CityWide Reviews & Service Offerings

Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 14

Rating  13%     Rating  88%    

CityWide
CityWide

CityWide

Website:
Services:
Availability:
yourcitywide.com
Cable, DSL, Dial-up & Dry-loop
NB, NF, NS & PEI

Visit Site

Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$47.95 Shipping: $ Other: $ No

Download: 7Mbps

Upload: 640kbps

Cap:

Overage:

City Wide Communications was founded way back in 1997, giving it a very large portfolio of experience in the telecommunications industry. They provide a variety of services ranging from internet, VoIP solutions and long distance plans. However, City Wide Communications states that at the core of their business lays a great commitment to customer service. City Wide Communications is based in Nova Scotia and provides internet and phone solutions across Atlantic Canada. Their headquarters can be found at 3845 Joseph Howe Dr, Halifax, NS B3L 4H9. Let us now review one of City Wide Communications bread and butter internet plan.

City Wide Communications offers a high-speed DSL plan that comes with a download speed of up to 7 mbps and an upload speed of up to 640 kbps. This plan comes with no usage limit and is priced at $47.95 per month. There are no contracts involved in this plan and it also includes wifi. However, the pricing on this plan is less than optimal considering that many other service providers offer relatively the same service for a much cheaper price. For example, TekSavvy offers a 7 mbps plan that comes with a usage cap of 150 GBs for 27.99 per month. TekSavvy does have a usage limit but it is hardly minimal in regards to the average usage of home internet consumers. The difference of $20.00 is almost too much to handle! Another service provider known as World Line offers an unlimited usage plan with a download speed of up to 6 mbps for $29.99. City Wide Communications is using the unlimited usage aspect of their plan to bulk up the price way too much!

A very disappointing aspect we noticed about City Wide Communications website was that the terms and conditions page is not readily available. However, there were many mentions of the Fair Usage

Policy in the fine print, a link to this policy is not made easily accessible! Whether or not City Wide Communications throttles bandwidth to compensate for the unlimited bandwidth remains a mystery until a terms and conditions page is made readily available. 

For users who do not have an active phone, dry loop connectivity is available. However, it does come with an added $10 on the bill every month. For users who require a dry loop the bill would total out to a whopping $57.95 per month! 

For people who are looking for quality internet while also saving money, City Wide Communications may not be the best choice at all. With the amount of money a customer would have to pay to keep their internet running every month with City Wide Communications, you can get a better plan with someone else and save money on a regular basis!

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark
 

Reviews Stats

Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
10
When reviewing CityWide Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !

Top Positive


28 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: August 20, 2016
Submitted by: Maryann silliker (Port elgin , NE)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Poor

I was so excited to be this company, when I called they told me to give them 2 weeks becuase I had bell they needed to do something so I was good with that. Few weeks still didn't receive the Internet box so I called the customer service lady was rude and said I had never called..... finally got the box my kids Netflix wasn't working up stairs but was working on the main level it kept telling me no Internet connection so 2 days later I called and left a message.. " the owner called me back" and was so rude he was swearing basically called me liar and stupid. Told me that he dumbed afied the Internet box and setup for people like me. I said excuse me then he went into a rage I know about people like you calling and ... ing over everything blamed me for calling when the place wasn't open, I then said I am ready to cancel becuase with bell I had service up stairs in my home. He then said " do you think I care if you cancel I am the owner and have over 6000 customer and make over a billion a year... so this ... instead of being helpful and trying to help his customer.have their service upstairs obviously the signal strength wasn't strong... he botched and said really mean things WTG about caring more about money then your customers.... not a.good company


Do you find this review useful?

28 Yes No 1 Report abuse


Top Critical


39 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: November 19, 2015
Submitted by: Nova Scotia (Digby , NO)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Horrible

Unless you want to be harassed by Daryl when you have a technical issue then steer clear.
I told him he was rude and condesending and he threatened to cut off my service. "I'll do it in 5 seconds, go ahead, push me"
He claimed to be the owner and said he wasn't one of these "loser" bell aliant or Eastlink employees and he could do whatever he wanted because he had no fear of losing his job.

