CityWide Reviews & Service Offerings

Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 19

Rating  33%     Rating  67%    

Add a Review     Ask a Question

CityWide
CityWide

CityWide

Website: yourcitywide.com
Services: Cable, DSL, Dial-up & Dry-loop
Availability: NB, NF, NS & PEI
Monthly Price: $41.95 CAD

Visit Site


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion (3): Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(14 ) Reviews + (5) Replies: 19

Rating  33%     Rating  67%

Add a Review

Ask a Question


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 19

Rating  33%     Rating  67%    

  Add a Review     Ask a Question

 

Reviews Stats

Rating
2
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
1
Rating
11
When reviewing CityWide Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !

Top Positive


2 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: December 6, 2018
Submitted by: peter doucette (yarmouth , NO)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

no issues

never had an issues and always nice people to talk to , seen alot of bad reviews was very on edge trying them out , but its been all good and heard they may be getting a cable bundle soon . woot woot


Do you find this review useful?

2 Yes No 0 Report abuse


Top Critical


47 persons found the following review useful
Submitted on: November 19, 2015
Submitted by: Nova Scotia (Digby , NO)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Horrible

Unless you want to be harassed by Daryl when you have a technical issue then steer clear.
I told him he was rude and condesending and he threatened to cut off my service. "I'll do it in 5 seconds, go ahead, push me"
He claimed to be the owner and said he wasn't one of these "loser" bell aliant or Eastlink employees and he could do whatever he wanted because he had no fear of losing his job.

I'm switching providers. I'll happily pay $30 more per month just to not have to deal with that jerk ever again.

They make you buy your modem and router but don't allow you to change the router settings unless they approve. NOT okay since I PAID for it.

Reply from: John On: November 18, 2018
Glad to see that others have experienced this goof known as daryl... this guy is quite a piece of work - kinda guy that would pimp out his own daughter I think... anyways, this guy and his service sucks - dont put yourself through it, or daryl lol you will regret it

Reply from: Nova Scotian Guy On: June 28, 2016
I had the same experience, this Daryl is absolutely rude, and when I asked for a supervisor he said I am the OWNER of the company. he was soooooo rude and I told him you maybe the owner of the company but you have ZERO customer service skills. and I made sure to tell him that he was rude as well.

If he keep this attitude he is going to lose so many customers.

As you said, I would rather pay $30 and have nice customer service than this moron being rude to me because he is the "OWNER"

Reply from: Allen Small On: March 22, 2016
i also got return call from daryl and he was very rude.. told me he was the owner and made 3 million a year and said no one bothers him and might as well called me a liar and what hesays is it.. he thinks hes god.. companies like that should not be in buisnesd


Do you find this review useful?

47 Yes No 2 Report abuse


All Reviews

January 29, 2019
Submitted by: Jj (Halifax , NO)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

Great

We are new clients and had great customer service, we called and were hooked up with in 1 week. Internet seems to be fine when running 3 or 4 things at once. So far happy with the service and savings!
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
January 22, 2019
Submitted by: marjorie (Jeddore , NO)
Feeling: Feeling disappointed Disappointed
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

service

I had been excited to go with Citywide as most of our friends and neighbours were happily with them--now I cannot get contact by phone or email while our phone is nor working for outgoing or incoming calls---most annoying and upsetting as it could leave us without emergency contacts.We were pleased with the service until now.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
2 persons found the following review useful
December 6, 2018
Submitted by: peter doucette (yarmouth , NO)
Feeling: Feeling satisfied Satisfied
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

no issues

never had an issues and always nice people to talk to , seen alot of bad reviews was very on edge trying them out , but its been all good and heard they may be getting a cable bundle soon . woot woot
Do you find this review useful? 2 Yes No 0 Report abuse
6 persons found the following review useful
June 23, 2018
Submitted by: Stephen Bennett (Mabou , NO)
Feeling: Feeling disappointed Disappointed
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Extremely Poor Service

