CityWide Reviews & Service Offerings

Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 23

Rating  31%     Rating  69%    

Add a Review     Ask a Question

CityWide
CityWide

CityWide

Website: yourcitywide.com
Services: Cable, DSL, Dial-up & Dry-loop
Availability: NB, NF, NS & PEI
Monthly Price: $41.95 CAD

1-855-462-5349

Visit Site


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion (3): Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(18 ) Reviews + (5) Replies: 23

Rating  31%     Rating  69%

Add a Review

Ask a Question


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 23

Rating  31%     Rating  69%    

  Add a Review     Ask a Question

 

Reviews Stats

When reviewing CityWide Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !
Rating
3
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
2
Rating
13

All Reviews

July 10, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: RD (Halifax , NO)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Worst service. Would rather pay more for better customer service.

Worst customer service. Changed their date twice. The second time the technician didn't show up and didn't even call to cancel. Second week and i still don't have an internet. When i wanted to cancel the customer service were not concerned or tried to retain my business.
July 6, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Glen (Halifax , NO)
Feeling disappointed Disappointed Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Bad service

City wide was sent my router that I purchased from them because the technician they sent to set up our internet tried to get it to work and then deemed it dead. It would not work at all. I sent the router to them in hopes of getting my money back. They told me that the router worked all weekend that they had it, but they told me that they do not refund money to anyone. If I wanted the router sent back to me I would have to pay $20 to receive it.
I would not recommend anyone have them as an internet provider.
May 3, 2019
Review Helpful? 2 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Sandra (Port Mouton , NO)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Where is my bill!!!!

We signed up for this service in September 2018 we received 1 bill in Feb. They threatened to cut off our service even though I pay 1.00 for them to send the bill to me each month and said I am still responsible for paying my bill even though I dont see the amount I am paying they just want you to pay without seeing a bill and I still dont have a bill to verify the charges.
I want a bill sent or I am not paying the bill!!!!
Why pay something you dont know is correct.
March 27, 2019
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Marlene Jones (Port Elgin , NE)
Feeling satisfied Satisfied Rating ๐Ÿ‘

sales rep

want to express the gratitude and the handling of my setup with City Wide to your sales rep Virginia at ext 274 for her exceptional service!!!!!
January 29, 2019
Review Helpful? 1 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Jj (Halifax , NO)
Feeling satisfied Satisfied Rating ๐Ÿ‘

Great

We are new clients and had great customer service, we called and were hooked up with in 1 week. Internet seems to be fine when running 3 or 4 things at once. So far happy with the service and savings!
January 22, 2019
Review Helpful? 0 Yes No 0
Submitted by: marjorie (Jeddore , NO)
Feeling disappointed Disappointed Rating ๐Ÿ‘

service

I had been excited to go with Citywide as most of our friends and neighbours were happily with them--now I cannot get contact by phone or email while our phone is nor working for outgoing or incoming calls---most annoying and upsetting as it could leave us without emergency contacts.We were pleased with the service until now.
December 6, 2018
Review Helpful? 3 Yes No 0
Submitted by: peter doucette (yarmouth , NO)
Feeling satisfied Satisfied Rating ๐Ÿ‘

no issues

never had an issues and always nice people to talk to , seen alot of bad reviews was very on edge trying them out , but its been all good and heard they may be getting a cable bundle soon . woot woot
June 23, 2018
Review Helpful? 6 Yes No 0
Submitted by: Stephen Bennett (Mabou , NO)
Feeling disappointed Disappointed Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Extremely Poor Service

I've emailed various times re billing concerns and internet speed less than one half advertised speed. No response or response weeks later. Regarding slow internet speed, I was told to buy new equipment from them and even if that didn't resolve the issue there wouldn't be a refund of the equipment forthcoming. The issue is *not* defective hardware on my end.
February 1, 2018
Review Helpful? 7 Yes No 1
Submitted by: Lori (South Shore , NO)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Terrible service

This company has the absolute worst customer service! The people who answer the phone are rude. I had problems and sent in a complaint on the service and heard nothing back. When I called to change households I got another person who had the same negative rude attitude. They do not email or send you a bill. They also make you buy their modem and router and the router is junk. The wifi is fine but thats as long as you have no problems and do not need to call customer service for anything. I am not sure where they find their staff but they need training in customer service. I told them I was searching for another company because the service was so bad and the woman said no problem. They obviously do not need or care to keep clients. Worst company to deal with right up there with Aliant. Would never recommend!
February 7, 2017
Review Helpful? 14 Yes No 2
Submitted by: Unknown (Dartmouth , NO)
Feeling angry Angry Rating ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Very unpleased!