I'm switching providers. I'll happily pay $30 more per month just to not have to deal with that jerk ever again.

They make you buy your modem and router but don't allow you to change the router settings unless they approve. NOT okay since I PAID for it.

Reply from: Nova Scotian Guy On: June 28, 2016
I had the same experience, this Daryl is absolutely rude, and when I asked for a supervisor he said I am the OWNER of the company. he was soooooo rude and I told him you maybe the owner of the company but you have ZERO customer service skills. and I made sure to tell him that he was rude as well.

If he keep this attitude he is going to lose so many customers.

As you said, I would rather pay $30 and have nice customer service than this moron being rude to me because he is the "OWNER"

Reply from: Allen Small On: March 22, 2016
i also got return call from daryl and he was very rude.. told me he was the owner and made 3 million a year and said no one bothers him and might as well called me a liar and what hesays is it.. he thinks hes god.. companies like that should not be in buisnesd


Do you find this review useful?

39 Yes No 2 Report abuse


All Reviews

2 persons found the following review useful
February 1, 2018
Submitted by: Lori (South Shore , NO)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Terrible service

This company has the absolute worst customer service! The people who answer the phone are rude. I had problems and sent in a complaint on the service and heard nothing back. When I called to change households I got another person who had the same negative rude attitude. They do not email or send you a bill. They also make you buy their modem and router and the router is junk. The wifi is fine but thats as long as you have no problems and do not need to call customer service for anything. I am not sure where they find their staff but they need training in customer service. I told them I was searching for another company because the service was so bad and the woman said no problem. They obviously do not need or care to keep clients. Worst company to deal with right up there with Aliant. Would never recommend!
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
9 persons found the following review useful
February 7, 2017
Submitted by: Unknown (Dartmouth , NO)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Very unpleased!

Connection date was supposed to be today. Took the day off work. Tech was supposed to be here between 8 and 12. He didnt showed. Called citywide they said that he is on the way to my address now. 2 hours later still no show. I call again they say they need to track him down and they will get back to me
... An hour later i call again they say i dont need a tech i just need to plug in the router and modem, i do so and still no internet... I call yet again and they tell me that they set it up for the wrong address and that they have sent the request off to the manager to change it and that i should just sit around and wait for the orange light to turn blue... I little rediculas and frusterating but i guess we will see what happends.....
Do you find this review useful? 9 Yes No 2 Report abuse
15 persons found the following review useful
December 29, 2016
Submitted by: Mark Corkum (Lunenburg , NO)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Customer service rude

We recently switched to City wide because they had a much more reasonable rate for Internet compared to Eastlink. We paid the upfront fees of 158.00 and had the router sent to us by mail. We installed it and pretty much right away were displeased with the quality of the speed we were experiencing. We finally got a tech sent to us ( from eastlink) weird! Anyhow he summed he issue up to it being the router . We called City wide while the tech was still here so he could also explain to her lady what the issue was. She was rude and unprofessional and from what the tech told us after we hung up he's delt with worse!...Citywide clean up your customer support personal and teach them.some manners!!!
Do you find this review useful? 15 Yes No 1 Report abuse
13 persons found the following review useful
September 30, 2016
Submitted by: John Oconnell (Wedgeport , NO)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Worst company ever

Stay away from this company. Worst costumer service ever.
Do you find this review useful? 13 Yes No 0 Report abuse
28 persons found the following review useful
August 20, 2016
Submitted by: Maryann silliker (Port elgin , NE)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Poor

