced. Great to get us hooked up and all, great people to get started. but,, the internet drops randomly at least 10 times a day ,, not for more than 10 or 15 mins at a time, but you can't play games, stream movies, listen to music,,, nothing. tried to email them, facebook, inbox, call, etc.. for over a year and not once did anyone call us back or contact us in anyway. great customer services to get you hooked up and then they are done. terrible internet. if Eastlink was not so overpriced I would switch back. hate city wide
July 24, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Dave (new Glasgow , NO)
Feeling disappointed Disappointed Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Support ok Interned Service is not reliable

Had service less than 1 year. All was good until a month ago when interned speed dropped by over 80% and took 8 days to resolve. the fix seamed to be spontaneous as technical support could not clearly tell me what the issue was.

Two weeks later the same issue with 70% drop in bandwidth.

To be fair I think the prices are fair and much lower than Bell and Eastlink Technical support are friendly and polite without sounding like a scripted drone.
For the first 10 months I had no complaints and noticed no slowdowns (but I was not looking)
July 20, 2019
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Robert Brown (Halifax , NO)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Don't Bother

Good chance you will waste your money. I wasted 70 bucks with them last month.
July 17, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 1
Submitted by: John Eric Brink (Halifax , NO)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

WiFi Internet disconnected 2 Weeks before moving.

I have a huge story to paste here but can't ... what a useless site!

Reply from: The GoneVoIP Team
July 18, 2019
Hi John, there is no limit on characters & words to use when posting a review. We do filter for inappropriate and/or misogynist language (poster gets a reject message) Also if using something like word or notepad to pre-write review you may then use copy & paste in our form.

Sincerely,
The GoneVoIP Team
July 10, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: RD (Halifax , NO)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Worst service. Would rather pay more for better customer service.

Worst customer service. Changed their date twice. The second time the technician didn't show up and didn't even call to cancel. Second week and i still don't have an internet. When i wanted to cancel the customer service were not concerned or tried to retain my business.
July 6, 2019
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Glen (Halifax , NO)
Feeling disappointed Disappointed Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Bad service

City wide was sent my router that I purchased from them because the technician they sent to set up our internet tried to get it to work and then deemed it dead. It would not work at all. I sent the router to them in hopes of getting my money back. They told me that the router worked all weekend that they had it, but they told me that they do not refund money to anyone. If I wanted the router sent back to me I would have to pay $20 to receive it.
I would not recommend anyone have them as an internet provider.
May 3, 2019
Review Helpful? 3 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Sandra (Port Mouton , NO)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Where is my bill!!!!

We signed up for this service in September 2018 we received 1 bill in Feb. They threatened to cut off our service even though I pay 1.00 for them to send the bill to me each month and said I am still responsible for paying my bill even though I dont see the amount I am paying they just want you to pay without seeing a bill and I still dont have a bill to verify the charges.
I want a bill sent or I am not paying the bill!!!!
Why pay something you dont know is correct.

Reply from: Frieda
August 3, 2019
The bill is the same price every month, and it comes automatically in email. It sounds like you just don't want to pay for services you are using.
March 27, 2019
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Marlene Jones (Port Elgin , NE)
Feeling satisfied Satisfied Rating ๐Ÿ‘

sales rep

want to express the gratitude and the handling of my setup with City Wide to your sales rep Virginia at ext 274 for her exceptional service!!!!!
January 29, 2019
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Jj (Halifax , NO)
Feeling satisfied Satisfied Rating ๐Ÿ‘

Great

We are new clients and had great customer service, we called and were hooked up with in 1 week. Internet seems to be fine when running 3 or 4 things at once. So far happy with the service and savings!
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$41.95 Shipping: $ Other: $ No

Download: 7 Mbps

Upload: 640 kbps

Cap:

Overage:

CityWide Communications was founded way back in 1997, giving it a very large portfolio of experience in the telecommunications industry. They provide a variety of services ranging from internet, VoIP solutions and long-distance plans. However, CityWide Communications states that at the core of their business lays a great commitment to customer service. CityWide Communications is based in Nova Scotia and provides internet and phone solutions across Atlantic Canada. Their headquarters can be found at 3845 Joseph Howe Dr, Halifax, NS B3L 4H9. Let us now review one of CityWide Communications bread and butter internet plans.

CityWide Communications offers a high-speed DSL plan, this plan requires a Bell-Alliant landline, that comes with a download speed of up to 7 Mbps and an upload speed of up to 640 kbps. This plan comes with no usage limit and is priced at $41.95 per month. There are no contracts involved in this plan and it also includes wifi. The other two plans available with CityWide Internet service are the DRY-LOOP DSL (no Bell-Alliant landline required, Yahoo!) same download speed of 7 Mbps and upload of 640 Kbps. The monthly price comes to be $51.95 per month; unlimited usage and WiFI is included! The last plan available, in areas where there is coverage, is the Cable High-Speed plan. Clearly superior to any of the DSL plans with a download speed of up to 100 Mbps and upload speed of up to 10 Mbps, coming at only $54.95 per month. Oh, and it also comes with no-contract, unlimited usage and WiFi is available.

CityWide Communications does offer a Cable High-Speed Internet at $54.95/mo giving 100 Mbps Download and 10 Mbps Upload. The Cable Internet from CityWide may be the best offer. 

A very disappointing aspect we noticed about CityWide Internet website is that the terms and conditions page is not readily available. However, there were mentions of the Fair Usage Policy. Whether or not CityWide Communications throttles bandwidth to compensate for the unlimited bandwidth remains a mystery until a terms and conditions page is made readily available. 

For users who do not have an active landline phone, dry loop connectivity is available. However, it does come with an added cost of $10 on the bill every month. 

For people who are looking for quality internet while also saving money, CityWide Internet may be the best choice or not at all. The Cable plan is the winner if your are is served then you could be in for a nice threat! Otherwise, the DSL and DRY-LOOP DSL are rather expensive, but on the positive side are unlimited.

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark

How do I go about getting the internet?

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

You've suggested TekSavvy as a better alternative. I just checked them out. They don't have home phone in NS and they charge $42 vs. $28 you suggest. Maybe you have old information?

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse

I am looking for the fair use policy on the site. Cannot for the life of me find it. They have stated that I'm unable to "work from home" as per their fair use policy, refused to email me the copy and the manager was very difficult person to deal with. If you could point me to the fair use policy I'd be grateful. Thank you.

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse

I cannot use my phone. I have a recording coming on with three or so wo de, cannot make out. Switched to different set of phones same thing.

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse

Services .. do you guys deal in cable as well as Internet

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

The 25 Most Popular Providers of 2018

Annually the GoneVoIP platform receives about half a million visitors. In general, the visits tend to be spread over the more than 490 service providers found in the GoneVoIP platform, though there are trends and รƒฦ’ร‚ยฏรƒโ€šร‚ยฟรƒโ€šร‚ยฝ
Continue Reading

Rating  3     Rating  2
Report abuse

Best Home Internet Canada

Altima Telecom
Rating
$29.99 / mo.
Read 67 Reviews
CIK Telecom Inc
Rating
$44.99 / mo.
Read 25 Reviews
GemsTelecom
Rating
$24.99 / mo.
Read 22 Reviews

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Rating
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 173 Reviews
netTALK CONNECT ezLINQ
Rating
$7 / mo.
Read 11 Reviews
CallCentric
Rating
$0 / mo.
Read 8 Reviews