Acanac Reviews & Service Offerings

Maple Leaf Company Info

Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 8

Rating  29%     Rating  71%    

Add a Review     Ask a Question

Acanac
Acanac

Acanac

Website: www.acanac.ca
Devices: N/A
Availability: ON & QC
Monthly Price: $20 CAD

Visit Site


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion (2.5): Rating
Users Rating: Rating
(7 ) Reviews + (1) Replies: 8

Rating  29%     Rating  71%

Add a Review

Ask a Question


Maple Leaf Rating

Gonevoip's Opinion: Rating
Users Rating: Rating
Number of Reviews: 8

Rating  29%     Rating  71%    

  Add a Review     Ask a Question

 

Reviews Stats

Rating
2
Rating
0
Rating
0
Rating
1
Rating
4
When reviewing Acanac Gonevoip visitors usually feel Feeling angry angry !

Top Positive


1 person found the following review useful
Submitted on: February 9, 2014
Submitted by: dave (toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

best service in town $9.95

the service is $9,95 for 1 year been using it for 5 years no problems at all.


Do you find this review useful?

1 Yes No 0 Report abuse


Top Critical


1 person found the following review useful
Submitted on: January 5, 2013
Submitted by: Dave (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Worst service ever!

Ordered their bundle that includes Home Phone but wanted to cancel within a couple of weeks! Service was worst than before and technical support is very rude and they keep ignoring my cancellation requests for weeks!!


Do you find this review useful?

1 Yes No 1 Report abuse


All Reviews

November 20, 2018
Submitted by: Michael (Toronto , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Stay away from Acanac

Have been with Acanac since 2008 and beared their incompetencies. It is just un bearable anymore. They cancelled my voip which cost $10+ tax without my consent, and then forced to pay $20+ tax for the exact same service!

I wonder what kind of ethics and business practice they adhere to! A lot of my referrals are leaving Acanac too!
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
July 6, 2018
Submitted by: Tahir Alam (Brampton , ON)
Feeling: Feeling angry Angry
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

DO NOT PAY ACANAC UP FRONT

They billed my credit card twice in 5 days and no service so I returned the modem. They refused to refund my money.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
January 1, 2017
Submitted by: Dejana Nikolic (toronto , ON)
Feeling: Feeling unpleasantly_surprised Unpleasantly Surprised
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Beware

Very poor customer service...lack of knowledge and communication skills by both the technicians and customer service representative's and management. Super disappointed ...try another....any other provider. ....stay away!

Reply from: The Acanac Team
January 3, 2017
Hi Dejana,

We'd like to take another look at your concern. Can you provide us with an appropriate e-mail to reach you?

Sincerely,
The Acanac Team
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
June 12, 2015
Submitted by: yve (Gatineau , QU)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Garbage ISP

I cringed every time I had to contact them, and it was often, at least weekly where the internet would drop, their modems would fail, the service would lag...and they never had a decent fix for it, always reboot etc...
When I went to cancel, they held my money hostage until I agreed by email to pay a termination fee. They ignored numerous emails, and spoke rudely to me on the phone. Avoid them like the plague!
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 1 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
February 9, 2014
Submitted by: dave (toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

best service in town $9.95

the service is $9,95 for 1 year been using it for 5 years no problems at all.
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 0 Report abuse
May 24, 2013
Submitted by: Gervend (Hamilton , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? YES

reliable service

I have had VOIP service with Acanac for more than five years and they promptly helped and did anything possible to solve any issue. I really appreciate that and I would recommend them.
Do you find this review useful? 0 Yes No 0 Report abuse
1 person found the following review useful
January 5, 2013
Submitted by: Dave (Toronto , ON)
Overall Rating: Rating
Would Recommend? NO

Worst service ever!

Ordered their bundle that includes Home Phone but wanted to cancel within a couple of weeks! Service was worst than before and technical support is very rude and they keep ignoring my cancellation requests for weeks!!
Do you find this review useful? 1 Yes No 1 Report abuse
Load More Reviews
Monthly Fee Setup Fee Other Fees Long Distance Rates
$20 $49 $10

Canada: FREE
USA: FREE
Intl. Minutes: 0

Acanac is a Canadian ISP part of the Distributel Group, HQ in Mississauga, ON. Acanac offers Home Phone and has some of the traditional VoIP features, such as caller ID and call forwarding.  Though they do not support BYOD nor offer smartphone or desktop app integration, things that nowadays are becoming standard. The ATA (Analog Telephone Adapter) is provided by Acanac; costing $49 plus $10 in shipping. Acanac plans have to be pre-paid for the year to get the better rate.

If you combine Internet and Home Phone then you'll get the Basic Home phone for Free. We would typically not recommend such a setup as a one single outage may knock-off both services - we'd recommend having one provider for internet and another for VoIP phone service. Thus an issue in one doesn't become a common issue and one could switch either without major impact shall the services be unsatisfactory.

International calling rates with Acanac Phone Service are far better than those of the traditional telecom, but you still may want to look at our Long Distance Providers for better rates; for example, India Landline with Acanac is at $0.28 per minute and NobleCom is at $0.015.  We believe those looking for richer features and better rates will be better served by other VoIP exclusive providers such as Phone Power (cheaper and more advanced features for free and free international monthly calling allowance) or VoIP Much (also cheaper than Acanac's plan, contract-less). 

Maple Leaf Features

Call Blocking Checkmark
Conference Calling Checkmark
BYOD: Checkmark
Smartphone App: Checkmark
Call Forwarding Checkmark
Call Hold Checkmark
Caller ID Name: Checkmark
Enhanced VoiceMail: Checkmark
Load More Q&A

Grading Online Security: How Secure is Your Provider?

Performing tasks online saves us so much time that we often take this convenience for granted. For instance, instead of visiting a bank, we are paying bills and transferring funds using our mobile devices or �
Continue Reading

Rating  3     Rating  1
Report abuse

Best Home Phone Canada

VoIP Much Phone Company
Visit Website
CAD $9.45 / mo.
Read 130 Reviews
Yak
Visit Website
$5 / mo.
Read 187 Reviews
Phone Power
Visit Website
$7.40 / mo.
Read 55 Reviews
VOIPO
Visit Website
$7.70 / mo.
Read 3 Reviews
CallCentric
Visit Website
FREE / mo.
Read 8 Reviews
1-VOIP
Visit Website
$11 / mo.
Read 15 Reviews

Best Internet Canada

Altima Telecom
Visit Website
$49.95 / mo.
Read 40 Reviews
Distributel
Visit Website
$35 / mo.
Read 29 Reviews
GemsTelecom
Visit Website
$29.99 / mo.
Read 12 Reviews