I was so excited to be this company, when I called they told me to give them 2 weeks becuase I had bell they needed to do something so I was good with that. Few weeks still didn't receive the Internet box so I called the customer service lady was rude and said I had never called..... finally got the box my kids Netflix wasn't working up stairs but was working on the main level it kept telling me no Internet connection so 2 days later I called and left a message.. " the owner called me back" and was so rude he was swearing basically called me liar and stupid. Told me that he dumbed afied the Internet box and setup for people like me. I said excuse me then he went into a rage I know about people like you calling and ... ing over everything blamed me for calling when the place wasn't open, I then said I am ready to cancel becuase with bell I had service up stairs in my home. He then said " do you think I care if you cancel I am the owner and have over 6000 customer and make over a billion a year... so this ... instead of being helpful and trying to help his customer.have their service upstairs obviously the signal strength wasn't strong... he botched and said really mean things WTG about caring more about money then your customers.... not a.good company
Do you find this review useful? 28 Yes No 1 Report abuse
16 persons found the following review useful
May 21, 2016
Submitted by: Charlene Helen White (Briddgewater , NO)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

HORRIBLE

They are the rudest most condescending company that I have ever seen! The owner thinks he's god this Muriel lady needs to get off her high horse I have NEVER in my life seen such RUDE people it is disgusting they are even in business
Do you find this review useful? 16 Yes No 0 Report abuse
19 persons found the following review useful
December 14, 2015
Submitted by: Tom (Halifax , NO)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Shady Company, Rude, Un-Professional

City Wide Communications - Shady Company, Rude, Vary Un-Professional that does not deserve your hard earned money.

Its been bugging me know more about this company so I've been doing a lil bit of searching.

And iI have to say that everyone should be careful when thinking about geting service's from this company for the following reasons.

1.) About their reviews how some look the exactly same. Screenshots - http://imgur.com/a/KeCv8

2.) About me asking them about the review that was posted on yelp http://yelp.ca/biz/city-wide-communications-halifax (The yelp review was posted on 12/09/2015 around 2:14pm as you can see in my call log to them http://imgur.com/VLYM3Nl
And when i took Screenahot of yelp review.)
around the exactly same time as when I was asking them about their reviews on the BBB - www.bbb.org/atlantic-provinces/business-reviews/telephone-service-long-distance/city-wide-communications-in-halifax-ns-18426

3.) About what I previously posted on here about them blocking my Phone number - http://www.reddit.com/r/halifax/comments/3tyawb/navnet_now_citywide_halifax_isps_talk/cxw2j84

4.) For a company that has been providing services since 1997 why are we only seeing reviews for them for the only past 2 years?

Reply from: James Marshall
February 3, 2016
Hi Tom!

I see you, for some reason, are unhappy with my Yelp review of City Wide. I've been a customer since November, and having been with both Eastlink and Bell Aliant previously, I am genuinely impressed. My internet always works and the service I receive from Daryl ,Murielle and their new staff (they hired new people after they bought Navnet) both by email and by phone has Always been good. Much better than Eastlink and Bell Aliant.

If you want to discuss this further, why don't you email me at jmgrahit26@gmail.com as long as the moderator of this site has no problem with that?

Reply from: Tom
December 15, 2015
I would like to add more to my previous review

they say its Pre-Paid service yet if you sign up in the middle of the month you still pay full price. And that you will still be billed on the 1st of every month not on the date that you signed up on every month (Like other pre-paid services do). They said that there is no way for them to lower the cost for the first month if you activate in the middle of the month but will be credited on the first bill for the days/amount that you did not use in that first month.


now why are they not/refusing to post their (See below)

• AUP - Acceptable use Policy

• TOSP - Terms of Service Policy

• TOUP - Terms of Use Policy

• PP - Privacy Policy

• LP - Legal Policy


I'm starting to really think that CWC is a SHAM/SCAM
Do you find this review useful? 19 Yes No 5 Report abuse
39 persons found the following review useful
November 19, 2015
Submitted by: Nova Scotia (Digby , NO)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Horrible

Unless you want to be harassed by Daryl when you have a technical issue then steer clear.
I told him he was rude and condesending and he threatened to cut off my service. "I'll do it in 5 seconds, go ahead, push me"
He claimed to be the owner and said he wasn't one of these "loser" bell aliant or Eastlink employees and he could do whatever he wanted because he had no fear of losing his job.