I've emailed various times re billing concerns and internet speed less than one half advertised speed. No response or response weeks later. Regarding slow internet speed, I was told to buy new equipment from them and even if that didn't resolve the issue there wouldn't be a refund of the equipment forthcoming. The issue is *not* defective hardware on my end.
Do you find this review useful? 6 Yes No 0 Report abuse
6 persons found the following review useful
February 1, 2018
Submitted by: Lori (South Shore , NO)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Terrible service

This company has the absolute worst customer service! The people who answer the phone are rude. I had problems and sent in a complaint on the service and heard nothing back. When I called to change households I got another person who had the same negative rude attitude. They do not email or send you a bill. They also make you buy their modem and router and the router is junk. The wifi is fine but thats as long as you have no problems and do not need to call customer service for anything. I am not sure where they find their staff but they need training in customer service. I told them I was searching for another company because the service was so bad and the woman said no problem. They obviously do not need or care to keep clients. Worst company to deal with right up there with Aliant. Would never recommend!
Do you find this review useful? 6 Yes No 1 Report abuse
13 persons found the following review useful
February 7, 2017
Submitted by: Unknown (Dartmouth , NO)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Very unpleased!

Connection date was supposed to be today. Took the day off work. Tech was supposed to be here between 8 and 12. He didnt showed. Called citywide they said that he is on the way to my address now. 2 hours later still no show. I call again they say they need to track him down and they will get back to me
... An hour later i call again they say i dont need a tech i just need to plug in the router and modem, i do so and still no internet... I call yet again and they tell me that they set it up for the wrong address and that they have sent the request off to the manager to change it and that i should just sit around and wait for the orange light to turn blue... I little rediculas and frusterating but i guess we will see what happends.....
Do you find this review useful? 13 Yes No 2 Report abuse
18 persons found the following review useful
December 29, 2016
Submitted by: Mark Corkum (Lunenburg , NO)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Customer service rude

We recently switched to City wide because they had a much more reasonable rate for Internet compared to Eastlink. We paid the upfront fees of 158.00 and had the router sent to us by mail. We installed it and pretty much right away were displeased with the quality of the speed we were experiencing. We finally got a tech sent to us ( from eastlink) weird! Anyhow he summed he issue up to it being the router . We called City wide while the tech was still here so he could also explain to her lady what the issue was. She was rude and unprofessional and from what the tech told us after we hung up he's delt with worse!...Citywide clean up your customer support personal and teach them.some manners!!!
Do you find this review useful? 18 Yes No 1 Report abuse
16 persons found the following review useful
September 30, 2016
Submitted by: John Oconnell (Wedgeport , NO)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Worst company ever

Stay away from this company. Worst costumer service ever.
Do you find this review useful? 16 Yes No 0 Report abuse
35 persons found the following review useful
August 20, 2016
Submitted by: Maryann silliker (Port elgin , NE)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Poor

I was so excited to be this company, when I called they told me to give them 2 weeks becuase I had bell they needed to do something so I was good with that. Few weeks still didn't receive the Internet box so I called the customer service lady was rude and said I had never called..... finally got the box my kids Netflix wasn't working up stairs but was working on the main level it kept telling me no Internet connection so 2 days later I called and left a message.. " the owner called me back" and was so rude he was swearing basically called me liar and stupid. Told me that he dumbed afied the Internet box and setup for people like me. I said excuse me then he went into a rage I know about people like you calling and ... ing over everything blamed me for calling when the place wasn't open, I then said I am ready to cancel becuase with bell I had service up stairs in my home. He then said " do you think I care if you cancel I am the owner and have over 6000 customer and make over a billion a year... so this ... instead of being helpful and trying to help his customer.have their service upstairs obviously the signal strength wasn't strong... he botched and said really mean things WTG about caring more about money then your customers.... not a.good company
Do you find this review useful? 35 Yes No 1 Report abuse
19 persons found the following review useful
May 21, 2016
Submitted by: Charlene Helen White (Briddgewater , NO)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

HORRIBLE

They are the rudest most condescending company that I have ever seen! The owner thinks he's god this Muriel lady needs to get off her high horse I have NEVER in my life seen such RUDE people it is disgusting they are even in business
Do you find this review useful? 19 Yes No 0 Report abuse
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Contract Speed Monthly Usage
$41.95 Shipping: $ Other: $ No