Connection date was supposed to be today. Took the day off work. Tech was supposed to be here between 8 and 12. He didnt showed. Called citywide they said that he is on the way to my address now. 2 hours later still no show. I call again they say they need to track him down and they will get back to me
... An hour later i call again they say i dont need a tech i just need to plug in the router and modem, i do so and still no internet... I call yet again and they tell me that they set it up for the wrong address and that they have sent the request off to the manager to change it and that i should just sit around and wait for the orange light to turn blue... I little rediculas and frusterating but i guess we will see what happends.....
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$41.95 Shipping: $ Other: $ No

Download: 7 Mbps

Upload: 640 kbps

Cap:

Overage:

CityWide Communications was founded way back in 1997, giving it a very large portfolio of experience in the telecommunications industry. They provide a variety of services ranging from internet, VoIP solutions and long distance plans. However, CityWide Communications states that at the core of their business lays a great commitment to customer service. CityWide Communications is based in Nova Scotia and provides internet and phone solutions across Atlantic Canada. Their headquarters can be found at 3845 Joseph Howe Dr, Halifax, NS B3L 4H9. Let us now review one of CityWide Communications bread and butter internet plans.

CityWide Communications offers a high-speed DSL plan, this plan requires a Bell-Alliant landline, that comes with a download speed of up to 7 Mbps and an upload speed of up to 640 kbps. This plan comes with no usage limit and is priced at $41.95 per month. There are no contracts involved in this plan and it also includes wifi. The other two plans available with CityWide Internet service are the DRY-LOOP DSL (no Bell-Alliant landline required, Yahoo!) same download speed of 7 Mbps and upload of 640 Kbps. The monthly price comes to be $51.95 per month; unlimited usage and WiFI is included! The last plan available, in areas where there is coverage, is the Cable High-Speed plan. Clearly superior to any of the DSL plans with a download speed of up to 100 Mbps and upload speed of up to 10 Mbps, coming at only $54.95 per month. Oh, and it also comes with no-contract, unlimited usage and WiFi is available.

A very disappointing aspect we noticed about CityWide Internet website is that the terms and conditions page is not readily available. However, there were mentions of the Fair Usage Policy. Whether or not CityWide Communications throttles bandwidth to compensate for the unlimited bandwidth remains a mystery until a terms and conditions page is made readily available. 

For users who do not have an active landline phone, dry loop connectivity is available. However, it does come with an added cost of $10 on the bill every month. 

For people who are looking for quality internet while also saving money, CityWide Internet may be the best choice or not at all. The Cable plan is the winner if your are is served then you could be in for a nice threat! Otherwise, the DSL and DRY-LOOP DSL are rather expensive, but on the positive side are unlimited.

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark

How do I go about getting the internet?

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

You've suggested TekSavvy as a better alternative. I just checked them out. They don't have home phone in NS and they charge $42 vs. $28 you suggest. Maybe you have old information?

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse

I am looking for the fair use policy on the site. Cannot for the life of me find it. They have stated that I'm unable to "work from home" as per their fair use policy, refused to email me the copy and the manager was very difficult person to deal with. If you could point me to the fair use policy I'd be grateful. Thank you.

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse

I cannot use my phone. I have a recording coming on with three or so wo de, cannot make out. Switched to different set of phones same thing.

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse

Services .. do you guys deal in cable as well as Internet

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

The 25 Most Popular Providers of 2018

Annually the GoneVoIP platform receives about half a million visitors. In general, the visits tend to be spread over the more than 490 service providers found in the GoneVoIP platform, though there are trends and รƒฦ’ร‚ยฏรƒโ€šร‚ยฟรƒโ€šร‚ยฝ
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  2
Report abuse

Best Home Internet Canada

Altima Telecom
Visit Website
$29.95 / mo.
Read 60 Reviews
CIK Telecom Inc
Visit Website
$24.99 / mo.
Read 17 Reviews
GemsTelecom
Visit Website
$29.99 / mo.
Read 17 Reviews

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 167 Reviews
netTALK CONNECT ezLINQ
Visit Website
$7 / mo.
Read 10 Reviews
CallCentric
Visit Website
FREE / mo.
Read 8 Reviews