I'm switching providers. I'll happily pay $30 more per month just to not have to deal with that jerk ever again.

They make you buy your modem and router but don't allow you to change the router settings unless they approve. NOT okay since I PAID for it.

Reply from: Nova Scotian Guy
June 28, 2016
I had the same experience, this Daryl is absolutely rude, and when I asked for a supervisor he said I am the OWNER of the company. he was soooooo rude and I told him you maybe the owner of the company but you have ZERO customer service skills. and I made sure to tell him that he was rude as well.

If he keep this attitude he is going to lose so many customers.

As you said, I would rather pay $30 and have nice customer service than this moron being rude to me because he is the "OWNER"

Reply from: Allen Small
March 22, 2016
i also got return call from daryl and he was very rude.. told me he was the owner and made 3 million a year and said no one bothers him and might as well called me a liar and what hesays is it.. he thinks hes god.. companies like that should not be in buisnesd
Do you find this review useful? 39 Yes No 2 Report abuse
20 persons found the following review useful
October 21, 2015
Submitted by: Laurie (Halifax , NO)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

THE WORST EVER!!!

These people are so unprofessional. Daryl the owner called me back after my call with Merrial customer services did not go well. They are both rude, ignorant, condecsending and he basically harassed me. I would suspect they are hurting for business as they are beyond UNPROFESSIONAL!!

The fellow who wrote the revenue above should contact a government organization "Consumer and Corporate Affairs" It is FREE and they can help. He is not allowed to withhold monies owed back as a refund. As well his is not allowed to disconnect any service that you have paid for. If he does not like you as a customer he has to wait until the payment period has expired, and/or advise you that he does not want your business after that point.

So do not know what they are doing.

Idiots!!

It is my belief that there is Daryl the owner, Merrial on customer service phone and one or two connecting service.

Dog and pony show!!!

I ONLY PUT the number 1 AS A REVIEW AS THERE WAS NO OPTION TO SELECT "O"
Do you find this review useful? 20 Yes No 0 Report abuse
19 persons found the following review useful
October 17, 2015
Submitted by: Brad (St George , NE)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Customer Service

Had difficulty getting Internet to work. We called customer service and the service was horrible. The fellow was ignorant, rude, and condescending. He ended up cancelling our service and wont refund. 200 bucks wasted.
Do you find this review useful? 19 Yes No 0 Report abuse
Load More Reviews

You've suggested TekSavvy as a better alternative. I just checked them out. They don't have home phone in NS and they charge $42 vs. $28 you suggest. Maybe you have old information?

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse

I am looking for the fair use policy on the site. Cannot for the life of me find it. They have stated that I'm unable to "work from home" as per their fair use policy, refused to email me the copy and the manager was very difficult person to deal with. If you could point me to the fair use policy I'd be grateful. Thank you.

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse

I cannot use my phone. I have a recording coming on with three or so wo de, cannot make out. Switched to different set of phones same thing.

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse

Services .. do you guys deal in cable as well as Internet

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(10 ) Reviews + (4) Replies: 14

Rating  13%     Rating  88%

Maple Leaf Top Internet Providers

Altima Telecom
Visit Website
$49.95 / mo.
Read 28 Reviews
Distributel
Visit Website
$35 / mo.
Read 5 Reviews
HeroNet.ca
Visit Website
$38.88 / mo.
Read 4 Reviews

Maple LeafTop Residential VoIP

VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 0 Reviews
Yak
Visit Website
$5 / mo.
Read 173 Reviews
VOIPO
Visit Website
$7.70 / mo.
Read 3 Reviews
Page generated in 1.5172 seconds.