Download: 7 Mbps

Upload: 640 kbps

Cap:

Overage:

CityWide Communications was founded way back in 1997, giving it a very large portfolio of experience in the telecommunications industry. They provide a variety of services ranging from internet, VoIP solutions and long distance plans. However, CityWide Communications states that at the core of their business lays a great commitment to customer service. CityWide Communications is based in Nova Scotia and provides internet and phone solutions across Atlantic Canada. Their headquarters can be found at 3845 Joseph Howe Dr, Halifax, NS B3L 4H9. Let us now review one of CityWide Communications bread and butter internet plans.

CityWide Communications offers a high-speed DSL plan, this plan requires a Bell-Alliant landline, that comes with a download speed of up to 7 Mbps and an upload speed of up to 640 kbps. This plan comes with no usage limit and is priced at $41.95 per month. There are no contracts involved in this plan and it also includes wifi. The other two plans available with CityWide Internet service are the DRY-LOOP DSL (no Bell-Alliant landline required, Yahoo!) same download speed of 7 Mbps and upload of 640 Kbps. The monthly price comes to be $51.95 per month; unlimited usage and WiFI is included! The last plan available, in areas where there is coverage, is the Cable High-Speed plan. Clearly superior to any of the DSL plans with a download speed of up to 100 Mbps and upload speed of up to 10 Mbps, coming at only $54.95 per month. Oh, and it also comes with no-contract, unlimited usage and WiFi is available.

A very disappointing aspect we noticed about CityWide Internet website is that the terms and conditions page is not readily available. However, there were mentions of the Fair Usage Policy. Whether or not CityWide Communications throttles bandwidth to compensate for the unlimited bandwidth remains a mystery until a terms and conditions page is made readily available. 

For users who do not have an active landline phone, dry loop connectivity is available. However, it does come with an added cost of $10 on the bill every month. 

For people who are looking for quality internet while also saving money, CityWide Internet may be the best choice or not at all. The Cable plan is the winner if your are is served then you could be in for a nice threat! Otherwise, the DSL and DRY-LOOP DSL are rather expensive, but on the positive side are unlimited.

Maple Leaf Features

Web Email Access: Checkmark
Online Chat Support: Checkmark
Feature 24x7 Support: Checkmark
Unlimited Bandwidth: Checkmark
Own Modem: Checkmark
Rent Modem: Checkmark
Combo Wireless Modem: Checkmark
Fixed IP Available Checkmark
DHCP IP Checkmark
Extra Protection Plan Checkmark
DSL Checkmark
Cable Checkmark
Email Accounts Checkmark

How do I go about getting the internet?

Rating  0     Rating  0 Report abuse

You've suggested TekSavvy as a better alternative. I just checked them out. They don't have home phone in NS and they charge $42 vs. $28 you suggest. Maybe you have old information?

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse

I am looking for the fair use policy on the site. Cannot for the life of me find it. They have stated that I'm unable to "work from home" as per their fair use policy, refused to email me the copy and the manager was very difficult person to deal with. If you could point me to the fair use policy I'd be grateful. Thank you.

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse

I cannot use my phone. I have a recording coming on with three or so wo de, cannot make out. Switched to different set of phones same thing.

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse

Services .. do you guys deal in cable as well as Internet

Rating  1     Rating  0 Report abuse
Load More Q&A

The 25 Most Popular Providers of 2018

Annually the GoneVoIP platform receives about half a million visitors. In general, the visits tend to be spread over the more than 490 service providers found in the GoneVoIP platform, though there are trends and �
Continue Reading

Rating  2     Rating  0
Report abuse

Best Home Internet Canada

Altima Telecom
Visit Website
$29.95 / mo.
Read 48 Reviews
Distributel
Visit Website
$40 / mo.
Read 30 Reviews
GemsTelecom
Visit Website
$29.99 / mo.
Read 12 Reviews

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 141 Reviews
Yak
Visit Website
$5 / mo.
Read 188 Reviews
netTALK CONNECT ezLINQ
Visit Website
$7 / mo.
Read 0 Reviews